Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Administrative Matters

Ownership of Items Purchased with PromoScience Funds

All equipment and material purchased with PromoScience grant funds belong to the organization and not to the principal applicant, unless NSERC agrees otherwise in writing, or unless doing so would be contrary to a legislated requirement. As custodian, the organization is responsible for ensuring that the equipment is used for promoting science and engineering.

NSERC expects that the equipment will be made available to other organizations involved in science promotion when not in use by the organization that received the PromoScience grant. Fees may be charged to these users to recover direct costs incurred.

If NSERC-funded equipment is later sold, proceeds from the sale belong to the organization, but should be used for promotional purposes.

For the organization’s responsibilities with respect to equipment and facilities, consult Section 3.8: Ownership of Equipment and Facilities of the This link will take you to another Web site Agreement on the Administration of Agency Grants and Awards by Research Institutions (if applicable).

Transfers

PromoScience grants are awarded to the organization and not to the principal applicant. NSERC must be notified immediately of any changes in the responsibility of administering the grant. PromoScience grants are not transferable from one organization to another, nor can funds from one PromoScience grant be transferred to another.

Termination of a Grant

When an organization ceases to exist or becomes unable to carry out the activities for which the grant was awarded, the principal applicant must immediately inform NSERC's Finance Division and submit the following documents:

  • the organization's Statement of Account as of the date requested by NSERC; and
  • a detailed list of outstanding commitments made by the organization prior to termination.

The organization may not authorize any new commitments or expenditures from the grant account after the date of termination, or other date indicated by NSERC.

NSERC may authorize the payment of outstanding commitments or proposed phase-out expenditures out of the residual funds.

The allowed phase-out period will be determined by NSERC. A standard phase-out period is three to six months.

If NSERC terminates a PromoScience grant, the organization will be notified by a finance officer or the PromoScience program officer.

Deferral of Instalment Payments

Government policy states that NSERC cannot pay instalments in advance of need; it can provide funds only to correspond with the cash flow requirements to conduct program delivery. If the organization has a build-up of funds in the PromoScience account and believes that the scheduled instalment for the next financial year will not be needed at that time, the grantee should request a deferral of the next instalment from NSERC.

Deferring an instalment extends the life of the grant, allows the organization to re-organize its activities and postpones the renewal/re-application date by one or two years. The total of all deferral periods cannot exceed two years. The original grant end date will be adjusted accordingly.

Deferring an instalment does not adversely affect the review of the organization's next application, but rather demonstrates good fiscal management of its funds and provides the opportunity for NSERC to fund other organizations that might otherwise not have been awarded funding.

NSERC may defer, or even hold back, an organization’s next instalment if, in the sole discretion of NSERC, it is judged that the organization’s build-up of funds has not been properly justified and that the need for funds has not been demonstrated.

For more information about deferrals and hold-backs, contact the Finance and Awards Administration Division at NSERC by telephone at 613-995-2694 or by email at grantsadministration@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Residual Balances
All grants paid are deemed to have a primary holder (the principal applicant), whose name appears on the award notice.

All grants that have not been extended, or that have been terminated, may contain residual balances of funds allocated in prior years and/or issued in the current fiscal year. NSERC will request a reimbursement in the case when no future payments are scheduled for any current-year funds not required for the purpose for which they were granted.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Questions administratives

Propriété des biens achetés avec des fonds du Programme PromoScience

L’appareillage et le matériel achetés avec des fonds d’une subvention de PromoScience sont la propriété de l’organisme et non pas du candidat principal, à moins que le CRSNG n’en convienne autrement par écrit, ou que cette pratique soit contraire à une exigence établie par la loi. À titre de dépositaire, l’organisme doit s’assurer que l’appareillage sert à promouvoir la science et le génie.

Le CRSNG s’attend à ce que l’appareillage soit mis à la disposition d’autres organismes qui font la promotion des sciences lorsque l’organisme titulaire d’une subvention du Programme PromoScience ne l’utilise pas. Des frais peuvent être facturés à ces utilisateurs afin que les coûts directs engagés soient recouvrés.

Si de l’appareillage acheté avec des fonds du CRSNG est ultérieurement vendu, les recettes de la vente appartiennent à l’organisme, mais devraient être utilisées aux fins de promotion.

Afin de connaître les responsabilités de l’organisme à l’égard du matériel et des installations, consultez la section 3.8, Propriété du matériel et des installations de l’This link will take you to another Web site Entente sur l’administration des subventions et des bourses des organismes par les établissements de recherche (s’il y a lieu).

Transferts

Les subventions du Programme PromoScience sont accordées aux organismes, non aux candidats principaux. Le CRSNG doit être avisé immédiatement de tout changement dans l’administration de la subvention. Les subventions de PromoScience ne sont pas transférables d’un organisme à l’autre. Les fonds des subventions de PromoScience ne peuvent pas non plus être transférés d’une subvention de PromoScience à l’autre.

Cessation d’une subvention

Lorsqu’un organisme cesse d’exister ou est dans l’impossibilité de poursuivre les activités pour lesquelles la subvention avait été accordée, le candidat principal doit informer immédiatement la Division des finances et de l’administration des octrois du CRSNG et fournir les documents suivants :

  • un état des dépenses de l’organisme à la date fixée par le CRSNG;
  • une liste détaillée des engagements pris par l’organisme avant que la subvention prenne fin.

L’organisme ne peut prendre de nouveaux engagements ou autoriser des dépenses au compte de la subvention après la date de clôture ou après la date déterminée par le CRSNG.

Le CRSNG peut approuver le paiement des engagements en cours ou l’élimination graduelle des dépenses à partir du solde de la subvention.

Toute période permise pour mettre fin graduellement à la subvention sera déterminée par le CRSNG. Une telle période est en moyenne de trois à six mois.

Lorsque le CRSNG met fin à une subvention du Programme PromoScience, l’organisme en sera prévenu par l’administrateur du Programme PromoScience ou par un agent des finances.

Report de versements

La politique gouvernementale interdit au CRSNG d’effectuer des versements de subventions pour des besoins à venir et autorise uniquement le CRSNG à accorder des fonds d’un montant correspondant au budget de trésorerie nécessaire à la réalisation du programme. De plus, l’organisme titulaire d’une subvention de PromoScience devrait demander au CRSNG de reporter le versement prévu pour le prochain exercice s’il a accumulé des fonds dans son compte de subvention et juge que le versement ne sera pas nécessaire au cours de l’exercice.

Le report du versement d’une subvention a pour conséquence de permettre à l’organisme titulaire de réorganiser ses activités et de repousser d’un an ou deux ans la date de renouvellement de la subvention ou la date de présentation d’une nouvelle demande. Le total de toutes les périodes de report ne peut pas excéder deux ans. La date de fin initiale de la subvention est modifiée en conséquence.

Le report d’un versement n’a aucune incidence négative sur l’examen de la prochaine demande de subvention qui sera présentée par l’organisme. Au contraire, cela montre plutôt que l’organisme titulaire administre bien les fonds qui lui sont accordés et permet au CRSNG d’appuyer d’autres organismes qui, autrement, n’auraient peut-être pas bénéficié d’un appui.

Le CRSNG pourrait reporter ou retenir le prochain versement d’une subvention s’il estime que l’accumulation de fonds dans le compte de subvention de l’organisme n’a pas été bien justifiée et que le besoin de fonds n’a pas été démontré.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements au sujet des reports et des retenues, communiquez avec la Division des finances et de l’administration des octrois du CRSNG par téléphone au 613‑995‑2694 ou par courriel à administrationdessubventions@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Fonds non dépensés
Toutes les subventions versées sont réputées comme ayant un détenteur primaire (le candidat principal) dont le nom figure sur l’avis de subvention.

Toutes les subventions qui n’ont pas été prolongées ou auxquelles on a mis fin peuvent contenir des fonds non dépensés attribués dans les années antérieures ou accordés au cours de l’exercice en cours, ou ces deux possibilités. Dans les cas où aucun futur versement n’est prévu, le CRSNG demandera un remboursement des fonds de l’exercice en cours qui ne seront pas nécessaires aux fins pour lesquelles ces fonds ont été accordés.