Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Canadian Food Inspection Agency

The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) is Canada's science-based regulator of food, plants and animals. As such, the CFIA is committed to enhancing the safety of food produced, sold or imported into Canada, contributing to the health of animals and protecting the plant resource base. To meet these commitments, the Agency administers and/or enforces 13 federal acts and their respective regulations.

The Canadian Food Inspection Agency provides a range of laboratory services across Canada, including: chemical, microbiological and physical analytical services related to foods, feeds, fertilizers and seeds; diagnostic testing, technology development and transfer, containment laboratory approvals, scientific advice and analytical capability for animal and plant diseases and pests; technical expertise to support the development and operation of evolving inspection practices; and responding to consumer complaints.

Visit our Web site at This link will take you to another Web site www.inspection.gc.ca/english/toce.shtml.

Contact

Dr. Martine Dubuc
Vice-President
Science Branch
Tel.: 613-773-5722
Fax: 613-773-5797
E-mail: martine.dubuc@inspection.gc.ca

Canadian Food Inspection Agency
1400 Merivale Road
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0Y9

The Agency laboratories are divided into four area networks:

Atlantic Laboratory Network

Laboratories located in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island; Dartmouth, Nova Scotia; Moncton, New Brunswick; and St. John's, Newfoundland, work in the areas of potato diseases; pathogens and GMO’s; marine toxins and veterinary drugs; fish chemistry and microbiology; foodborne pathogens; and food chemical contaminants.

Contact

Susan Shaw
Area Laboratory Network Director – Atlantic
Tel.: 902-426-8214
Fax: 902-426-4330
E-mail: susan.shaw@inspection.gc.ca

1992 Agency Drive
P.O. Box 1060
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
B2Y 3Z7

Quebec Laboratory Network

Laboratories located in St-Hyacinthe and Longueuil, Quebec, work in the areas of porcine indigenous diseases, retrovirology, food virology, veterinary virology, pathology and biotechnology, nutritional labelling verification, nutritional compostion, food allergens and colours, marine toxins, and foodborne pathogens.

Contact

Sylvye des Marchais
Area Laboratory Network Director – Quebec
Tel.: 450-773-7730
Fax: 450-773-8152
E-mail: sylvye.desmarchais@inspection.gc.ca

3400 Casavant Blvd. West
Saint-Hyacinthe, Quebec
J2S 8E3

Ontario Laboratory Network

The Greater Toronto Area Laboratory, the Ottawa Laboratory (Carling) and the Ottawa Laboratory (Fallowfield) work on food safety, quality and prevention of fraud within the food supply, animal and plant health. The areas covered include, chemical, and extraneous matter contaminants, residues and adulterants, foodborne pathogens in fish and food and their products; chemical contaminants, pathogens and drug residues in feed, feed supplements and fertilizers; avian and mycobacterial diseases, germplasm (semen and embryos of domestic livestock), brucellosis, rabies, TSEs, animal vaccines, plant, plant products including GMOs and pests.

Contact

Sandra Fry
Area Laboratory Network Director – Ontario
Tel.: 613-228-6698
Fax: 613-228-6660
E-mail: sandra.fry@inspection.gc.ca

Ottawa Laboratory (Fallowfield)
3851 Fallowfield Road
Ottawa, Ontario
K2H 8P9

Western Laboratory Network

Laboratories located in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan; Lethbridge and Calgary, Alberta; and Burnaby and Sidney, British Columbia, work in the areas of plant viral diseases and their elimination; food allergens and toxins including marine toxins and viruses in shellfish; pesticides in food, feed, and fertilizers; environmental contaminants; meat species identification, bacteriological contamination of meat, and veterinary drug residues in meat and non-meat foods of animal origin (eggs, dairy, honey); bovine and equine indigenous viral diseases; leptospirosis; anthrax; anaplasmosis; diseases of non-traditional livestock species; transmissible spongiform encephalopathies; rabies; brucellosis; foodborne zoonotic parasites; as well as seed identification, purity, and germination.

Contact

Dr. Mohit Baxi
Area Laboratory Network Director – West
Tel.: 403-382-5501
Fax: 403-381-8283
E-mail: mohit.baxi@inspection.gc.ca

Animal Diseases Research Institute
Township Rd. 9-1
P.O. Box 640
Lethbridge, Alberta
T1J 3Z4

National Centre for Foreign Animal Disease (NCFAD)

The foreign animal diseases laboratory is co-located with the Public Health Agency of Canada in Winnipeg. This laboratory specializes in foreign animal disease work for Canada.

Contact

Dr. Soren Alexandersen
Director
National Centre for Foreign Animal Diseases
Tel.: 204-789-2102
Fax.: 204-789-2038
E-mail: soren.alexandersen@inspection.gc.ca

1015 Arlington Street
Winnipeg, Manitoba
R3E 3M4

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments

L’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments (ACIA) est l’organisme de réglementation à vocation scientifique du Canada en matière d’aliments, de végétaux et d’animaux. Elle a pour tâche de rehausser la salubrité des aliments produits, vendus ou importés au Canada, de contribuer à la santé des animaux et de protéger les ressources végétales disponibles. Dans le cadre de son mandat, l’Agence voit à l’exécution de 13 lois fédérales et de leur règlement d’application respectif.

L’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments fournit un éventail de services de laboratoire dans tout le Canada. Ces services comprennent : des services d’analyse chimique, microbiologique et physique appliqués aux aliments, aux aliments pour animaux, aux engrais et aux semences; des tests diagnostiques, le développement et le transfert de technologies, l’accréditation des laboratoires de confinement, des avis scientifiques et une capacité analytique appliqués aux maladies des animaux et à l’infestation des végétaux; l’expertise technique requise pour soutenir l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de pratiques d’inspection d’avant-garde; des éléments de réponse aux plaintes des consommateurs.

Visitez notre site Web à l’adresse Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web www.inspection.gc.ca/francais/tocf.shtml.

Personne-ressource

Dr Martine Dubuc
Vice-présidente
Direction générale des sciences
Tél. : 613-773-5722
Téléc. : 613-773-5797
Courriel : martine.dubuc@inspection.gc.ca

Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments
1400, chemin Merivale
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0Y9

Les laboratoires de l’Agence sont regroupés en quatre réseaux régionaux :

Réseau des laboratoires de l’Atlantique

Les laboratoires situés à Charlottetown (Île-du-Prince-Édouard), Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse), Moncton (Nouveau-Brunswick) et St. John’s (Terre-Neuve) effectuent des recherches dans les domaines suivants : maladies des pommes de terre; agents pathogènes et OGM; toxines marines et médicaments vétérinaires; chimie et microbiologie des poissons; pathogènes d’origine alimentaire; et contaminants chimiques dans les aliments.

Personne-ressource

Susan Shaw
Directrice, Réseau des laboratoires de l’Atlantique
Tél. : 902-426-8214
Téléc. : 902-426-4330
Courriel : susan.shaw@inspection.gc.ca

1992, promenade Agency
Case postale 1060
Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse)  B2Y 3Z7

Réseau des laboratoires du Québec

Les laboratoires situés à Saint Hyacinthe et à Longueuil (Québec) effectuent des recherches dans les domaines des maladies porcines indigènes, de la rétrovirologie, de la virologie alimentaire, de la virologie vétérinaire, de la pathologie et des biotechnologies, de la vérification de l’information nutritionnelle sur les étiquettes, de la teneur nutritive, des allergènes et colorants alimentaires, des toxines marines et des pathogènes d’origine alimentaire.

Personne-ressource

Sylvye des Marchais
Directrice, Réseau des laboratoires du Québec
Tél. : 450-773-7730
Téléc. : 450-773-8152
Courriel : sylvye.desmarchais@inspection.gc.ca

3400, boulevard Casavant Ouest
Saint-Hyacinthe (Québec)  J2S 8E3

Réseau des laboratoires de l’Ontario

Le Greater Toronto Area Laboratory, le Ottawa Laboratory (sur Carling) et le Ottawa Laboratory (sur Fallowfield) travaillent dans les secteurs de la salubrité des aliments, de la qualité de l’approvisionnement alimentaire et de la prévention des fraudes, et de la santé animale et végétale. Les domaines visés sont les contaminants chimiques et les contaminants par matières étrangères, les pathogènes d’origine alimentaire (résidus et adultérants) dans les poissons et aliments et produits dérivés; les contaminants chimiques, les agents pathogènes et les résidus médicamenteux dans les aliments pour animaux, les suppléments alimentaires et les engrais; les maladies aviaires et les infections mycobactériennes, les germoplasmes (sperme et embryons d’animaux d’élevage), la brucellose, la rage, les EST, les vaccins pour animaux, les produits végétaux incluant les OGM et les organismes nuisibles.

Personne-ressource

Sandra Fry
Directrice, Réseau des laboratoires de l’Ontario
Tél. : 613-228-6698
Téléc. : 613-228-6660
Courriel : sandra.fry@inspection.gc.ca

Ottawa Laboratory (Fallowfield)
3851, chemin Fallowfield
Ottawa (Ontario)  K2H 8P9

Réseau des laboratoires de l’Ouest

Les laboratoires situés à Saskatoon (Saskatchewan); à Lethbridge et Calgary (Alberta) et à Burnaby et Sidney (Colombie-Britannique) effectuent des recherches dans les domaines suivants : maladies virales des végétaux; allergènes et toxines alimentaires incluant les toxines marines et les virus des mollusques; pesticides dans les aliments, les aliments pour animaux et les engrais; contaminants environnementaux; identification des viandes, contamination bactériologique des viandes et résidus médicamenteux dans les viandes et les aliments d’origine animale (œufs, produits laitiers, miel); maladies virales indigènes des bovins et des équidés; leptospirose; anthrax; anaplasmose; maladies du bétail non traditionnel; encéphalopathies spongiformes transmissibles; rage; brucellose; parasites zoonotiques d’origine alimentaire; identification, pureté et germination des semences.

Personne-ressource

Dr Mohit Baxi
Directeur, Réseau des laboratoires de l’Ouest
Tél. : 403-382-5501
Téléc. : 403-381-8283
Courriel : mohit.baxi@inspection.gc.ca

Institut de recherches vétérinaires
Chemin de canton 9-1
Case postale 640
Lethbridge (Alberta)  T1J 3Z4

Centre national des maladies animales exotiques (CNMAE)

Le CNMAE partage les installations de l’Agence de santé publique du Canada à Winnipeg. Le laboratoire concentre ses activités dans le domaine des maladies animales exotiques au Canada.

Personne-ressource

Dr Soren Alexandersen
Directeur
Centre national des maladies animales exotiques
Tél. : 204-789-2102
Téléc. : 204-789-2038
Courriel : soren.alexandersen@inspection.gc.ca

1015, rue Arlington
Winnipeg (Manitoba)  R3E 3M4