Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

NSERC/Canada Council for the Arts New Media Initiative

There will be no further competitions for this program. Existing funding commitments will be honoured for projects currently funded (see list); however, NSERC has decided not to continue the New Media Initiative program.

Overview
Application Deadline The program is now closed
How to Apply NSERC is no longer receiving new applications for this program.
Application Forms See This link will take you to another Web site Canada Council for the Arts documentation
101
100
183A (if applicable)
Program Contact View Contact Information

Context

The NSERC/Canada Council for the Arts (Canada Council) New Media Initiative is intended to promote collaboration between scientists and/or engineers and artists, thereby combining creativity with the development and application of new technologies and knowledge.

Scientists, engineers and artists are creating novel and mutually beneficial ways of thinking and working collaboratively across their disciplines, making innovative contributions to science, the arts and industry. Collaborations between these disciplines are also contributing to the professional development of scientists, engineers and artists; promoting the transfer of knowledge between sectors and disciplines; and helping create new cross-disciplinary working methodologies between scientific and artistic domains.

New media art that develops and applies new digital technologies increasingly includes science and engineering-based methodologies, while scientific research is increasingly making use of art-based practices.

Collaborations between scientists and/or engineers and artists in the field of information and communications technology often involve the design, development and application of products in such areas as software and hardware tools for IP networks and broadband optical networks; (tele)robotics; cognitive systems; artificial life agents; data visualization; bioinformatics; wearable computing; and advanced materials and devices such as active fabrics, sensors and microprocessors.

Description

The New Media Initiative will be implemented within the context of existing NSERC and Canada Council programs. At NSERC, applications will be accepted through the Research Partnerships Program (RPP). At the Canada Council, applications will be accepted for New Media Research, Production or Residencies within the Grants to New Media and Audio Artists Program.

The New Media Initiative:

  • is based on partnerships between scientists/engineers and artists;
  • provides core support for research and implementation of integrated activities that reflect the New Media Initiative objectives; and
  • is centred on themes/areas of mutual importance to the research partners.

New Media Initiative projects are assessed by peers with expertise in the arts and sciences and/or engineering. NSERC will fund the scientific and engineering research component of the project and The Canada Council for the Arts will fund the artistic component of the project according to the guidelines of the above-mentioned programs.

Projects involving independent new media art creation and related science and engineering research are eligible for support. The NSERC component of the project must be scientifically sound and promise to generate new knowledge or a new technology, or to apply existing knowledge/technology in an innovative manner. The following are not eligible for support under the New Media Initiative:

  • projects that support work created for the cultural industries of commercial new media, radio or television broadcasting;
  • projects whose purpose is to record or document existing artworks or use existing technology in routine applications;
  • projects that focus on the routine application of existing technology or that provide professional or consulting services; and
  • proposals that are principally associated with the acquisition and maintenance of scientific equipment.

Application Procedures, Review Procedures and Selection Criteria

Detailed information can be obtained at:

Note: Applicants are strongly encouraged to contact the appropriate Program Officer at either agency well before the program deadline. Projects that do not fit into one of the areas listed in the context above will not be retained in the competition. NSERC will apply a pre-selection process if the number of applications is too high.

Active Grants

Title University Grantee End Date
Visual voice: gestural control of vocal expression British Columbia S. Fels 2011/09/29
Mechanical empathy: kinetic architectural textile environments Waterloo R. Gorbet 2011/09/29
Karma chameleon: minimally invasive interactive textiles for dynamic personalities École Polytechnique   M. Skorobogatiy   2011/09/29
Meaning from motion for interaction and visualization Simon Fraser L. Bartram 2012/09/29
Intelligent human-computer interaction in multimedia performance Victoria P. Driessen 2012/09/29
Musical metacreation: software creativity and creative software Simon Fraser P. Pasquier 2012/09/29
People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Initiative en nouveaux médias du Conseil des Arts du Canada et du CRSNG

Il n’y aura pas d’autre concours pour le programme. Les engagements financiers existants seront honorés (voir liste), mais le CRSNG a décidé de ne pas continuer le programme de l’Initiative en nouveaux médias.

Aperçu
Date limite Le programme a pris fin
Pour faire une demande Le CRSNG n’accepte plus les demandes présentées dans le cadre de ce programme
Formulaire de demande Voir les Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web documents du Conseil des Arts du Canada
101
100
183A (le cas échéant)
Personne-ressource pour le programme Voir la page de contactez-nous

Contexte

L’Initiative en nouveaux médias du Conseil des Arts du Canada et du CRSNG vise à favoriser la collaboration entre les scientifiques, les ingénieurs et les artistes afin d’allier la créativité au développement et à la mise en œuvre de nouvelles connaissances et de nouvelles technologies.

Les scientifiques, les ingénieurs et les artistes proposent des façons nouvelles et mutuellement bénéfiques d'envisager l'interdisciplinarité et de collaborer entre eux, contribuant ainsi à l'avancement des sciences, des arts et de l’industrie. Les collaborations entre les spécialistes de ces disciplines contribuent également au perfectionnement professionnel des scientifiques, des ingénieurs et des artistes, facilitent l’échange de connaissances entre les secteurs et les disciplines et favorisent l’émergence de nouvelles méthodes de travail interdisciplinaires applicables aux domaines des sciences et des arts.

La création d’œuvres en nouveaux médias dans le cadre de laquelle les artistes conçoivent et appliquent de nouvelles technologies numériques font de plus en plus appel aux méthodes propres aux sciences et au génie, tandis que la recherche scientifique repose sans cesse davantage sur des pratiques artistiques.

Les collaborations entre les scientifiques, les ingénieurs et les artistes œuvrant dans les domaines des technologies de l'information et des communications peuvent prendre diverses formes : conception, fabrication et application de logiciels ou d’outils matériels destinés à des réseaux de traitement de l’information et à des réseaux optiques à large bande; (télé)robotique; systèmes cognitifs; agents de vie artificielle; visualisation de données; bioinformatique; ordinateurs prêt-à-porter; matériaux et outils de pointe comme des matrices, des capteurs ou des microprocesseurs actifs.

Description

L'Initiative en nouveaux médias sera offerte dans le cadre de programmes actuels du CRSNG et du Conseil des Arts du Canada. Au CRSNG, les demandes pourront être présentées aux Programmes de partenariats de recherche (PPR). Le Conseil des Arts du Canada acceptera les demandes dans le cadre des volets Subventions de recherche et de réalisation et Résidences en nouveaux médias du programme de Subventions aux artistes des nouveaux médias et de l'audio.

L’Initiative en nouveaux médias :

  • se fonde sur les partenariats entre les scientifiques, les ingénieurs et les artistes;
  • fournit un appui de base pour la recherche et la mise en œuvre d’activités intégrées qui correspondent aux objectifs de l’Initiative en nouveaux médias;
  • est axée sur les thèmes ou les domaines d’intérêt commun aux partenaires de recherche.

Les projets sous l’Initiative en nouveaux médias sont évalués par les pairs qui possèdent une expertise en art, en sciences et en génie. Le CRSNG finance le volet de recherche en sciences ou en génie du projet, et le Conseil des Arts finance le volet artistique, suivant les procédures propres aux programmes susmentionnés.

Les projets comprenant de la création indépendante en nouveaux médias et de la recherche connexe en sciences ou en génie sont admissibles à un appui financier. La composante du projet relevant du CRSNG doit être scientifiquement valable et doit pouvoir générer soit de nouvelles connaissances, soit une nouvelle technologie, soit l'application innovatrice d'une technologie ou de connaissances. Les projets suivants ne sont pas admissibles aux subventions de l'Initiative en nouveaux médias :

  • les projets qui soutiennent des œuvres créées pour l’industrie culturelle des nouveaux médias commerciaux ou produites à des fins de radiodiffusion ou de télédiffusion;
  • les projets dont l’objet est d’enregistrer ou de documenter des œuvres d’art existantes ou de faire une utilisation routinière de la technologie existante;
  • les projets reposant uniquement sur une utilisation routinière de la technologie existante ou sur la prestation de services professionnels ou de consultation;
  • les projets visant essentiellement à permettre l’achat et l’entretien de matériel scientifique.

Présentation des demandes, processus d'évaluation et critères de sélection

Le document ci-dessous contient des renseignements détaillés sur le programme.

Remarque :

Les candidats sont fortement encouragés à communiquer avec l'administrateur de programme du CRSNG ou l'agente de programme du Conseil des Arts du Canada bien avant la date limite du programme. Les projets qui ne seront pas à l’intérieur des sujets mentionnés dans le contexte ne pourront pas rester dans le concours. Le CRSNG va appliquer un processus de présélection si la quantité de demandes est trop grande.

Les Subventions actives

Titre Université Chercheur Principal Fin du Projet
Visual voice: gestural control of vocal expression British Columbia S. Fels 2011/09/29
Mechanical empathy: kinetic architectural textile environments Waterloo R. Gorbet 2011/09/29
Karma chameleon: minimally invasive interactive textiles for dynamic personalities École Polytechnique   M. Skorobogatiy   2011/09/29
Meaning from motion for interaction and visualization Simon Fraser L. Bartram 2012/09/29
Intelligent human-computer interaction in multimedia performance Victoria P. Driessen 2012/09/29
Musical metacreation: software creativity and creative software Simon Fraser P. Pasquier 2012/09/29
Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.