Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Strategic Partnership Grants for Projects

International Collaborations - Concurrent Call for Joint Research Projects

Detailed Application Instructions

This document applies specifically to concurrent calls for joint research projects established by Memoranda of Understanding and must be read in conjunction with the description and instructions for NSERC Strategic Partnership Grants for Projects (SPG‑P).

Background and Objectives

Concurrent calls for joint research projects with international granting agencies are part of NSERC’s international strategy to increase scientific collaboration between Canada and other countries. Where priorities and programs align, NSERC may sign Memoranda of Understanding to establish mechanisms for joint funding of collaborative research and innovation projects conducted by teams from both countries. Such activities will strengthen the collaboration between the countries’ research and innovation communities to achieve world-class scientific and technical results, leading toward new innovative technologies.

Participating Organizations in 2017

NSERC has introduced a mandatory letter of intent for SPG-P proposals. Letters of intent must be submitted by February 1, 2017. SPG-P full applications must be submitted by June 7, 2017. Counterpart proposals must be submitted by their agencies’ schemes and deadlines—refer to the table below.

Granting Organization, Country
Program Priority Areas*
Agence nationale de la recherche (ANR), France
(Pre-registration: October 27, 2016;
Deadline for full proposals: April 3, 2017)
This link will take you to another Web site Generic Call for Proposals Advanced Manufacturing
Environment and Agriculture
Information and Communications Technologies
Natural Resources and Energy
Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST), Taiwan (Deadline: June 7, 2017)
This link will take you to another Web site Global Partnership Programs Advanced Manufacturing
Environment and Agriculture
Information and Communications Technologies
Natural Resources and Energy

*These priority areas reflect the titles of specific target areas or research topics within NSERC’s SPG‑P. The priority areas may have slightly different names in other countries.

Funding

The international agency will fund its scientists, and NSERC will fund Canadian researchers, each according to its own regulations and practices.

A joint project will be supported if it is positively reviewed by both NSERC and the corresponding international agency. The number of joint projects selected for funding and the total amount awarded will strongly depend on the number and quality of projects submitted. The agencies expect balanced scientific contributions and cooperation in joint projects. The proposal must demonstrate a strong synergy among the teams from each country and a true integration of the work.

Application Procedures

Unless otherwise indicated, two separate (but linked) proposals constitute the joint research project—one to be submitted to NSERC for a SPG‑P, and the other to be submitted to the designated program at its counterpart agency. Each application must follow the respective application guidelines and eligibility rules. The proposals must be linked through common information provided in each proposal and must clearly reflect the contributions of the international partners. A proposed joint project submitted to only one agency is not eligible.

Canadian applications must meet all the requirements of the SPG-P including:

  • the proposed research must fall within one of the target areas defined in the SPG description; and
  • at least one academic researcher eligible to receive NSERC funds must collaborate with at least one Canadian supporting organization that has research and development or manufacturing operations in Canada, and can apply the results in a way that generates economic wealth or employment in Canada or is a government organization that can apply the results in a way that strengthens Canadian public policy.

Canadian applicants must submit a letter of intent. The letter of intent must clearly indicate that the proposed research will be conducted in collaboration with international researchers. The appropriate prefix (ANR or MOST) must be added to the title. In a cover letter, provide the name and institution of the collaborating principal investigator. Refer to the instructions for completing an SPG-P letter of intent. Applicants who submit letters of intent for an international joint research project will be automatically invited to submit full applications provided that all requirements for an SPG-P grant are met.

Information Common to Both Full Proposals

Applications to each agency must include at least the following information, as appropriate within the total page limits (some information requirements may overlap with standard requirements):

  • a common project title;
  • the names of the principal investigators (one from each country), all co-applicants and collaborators, their titles and affiliations;
  • a common joint abstract (no more than one page in length), describing the overall joint project and expected outcome of the proposed project—scientifically and in terms of its relevance to industry and society;
  • the rationale for the collaboration and the integration of the activities planned in both countries and the total budget for the joint project, indicating the amounts requested of each agency;
  • a clear description of the planned research collaboration including the responsibilities of both teams and the distribution of work and methods of implementation;
  • a description of the added value and a demonstration of benefits to be expected from the international collaboration;
  • the joint project’s significance to researcher training and the development of the research environment;
  • the ongoing activities and specific advantages of the Canadian and international groups respectively, that form the basis for the proposed joint project;
  • how the project is expected to help strengthen research cooperation between the two countries over the long term;
  • the nature and extent of the collaboration including the roles of all participants, their pertinent expertise and expected contributions;
  • how the proposed joint project compares with other comparable activities worldwide;
  • how the intellectual property and know-how arising from the accomplishment of the joint research project will be handled; and
  • curricula vitae of the principal investigator of the collaborating team and up to two other key investigators. Curricula vitae of the principal investigator and co-applicants of the national team must be provided according to normal procedures. Collaborators may submit their curricula vitae either using Form 100 or another comparable format of no more than six pages. The curricula vitae should include a list of the five best papers and other publications of the individual.

NSERC will allow up to three additional pages above the 11-page limit for SPG-P applications.

Review Procedures

The evaluation process does not involve joint review; each agency independently evaluates proposals through its respective peer review processes and evaluation criteria. Representatives of both agencies will compare their respective evaluations of joint proposals to identify awards and reach consensus on joint projects to be funded on the basis of scientific evaluation, national rankings, value-added and balance of the collaboration. Applicants presenting proposals in response to this announcement should take note that NSERC reserves the right to share information in their application and/or in external referee reports of their application with representatives of the international agency. Presentation of a joint application will imply acceptance that information in proposals may be shared among the agencies, as appropriate. It is the responsibility of the Principle Investigator to ensure that all co-applicants, partners and collaborators are aware of these precise uses and disclosures of the personal and scientific information contained in the proposal. Please note that applications submitted to NSERC contain personal information and may contain confidential technical information and, therefore, are subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act (ATIP), and other related federal information policies and regulations. Information on these laws and policies are available on request.

Timetable and Announcement of Decision

NSERC and the international agencies have collaborated in the development of their respective Calls to help ensure compatible time lines and criteria for the parallel application and review processes, as well as the announcement of results. It is expected that awards will be confirmed by early October.

Intellectual Property

The project participants should enter into a Collaboration Agreement to specify how Intellectual Property Rights will be handled. According to their normal procedures, granting agencies may withhold funds until a Collaboration Agreement is in place.

Reporting

The progress report required by NSERC during the second year of funded projects will be a common progress report submitted to both NSERC and the international agency by the respective national PIs.

Contact

For more information, contact SPG_international@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Previous Results

2016
2015
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Subventions de partenariat stratégique pour les projets

Collaborations internationales – Appel de propositions conjoint de projets de recherche concertée

Instructions détaillées relatives à la présentation des demandes

Le présent document s’applique tout particulièrement aux appels de propositions conjoints de projets de recherche concertée établis en vertu d’un protocole d’entente. Il importe de lire également la description et les instructions relatives aux subventions de partenariat stratégique pour les projets (SPS-P) du CRSNG.

Contexte et objectifs

Les appels de propositions de projets de recherche concertée lancés conjointement avec des organismes subventionnaires étrangers font partie de la stratégie internationale du CRSNG qui vise à accroitre la collaboration scientifique entre le Canada et d’autres pays. Lorsque ses priorités et ses programmes cadrent avec ceux d’un organisme subventionnaire étranger, le CRSNG peut signer un protocole d’entente afin d’établir des mécanismes de financement conjoints pour les projets de recherche concertée et d’innovation menés par des équipes de chercheurs canadiens et étrangers. De telles activités renforceront la collaboration entre les collectivités de la recherche et de l’innovation des deux pays afin d’obtenir des résultats scientifiques et techniques de calibre mondial qui mèneront à l’élaboration de technologies novatrices.

Organismes participants en 2017

Le CRSNG a mis en place l’étape de la lettre d’intention dans le cadre du processus de présentation des demandes de SPS-P; il s’agit d’une étape obligatoire. Les lettres d’intention doivent être présentées au plus tard le 1er février 2017. Les demandes détaillées de SPS-P doivent être présentées au CRSNG au plus tard le 7 juin 2017. Les demandes de contrepartie doivent être présentées avant la date limite fixée par l’organisme participant (voir ci-dessous) et selon les modalités établies par ce dernier.

Organisme subventionnaire, pays
Programme Domaines prioritaires*
Agence nationale de la recherche (ANR), France
(date limite pour la présentation des pré-propositions :
le 27 octobre 2016;
date limite pour la présentation des propositions détaillées :
le 3 avril 2017)
This link will take you to another Web site Appel à projets générique Fabrication de pointe
Environnement et agriculture
Technologies de l’information et des communications
Ressources naturelles et énergie
 Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST), Taïwan (date limite : le 7 juin 2017)
This link will take you to another Web site Global Partnership Programs
(en anglais seulement)
Fabrication de pointe
Environnement et agriculture
Technologies de l’information et des communications
Ressources naturelles et énergie

* Ces domaines prioritaires reprennent les titres des domaines ciblés ou des sujets de recherche propres aux SPS‑P du CRSNG. Il est possible que les titres des domaines prioritaires employés par les organismes étrangers varient légèrement.

Financement

L’organisme étranger accordera des fonds aux chercheurs de son pays et le CRSNG aux chercheurs canadiens, conformément à leurs pratiques et à leurs règlements respectifs.

Un projet conjoint sera appuyé si le résultat de l’évaluation du CRSNG ainsi que celle de l’organisme étranger est positif. Le nombre de projets conjoints financés et le montant total accordé dépendront dans une large mesure du nombre et de la qualité des projets présentés. Les organismes s’attendent à des contributions et à une coopération scientifiques équilibrées dans les projets conjoints. La proposition doit démontrer qu’il y a une grande synergie entre les équipes de chaque pays et une véritable intégration du travail.

Présentation des demandes

Sauf indication contraire, un projet de recherche concertée se compose de deux propositions distinctes (mais liées), dont une doit être présentée au titre des SPS du CRSNG et l’autre au programme désigné de l’organisme subventionnaire étranger. Chaque demande doit être conforme aux modalités de présentation des demandes et aux règles d’admissibilité propres à l’organisme subventionnaire auquel elle est présentée. Les deux propositions doivent contenir des renseignements communs qui les lient entre elles et refléter clairement les contributions des partenaires internationaux. Les demandes de projets de recherche concertée présentées à un seul organisme subventionnaire ne sont pas admissibles.

Les demandes de chercheurs canadiens doivent satisfaire à toutes les exigences relatives aux SPS-P, notamment aux suivantes :

  • les travaux de recherche proposés doivent s’inscrire dans l’un des domaines ciblés définis dans la description des SPS;
  • au moins un chercheur admissible à recevoir des fonds du CRSNG doit collaborer avec au moins un organisme d’appui canadien qui mène des activités de recherche et développement ou de fabrication au Canada et qui est en mesure d’appliquer les résultats de la recherche pour générer de la richesse économique ou créer de l’emploi au Canada, ou être un organisme gouvernemental qui est en mesure d’appliquer les résultats de la recherche pour renforcer la politique publique canadienne.

Les candidats canadiens doivent présenter une lettre d’intention dans laquelle ils indiquent clairement que la recherche proposée sera menée en collaboration avec des chercheurs étrangers. Ils doivent s’assurer d’ajouter le préfixe approprié (ANR ou MOST) au titre de la lettre d’intention. De plus, ils doivent indiquer le nom du chercheur-collaborateur principal et celui de son établissement d’attache dans une lettre d’accompagnement. Consulter à ce sujet les instructions relatives à la présentation des lettres d’intention. Les candidats qui présentent une lettre d’intention dans le cadre d’une entente internationale seront automatiquement invités à présenter une demande, à la condition qu’ils respectent toutes les exigences relatives aux SPS-P.

Renseignements communs aux deux propositions détaillées

Les demandes présentées à chaque organisme doivent inclure au moins les renseignements suivants, en respectant le nombre limite de pages (il peut y avoir un chevauchement entre certains des renseignements requis et ceux qui sont normalement exigés) :

  • un titre de projet commun;
  • les noms des chercheurs principaux (un de chaque pays), de tous les membres du groupe et des collaborateurs, leurs titres et affiliations;
  • un résumé commun (d’au plus une page) qui décrit l’ensemble du projet conjoint et les résultats prévus du projet proposé, sur le plan scientifique et au regard de sa pertinence pour l’industrie et la société;
  • la raison d’être de la collaboration et de l’intégration des activités qui seront menées dans les deux pays et le budget total du projet conjoint qui indique les montants demandés à chaque organisme subventionnaire;
  • une description claire de la collaboration en recherche planifiée, y compris les responsabilités des deux équipes, la répartition du travail et les méthodes de mise en œuvre;
  • une description de la valeur ajoutée et les avantages attendus de la collaboration internationale;
  • l’importance du projet conjoint pour la formation des chercheurs et le développement du milieu de la recherche;
  • les activités en cours et les avantages particuliers offerts respectivement par les groupes canadiens et étrangers, qui constituent la base du projet conjoint;
  • la façon dont le projet devrait aider à renforcer à long terme la coopération en recherche entre les deux pays;
  • la nature et l’ampleur de la collaboration, y compris les rôles de tous les participants, leur expertise pertinente et les contributions qu’ils devraient apporter;
  • la façon dont le projet conjoint proposé se compare à d’autres activités semblables ailleurs dans le monde;
  • la façon dont seront traités la propriété intellectuelle et le savoir-faire découlant de la réalisation des projets de recherche concertée;
  • les curriculums vitæ du chercheur principal de l’équipe étrangère et d’au plus deux autres chercheurs clés. Les curriculums vitæ du chercheur principal et des membres du groupe de l’équipe canadienne doivent être présentés selon les procédures habituelles. Les collaborateurs peuvent présenter leur curriculum vitæ d’au plus six pages en utilisant le formulaire 100 ou un mode de présentation comparable. Le curriculum vitæ doit comprendre une liste des cinq meilleurs articles et des autres publications du chercheur.

Le CRSNG permettra au plus trois pages supplémentaires en sus de la limite de 11 pages qui s’applique aux demandes de SPS‑P.

Évaluation des demandes

Le processus d’évaluation ne comporte pas d’évaluation conjointe. Chaque organisme évalue séparément les propositions selon son processus d’évaluation par les pairs et ses critères d’évaluation. Les représentants des deux organismes compareront leurs évaluations respectives des propositions conjointes afin de sélectionner les titulaires des subventions et de parvenir à un consensus quant aux projets conjoints qui seront financés en fonction de l’évaluation scientifique, du classement national, de la valeur ajoutée et de l’équilibre de la collaboration. Les candidats qui présentent des propositions en réponse à la présente annonce doivent noter que le CRSNG se réserve le droit de communiquer les renseignements figurant dans leur demande et dans les rapports des examinateurs de l’extérieur aux représentants de l’organisme étranger. En présentant une proposition conjointe, les candidats acceptent que les renseignements qu’elle contient puissent être communiqués entre les organismes, selon les besoins. Il incombe au chercheur principal de s’assurer que tous les membres du groupe, les partenaires et les collaborateurs ont été informés des politiques d’utilisation et de divulgation des renseignements personnels et scientifiques de la proposition. Veuillez noter que les demandes présentées au CRSNG contiennent des renseignements personnels et peuvent contenir des renseignements techniques confidentiels et que, par conséquent, elles sont assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) et aux autres politiques et règlements du gouvernement fédéral sur l’accès à l’information. Les renseignements sur ces lois et ces politiques sont disponibles sur demande.

Calendrier et notification de décision

Le CRSNG et les organismes étrangers ont collaboré à l’élaboration de leurs appels de propositions respectifs afin d’assurer la compatibilité des échéanciers et des critères pour les processus parallèles de présentation et d’évaluation des demandes, ainsi que pour l’annonce des résultats. Les noms des titulaires devraient être annoncés d’ici le début d’octobre.

Propriété intellectuelle

Les participants aux projets doivent conclure une entente de collaboration afin de préciser comment les droits de propriété intellectuelle seront traités. Selon leurs procédures habituelles, les organismes subventionnaires peuvent retenir les fonds jusqu’à ce qu’une entente de collaboration soit établie.

Rapports

Le rapport d’étape exigé par le CRSNG au cours de la deuxième année des projets financés sera un rapport d’étape commun présenté au CRSNG et à l’organisme étranger par les chercheurs principaux nationaux respectifs.

Ressource

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez faire parvenir un courriel à SPG_international@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Résultats antérieurs

2016
2015
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009