Contest closes January 18, 2017. How do I win?

Rules

Eligibility

  1. The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council’s (NSERC) Science, Action! video contest (the “Contest”) is open to residents of Canada who at the time of entry are (i) students (undergraduate or graduate) enrolled at an NSERC eligible Canadian postsecondary institution and (ii) eighteen (18) years of age or older (the “Contestants” or “Contestant”). The Contest is not open to postdoctoral fellows.
  2. Employees of NSERC, including their immediate family members and/or those living in the same household (whether legally related or not) are not eligible. For purposes of the Contest, immediate family members are defined as spouse, domestic partner, parents, legal guardians, in-laws, grandparents, siblings, children and grandchildren.

Contest period and entry

To be eligible for the Contest, Contestants must agree to the "Consent and agreement," complete the Science, Action! Secure Upload and electronically submit their entry by way of the Contest Entry Portal between November 1, 2016 at 1 p.m., Eastern Standard Time and January 18, 2017 at 3:59 p.m., Eastern Standard Time (the "Closing Date"). It is the sole responsibility of each Contestant to ensure all required materials are received by NSERC by the Closing Date.


Video criteria

  1. A Contestant must submit (i) a video featuring a research project or initiative funded by NSERC and carried out at the institution at which the Contestant is enrolled at the time of entry and (ii) a written Contestant biography (the “Submission”).
  2. Submission must not exceed: sixty (60) seconds in length for the video component, one hundred (100) words for written Contestant biography, and 99 megabytes (all electronic files, including audio/video).
  3. Submissions must be submitted as an .MOV, .MPEG4, MP4, .AVI, .WMV, .MPEGPS, .FLV, 3GPP, or WebMfile via the NSERC Video Secure Upload. Links to websites, public or private, will not be accepted. A submission must be respectful and courteous, and be in English or French.
  4. Only one entry per person is permitted.
  5. NSERC will not accept Submissions that are offensive to an individual or an organization, rude in tone or abusive. NSERC reserves the right to refuse, edit or remove any of the following:
    • racist, hateful, sexist, homophobic, slanderous, insulting, or life-threatening content;
    • serious, unproven, unsupported, or inaccurate accusations against individuals or organizations;
    • abusive, aggressive, coarse, explicit, vulgar, violent, obscene or pornographic content;
    • content that encourages or suggests illegal activity;
    • announcements, solicitations, advertisements, or endorsements of any organizations or corporations;
    • attempts to defame or defraud any individual, group or agency; or
    • unintelligible or irrelevant content.
  6. If the quantity of submissions received is too large, an initial selection will be made by NSERC to determine which submissions will proceed to public voting to a maximum of fifty (50). Decisions will be based on technical quality and effectiveness of communicating the intent and benefit(s) of the chosen research subject.

Privacy and intellectual property

  1. The Submission must be an entirely original work created by the Contestants and the Contestants must have all necessary rights in and to the Submission.
  2. The Submission must not infringe upon or violate any laws or any third party rights, including, but not limited to, copyright, patent, trademark, trade secret or other proprietary rights and must not constitute material that would be considered libelling, defamatory, a privacy violation, tortious or a contract breach.
  3. The Contestants must obtain, and make available to Sponsor upon Sponsor’s request, all necessary permissions, licenses, clearances, releases, waivers of moral rights and other approvals from third parties (including but not limited to all copyright holders and all individuals appearing in the Submission) necessary to use the Submission, in whole or in part, in any way, including without limitation, to reproduce, make derivatives, edit, modify, translate, distribute, transmit, publish, license and broadcast the submission worldwide, by any means.
  4. In the event the Submission contains any reference to or likeness of any identifiable third parties, the Contestant must obtain, and make available to Sponsor upon Sponsor’s request, consent from all such individuals and their parent/guardian if they are under the age of majority in their jurisdiction of residence.
  5. Contestants must grant the Sponsor, irrevocably and in perpetuity, the right to use the Submission, in whole or in part, in any way, including without limitation, to reproduce, make derivatives, edit, modify, translate, distribute, transmit, publish and broadcast the Submission worldwide (by any means) and to authorize others to carry out such acts as listed above in this section without compensation.
  6. Contestants, to protect their own privacy and the privacy of others, must not include personal information including, but not limited to, phone numbers, social insurance numbers, banking information, resumes or email addresses in their Submissions. Any Submissions that appear to contain such personal information may be deemed ineligible.

Prizes

  1. Contestants are eligible to win one of fifteen (15) cash prizes worth up to $3,500. The 15 most popular Submissions as decided by public voting will be considered the finalists (the “Final Fifteen”).
  2. From among the 15 Finalists, six (6) entries will be selected as final winners (“Final Winners”) by a panel of judges. Three Final Winners will be selected in English and three will be selected in French.

Important information about entering the Contest

  1. Submissions will be not returned to the Contestants.
  2. In the Contest Entry Form, a Contestant must consent to the use, reproduction, publication, transmission and/or broadcasting of his/her name, likeness, and/or prize information, without compensation, in any publication or promotion by the Sponsor, for the purposes of promoting the Contest, its Finalists or Final Winners, and/or the benefits of research in the natural sciences and engineering fields.

Judging the submissions

  1. Submissions will be judged by a panel of judges chosen by NSERC. The decisions of the judges and NSERC on all matters relating to the Contest are final and not open to appeal.
  2. At time of adjudication, any judges deemed by NSERC to have a real or perceived conflict of interest with a Submission under consideration will be recused from discussions of that Submission. A judge will be considered to be in a conflict of interest if the Submission involves:
    • a friend;
    • an immediate family member (as defined above);
    • an institutional colleague; or
    • a person with whom the judge is involved in a dispute.
  3. If NSERC, in its sole discretion, deems that an insufficient quantity or quality of Submissions has been received, NSERC reserves the right not to award any prizes and terminate the Contest.

Judging criteria

  1. The Top Twenty-five (25) videos will be decided by public voting as represented by the total number of views on YouTube.
  2. Submissions that are deemed to have been artificially promoted via automated voting mechanisms (including, but not limited to, “spamming” software) will be disqualified.
  3. Finalists that meet all eligibility requirements will be judged as follows:
    • 40% Clarity (video clearly explains research and benefit)
    • 30% Creativity (originality of video, representation of research)
    • 30% Technical Quality (aspects such as camerawork, sound quality, editing)

Finalists and Final Winners

  1. Each of the Final Fifteen will be announced on NSERC’s website and social media channels (Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, Instagram, LinkedIn) no later than April 5, 2017.
  2. Each of the Final Fifteen will be notified by email no later than March 16, 2017 that his/her Submission has won and of the procedure to follow to claim the applicable prize. If an individual declines the prize, it may be awarded to another Finalist in accordance with these Contest rules and regulations.

General

  1. Only the Final Fifteen contestants will be notified of a win.
  2. Before collecting a prize and within five (5) calendar days of being notified that his/her Submission has been selected, any Finalist or Final Winner will be required to provide consent and release confirming, among other things, compliance with these Contest rules and regulations, acceptance of the prizes awarded, and consent that their personal information, such as name, likeness, institution of enrolment and/or prize information, may be used, without further compensation, in any publication or promotional material, by the Sponsor, for the sole purposes of promoting the Contest, its Finalists and Final Winners and/or the benefits of research in the natural sciences and engineering fields.
  3. All prizes must be accepted as awarded, without substitution; are not transferrable or convertible to cash; and are not for resale.
  4. Names of the Finalists and Final Winners will be made public no later than April 5, 2017, via social media channels (i.e. Twitter and Facebook) and other means, including NSERC’s website.
  5. NSERC reserves the right to cancel, terminate, modify or suspend the Contest for any reason. Any notification of such action may be posted online on NSERC’s website and/or via social media channels, and contestants are encouraged to periodically check for such notifications.
  6. NSERC reserves the right to change Contest rules and regulations without reason, including, if necessary, to comply with any applicable law. Any notification of such action may be posted online on NSERC’s website and/or via social media channels, and contestants are encouraged to periodically check for such notifications.
  7. By entering this Contest, Contestants agree to abide by these Contest rules and regulations, and acknowledge that NSERC shall not be responsible for any damages, costs, demands, claims or losses of any kind incurred by any Contestant as a result of participation in this Contest.
  8. This Contest shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of Ontario and any applicable federal laws. These rules and regulations govern all aspects of the Contest and are binding on all Contestants.
  9. This is a skills-based contest and is void where prohibited by law.
  10. NSERC is not responsible for entries that are delayed, lost, misdirected, incomplete, damaged or destroyed. Any entry that is tampered with, unreadable, unintelligible or mutilated will be ineligible. NSERC is not responsible for telephone, computer or network malfunction or error (whether technical or human in nature), communication disruption or other forces beyond the reasonable control of NSERC.

Personal information

  1. Any personal information collected in order to administer the Contest is under the control of NSERC and will be managed in accordance with the Privacy Act. Information collected for the purposes of administering the Contest may be subject to disclosure in accordance with the Access to Information Act. Personal information of Finalists and Final Winners, such as name, likeness, institution of enrolment and/or prize information may be used, without compensation, in any publication or promotional material by NSERC for the sole purposes of promoting the Contest, its Finalists and/or Final Winners and/or the benefits of research in the natural sciences and engineering fields.
  2. Questions regarding the collection, disclosure and use of your personal information may be directed to connect@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

The sponsor of this contest is the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and its collaborating organizations.

Contact Newsletter

Get highlights of things happening at NSERC delivered to your email inbox. View all Newsletters

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram

Visionnez les vidéos gagnantes!

Règlements du concours

Admissibilité

  1. Le concours de vidéos du CRSNG intitulé Science, action! (le concours) s'adresse aux étudiants de premier cycle ou des cycles supérieurs inscrits dans un établissement d'enseignement postsecondaire canadien admissible aux programmes du CRSNG. Au moment de participer au concours, les étudiants (les participants) sont résidents canadiens et âgés d'au moins 18 ans. Les stagiaires postdoctoraux ne peuvent pas participer au concours.
  2. Les employés du CRSNG, y compris tout membre de leur famille immédiate et toute personne vivant dans la même résidence (qu'ils aient un lien légal ou non), ne sont pas admissibles au concours. Aux fins du concours, on définit les membres de la famille immédiate comme étant le conjoint, le partenaire domestique, les tuteurs légaux, les beaux-parents, les grands-parents, les frères et les sœurs, les enfants et les petits-enfants.

Durée du concours et inscription

Pour être admissibles à participer au concours, les participants doivent accepter les modalités de consentement, remplir le Formulaire d'inscription au concours Science, action! et présenter électroniquement leur matériel au moyen du Portail sécurisé du concours Science, action! du 1 novembre 2016, à partir de 13 h (HE) au 18 janvier 2017 à 15 h 59 (HE) (la date de clôture). Chaque participant doit faire parvenir tous les documents requis au CRSNG avant la date de clôture.


Critères d'admissibilité des vidéos et des descriptions

  1. Les participants doivent présenter une vidéo mettant en valeur un projet de recherche financé par le CRSNG et mené au sein de l'établissement d'enseignement postsecondaire auquel ils sont inscrits au moment de s'inscrire au concours ainsi que leurs notes biographiques (ces deux éléments constituent le matériel).
  2. Le matériel ne doit pas dépasser les paramètres suivants : soixante (60) secondes pour la vidéo et 100 mots pour les notes biographiques; 99 mégaoctets pour tous les fichiers électroniques, incluant les fichiers audio et vidéo.
  3. La vidéo doit être présentée sous forme de fichier .MOV, .MPEG4, MP4, .AVI, .WMV, .MPEGPS, .FLV, 3GPP ou WebMfile au moyen du Portail sécurisé du concours Science, action!. Les liens vers des sites Web publics ou privés ne seront pas acceptés. La vidéo doit être respectueuse et courtoise, et présentée en anglais ou en français.
  4. Une seule inscription par personne est acceptée.
  5. Le CRSNG n'acceptera aucun matériel à caractère impoli, abusif ou offensant à l'égard d'une personne ou d'une organisation. Le CRSNG se réserve le droit de refuser, de modifier ou de supprimer le contenu :
    • raciste, haineux, sexiste, homophobe, diffamatoire, choquant ou contenant des menaces de mort;
    • portant des accusations graves, non prouvées, non fondées ou fausses contre des personnes ou des organisations;
    • abusif, agressif, grossier, explicite, vulgaire, violent, obscène ou pornographique;
    • incitant à commettre ou suggérant une activité illégale;
    • faisant l'annonce, la sollicitation, la publicité ou la promotion d'organisations ou d'entreprises;
    • tentant de diffamer ou de frauder une personne, un groupe ou une organisation;
    • inintelligible ou non pertinent.
  6. Si le CRSNG reçoit un trop grand nombre d'inscriptions, il procédera à une présélection pour sélectionner les vidéos (jusqu'à 50) qui seront soumises au vote du public. Sa décision sera fondée sur la qualité technique et l'efficacité des moyens de communication utilisés par le participant pour parler des objectifs et des avantages de son sujet de recherche.

Confidentialité et propriété intellectuelle

  1. Le contenu du matériel doit être original et créé en totalité par le participant; et ce dernier détient tous les droits liés au matériel.
  2. Aucune loi et aucun droit d'un tiers parti ne doivent être enfreints ou violés par le matériel, notamment un droit d'auteur, un brevet, une marque de commerce, un secret commercial ou un autre droit de propriété. En outre, le matériel ne doit pas renfermer du contenu qui pourrait donner lieu à une cause d'action, y compris une action en libelle, en diffamation, en violation de la vie privée, en violation de contrat ou en délit civil.
  3. Le participant doit obtenir et mettre à la disposition du CRSNG toutes les permissions, les licences, les autorisations, les libérations, les renonciations de droits moraux et les autres approbations nécessaires des tiers concernés (notamment le nom des titulaires de droits d'auteur et de toute personne apparaissant dans le matériel présenté) qui sont nécessaires à l'utilisation de son matériel, et ce, en tout ou en partie et de quelconque façon que ce soit, notamment le droit de le reproduire, d'en faire des dérivés, de le modifier, de le traduire, de le distribuer, de le transmettre, de le publier, de l'assujettir à une licence et de le diffuser dans le monde entier, par tout moyen désiré.
  4. Dans l'éventualité où le matériel présenté contiendrait des références ou des photos à des tiers reconnaissables, le participant doit obtenir et mettre à la disposition du CRSNG la permission de tous ces tiers et celle de leur parent ou de leur tuteur, dans le cas de tiers mineurs dans leur juridiction de résidence.
  5. Le participant doit accorder au CRSNG, irrévocablement et pour toujours ainsi que sans indemnisation, le droit d'utiliser son matériel présenté, en tout ou en partie, de quelconque façon que ce soit, notamment le droit de le reproduire, d'en faire des dérivés, de le modifier, de le traduire, de le distribuer, de le transmettre, de le publier, de l'assujettir à une licence et de le diffuser dans le monde entier, par tout moyen désiré, et d'autoriser d'autres à le faire.
  6. Afin de protéger sa propre vie privée et celle des autres, le participant ne doit inclure dans le matériel aucun renseignement personnel, notamment des numéros de téléphone, des numéros d'assurance sociale, de l'information bancaire, des curriculum vitae ou des adresses électroniques. Tout matériel qui semble inclure de tels renseignements personnels pourrait être jugé inadmissible.

Prix

  1. Les participants peuvent gagner l'un des 15 prix en argent d'au plus 3 500 $. Les 15 participants dont le matériel est jugé le plus populaire selon un vote du public seront considérés comme les finalistes.
  2. Parmi les 15 finalistes, six d'entre eux seront choisis grands gagnants par un groupe de juges. Il y aura trois grands gagnants parmi les participants en anglais et trois grands gagnants parmi les participants en français.

Renseignements importants concernant le concours

  1. Aucun matériel ne sera retourné au participant.
  2. Lorsqu'il remplit le Formulaire d'inscription au concours Science, action!, le participant doit consentir, sans indemnisation, à l'utilisation, à la reproduction, à la publication, à la transmission et à la diffusion, par le CRSNG, de son nom, de sa photo et des renseignements sur le prix, et ce, dans toute publication ou promotion, dans le but de faire la promotion du concours, des finalistes, des grands gagnants ou des avantages de la recherche en sciences naturelles et en génie.

Évaluation du matériel

  1. Le matériel sera évalué par un groupe de juges dont les membres seront choisis par le CRSNG. Les décisions des juges et du CRSNG concernant toute question liée au concours seront définitives et sans appel.
  2. Au moment de l'évaluation, tout juge qui, selon le CRSNG, se trouve en situation de conflit d'intérêts réel ou perçu par rapport au matériel d'un participant doit s'abstenir de l'évaluer. Un juge se trouve en situation de conflit d'intérêts si le matériel qui lui est confié provient :
    • d'un ami;
    • d'un membre de la famille immédiate (comme cela est défini ci-dessus);
    • d'un collègue de son établissement;
    • d'une personne avec qui il a un différend.
  3. Le CRSNG se réserve le droit de ne remettre aucun prix et de mettre fin au concours s'il juge, à sa discrétion exclusive, que le nombre d'inscriptions est insuffisant ou si la qualité du matériel présenté est insuffisante.

Critères d'évaluation

  1. Le choix des 25 meilleures vidéos se fera selon un vote du public comptabilisé en fonction du nombre total de fois que le matériel a été visionné dans YouTube.
  2. Si l'on juge qu'on a artificiellement fait la promotion du matériel présenté par un participant en utilisant des mécanismes de vote automatisés (notamment au moyen d'un logiciel de pollupostage), ce dernier sera disqualifié.
  3. Le matériel des participants qui répond à toutes les exigences liées à l'admissibilité sera évalué selon les critères suivants :
    • 40 % pour la clarté (la vidéo explique clairement les travaux de recherche et les avantages qui en découlent);
    • 30 % pour la créativité (l'originalité de la représentation graphique des travaux de recherche);
    • 30 % pour la qualité technique (notamment les prises de caméra, la qualité du son et le montage).

Finalistes et grands gagnants

  1. Le nom des 15 finalistes sera annoncé dans le site Web et les pages de médias sociaux (Twitter, Facebook et YouTube, Instagram et LinkedIn) du CRSNG au plus tard le 5 avril 2017.
  2. On avisera chacun des 15 finalistes par courriel au plus tard le 16 mars 2017 que son matériel a remporté un prix. Si une personne refuse le prix, il pourra être attribué à un autre finaliste conformément aux règlements du présent concours.

Généralités

  1. Seuls les 15 finalistes seront avisés qu'ils ont été sélectionnés.
  2. Avant d'obtenir un prix, chaque finaliste ou grand gagnant devra fournir, dans les cinq (5) jours suivant la réception de l'avis indiquant que son matériel a été sélectionné, son consentement ainsi qu'une déclaration d'autorisation qui confirme notamment la conformité aux règlements du concours, l'acceptation du prix tel qu'il est remis et le consentement à l'utilisation, sans indemnisation, par le CRSNG, de ses renseignements personnels, dont son nom, sa photo, l'établissement d'enseignement où il est inscrit et les renseignements sur le prix, dans le but de faire la promotion du concours, des finalistes, des grands gagnants ou des avantages de la recherche en sciences naturelles et en génie.
  3. Tous les prix doivent être acceptés tels quels et ne peuvent être substitués, transférés ou convertis en argent, ou être revendus.
  4. Le nom des finalistes et des grands gagnants sera rendu public au plus tard le 5 avril 2017. Ces annonces seront effectuées par divers moyens de communication, notamment les pages Twitter et Facebook, et le site Web du CRSNG.
  5. Le CRSNG se réserve le droit d'annuler, d'interrompre, de modifier ou de suspendre le concours pour tout motif. L'annonce d'une telle décision sera affichée dans le site Web du CRSNG ou dans ses pages de médias sociaux. Les participants devraient donc consulter ces sources de temps à autre afin de vérifier si une telle annonce a été faite.
  6. Le CRSNG se réserve le droit de modifier les règlements du concours sans motif, y compris, au besoin, pour assurer la conformité à toute loi applicable. L'annonce d'une telle décision sera affichée dans le site Web du CRSNG ou dans ses médias sociaux. Les participants devraient donc consulter ces sources de temps à autre afin de vérifier si une telle annonce a été faite.
  7. En s'inscrivant au concours, le participant accepte d'observer les règlements énoncés dans le présent document et confirme savoir que le CRSNG n'assume aucune responsabilité à l'égard des dommages, des coûts, des demandes, des réclamations ou des pertes de quelque type que ce soit qu'il pourrait subir en raison de sa participation au concours.
  8. Le présent concours est régi par les lois de la province de l'Ontario ainsi que toute loi fédérale applicable. Il s'interprète conformément à ces lois. Les règlements énoncés dans le présent document régissent tous les aspects du concours et lient tous les participants.
  9. Le concours, qui est fondé sur les aptitudes, est nul là où les lois l'interdisent.
  10. Le CRSNG n'est pas responsable de matériel soumis en retard, perdu, envoyé au mauvais endroit, endommagé ou détruit. Tout matériel qui est falsifié, illisible, inintelligible ou tronqué sera jugé inadmissible. Le CRSNG n'assume aucune responsabilité à l'égard de toute défectuosité ou erreur liée à un téléphone, à un ordinateur ou à un réseau, qu'elle soit de nature technique ou humaine, ou causée par une perturbation des communications ou une autre cause échappant à son contrôle raisonnable.

Renseignements personnels

  1. Tous les renseignements personnels recueillis aux fins de l'administration du concours sont placés sous le contrôle du CRSNG et seront gérés en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Il est possible que les renseignements recueillis aux fins de l'administration du concours puissent être divulgués en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Les renseignements personnels concernant les finalistes et les grands gagnants, dont leur nom, leur photo, l'établissement d'enseignement où ils sont inscrits et les renseignements sur les prix, peuvent être utilisés sans indemnisation par le CRSNG, dans le but de faire la promotion du concours, des finalistes, des grands gagnants ou des avantages de la recherche en sciences naturelles et en génie.
  2. Toute question concernant la collecte, la divulgation et l'utilisation de vos renseignements personnels peut être acheminée à connect@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Des questions ?

Encore besoin d'aide? Écrivez-nous!


Le concours est organisé par le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) de concert avec des organismes collaborateurs.

Bulletin Contact

Recevez par courriel des mises à jour sur les activités du CRSNG. Consultez tous les numéros.

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram