Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Research Portal Privacy Impact Assessment Summary

Introduction

The transition of Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) (the agencies) program delivery services to the Research Portal solution is intended to modernize existing technology and replace the agencies’ current grant management systems.

Objectives

The agencies conducted a joint privacy impact assessment (PIA) to meet their obligations under the This link will take you to another Web site Privacy Act and the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat's (TBS) policies, directives, standards and guidelines regarding privacy, information management and security; and to address the factors set out by the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada in This link will take you to another Web site Expectations: A Guide for Submitting Privacy Impact Assessments to the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada.

The PIA was conducted to develop an informed assessment of the privacy risks associated with using the Research Portal and related client relationship management (CRM) tools, and to inform recommendations to mitigate any identified privacy risks to an acceptable level.

Description

The Research Portal is designed to receive thousands of applications for grants and awards administered by both agencies, and to process, in part, nine of the agencies’ 79 funding opportunities through the complete business cycle (i.e., from application to assessment to award, etc.).

The agencies’ programs and activities have not changed substantively with the implementation of the Research Portal. No new types of personal information are collected, used or disclosed in relation to the Research Portal and CRM. Rather, the new system provides the agencies with a more efficient and harmonized means of managing the application, review, decision and funding processes.

Risk area identification and categorization

The PIA found that the agencies apply privacy best practices and are reasonably compliant with the requirements of the Privacy Act and related TBS policies, directives and guidelines. The PIA identified risk areas and categorized their level of potential risk (with level 1 representing the lowest level of potential risk, and level 4 the highest) associated with the collection and use of personal information through the Research Portal.

The risk levels identified are as follows:

  • Type of program or activity
    Level 2: Administration of program or activity and services.

    Details
    Personal information collected via the Research Portal is intended to be used mainly for administrative purposes (i.e., the information is to be used for the purpose of making decisions about an identifiable individual). It is primarily used to receive and assess applications, administer the review process from beginning (apply) to end (decision), to communicate with applicants and other participants in the review process, and to award/monitor funding. 

    In addition to the administrative uses described, information may also be used for non-administrative purposes, to perform planning, statistical, evaluation, external relations, communication and reporting activities. 

  • Type of personal information involved and context
    Level 2: Personal information, with no contextual sensitivities after the time of collection, provided by the individual with consent to also use personal information held by another source.

    Details
    The Research Portal involves the collection and management of personal information of applicants, partners, third parties, reviewers, and committee members. 

    In most cases, personal information is first collected, with the consent of the individual, by an administrating organization (e.g., university), which then submits the application to the appropriate agency.

  • Program or activity partners and private sector involvement
    Level 3: With other institutions or a combination of federal, provincial, or territorial and municipal governments; and Level 4: With private sector organizations, international organizations or foreign governments.

    Details
    Some stakeholders (e.g., reviewers and committee members) may be selected from external organizations (e.g., postsecondary institutions and cross-sectoral organizations) to participate in the review of applications. For this purpose, the agencies have developed the This link will take you to another Web site Conflict of Interest and Confidentiality Agreement for Review Committee Members, External Reviewers, and Observers, in accordance with the This link will take you to another Web site Conflict of Interest and Confidentiality Policy of the Federal Research Funding Organizations. The agencies’ policy requires that these stakeholders meet the highest standards of ethical behaviour, in order to maintain and enhance public confidence in the agencies’ ability to act in the public’s best interest.

  • Duration of the program or activity
    Level 3: Long-term program or activity.

    Details

    The Research Portal is a system developed to be used until the new Research Portal project delivers a comprehensive subsequent solution in a few years.

  • Program population
    Level 3: The program’s use of personal information for external administrative purposes affects certain individuals.

    Details
    The agencies’ use of the Research Portal involves the use of personal information primarily for administrative purposes. Before accessing the Research Portal, individuals must review and accept the agencies' general terms and conditions and transparency terms, which include a security statement and links to the respective agency's statement on the use and disclosure of personal information.

  • Technology and privacy
    The Research Portal will use a custom-built application and Microsoft SharePoint software, and the CRM will use Microsoft Dynamics CRM 2011 software.

    Details
    Both applications have been configured by the agencies to support the administration of funding programs, including the collection and handling of personal information, as well as the delivery and management of funds, and subsequent reporting.

  • Personal information transmission
    Level 4: The personal information is transmitted using wireless technologies.

    Details

    At the time of this PIA, no statement of sensitivity or threat and risk assessment for the Research Portal and CRM has been completed. However, a threat and risk assessment is planned for the 2015-16 fiscal year.

Based on the summary, the agencies’ current use of the Research Portal and CRM presents a potential for moderate risk to the privacy of individuals.

Conclusion

Several mitigation measures have been developed in response to the main privacy risks identified. Once implemented, these measures will help improve privacy safeguards, processes and overall compliance with relevant policies, directives, standards and guidelines. Many of the risks are actively being addressed. Once residual privacy risks have been fully mitigated, the Research Portal is likely to present minimal risk to the privacy of individuals.

Next steps

A detailed action plan will be developed in 2015-16, and mitigation measures will be implemented according to the timelines established.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Portail de recherche – Sommaire de l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée des organismes

Introduction

La transition des services de prestation des programmes au Portail de recherche par le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH) (les organismes) vise à moderniser la technologie existante et à remplacer les systèmes qu’utilisent actuellement les organismes pour gérer les subventions.

Objectifs

Les organismes ont réalisé conjointement une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) pour s’acquitter des obligations qu’ils ont en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et des politiques, des directives, des normes et des lignes directrices du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) du Canada concernant la protection de la vie privée, la gestion de l’information et la sécurité. Cette évaluation visait aussi à examiner les facteurs énumérés dans le document du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada intitulé This link will take you to another Web site Nos attentes : un guide pour la présentation d’évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée au Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada.

L’évaluation avait comme objectif de cerner les risques pour la protection des renseignements personnels que posent le Portail de recherche et les outils du système de gestion des relations avec la clientèle (SGRC) ainsi que d’éclairer les recommandations pour réduire ces risques à un niveau acceptable.

Description

Des milliers de demandes de subventions et de bourses administrées par les deux organismes seront présentées et traitées, en partie, au moyen du Portail de recherche, et ce, sur l’ensemble du cycle opérationnel de neuf des 79 possibilités de financement des organismes (c.-à-d. la demande, l’évaluation, l’octroi de la subvention ou de la bourse, etc.).

La mise en œuvre du Portail de recherche n’a pas changé de façon significative les programmes et les activités des organismes. Aucun nouveau renseignement personnel n’est collecté, utilisé ou divulgué par le Portail de recherche et le SGRC. Ces nouveaux systèmes offrent plutôt aux organismes un moyen plus efficace et harmonisé de gérer les processus de demande, d’évaluation, de décision et de financement.

Détermination et catégorisation des domaines de risque

Selon la présente EFVP, les organismes ont recours à des pratiques exemplaires en matière de protection des renseignements personnels et se conforment raisonnablement aux exigences de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et des politiques, des directives et des lignes directrices connexes du SCT. Des domaines de risque ont été cernés et classés en catégories selon le niveau du risque éventuel (le niveau 1 représentant le risque éventuel le plus faible et le niveau 4, le plus élevé) associé à la collecte et à l’utilisation des renseignements personnels au moyen du Portail de recherche. Voici les niveaux de risque relevés.

  • Type de programme ou d’activité
    Niveau 2 : administration d’un programme ou d’une activité et de services

    Renseignements détaillés
    les renseignements personnels collectés au moyen du Portail de recherche doivent être utilisés principalement à des fins administratives (c.-à-d. pour prendre des décisions au sujet d’une personne identifiable). Ils servent principalement à recevoir et à évaluer les demandes, à administrer le processus d’évaluation du début (demandes) à la fin (décisions), à communiquer avec les candidats et les autres participants au processus d’évaluation, ainsi qu’à attribuer et à surveiller le financement.

    En plus de servir à des fins administratives, l’information peut aussi être utilisée à des fins non administratives pour réaliser des activités de planification, d’établissement de statistiques, d’évaluation, d’établissement de relations externes, de communication et de production de rapports.

  • Type de renseignements personnels visés et contexte
    Niveau 2 : renseignements personnels qui ne sont pas de nature délicate contextuelle après la date de la collecte et qui sont fournis par une personne qui consent à ce que des renseignements personnels détenus par une autre source soient aussi utilisés

    Renseignements détaillés
    le Portail de recherche effectue la collecte et la gestion de renseignements personnels sur les candidats, les partenaires, les tierces parties, les évaluateurs et les membres de comité. Dans la plupart des cas, les renseignements personnels sont d’abord collectés, avec le consentement de la personne, par une organisation chargée de l’administration (p. ex. l’université), qui transmet ensuite la demande à l’organisme approprié.

  • Partenaires d’un programme ou d’une activité et secteur privé
    Niveau 3 : avec d’autres universités ou une combinaison des administrations fédérale, provinciales ou territoriales et municipales; et Niveau 4 : avec des organisations du secteur privé, des organisations internationales ou des gouvernements étrangers

    Renseignements détaillés
    certains intervenants (p. ex. des évaluateurs et des membres de comité) d’organisations externes (p. ex., des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire et des organisations intersectorielles) peuvent être choisis pour participer à l’évaluation des demandes. C’est pourquoi les organismes ont élaboré l’This link will take you to another Web site Accord sur les conflits d’intérêts et la confidentialité pour les membres des comités d’évaluation, les évaluateurs externes et les observateursconformément à la This link will take you to another Web site Politique sur les conflits d’intérêts et la confidentialité des organismes fédéraux de financement de la recherche. La politique des organismes exige que ces intervenants respectent les normes les plus élevées en matière de comportement éthique, afin de conserver et d’accroître la confiance du public dans la capacité des organismes d’agir dans l’intérêt du public.

  • Durée du programme ou de l’activité
    Niveau 3 : programme ou activité à long terme

    Renseignements détaillés
    le Portail de recherche a été élaboré en vue d’être utilisé jusqu’à ce qu’une solution subséquente complète émane du projet du nouveau Portail de recherche dans quelques années.

  • Participants aux programmes
    Niveau 3 : les agents de programme peuvent utiliser les renseignements personnels à des fins administratives externes, ce qui touche certaines personnes.

    Renseignements détaillés
    les organismes utilisent les renseignements personnels transmis au moyen du Portail de recherche principalement à des fins administratives.

    Avant d’accéder au Portail de recherche, les personnes doivent lire et accepter les modalités générales et le principe de transparence, qui contient un énoncé sur la sécurité et des liens vers les énoncés respectifs des organismes sur l’utilisation et la divulgation des renseignements personnels.

  • Technologie et protection de la vie privée
    une application conçue sur mesure et le logiciel SharePoint de Microsoft seront utilisés pour le Portail de recherche, et le logiciel Dynamics CRM 2011 de Microsoft sera utilisé pour le SGRC

    Renseignements détaillés
    les deux applications ont été configurées par les organismes pour appuyer l’administration des programmes de financement, notamment la collecte et le traitement des renseignements personnels, l’attribution et la gestion des fonds et la production de rapports subséquents.

  • Transmission des renseignements personnels
    Niveau 4 : les renseignements personnels sont transmis à l’aide de la technologie sans fil.

    Renseignements détaillés 
    au moment de la réalisation de la présente EFVP, aucun énoncé de sensibilité ni évaluation des menaces et des risques n’avaient été réalisés pour le Portail de recherche et le SGRC. Cependant, une évaluation des menaces et des risques est prévue pour l’exercice 2015-2016.

Selon le sommaire, l’utilisation actuelle du Portail de recherche et du SGRC par les organismes représente un risque modéré pour la protection de la vie privée des personnes.

Conclusion

Plusieurs mesures d’atténuation ont été élaborées en réponse aux principaux risques cernés pour la protection de la vie privée. Lorsqu’elles auront été mises en œuvre, elles contribueront à améliorer les mesures et les processus de protection et la conformité globale aux politiques, directives, normes et lignes directrices pertinentes. Un grand nombre de risques sont activement gérés. Lorsque les risques résiduels relatifs à la vie privée auront été entièrement atténués, le Portail de recherche présentera probablement un risque minimal pour la vie privée des personnes.

Prochaines étapes

Un plan d’action détaillé sera élaboré en 2015-2016 et les mesures d’atténuation seront mises en œuvre conformément à l’échéancier établi.