Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Eligibility

PromoScience encourages a wide variety of organizations to help young Canadians in elementary school, high school, or their first year of college in Quebec, and their teachers, to develop science and engineering skills and interests.

PromoScience grants support organizations that:

  • work with young Canadians to inspire an interest in science and engineering;

    From robotic workshops to youth-focused conservation projects, we are interested in imaginative programs connecting young people and their families with science ideas.

  • motivate young people to study science and engineering and to pursue careers in these fields;

    New talents need support and encouragement to flourish. If your organization helps encourage the next generation of innovators to aim higher and appreciate the huge potential of careers in science and engineering, let us know.
  • bring interactive, hands-on science experiences to young people.

    Does your organization actively engage youth in doing and learning about science and engineering? Tell us about your work.

These include organizations that:

  • focus on groups that are traditionally under-represented in scientific and engineering careers;

    Access to science and engineering skills means access to success. If your organization is taking science out to young people in groups or communities that do not get equal exposure to science learning opportunities, we are ready to help.
  • provide instruction and resources to science, math and technology teachers.

    We welcome proposals for professional development programs outside of accredited courses or degree requirements.

Is Your Organization Eligible?

To be eligible, you must:

  • be a Canadian:
    • registered non-profit organization,
    • postsecondary institution, or
    • non-federal museum or science centre.
  • demonstrate ongoing involvement in the promotion of the natural sciences and engineering to young Canadians.

Examples of ineligible organizations include:

  • federal departments and agencies;
  • federal museums and “friends of a federal museum” societies;
  • provincial, territorial, regional and municipal government departments;
  • organizations running one-time, project-specific activities; and
  • elementary schools, high schools, and school boards.

What Activities are Eligible?

There is a very broad range of activities promoting the natural sciences and engineering that are eligible for funding. The following points answer common questions about eligibility.

  • Ongoing programming: Activities must be delivered on a continual basis from year to year. One-time, project-specific activities are not eligible.
  • Youth-focused programming: Activities and content must be designed for youth in elementary school, high school, or their first year of college in Quebec and/or their teachers. Programming for youth that involves their families is encouraged. We do not support activities targeting pre-school aged children, postsecondary students or the general public.
  • Teacher-focused programming: PromoScience is targeting resources and tools for teachers that make it easier for them to teach science well, as well as professional development for teachers to improve their knowledge, skills and enthusiasm for teaching science to youth.
  • Programming in the natural sciences and engineering (NSE): Proposed activities must be primarily focused on promoting interest and careers in the NSE. Programming focused primarily on health, medicine, social sciences, or arts is not eligible for support.
  • New/pilot programs: Such applications must include strong evidence of the feasibility and anticipated impact of the activities (i.e., support letters, data from similar successful programs).
  • Proposals with broad impact and reach: We encourage proposals at the national, provincial, territorial and regional levels. We will not support local activities unless these target traditionally under-represented groups in science and engineering.
  • Interactive, hands-on programming: Activities must involve social or technology-mediated interaction with a two-way flow of information and influence between youth and their facilitators. We will not support the production of books, videos, lectures, etc. that are not part of an interactive program.
  • Research experience: Applicants must demonstrate how their program meets the objectives of the PromoScience Program by going beyond simply providing work experience.
  • Program delivery using a website: Such applications must demonstrate that the website is of an ongoing nature and interactive, and should include a detailed plan that outlines the need for the site, its content and plans for ongoing maintenance.
  • University-based activities: If an activity is linked to university course work (i.e., university students as instructors or mentors), the course work must be clearly delineated from the youth-based outreach component for the application to be eligible.
  • For organizations receiving core government funding (i.e., museums and science centres), only activities that are not already funded through their existing core funding are eligible. For example, expanding collections or developing travelling and/or permanent displays would not be considered eligible for funding through PromoScience.

Current Award Holders

If your organization received the last payment of an active award in January of this year, it is eligible to apply in September for a renewal of funding for the same activity.

If the last payment of an ongoing award is scheduled for next January, wait until next September to apply for a renewal of funding for the same activity.

Multiple Awards

PromoScience will allow an organization to hold multiple concurrent awards as long as the organization clearly demonstrates in the application that there is no overlap in any way with activities already supported by active PromoScience grants, or with other proposals submitted to the same PromoScience competition by the same organization.

NSERC encourages organizers of science and engineering promotion activities for youth to coordinate and prioritize their activities within their own organization (i.e., at the same university) and to collaborate with other organizations. Keep in mind that two applications from the same organization will be in competition with each other. When a single application requests funding for more than one program, the Selection Committee may choose to direct funding to one particular program.

Postsecondary Institutions

NSERC will accept only one application per department. Concurrent awards must be held at different departments and applicants must demonstrate that there is no overlap between the activities proposed and those supported by other applications or active awards. The onus is on the applicant to find out what other activities at their institution are currently supported by, or being requested from, PromoScience. The proposed science and engineering activities must address the PromoScience objectives and must not be for recruitment purposes.

Umbrella Group Members

Members of umbrella organizations may submit individual applications (see Multiple Awards); however, PromoScience prefers to receive applications for support from head offices of umbrella organizations, rather than individual member groups. NSERC defines an umbrella organization as an association of groups that work together formally to coordinate activities or pool resources. The umbrella organization provides services, support, resources and/or an identity to the smaller organizations. Proposals from an umbrella organization will be grouped together in the review process.

Also, the applicant must submit a letter from the head office of the umbrella organization that:

  • approves the submission of a separate application by the member group;
  • describes the relationship between the head office and the member group (i.e., services provided, funding transferred);
  • clearly delineates the activities delivered by the head office and those delivered by the member group;
  • explains how the activities proposed by the member group are separate and distinct from the umbrella organization’s (or another member group’s), activities currently supported by PromoScience, or proposed to PromoScience in a separate application to the current competition.

Eligibility Enquiries

If you are not sure about the eligibility of your organization or activity for PromoScience support, contact us well in advance of the September 15 application deadline.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Admissibilité

Le Programme PromoScience encourage un large éventail d’organismes à aider les enseignants et les jeunes élèves canadiens de l’élémentaire, du secondaire ou en première année d’études collégiales au Québec à acquérir des compétences en sciences et en génie et à stimuler leur intérêt pour ces domaines.

Les subventions PromoScience appuient les organismes :

  • qui effectuent des démarches auprès des jeunes Canadiens pour éveiller leur intérêt à l’égard des sciences et du génie;

    Qu’il s’agisse d’ateliers en robotique ou de projets de conservation de la nature destinés aux jeunes, tout programme ingénieux qui rapproche les jeunes et leur famille des sciences nous intéresse.
  • qui motivent les jeunes à étudier en sciences et en génie et à faire carrière dans ces domaines;

    Les jeunes talents ont besoin de soutien et d’encouragement pour s’épanouir. Si votre organisme contribue à encourager la prochaine génération d’innovateurs à viser plus haut et à prendre conscience des possibilités qu’offre une carrière en sciences et en génie, dites-le-nous.
  • qui donnent aux jeunes des occasions d’apprentissage pratique et interactif en sciences;

    Votre organisme incite-t-il concrètement les jeunes à réaliser des activités en sciences et en génie et à acquérir des connaissances dans ces domaines? Décrivez-nous vos activités.

Les organismes appuyés par le Programme PromoScience comprennent les organismes :

  • qui ciblent des groupes sous-représentés dans les domaines des sciences et du génie;

    L’accès à des connaissances en sciences et en génie se traduit par l’accès au succès. Si votre organisme offre des expériences d’apprentissage aux jeunes issus de communautés ou de groupes moins exposés au contexte scientifique, nous sommes prêts à vous aider.
  • qui donnent une formation et offrent des ressources aux enseignants en sciences, en mathématiques et en technologie;

    Les organismes responsables de programmes de perfectionnement professionnel qui ne s’inscrivent pas dans le cadre de cours agréés ou ne constituent pas une exigence relative à l’obtention d’un diplôme sont également invités à présenter une proposition.

Votre organisme est-il admissible?

Pour être admissible, votre organisme doit :

  • être établi au Canada;
    • être un organisme sans but lucratif enregistré,
    • être un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire,
    • ou être un musée ou un centre des sciences non fédéral,
  • et démontrer qu’il participe de façon continue à la promotion des sciences naturelles et du génie auprès des jeunes Canadiens.

Voici quelques exemples d’organismes qui ne sont pas admissibles :

  • les ministères et les organismes fédéraux;
  • les musées fédéraux et les « amis des musées fédéraux »;
  • les ministères des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et les services des administrations régionales et municipales;
  • les organismes qui offrent des activités dans le cadre d’un projet ponctuel;
  • les écoles élémentaires et secondaires, et les conseils et commissions scolaires.

Quelles activités sont admissibles?

Un très large éventail d’activités de promotion des sciences naturelles et du génie sont admissibles à une subvention PromoScience. Les points suivants répondent à des questions d’ordre général au sujet de l’admissibilité.

  • Programmes permanents : Les activités doivent être menées d’une manière continuelle d’une année à l’autre. Les activités uniques portant sur un projet particulier ne sont pas admissibles.
  • Programmes destinés aux jeunes : Les activités et le contenu des programmes proposés doivent être conçus pour les jeunes de l’élémentaire, du secondaire ou en première année d’études collégiales au Québec ou pour les enseignants. Le CRSNG encourage les organismes candidats à proposer des programmes destinés aux jeunes et leur famille. Il n’appuie pas les activités qui ciblent les enfants d’âge préscolaire, les étudiants de niveau postsecondaire ou le grand public.
  • Programmes destinés aux enseignants : Le Programme PromoScience cible les ressources et les outils destinés aux enseignants qui leur permettent de bien enseigner les sciences, ainsi que les activités de perfectionnement professionnel destinées aux enseignants qui leur permettent d’améliorer leurs connaissances et leurs compétences pour enseigner les sciences aux jeunes et de leur transmettre leur enthousiasme pour les sciences.
  • Programmes en sciences naturelles et en génie (SNG) : Les activités proposées doivent principalement être axées sur la promotion de l’intérêt à l’égard des SNG ou des carrières en SNG. Les programmes principalement axés sur la santé, la médecine, les sciences humaines ou les arts ne sont pas admissibles à un appui.
  • Programmes nouveaux ou pilotes : Les propositions concernant des programmes nouveaux ou pilotes doivent comprendre des preuves éloquentes de la faisabilité du programme et de l’incidence prévue des activités (p. ex., des lettres d’appui, des données provenant d’autres programmes semblables qui ont donné de bons résultats).
  • Activités ayant des incidences et une portée importantes : Le CRSNG favorise les propositions qui ont des incidences et une portée importantes au niveau national, provincial, territorial et régional. Il n’appuie pas les propositions axées sur des activités locales, à moins qu’elles ne ciblent des groupes qui sont traditionnellement sous-représentés dans les domaines des sciences et du génie.
  • Activités pratiques et interactives : Les activités doivent faire appel à une interaction sociale ou à la technologie qui suppose l’échange d’information et l’influence mutuelle des jeunes participants et de leurs animateurs. Le CRSNG n’appuie pas les propositions axées sur la production ou la présentation entre autres de conférences, de livres, de vidéos qui ne font pas partie d’un programme interactif.
  • Expérience en recherche : Les organismes candidats doivent démontrer que le programme proposé atteint les objectifs du Programme PromoScience et qu’il ne se limite pas à offrir une expérience de travail.
  • Prestation du programme par l’entremise d’un site Web : Ces propositions doivent démontrer que le site Web est de nature continue et interactive et devraient comprendre un plan détaillé qui présente les grandes lignes expliquant en quoi le site répond à un besoin, renfermant des données détaillées sur le contenu et décrivant les plans de mise à jour continue.
  • Activités s’inscrivant dans un cadre universitaire : Pour être admissibles, les propositions d’activités liées à des travaux qui s’inscrivent dans le cadre d’un cours universitaire (p. ex., pour lesquels des étudiants universitaires agissent à titre d’instructeurs ou de mentors) doivent clairement définir la composante de promotion axée sur les jeunes des travaux de cours.
  • Dans le cas des organismes qui bénéficient déjà d’un financement public de base (p. ex., les musées et les centres des sciences), seules les activités qui ne sont pas déjà appuyées par leur financement de base actuel sont admissibles. Par exemple, des activités visant à enrichir des collections ou à mettre sur pied des expositions itinérantes ou permanentes ne sont pas admissibles à une subvention PromoScience.

Titulaires actuels d’une subvention

Si votre organisme a reçu le dernier versement d’une subvention active en janvier de l’année en cours, vous pouvez présenter en septembre une demande de renouvèlement du financement pour la même activité.

Si le dernier versement d’une subvention en cours est prévu en janvier de l’année prochaine, vous pouvez présenter en septembre de l’année prochaine une demande de renouvèlement du financement pour la même activité.

Financement multiple

Le CRSNG permettra à un organisme de bénéficier de subventions multiples à condition que l’organisme démontre clairement dans sa demande qu’il n’y a aucun chevauchement avec des activités déjà appuyées par une subvention PromoScience en vigueur ni avec d’autres propositions qu’il présente dans le cadre du même concours de PromoScience.

Le CRSNG encourage les organisateurs d’activités de promotion des sciences et du génie auprès des jeunes à coordonner leurs activités et à en établir la priorité au sein de leur propre organisme (p. ex., la même université) et à collaborer avec d’autres organismes. Sachez toutefois que deux demandes provenant du même organisme seront en compétition l’une contre l’autre. Lorsqu’une demande porte sur le financement de plus d’un programme, le Comité de sélection peut choisir d’appuyer un programme en particulier.

Établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire

Le CRSNG acceptera seulement une demande de subvention par département. Les subventions détenues simultanément doivent l’être dans des départements différents, et les organismes candidats doivent démontrer qu’il n’y a pas de chevauchement entre les activités proposées et celles qui font l’objet d’autres demandes ou qui sont déjà subventionnées. Il incombe à l’organisme candidat de trouver quelles autres activités au sein de son établissement bénéficient déjà d’une subvention PromoScience ou font l’objet d’une demande de subvention. Les activités proposées en sciences et en génie doivent répondre aux objectifs du Programme PromoScience et ne doivent pas être destinées à des fins de recrutement.

Membres d’organismes-cadres

Les organismes membres d’organismes-cadres peuvent présenter des demandes individuelles (consulter la rubrique Financement multiple). Toutefois, le CRSNG préfère recevoir des demandes d’appui du siège d’organismes-cadres plutôt que d’organismes membres individuels. Le CRSNG définit un organisme-cadre comme une association de groupes qui travaillent ensemble officiellement à coordonner des activités ou à mettre en commun des ressources. Un organisme-cadre fournit des services, un appui, des ressources ou une identité à de plus petites organisations. Les propositions présentées par un organisme-cadre seront regroupées aux fins du processus d’évaluation.

De plus, l’organisme candidat doit présenter une lettre du siège de l’organisme-cadre qui :

  • approuve la présentation d’une demande distincte par l’organisme membre;
  • décrit le lien entre le siège de l’organisme-cadre et l’organisme membre (p. ex., services fournis, transfert de fonds);
  • définit clairement les activités menées par le siège social de l’organisme-cadre et celles qui sont menées par l’organisme membre;
  • explique en quoi les activités proposées par l’organisme membre sont séparées et distinctes de celles de l’organisme-cadre ou d’un autre organisme membre qui sont déjà appuyées par le Programme PromoScience ou proposées dans une autre demande présentée dans le cadre du concours actuel.

Renseignements au sujet de l’admissibilité

En cas de doute au sujet de l’admissibilité de votre organisme ou de l’activité pour laquelle vous souhaitez obtenir l’appui du Programme PromoScience, communiquez avec nous bien avant le 15 septembre, date limite de présentation des demandes.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.