Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Investing in People - An Action plan

A. Canada's Innovation Strategy

In February 2002, the ministers of Industry and Human Resources Development launched the Government of Canada's Innovation Strategy. Since then, more than 10,000 stakeholders have participated in a national engagement process on innovation and learning.

The Innovation Strategy identified key targets, including ranking Canada among the top five countries in terms of R&D intensity per capita, which would entail tripling private sector and doubling Government of Canada investments in R&D, all by 2010. Early actions by the Government of Canada to reach these targets were announced at the National Summit on Innovation and Learning in October 2002. Notable among these actions is the government’s commitment to increase support to research-granting agencies for graduate students and research.

In the context of the Innovation Strategy, NSERC sponsored a series of consultations in spring 2002 with more than 300 stakeholders, including students, university and college professors and administrators, industry leaders, and public servants from provincial and federal departments and agencies. A consistent message heard by NSERC was that Canada will require significant increases in the number of highly qualified people (HQP) in the natural sciences and engineering (NSE) if we are to achieve the goals of the Innovation Strategy. Throughout the consultations, participants suggested a number of concrete steps NSERC could take to help increase the numbers of NSE HQP. Some of their suggestions focused on areas in which NSERC could take direct action, including adjusting its programs, policies and funding levels to attract and retain greater numbers of NSE HQP. Other suggestions focused on areas where NSERC could play an indirect role by influencing or helping to coordinate the actions of others. The majority of workshop participants agreed that the future demand for HQP is a critical challenge for Canada and stressed the need for a coordinated effort by all stakeholders to address this challenge.

NSERC investments in university research and training in NSE are vital to the success of the Innovation Strategy and the government’s long-term goals for Canadian prosperity and a high quality of life. Through Budget Plan 2003 – Building the Canada We Want – the Government of Canada has taken steps toward implementing the Innovation Strategy by increasing the annual budget of NSERC by 10 percent, resulting in an increase of $55 million per year. Also, it created the Canada Graduate Scholarships program, which will provide NSERC with an additional $31.5 million per year when fully implemented.

Each of NSERC's three kinds of investments – in people, discovery and innovation – contributes to the development of HQP, who are recognized in both Canada's Innovation Strategy and Budget 2003 as fundamental to making our country one of the five most innovative in the world. For example, on average, 33 percent of the grant money awarded to professors through Discovery Grants is spent on the training of HQP. Furthermore, NSERC's university-industry partnerships programs expose students to the opportunities available in Canadian industry and provide industry with direct access to talented students coming out of our universities. These programs help train talented youth in areas of science and engineering that are relevant to Canadian industry and, therefore, help retain HQP in Canada after graduation.

Immediate action is required to ensure a reliable supply of highly skilled people, and NSERC has set out bold steps through a slate of concrete investments and initiatives. Investing in People – An Action Plan builds on the input NSERC has received from representatives of its key stakeholder groups, members of its Standing Committees and Council, and a consultative group with membership from the Canadian Association of Graduate Studies (CAGS). As the Action Plan is implemented, with both short- and long-term initiatives and in partnership with other stakeholders, Canada’s Innovation Strategy will lead the way to greater prosperity and a better quality of life for all Canadians.

B. Action Plan

Over the next five years, NSERC will implement an investment strategy for HQP and will direct future federal investments to address Canada’s needs for HQP to 2010 and beyond. NSERC will build on programs that have a proven track record and will create new initiatives where necessary. It will also undertake to better understand specific challenges in order to develop appropriate measures and partnerships.

NSERC's Action Plan will include the elements outlined below. While certain initiatives can be undertaken immediately, others will require further consideration to identify appropriate actions and responses.

  1. To increase the pipeline of young people interested in science and engineering, NSERC will:


    For early action

    1. Increase the participation of children and youth in science promotion activities, enhance their interest in science and math, and improve our understanding of science and math education as well as the training and resources dedicated to it in order to help build a science culture in Canada
      1. Increase investments in the PromoScience Program and create specialized chairs in science education and promotion.
    2. Expose more science and engineering undergraduate students to research and development (R&D), stimulate their interest in R&D and influence their decision to continue on to graduate studies.
      1. Increase the number of Undergraduate Student Research Awards.
  2. To ensure that Canada develops a skilled and talented labour force to satisfy the anticipated demand for HQP in all sectors of the Canadian economy, NSERC will:

    For early action

    1. Encourage more students to pursue advanced degrees.
      1. Increase the value of NSERC Postgraduate Scholarships provided to doctoral students, as well as the value of Industrial Postgraduate Scholarships.
      2. Implement NSERC's portion of the Canada Graduate Scholarships program, which provides increased stipends for masters and doctoral students.
    2. Support postdoctoral fellows to continue their research work in an academic setting to help address the projected faculty renewal in the next five to ten years as many professors retire.
      1. Increase the value of Postdoctoral Fellowships. Consideration will be given in future to increasing the number of Postdoctoral Fellowships.
    3. Enable Canadian students to access the best research facilities abroad to enrich their training, by developing new bilateral and multilateral agreements and by promoting the participation of Canadian students in existing programs that support student mobility for graduate studies and research training.
      1. Implement agreements with Japan and Taiwan for summer research experiences and promote Canadian participation in the new Marie Curie International Fellowships under the European Union's Sixth Framework Program, by raising awareness of the program.
      2. Promote awareness of existing agreements with Japan and the United Kingdom among Canadian students to increase their participation in competitions.
      3. Increase NSERC's knowledge of facilities and expertise abroad, and determine methods and incentives to encourage more Canadians to become research students in excellent laboratories abroad.

      Ongoing

    4. Help ensure that students in Canadian universities complete their graduate work in a shorter timeframe by developing a better understanding of student experiences and the factors that influence completion times and attrition rates.
      1. In collaboration with CAGS, report on the results of several surveys and recommend policy actions to improve graduate production in Canada while maintaining current high standards. NSERC will monitor the trend among a set of large universities to forgive tuition costs at the doctoral level (usually for up to three years) in order to assess the scope and potential impact of this trend on completion times and enrolment. NSRC will also monitor the impact of the generous Canada Graduate Scholarship doctoral awards (see 2.a above)on completion times to verify that the most significant correlation of time to degree is the level of funding.

      For further consideration

    5. Determine why research fellows do not return to Canada and what incentives would entice them to do so by conducting surveys of NSERC-funded postdoctoral fellows (PDFs). Based on the survey findings, identify mechanisms to encourage more NSERC-funded Canadians doing advanced study and research abroad to maintain links with the Canadian research community and, ultimately, return to Canada.
      1. Develop new programs and policies that will influence decisions by PDFs to return to Canada. While consideration will be given to a third year of support for fellows abroad to return to a Canadian university, this will require further evaluation, and alternate incentive-based options will be examined.
    6. Identify mechanisms to attract HQP to Canada, as well as mechanisms to provide them with direct links to Canadian industry.
      1. Explore the development of programs to expose foreign students to the Canadian research environment (e.g., international student exchanges, based on reciprocal or other arrangements; summer research experiences; and industrial postgraduate scholarships and industrial research fellowships for foreigners).
  3. To ensure Canadian research is world-class and internationally competitive and thus can provide a stimulating and relevant training environment, as well as employment opportunities, for the next generation of scientists and engineers, NSERC will:

    For early action

    1. Enable professors in Canadian universities to work in an internationally competitive research environment.
      1. Provide adequate levels of funding for the large number of newly appointed professors who are first-time applicants to the Discovery Grants program.
      2. Continue to support researchers who have proven themselves to be productive and excellent, and who will provide additional funding to support more graduate students.
      3. Ensure that university professors and students have the tools and instruments and access to facilities necessary to undertake their research.
      4. Allow university professors to seize special research opportunities.
    2. Help strengthen Canadian industrial R&d capacity.
      1. Provide additional funding to university-industry partnership programs, and increase the value of Industrial Postgraduate Scholarships.

      For further consideration

    3. Enable professors in Canadian universities to work in an internationally competitive research environment.
      1. Enhance support for researchers who have proven themselves to be productive and excellent, and who will provide additional funding to support more graduate students.
    4. Expose students to the opportunities available in Canadian industry and help train students in science and engineering areas that are relevant to Canadian industry.
      1. Increase the number of Industrial Postgraduate Scholarships and Industrial Research Fellowships. Given that the Industrial Research Fellowships program is currently undersubscribed, a first priority will be to explore means to encourage greater participation by industry, including SMEs, in this program.
    5. Expand opportunities for the training of technology-transfer specialists to facilitate the commercialization of university research.
      1. Increase NSERC's contribution to the tri-agency Intellectual Property Management Program.
    6. Ensure that new graduates in the NSE acquire the appropriate mix and quality of technical and non-technical skills over the course of their study.
      1. Develop appropriate programs and policies. To help develop policies, NSERC will consult with national and international stakeholders from all sectors to identify the skill sets required by the next generation of scientists and engineers, and will share best practices in innovative training. Having identified the skills required of NSE graduates, NSERC will explore policies or programs to encourage their development.
    7. Explore how NSERC might assist Canadian colleges to be more effective participants in regional innovation and economic development, based on its evaluation of the research and innovation capacity of Canadian colleges acquired through site visits to colleges across Canada. (This evaluation was conducted in collaboration with the Association of Canadian Community Colleges in Fall 2002).
      1. Propose, for additional funding by the federal government, new programs and policies that are in keeping with any future government plans regarding support for the college system in Canada.
  4. To facilitate a coordinated funding environment for the research community, NSERC will:

    Ongoing

    1. Minimize the time a researcher (or student) spends applying for funding and peer reviewing funding proposals.
      1. Continue to collaborate with federal and provincial partners in administering research funds and consider synergies with other organizations when developing programs and policies.

C. Monitoring

NSERC will monitor progress against the objectives identified in Investing in People – An Action Plan and will report to Council on an annual basis on the implementation of the Plan. Where appropriate, the Action Plan will be revisited to adjust to changing circumstances.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Investir dans les gens – Un plan d'action

A. La stratégie d'innovation du Canada

En février 2002, les ministres de l'Industrie et du Développement des ressources humaines ont lancé la Stratégie d'innovation du gouvernement du Canada. Depuis lors, plus de 10 000 intervenants ont participé à ce processus d'engagement national à l'égard de l'innovation et de l'apprentissage.

La Stratégie d'innovation a ciblé des objectifs clés comme classer le Canada parmi les cinq premiers pays du monde pour l'intensité de la recherche et du développement par personne, ce qui signifie qu'il faudrait d'ici 2010 avoir triplé l'investissement du secteur privé et doublé l'investissement du gouvernement du Canada dans la recherche et le développement. Les premières mesures prises par le gouvernement du Canada pour atteindre ces objectifs ont été annoncées au Sommet national sur l'innovation et l'apprentissage en octobre 2002. Parmi ces mesures, mentionnons l'accroissement du soutien du gouvernement aux organismes subventionnaires pour l'appui à la recherche et aux étudiants des cycles supérieurs.

Dans le contexte de la Stratégie d'innovation, le CRSNG a organisé au printemps de 2002 une série de consultations auprès de 300 intervenants, dont des étudiants, des professeurs et administrateurs d'université et de collège, des dirigeants d'industrie et des représentants des ministères et organismes fédéraux et provinciaux. Le message que le CRSNG a constamment entendu est le suivant: il faudra qu'au Canada le nombre des personnes hautement qualifiées (PHQ) dans les domaines des sciences naturelles et du génie (SNG) augmente considérablement si nous voulons atteindre les buts de la Stratégie d'innovation. Tout au long des consultations, les participants ont suggéré diverses mesures concrètes que le CRSNG pourrait prendre afin d'accroître le nombre des PHQ en SNG. Certaines de ces suggestions portaient sur des domaines où le CRSNG pourrait intervenir directement, en modifiant ses programmes, politiques et niveaux de financement pour attirer et retenir un plus grand nombre de ces personnes. D'autres suggestions portaient sur des secteurs où le CRSNG pourrait jouer un rôle indirect en influençant les interventions des autres ou en les aidant à les coordonner. La majorité des participants aux ateliers s'entendent pour dire que la demande future de PHQ constitue un défi d'importance critique pour le Canada et ont insisté sur la nécessité d'un effort coordonné de tous les intervenants pour le relever.

Les investissements du CRSNG dans la recherche et la formation universitaire en sciences naturelles et en génie sont vitaux pour assurer le succès de la Stratégie d'innovation et l'atteinte des objectifs à long terme du gouvernement, à savoir la prospérité et une grande qualité de vie pour les Canadiens. Dans le budget de 2003 – Bâtir le Canada que nous souhaitons, le gouvernement du Canada a pris des mesures en vue de la mise en application de la Stratégie d'innovation en augmentant de 10 p. cent le budget du CRSNG, ce qui équivaut à un accroissement de 55 millions de dollars par année, et en créant le Programme de bourses d'études supérieures du Canada, ce qui ajoutera 31,5 millions de dollars par année au budget du CRSNG quand le programme sera pleinement mis en oeuvre.

Chacune des trois composantes d'investissements du CRSNG – les gens, la découverte et l'innovation – contribue au développement de PHQ, élément que tant la Stratégie d'innovation du Canada que le budget de 2003 reconnaissent comme fondamental pour faire de notre pays un des cinq plus innovateurs au monde. Par exemple, en moyenne, 33 p. cent des subventions attribuées à des professeurs par l'entremise du Programme de subventions à la découverte sert à la formation de PHQ. En outre, les programmes de partenariat universités-industrie du CRSNG font connaître aux étudiants les débouchés qui s'offrent dans l'industrie canadienne et donnent à l'industrie un accès direct aux étudiants talentueux qui sortent des universités. Ces programmes aident à former les jeunes qui excellent dans les domaines des sciences et du génie qui intéressent l'industrie canadienne et, par conséquent, contribuent à garder ces PHQ au Canada une fois qu'ils sont diplômés.

Il faut prendre immédiatement des mesures si nous voulons pouvoir compter sur un nombre fiable de personnes hautement qualifiées et le CRSNG a énoncé des mesures audacieuses qui se traduisent par une série d'initiatives et d'investissements concrets. Investir dans les gens – Un plan d'action s'inspire des observations que le CRSNG a reçues des représentants des principaux groupes d'intervenants, des membres de ses comités permanents et de son Conseil ainsi que d'un groupe consultatif formé de membres de l'Association canadienne pour les études supérieures (ACES). Au fur et à mesure de la mise en oeuvre du plan d'action, qui comporte à la fois des initiatives à court et à long terme ainsi que des partenariats avec d'autres intervenants, la Stratégie d'innovation du Canada nous mènera vers une plus grande prospérité et une meilleure qualité de vie pour tous les Canadiens.

B. Plan d'action

Au cours des cinq prochaines années, le CRSNG mettra en application une stratégie d'investissement visant les personnes hautement qualifiées et orientera les investissements futurs du gouvernement du Canada pour répondre aux besoins en PHQ du Canada en l'an 2010 et au delà. Le CRSNG tablera sur les programmes qui ont fait leur preuve, lancera de nouvelles initiatives au besoin et s'emploiera à mieux comprendre des défis particuliers de manière à élaborer les mesures et les partenariats appropriés.

Le plan d'action du CRSNG comprendra les éléments décrits ci-dessous; si certaines initiatives peuvent être menées dès maintenant, d'autres exigeront un examen plus approfondi pour cerner les mesures et interventions appropriées.

  1. Pour accroître le bassin de jeunes intéressés aux sciences et au génie, le CRSNG:

    Dans l'immédiat

    1. Augmentera la participation des enfants et des jeunes aux activités de promotion des sciences, accroîtra leur intérêt à l'égard des sciences et des mathématiques, et améliorera notre compréhension de la pédagogie en sciences et en mathématiques de même que de la formation et des ressources qui y sont consacrées afin de contribuer à édifier une culture des sciences au Canada.
      1. Accroître les investissements dans le programme PromoScience et créer des centres d’enseignement et d’apprentissage des sciences.
    2. Mettre davantage d'étudiants en sciences et en génie du premier cycle en contact avec la recherche et le développement (R et D), stimuler leur intérêt à l'égard de la R et D et influer sur leur décision de poursuivre des études supérieures.
      1. Accroître le nombre de bourses de recherche au premier cycle.
  2. Pour s'assurer que le Canada développe une main d'œuvre compétente et qualifiée en mesure de répondre à la demande prévue de personnel hautement qualifié dans tous les secteurs de l'économie canadienne, le CRSNG:

    Dans l'immédiat

    1. Encouragera davantage d'étudiants à poursuivre des études avancées.
      1. Accroître la valeur des bourses d'études supérieures du CRSNG accordées aux étudiants au doctorat de même que la valeur des bourses d'études supérieures à incidence industrielle.
      2. Mettre en application le volet CRSNG du Programme de bourses d'études supérieures du Canada, lequel prévoit des valeurs accrues pour les bourses au niveau de la maîtrise et du doctorat.
    2. Aider les boursiers de recherches postdoctorales à poursuivre leurs travaux dans les universités afin de contribuer au renouvellement du corps professoral au cours des cinq à dix prochaines années, compte tenu du départ à la retraite prévu de nombreux professeurs.
      1. Accroître la valeur des bourses postdoctorales. On envisagera à l'avenir d'accroître le nombre de bourses postdoctorales.
    3. Permettre à des étudiants canadiens d'accéder aux meilleurs établissements de recherche étrangers afin d'enrichir leur formation en concevant de nouvelles ententes bilatérales et multilatérales et en encourageant les étudiants canadiens à participer aux programmes existants qui visent à favoriser leur mobilité en vue d'études supérieures et d'une formation en recherche.
      1. Appliquer les ententes conclues avec le Japon et Taïwan en vue d'expériences de recherche pendant l'été; promouvoir la participation du Canada aux nouvelles bourses d'études internationales Marie Curie dans le cadre du sixième programme cadre de l'Union européenne, en faisant mieux connaître le programme.
      2. Sensibiliser les étudiants canadiens aux ententes existantes avec le Japon et le Royaume Uni afin d'accroître leur participation aux concours.
      3. Parfaire les connaissances du CRSNG quant aux meilleures installations de recherche et à l'expertise disponibles à l'étranger et élaborer des programmes et des mesures incitatives afin d'encourager un plus grand nombre de canadiens à devenir des chercheurs en formation dans des laboratoires à l'étranger.

      En cours

    4. Contribuer à faire en sorte que les étudiants des universités canadiennes terminent leurs études supérieures dans un délai plus court en cherchant à mieux comprendre les expériences qu'ils vivent et les facteurs qui influent sur le temps qu'ils mettent à les terminer ainsi que les taux d'abandon.
      1. En collaboration avec l'ACES, faire rapport des résultats de plusieurs enquêtes et recommander des interventions stratégiques pour améliorer les résultats des études supérieures au Canada tout en maintenant les normes élevées actuelles. Le CRSNG évaluera la tendance qui a cours parmi un ensemble de grandes universités de renoncer au paiement des frais de scolarité, d'habitude pour une période pouvant aller jusqu'à trois ans au niveau du doctorat, afin d'évaluer l'ampleur et les répercussions éventuelles de cette tendance sur le temps qui est mis à terminer les études et sur l'inscription aux universités. Le CRSNG évaluera également l'impact qu'auront les généreuses subventions au doctorat du Programme de bourses d'études supérieures du Canada (voir 2.1 ci-dessus) sur le temps mis à terminer les études, de façon à vérifier que la corrélation la plus importante entre le temps requis et l'obtention du diplôme est le niveau de financement.

      Pour examen plus poussé

    5. Déterminer pourquoi un certain nombre de boursiers de recherches postdoctorales ne reviennent pas au Canada et quelles mesures incitatives pourraient les encourager à revenir en menant des enquêtes auprès des boursiers postdoctoraux financés par le CRSNG. À partir des résultats des enquêtes, trouver des mécanismes pour inciter davantage de Canadiens bénéficiaires du financement du CRSNG et faisant des études et des recherches avancées à l'étranger à entretenir des liens avec les chercheurs canadiens et, en définitive, à revenir au pays.
      1. Élaborer de nouveaux programmes et politiques qui influeront sur la décision des boursiers postdoctoraux à revenir au Canada. Bien que l'on envisagera une troisième année de soutien pour inciter des boursiers se trouvant à l'étranger à revenir dans une université canadienne, une évaluation plus poussée s'impose et d'autres options de nature incitative seront examinées.
  3. Pour s'assurer que la recherche canadienne est de classe mondiale et concurrentielle à l'échelle internationale et, qu'elle fournit un milieu de formation stimulant et pertinent, de même que des débouchés d'emploi pour la prochaine génération de scientifiques et d'ingénieurs, le CRSNG:

    Dans l'immédiat

    1. Permettra à des professeurs d'universités canadiennes de travailler dans un milieu de recherche concurrentiel à l'échelle internationale.
      1. Fournir des niveaux de financement convenables au grand nombre de professeurs nouvellement nommés qui présentent une première demande dans le cadre des programmes de subventions à la découverte.
      2. Continuer d'appuyer les chercheurs qui se sont déjà révélés productifs et excellents et qui fourniront du financement supplémentaire pour appuyer davantage d'étudiants diplômés.
      3. S'assurer que les professeurs et les étudiants d'université disposent des outils et des instruments et ont accès aux installations nécessaires pour mener leurs recherches.
      4. Permettre à des professeurs d'université de saisir des occasions spéciales de recherche.
    2. Aider à renforcer la capacité de R et D de l'industrie canadienne
      1. Fournir davantage de financement aux programmes de partenariats université industrie et accroître la valeur des bourses d'études supérieures à incidence industrielle.

      Pour examen plus poussé

    3. Permettre à des professeurs d'universités canadiennes de travailler dans un milieu de recherche concurrentiel à l'échelle internationale.
      1. Améliorer le soutien aux chercheurs qui se sont déjà révélés productifs et excellents et qui fourniront du financement supplémentaire pour appuyer davantage d'étudiants diplômés.
    4. Faire connaître aux étudiants les possibilités qui s'offrent dans l'industrie canadienne et contribuer à leur formation dans les domaines des sciences et du génie qui sont pertinents à l'industrie canadienne.
      1. Accroître le nombre de bourses d'études supérieures à incidence industrielle et de bourses de recherche en milieu industriel. Étant donné que le programme de bourses de recherche en milieu industriel est actuellement sous-utilisé, il faudra en tout premier lieu explorer les moyens d'encourager une plus grande participation de l'industrie, y compris des PME, à ce programme.
    5. Étendre les possibilités de formation des spécialistes en transfert de technologie afin de faciliter la commercialisation de la recherche universitaire.
      1. Accroître la contribution du CRSNG au Programme de gestion de la propriété intellectuelle des trois agences.
    6. S'assurer que les nouveaux diplômés en SNG acquièrent la bonne combinaison de compétences techniques et non techniques au cours de leurs études.
      1. Élaborer des programmes et politiques appropriés. Pour ce faire, le CRSNG consultera les intervenants nationaux et internationaux de tous les secteurs afin de cerner les ensembles de compétences requises par la nouvelle génération de scientifiques et d'ingénieurs et pour partager les meilleures pratiques en matière de formation novatrice. Après avoir déterminé les compétences dont les diplômés en SNG ont besoin, le CRSNG explorera des façons (politiques ou programmes) d'encourager leur acquisition.
    7. Explorer de quelle façon le CRSNG pourrait aider les collèges canadiens à devenir des participants encore plus efficaces dans l'innovation régionale et le développement économique, à partir de l'évaluation de la capacité de recherche et d'innovation des collèges canadiens que le CRSNG a pu mener grâce aux visites sur place des collèges qu'il a faites dans l'ensemble du Canada en collaboration avec l'Association des collèges communautaires du Canada, à l'automne de 2002.
      1. Proposer, aux fins de financement supplémentaire par le gouvernement du Canada, de nouveaux programmes et politiques qui concordent avec les plans gouvernementaux futurs concernant l'appui au système collégial au Canada.
  4. Afin de mieux coordonner le financement destiné au milieu de la recherche, le CRSNG:

    En cours

    1. Réduira au minimum le temps qu'un chercheur (ou un étudiant) doit consacrer aux demandes de financement et aux propositions de financement soumises à l'examen des pairs.
      1. Continuer de collaborer avec les autres partenaires fédéraux et provinciaux à l'administration des fonds de recherche et tenir compte des synergies avec les autres organisations au moment d'élaborer des programmes et politiques.

C. Surveillance

Le CRSNG surveillera les progrès accomplis en regard des objectifs d'Investir dans les gens – Un plan d'action, et fera tous les ans rapport au Conseil sur la mise en œuvre du plan. S'il y a lieu, le plan d'action sera corrigé pour tenir compte de l'évolution des circonstances.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.