Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Call for Applications

In addition to continuing to accept applications that promote the natural sciences and engineering to Canada's young people in general, NSERC is issuing a targeted call for applications that focus on girls and/or Aboriginal* youth - groups that are traditionally under-represented in scientific and engineering careers - and expects to support an increased percentage of applications in this area.

Furthermore, NSERC encourages organizations to consider the needs of official language minority communities in their area while developing the activities to be proposed in the application and to strive to have official documentation and promotional material in both official languages.

* For the purposes of this program, NSERC uses the Canadian Constitution Act, 1982 definition of Aboriginal as including the Indian, Inuit, and Métis peoples of Canada.

PromoScience Application Summary Form

Read the PromoScience Program description before completing the PromoScience Application Summary Form. Accessibility notice: If you cannot access the content, please contact the On-line Services Helpdesk by email at webapp@nserc-crsng.gc.ca or by telephone at 613-995-4273. Indicate the email address and telephone number where you can be reached.

Presentation Standards

You are responsible for submitting a complete application that conforms to the presentation standards established by NSERC. Incomplete applications and applications that do not meet the presentation standards may be rejected, or be at a disadvantage, in comparison with those that are complete and respect the presentation standards. Where page limits are stated, pages in excess of the number permitted will be removed.

For more information, read the General Presentation Guidelines.

Application Deadline

Your application must be received at NSERC by 8:00 p.m. (ET) on September 15, 2015. If the deadline falls on a weekend or federal holiday, your application must reach NSERC by the following working day. Late applications will not be accepted.

Applications must be submitted via the This link will take you to another Web site Secure Submissions for NSERC’s Innovative Collaborations and Science Promotion Programs website. Documents should be submitted in Portable Document Format (PDF) as a single document.

Material or updates received under separate cover (before or after the deadline date) will not be accepted.

Selection Criteria

In addition to the PromoScience Application Summary Form, your submission must include (up to five pages maximum):

  • an executive summary of up to 150 words including the nature and goals of the program, the number of youth to be reached and an overview of how the PromoScience funding would be spent; and
  • a description of how your proposed program addresses the selection criteria.

Divide your application into three sections; use the selection criteria as headings and indicators as sub-headings. Requests for core funding must include a detailed description of the organization’s main activities.

Organization’s Financial Picture

Your PromoScience application must also include the financial information listed below. This information is not counted in the five-page limit and must also conform to the General Presentation Guidelines.

  1. Your organization's most recent financial statements (not applicable to postsecondary institution applicants).
  2. A general budget forecast covering each year of the requested granting period (January to December). This sample budget is intended as a guide for your organization to follow. Some items may not be listed or may not apply to your organization; please adapt the template according to your needs. Include:
    • projected revenues of your organization or program(s). Breakdown income by source: PromoScience, federal government (indicate other funds received from NSERC and other federal granting agencies), provincial government, private sector, foundations, self-generated, university, etc.;
    • anticipated expenses of your organization or program(s) (breakdown by expenditure: salaries, equipment, materials and supplies, travel costs, publicity, etc.); and
    • estimated in-kind contributions (salaries, equipment, space, etc.). In-kind contributions should be included in the budget as a separate category and clearly indicated as in-kind.
  3. A budget justification for each budget item (indicate any priorities for funding) and an explanation of any relationship and/or overlap, conceptual or financial, with other NSERC funding or support from other sources (two pages maximum).

Note: NSERC will not fund 100% of the costs of a proposed activity. NSERC’s contribution is generally up to one-third of a program’s funding. The average grant typically ranges from $15,000 to $25,000 per year.

Certification Requirements

Consult the policies and guidelines described in the Requirements for Certain Types of Research. While these policies were written for research-related activities, in the context of PromoScience they may also apply to outreach, teaching and instructional activities. In the event of any uncertainty, applicants should contact the PromoScience Program Officer.

Note: Most programs supported through PromoScience involve human participants, but the youth involved in the activities are not considered ‘human subjects’ unless data (excluding program evaluation surveys) or samples are being collected from them. Only then does the ‘Humans’ box on the PromoScience Application Summary Form need to be checked.

Upon the award of a PromoScience grant, applicants may be required to submit their program for review by a Research Ethics Board, or Animal Care Committee, administered by a local university or college. In such cases, awards would be made conditional upon a satisfactory review.

Environmental Impact

The Environmental Information Form (Appendix A) must be completed and submitted with the grant application only if at least one of the following situations applies to your research activities: (A) any phase of the proposed research will take place outdoors and on federal lands in Canada, as defined in This link will take you to another Web site section 2(1) of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 (CEAA 2012); (B) any phase of the proposed research will take place outdoors and outside of Canada; (C)(i) the grant funds will permit a designated project (listed in the CEAA 2012 This link will take you to another Web site Regulations Designating Physical Activities [RDPA]) to be carried out in whole or in part; or (C)(ii) any phase of the proposed research will depend on a designated project (listed in the This link will take you to another Web site RDPA) that is being carried out by an organization other than NSERC. If none of these situations apply to your proposed research activities, Appendix A is not required.

For Applicants with Past or Current PromoScience Funding

A one-page activity report (as an additional page) must be provided, and will be reviewed by the Selection Committee in terms of the effective use of past funding and, for renewing applicants, the ongoing effectiveness of the programming.

The report must include:

  • a brief description of the activities supported with previous PromoScience funding;
  • an overview of the outcomes and impacts from previous funding; and
  • a justification for continued NSERC support (for renewing applicants only).

Letters of Support

  • Up to three letters of reference; these are highly recommended, as applications without letters of reference may be at a disadvantage in the competition. Applicants that are specifically targeting an under-represented group are strongly encouraged to include a letter from an organization linked with the under-represented target audience.
  • Up to three letters of commitment to confirm funding agreements or in-kind contributions from outside sources and/or from the host organization (i.e., postsecondary institution).

Note that other documentation, such as appendices, brochures, and CD ROMs, will not be accepted as part of the application process.

Signatures

For applicants

Before you, as an applicant, submit your application to NSERC, you must read and agree to the terms and conditions listed on the Terms and Conditions of Applying Form.

For postsecondary institutions

The signatures of the institutional authorities certify that:

Notification of Decision

NSERC will inform all applicants (in writing) of the results of the annual PromoScience competition by mid-January. NSERC will not provide results by telephone. Grantees can expect to receive their first instalment by early February. A list of the successful grantees will also be posted on the PromoScience website.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Appel de demandes

Le CRSNG invite les candidats à lui présenter des demandes qui font la promotion des sciences naturelles et du génie auprès des jeunes Canadiens, notamment les filles et les peuples autochtones*, qui sont sous-représentés dans les carrières en sciences et en génie.

De plus, le CRSNG lance un appel de demandes ciblé axé sur les ressources, les outils et le perfectionnement professionnel destinés aux enseignants. Le CRSNG s’attend à appuyer un pourcentage accru de demandes axées sur ces domaines. Les programmes de perfectionnement professionnel ne doivent pas constituer une exigence relative à l’obtention d’un diplôme.

En outre, le CRSNG encourage les organismes à tenir compte des besoins des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire de leur région lorsqu’ils élaborent les activités qui seront proposées dans leur demande et à s’efforcer d’offrir les documents officiels et le matériel promotionnel dans les deux langues officielles.

* Aux fins de ce programme, le CRSNG se reporte à la définition de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982, selon laquelle les peuples autochtones sont notamment des Indiens, des Inuits et des Métis du Canada.

Formulaire de demande sommaire pour le Programme PromoScience

Lisez la description du Programme PromoScience avant de remplir le Formulaire de demande sommaire pour le Programme PromoScience. Avis concernant l’accessibilité : Si vous ne pouvez pas accéder au contenu, communiquez avec le Service de dépannage des services électroniques à webapp@nserc-crsng.gc.ca ou au 613-995-4273. Indiquez dans votre message votre adresse de courriel et votre numéro de téléphone.

Normes de présentation des demandes

Vous devez présenter une demande complète qui respecte les normes de présentation établies par le CRSNG. Les demandes qui sont incomplètes et qui ne respectent pas les normes de présentation pourraient être refusées ou défavorisées par rapport aux demandes complètes qui respectent les normes de présentation. Dans les cas où le nombre de pages est établi, les pages excédentaires seront supprimées. Seuls les documents demandés par le CRSNG seront transmis au comité de sélection.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez les Lignes directrices sur la présentation générale.

Nouveau : La documentation relative à la demande, y compris les lettres d’appui, ne doivent comprendre aucun lien vers des sites Web. Les membres du comité de sélection ignoreront les liens contenus dans les documents.

Les candidats devraient demander aux personnes qui fournissent des lettres d’appui de respecter les lignes directrices. Si les lettres d’appui sont illisibles, la demande pourrait se trouver désavantagée dans le cadre du concours.

Date limite de présentation des demandes

Votre demande doit parvenir au CRSNG avant 20 h (HE) au plus tard le 15 septembre. Si la date limite tombe un jour de fin de semaine ou un jour férié national, votre demande doit parvenir au CRSNG au plus tard le prochain jour ouvrable. Les demandes reçues après la date limite seront refusées.

Les demandes doivent être présentées par voie électronique au moyen du système de présentation sécurisée des demandes aux programmes de collaborations novatrices et de promotion des sciences du CRSNG. Les documents doivent constituer un seul document en format PDF.

Les documents ou les mises à jour acheminés sous pli séparé (avant ou après la date limite) seront rejetés.

Critères de sélection

Dans votre demande, qui doit comprendre au plus cinq pages (en sus du Formulaire de demande sommaire pour le Programme PromoScience), vous devez :

  • présenter un résumé d’au plus 150 mots qui indique la nature et les buts du programme ainsi que le nombre de jeunes qui seront touchés par ce dernier. Le résumé doit aussi comprendre un aperçu de l’utilisation des fonds de la subvention;
  • décrire en quoi le programme proposé satisfait aux critères de sélection.

Divisez votre demande en trois sections et utilisez les critères de sélection comme titres et les indicateurs comme sous-titres. Les demandes qui visent à obtenir un financement de base doivent comprendre une description détaillée des activités principales de l’organisme candidat.

Situation financière de l’organisme

Votre demande doit également comprendre les renseignements financiers énumérés ci-dessous. Ces renseignements ne sont pas compris dans les cinq pages permises et leur présentation doit également respecter les Lignes directrices sur la présentation générale.

Il faut fournir les renseignements suivants :

  1. les plus récents états financiers de l’organisme candidat (sans objet si l’organisme candidat est un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire);
  2. les prévisions budgétaires générales pour chaque année de la période de subvention demandée (de janvier à décembre). Le présent exemple de budget est fourni à titre de guide à votre organisme. Il se peut que certains éléments n’y figurent pas ou ne s’appliquent pas à votre organisme, auquel cas ce dernier pourra modifier le modèle en fonction de ses besoins. Veuillez inclure :
    • les recettes prévues de votre organisme ou du programme sous forme de ventilation des recettes par source : PromoScience, gouvernement fédéral (indiquez les fonds accordés par le CRSNG et d’autres organismes subventionnaires fédéraux), gouvernement provincial, secteur privé, fondations, autofinancement, université, etc.;
    • les dépenses prévues de votre organisme ou du programme sous forme de ventilation par dépense : salaires, appareillage, fournitures et approvisionnements, frais de déplacement, publicité, etc.;
    • une estimation des contributions en nature (salaires, appareillage, locaux, etc.). Les contributions en nature doivent être clairement indiquées comme telles dans une catégorie distincte du budget;
  3. une justification du budget pour chaque poste budgétaire (indiquez l’ordre de priorité du financement) et une explication de tout lien ou chevauchement, sur le plan conceptuel ou financier, avec d’autres fonds accordés par le CRSNG ou d’autres sources (au plus deux pages).

Remarque : Le CRSNG n’appuie pas la totalité des couts d’une activité proposée. La contribution financière du CRSNG représente habituellement jusqu’à un tiers du financement requis par le programme. La moyenne des subventions se chiffre généralement entre 15 000 $ et 25 000 $ par année.

Exigences en matière d’attestation

Consultez les politiques et lignes directrices décrites à la page Exigences concernant certains types de recherche. Même si ces politiques ont été rédigées pour des activités liées à la recherche, elles peuvent également s’appliquer aux activités menées dans le cadre du Programme PromoScience qui comportent un volet de sensibilisation, d’enseignement ou des activités éducatives. Dans le doute, les organismes devraient communiquer avec l’administrateur du Programme PromoScience.

Remarque : La majorité des programmes appuyés par le Programme PromoScience font appel à des participants humains, mais les jeunes qui participent aux activités ne sont pas considérés comme des « sujets humains », sauf s’ils font l’objet d’une collecte de données (à l’exception des sondages d’évaluation du programme) ou d’un prélèvement d’échantillons. C’est seulement dans ces cas qu’il est nécessaire de cocher la case « Êtres humains » sur le Formulaire de demande sommaire pour le Programme PromoScience.

À l’octroi de leur subvention PromoScience, les organismes pourraient être tenus de présenter leur programme aux fins d’examen à un comité d’éthique en recherche ou à un comité de protection des animaux administré par un établissement postsecondaire local. Ainsi, la subvention serait conditionnelle à une évaluation satisfaisante.

Incidence environnementale

Le Formulaire de renseignements environnementaux (annexe A) pourrait être exigé. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez les Lignes directrices du CRSNG sur les évaluations et les examens environnementaux.

Organismes candidats qui détiennent actuellement des fonds du Programme PromoScience

Les organismes candidats doivent présenter un rapport (une page supplémentaire) qui sera évalué par le Comité de sélection pour s’assurer qu’ils ont utilisé efficacement les subventions antérieures et, s’il s’agit d’organismes candidats au renouvèlement, que leur programme est toujours efficace.

Le rapport doit comprendre :

  • une description succincte des activités appuyées par la ou les subventions PromoScience antérieures;
  • un aperçu des résultats et de l’incidence de cet appui;
  • une justification du maintien de l’appui financier du CRSNG (qui s’applique aux organismes candidats au renouvèlement seulement).

Lettres d’appui

  • Jusqu’à trois lettres de recommandation; il est fortement recommandé de joindre ces lettres à la demande, car une demande sans lettres de recommandation pourrait être défavorisée dans le cadre du concours. Les candidats qui ciblent un groupe sous-représenté précis sont fortement encouragés à inclure une lettre d’un organisme ayant un lien avec le public cible sous-représenté.
  • Jusqu’à trois lettres d’engagement pour confirmer les accords de financement ou les contributions en nature de la part de sources extérieures ou de l’organisme d’accueil (un établissement d’enseignement postsecondaire).

Notez que les autres types de documents, comme les annexes, les dépliants et les CD-ROM, ne seront pas acceptés.

Signatures

Pour les candidats

Avant de pouvoir présenter votre demande au CRSNG à titre de candidat, vous devez lire et accepter les modalités énoncées dans le Formulaire de modalités de présentation des demandes. Il vous incombe de conserver une copie des modalités acceptées pour vos dossiers.

Pour les établissements postsecondaires

La signature des autorités de l’établissement atteste que :

Notification de décision

Le CRSNG informera par écrit tous les organismes candidats des résultats du concours annuel du Programme PromoScience d’ici la mi-janvier. Le CRSNG ne communiquera aucune décision par téléphone. Les organismes candidats retenus devraient recevoir le premier versement de la subvention PromoScience au début de février. Une liste des organismes candidats retenus sera également affichée dans le site Web du Programme PromoScience.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.