Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Postgraduate Programs

Who should read this?

You should read this if you are interested in obtaining financial support for studies in a master's or doctoral program. The information and types of awards outlined here are relevant only to graduate students, or those considering graduate studies within the next year.

Aboriginal Ambassadors in the Natural Sciences and Engineering Supplement Program
The Aboriginal Ambassadors in the Natural Sciences and Engineering Supplement (AANSE) Program promotes interest and participation in natural sciences and engineering, through the visits of Aboriginal students and fellows to Aboriginal communities and schools. NSERC encourages qualified Aboriginal students and fellows to apply for this supplement.
Alexander Graham Bell Canada Graduate Scholarships-Doctoral Program and NSERC Postgraduate Scholarships-Doctoral Program
The Alexander Graham Bell Canada Graduate Scholarships-Doctoral (CGS D) Program provides financial support to outstanding eligible students pursuing doctoral studies in a Canadian university. The Government of Canada established these prestigious scholarships, to be awarded through national competitions by the granting agencies, to ensure a reliable supply of highly qualified personnel to meet the needs of Canada's knowledge economy. Alexander Graham Bell Canada Graduate Scholars will help renew faculty at Canadian universities and will be the research leaders of tomorrow.

The NSERC Postgraduate Scholarships-Doctoral (PGS D) Program provides financial support to high-calibre students who are engaged in doctoral programs in the natural sciences or engineering. This support allows these students to fully concentrate on their studies and to seek out the best research mentors in their chosen fields. NSERC encourages qualified Aboriginal students who are interested in the program to apply.
Canada Graduate Scholarships-Master’s Program
The objective of the Canada Graduate Scholarships-Master’s (CGS M) Program is to help develop research skills and assist in the training of highly qualified personnel by supporting students who demonstrate a high standard of achievement in undergraduate and early graduate studies.
Canada Graduate Scholarships – Michael Smith Foreign Study Supplements Program
The Canada Graduate Scholarships – Michael Smith Foreign Study Supplements (CGS-MSFSS) Program supports high-calibre Canadian graduate students in building global linkages and international networks through the pursuit of exceptional research experiences at research institutions outside of Canada.
Industrial Postgraduate Scholarships Program
The Industrial Postgraduate Scholarships (IPS) Program provides financial support for highly qualified science and engineering graduates. The support allows them to gain research experience in industry while undertaking advanced studies in Canada. These scholarships are aimed at encouraging students to consider research careers in industry where they will be able to contribute to strengthening Canadian innovation.
BMP Innovation – NSERC and the Fonds de recherche du Québec - Nature et technologies (FRQNT), a public funding agency for research in Quebec, have created a partnership to deliver the Industrial Innovation Scholarships (IIS) Program. This program has the same objectives as the Industrial Postgraduate Scholarships (IPS) Program, but applies only to students registered at Quebec universities and working with an industrial sponsor in Quebec.
Postgraduate Supplements – Other Organizations
Summer Programs in Japan or Taiwan
The Summer Programs in Japan or Taiwan provide graduate students in science and engineering with a hands-on research experience and an introduction to a different culture, language, and university research system.
Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships Program
The Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships (Vanier CGS) Program provides financial support to Canadian and international students who have achieved exceptional success in their studies (in the natural sciences and engineering, social sciences and humanities, and health) and will pursue a doctoral program in a Canadian university. These highly prestigious scholarships allow students to fully concentrate on their studies and work with the best research mentors in their chosen fields in Canada.
People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programmes de cycles supérieurs

À qui s’adresse cette information?

Vous devez lire cette information si vous souhaitez obtenir de l’aide financière en vue de poursuivre des études à la maitrise ou au doctorat. Les renseignements fournis et les types de possibilités de financement décrites s’appliquent uniquement aux étudiants aux cycles supérieurs ou à ceux qui envisagent de poursuivre des études supérieures au cours de l’année à venir.

Étudiants ambassadeurs autochtones du CRSNG
(anciennement les bourses pour ambassadeurs autochtones des sciences naturelles et du génie [AASNG])
La subvention pour étudiants ambassadeurs autochtones du CRSNG (EAAC) vise à susciter l’intérêt des Autochtones pour les sciences naturelles et le génie et à accroitre leur participation dans ces domaines. Elle permet aux étudiants et aux stagiaires autochtones de se rendre dans des écoles et communautés autochtones dans ce but. Le CRSNG invite les étudiants et les stagiaires autochtones qualifiés à présenter une demande pour obtenir cette subvention.
Étudiants ambassadeurs du CRSNG
Les subventions pour étudiants ambassadeurs du CRSNG permettent aux étudiants de niveau postsecondaire de parler de leur expérience en sciences et en génie à des jeunes issus de groupes sous-représentés dans ces domaines, notamment les filles, les jeunes Autochtones et les élèves et étudiants de régions rurales ou éloignées.
Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada – doctorat
Le Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada au niveau du doctorat (BESC D) est un programme fédéral de bourses octroyées par voie de concours à l’échelle du pays et par l’entremise des organismes subventionnaires : le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH), le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) et les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC). Le programme vise à récompenser et à retenir les étudiants de haut calibre inscrits à un programme de doctorat dans un établissement canadien, à permettre aux titulaires de bourses de profiter d’une expérience de formation en recherche de haute qualité et à favoriser les retombées dans le milieu de la recherche et au-delà.
Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du CRSNG – doctorat
Le Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du CRSNG – doctorat (ES D) fournit de l’aide financière à des étudiants de fort calibre inscrits à un programme de doctorat en sciences naturelles ou en génie. Cette aide permet à ces étudiants de se consacrer entièrement à leurs études et de chercher les meilleurs mentors en recherche dans les disciplines qu’ils ont choisies. Le CRSNG invite par ailleurs les étudiants et les stagiaires postdoctoraux autochtones qualifiés à présenter une demande.
Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada au niveau de la maitrise
L’objectif du Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada au niveau de la maitrise (BESC M) est de contribuer au développement des compétences en recherche et à la formation de personnel hautement qualifié en appuyant les étudiants qui ont un rendement élevé dans leurs études de premier cycle et au début de leurs études supérieures.
Programme de bourses d'études supérieures du Canada – Suppléments pour études à l’étranger Michael-Smith
Le Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada – Suppléments pour études à l’étranger Michael-Smith (BESC-SEEMS) vise à aider des étudiants canadiens de haut calibre aux cycles supérieurs à établir des liens et des réseaux internationaux en tirant profit d’occasions de recherche exceptionnelles dans des établissements étrangers.
Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier
Le Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada Vanier (BESC Vanier) fournit une aide financière à des étudiants canadiens et étrangers qui ont connu un succès exceptionnel dans leurs études et qui poursuivront des études dans le cadre d’un programme de doctorat en sciences naturelles et du génie, en sciences humaines, ou en santé, dans une université canadienne. Ces bourses très prestigieuses permettent à ces étudiants de se consacrer entièrement à leurs études et de travailler au Canada avec les meilleurs mentors en recherche dans les disciplines qu’ils ont choisies.

Suppléments aux bourses d’études supérieures