Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

NSERC/NRCan/AECL Generation IV Energy Technologies Grants

Overview
Duration 1 to 4 years
Application Deadline August 7, 2011 (Preliminary Application)
October 31, 2011 (Full Application)
How to Apply See below
Application Forms Form 100* and instructions
Form 101* and instructions
Form 183A* and instructions

* This link is for reference only. To create or access this application, select On-line System Login.
Program Contact See below

Objective

This grant is co-funded by NSERC and the Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) Office of Energy Research and Development (OERD), in collaboration with Atomic Energy of Canada Limited (AECL). Canadian academic researchers, in collaboration with AECL scientists and engineers, may receive grant funds to investigate specific research that supports the development of Canada’s Generation IV Energy Technology—the Super-Critical Water-Cooled Reactor (SCWR).

Expected Results

It is expected that this grant will:

  • generate new knowledge/technology with the strong potential to strengthen Canada’s nuclear industry;
  • increase the number of highly qualified personnel in the target areas;
  • foster the involvement of the Canadian-based nuclear industry in academic research;
  • help fulfill Canada’s obligations under the Framework Agreement for International Collaboration on Research and Development of Generation IV Nuclear Energy Systems; and
  • enable the transfer of knowledge/technology and expertise to the Canadian nuclear industry that is well positioned to apply the results for economic gain.

Requirements

The NSERC/NRCan/AECL Generation IV Energy Technologies Grants funds research projects only in the priority areas identified below. To be funded, a project must meet the following requirements:

  • be co-led by an AECL scientist/engineer and an academic researcher;
  • build on research that is technology-development driven and application oriented;
  • contain well-defined objectives which ensure that the results will be achievable within a maximum of four years;
  • demonstrate an integrated approach to the research problem that fully exploits the research facilities and resources available at government and industrial laboratories and academic institutions;
  • have a clear plan to direct, manage and integrate the activities within the project and according to the objectives of Canada’s Gen IV National Program and its international commitments;
  • agree to develop a Quality Assurance Plan that meets the GIF requirements outlined in the GIF Quality Management System Guidelines; and
  • agree to comply with the intellectual property provisions in the applicable Project Arrangement previously signed by NRCan and in NSERC’s Policy on Intellectual Property.

Supporting Organizations

Each project must have at least one AECL scientist/engineer supporting it. This person must collaborate in all stages of the research project, i.e., help in the development of the proposal and, as the project unfolds, interact regularly with the academic researchers, students and other research personnel and provide input on the project.

The project may also include other participants from industrial or government research laboratories and/or foreign research institutions.

Given that interaction between personnel from academic institutions and other sectors contributes to knowledge sharing and the development of highly qualified personnel, the grant encourages secondments, cross-appointments, co-supervision of students, internships, reciprocal laboratory visits and joint workshops. (For details, see the Policy and Guidelines on the Assessment of Contributions to Research and Training.)

Research Priority Areas

For more information on these areas, read the Research and Development Priorities for 2012-16.

Budget: $8 million over four years

NRCan and NSERC will each invest up to $4 million over four years to fund Generation IV nuclear reactor technology research initiatives designed to take advantage of knowledge and resources available in AECL facilities and Canadian academic institutions. Two million dollars will be available each year to fund projects, with a maximum of $80,000 per year available per project. AECL will provide in-kind support in the form of access to expert personnel and their facilities where appropriate. The length of the project may vary up to a maximum of four years.

Application Procedures

Preliminary Application

Preliminary applications must be submitted to the NRCan Gen IV National Program Portfolio Committee on, or before, the preliminary application deadline. This committee will verify that the preliminary application fits the research priority areas and the criteria of the grant, and will recommend applicants to submit a full application to NSERC.

For the preliminary application form or more information on preparing a preliminary application, please contact Daniel Brady at NRCan by telephone at 613-947-6066 or by e–mail at daniel.brady@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca.

Full Application

Recommended applicants will be invited by the NRCan Gen IV National Program Portfolio Committee to submit a full application to NSERC. Applications that have been recommended by NRCan will be accepted by NSERC on or before October 31, 2001.

A complete application includes:

  • an Application for a Grant (Form 101); the Form 101 budget request to NSERC must be for the total project budget.
  • a Personal Data Form (Form 100) for each applicant and co-applicant;
  • a letter from AECL clearly indicating the in-kind support they will provide to the project;
  • other participating industry or government groups that are integral to the project should also provide letters of support clearly stating their level of involvement;
  • a letter of recommendation from the Gen IV National Program Portfolio Committee; and
  • an intellectual property agreement complying with both the provisions of the applicable GIF Project Arrangement and NSERC’s Policy on Intellectual Property.

Refer to the instructions for completing a Collaborative Research and Development Grant (CRD) application.

Applicants who require new equipment to conduct the research must incorporate their request for equipment into the research proposal and justify the need for the equipment to conduct the research. Equipment requests will be considered only under special circumstances.

Review Procedures

Full Application

  • After a preliminary application has been recommended by the NRCan Gen IV National Program Portfolio Committee, NSERC receives all full applications and sends them to at least three external reviewers for comments.
  • NSERC evaluates the full application, including the comments of the external reviewers, and determines whether or not a grant will be awarded.
  • NSERC notifies the applicant, NRCan and AECL of the award decision and, in the event of a successful application, the start date of the grant.

The complete review process takes three to four months. The grants are expected to be awarded in March 2012.

Selection Criteria

Applications are evaluated according to the following criteria. Each criterion is given equal weight in the evaluation.

  • Scientific merit: The project must be scientifically sound, technically feasible, and promise either to generate new knowledge or to apply existing knowledge in an innovative manner. It must fall within a specific research priority area.
  • Research competence: The applicant and the research team together must have all the expertise required to address the defined objectives competently and to complete the project successfully. Academic expertise may be complemented with the know-how residing in the partnering organizations.
  • Contribution to the training of highly qualified personnel: The proposal should indicate how the knowledge and experience gained by students, postdoctoral fellows, research assistants or others, including AECL personnel, are relevant to the advancement of the field, to developing practical applications of knowledge, or to strengthening the industrial research base. The number of undergraduate and graduate students trained is expected to be commensurate with the size of the project.
  • Industrial relevance: The proposal must identify how the work will benefit the nuclear industry.
  • Private-sector support: AECL must contribute an appropriate amount from its own resources to the project, consistent with the risks and rewards involved, and be in a position to exploit successful research results.
  • Benefit to Canada: The proposal should indicate how the research results will be integrated into Canada’s Gen IV National Program and its international commitments.

Reporting

CRD projects are monitored closely. Annual progress reports are normally required from the grantee. The Gen IV National Program Portfolio Committee and AECL will be asked to provide comments on the project's progress. Final reports are required for all projects.

Based on the results obtained or problems encountered, grantees may propose amendments to the project objectives, milestones or budget. The amounts of the second and subsequent installments are contingent on a demonstrated need for grant funds. Grantees must provide annual statements of actual expenditures and of anticipated future costs. Subsequent installments will not be released until all reporting requirements are fulfilled.

Contact

Claire McAneney
NSERC
Tel.: 613-992-1372
E-mail: claire.mcaneney@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Subventions de technologies énergétiques de quatrième génération CRSNG-RNCan-EACL

Aperçu
Durée 1 à 4 ans
Date limite 7 août 2011 (demande préliminaire)
31 octobre 2011 (demande détaillée)
Pour faire une demande Voir ci-dessous
Formulaires de demande Formulaire 100* et instructions
Formulaire 101* et instructions
Formulaire 183A* et instructions

* Ce lien est fourni à titre indicatif. Pour créer une demande ou y avoir accès, sélectionnez Ouvrez une session du Système en ligne.
Personne-ressource Voir ci-dessous

Objectif

Les subventions de technologies énergétiques de quatrième génération CRSNG-RNCan-EACL sont cofinancées par le CRSNG et le Bureau de recherche et de développement énergétique de Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) en collaboration avec Énergie atomique du Canada limitée (EACL). Les chercheurs de niveau postsecondaire du Canada, en collaboration avec des scientifiques et des ingénieurs d’EACL, peuvent recevoir des fonds pour explorer des domaines particuliers de recherche qui appuient le développement de la technologie énergétique de quatrième génération du Canada, soit le réacteur refroidi à l'eau supercritique (RESC).

Résultats attendus

On prévoit que les subventions permettront :

  • de produire de nouvelles connaissances et de nouvelles technologies susceptibles de renforcer l’industrie nucléaire canadienne;
  • d’augmenter le nombre de personnes hautement qualifiées dans les domaines ciblés;
  • d’encourager l’industrie nucléaire établie au Canada à participer à la recherche postsecondaire;
  • d’aider le Canada à remplir ses obligations en vertu de l’Accord-cadre sur la collaboration internationale en matière de recherche et de développement des systèmes d’énergie nucléaire de génération IV;
  • d'assurer le transfert de connaissances, de technologies et de savoir-faire à l’industrie nucléaire canadienne qui est bien placée pour appliquer les résultats de la recherche afin de réaliser des gains économiques.

Exigences

Les subventions de technologies énergétiques de quatrième génération CRSNG-RNCan-EACL appuient exclusivement des projets de recherche liés aux domaines prioritaires énumérés ci-dessous. Pour bénéficier d’une subvention, le projet présenté doit satisfaire aux exigences suivantes :

  • être mené conjointement par un scientifique ou un ingénieur d’EACL et un chercheur de niveau postsecondaire;
  • porter sur des recherches axées sur la mise au point de technologies ainsi que des applications concrètes;
  • comporter des objectifs bien définis garantissant l’atteinte de résultats dans un délai de quatre ans;
  • démontrer une approche intégrée à la problématique de recherche, permettant d’exploiter pleinement les installations de recherche et les ressources disponibles dans les laboratoires publics et privés ainsi que dans les établissements postsecondaires;
  • présenter un plan de direction, de gestion et d’intégration des activités clairement défini relativement au projet et coordonné avec les objectifs du Programme national des technologies de quatrième génération du Canada et ses engagements internationaux;
  • confirmer qu’on s’engage à élaborer un plan d’assurance de la qualité qui est conforme aux exigences du GIF précisées dans les Quality Management System Guidelines du GIF;
  • confirmer qu’on s’engage à se conformer aux dispositions relatives à la propriété intellectuelle prévues dans l’entente de projet pertinente signée par RNCan et dans la Politique sur la propriété intellectuelle du CRSNG.

Organismes d’appui

Chaque projet doit être appuyé par au moins un scientifique ou un ingénieur d’EACL. Cette personne doit collaborer à toutes les étapes du projet de recherche, c’est-à-dire qu’elle doit : contribuer à l’élaboration de la proposition; au fil de l’évolution du projet, interagir régulièrement avec les chercheurs de niveau postsecondaire, les étudiants et les autres membres du personnel de recherche; et commenter l’évolution du projet.

D’autres participants œuvrant dans des laboratoires de recherche industriels ou gouvernementaux, ou dans des établissements de recherche étrangers, peuvent également participer au projet.

Comme l’interaction entre le personnel des établissements postsecondaires et celui d’autres secteurs contribue au partage de connaissances et au perfectionnement du personnel hautement qualifié, les subventions encouragent les détachements, les nominations conjointes, la cosupervision d’étudiants, les stages, les visites réciproques de laboratoires et les ateliers conjoints. (Pour obtenir davantage de renseignements, veuillez consulter les Politiques et lignes directrices sur l'évaluation des contributions à la recherche et à la formation.)

Domaines prioritaires de recherche

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur ces domaines, consultez le document intitulé Les priorités de recherche et développement 2012-2016.

Budget : huit millions de dollars sur quatre ans

RNCan et le CRSNG investiront jusqu’à quatre millions de dollars chacun sur quatre ans à l’appui d’initiatives de recherche portant sur les réacteurs nucléaires de quatrième génération et tablant sur les connaissances et les ressources disponibles dans les installations d’EACL et dans les établissements postsecondaires canadiens. Le budget annuel du programme est de deux millions de dollars, et un maximum de 80 000 dollars par année sera accordé à chaque projet. EACL apportera au besoin un appui non financier en mettant à disposition son personnel spécialisé et ses installations. La durée du projet peut varier, sans toutefois dépasser quatre ans.

Présentation d’une demande

Demande préliminaire

Une demande préliminaire doit être présentée au Comité du portefeuille du Programme national des technologies de quatrième génération de RNCan d’ici la date limite de présentation des demandes préliminaires. Le comité vérifie d’abord si la demande préliminaire s’inscrit dans l’un des domaines de recherche prioritaires et satisfait aux critères établis pour les subventions puis formule des recommandations sur les candidats qui seront invités à présenter une demande détaillée au CRSNG.

Pour obtenir le formulaire de demande préliminaire ou pour en savoir plus sur l’élaboration d’une demande préliminaire, veuillez communiquer avec Daniel Brady à RNCan au 613-947-6066 ou à daniel.brady@nrcan-rncan.gc.ca.

Demande détaillée

Les candidats recommandés sont invités par le Comité du portefeuille du Programme national des technologies de quatrième génération de RNCan à présenter une demande détaillée au CRSNG. Les demandes des candidats recommandés par RNCan doivent parvenir au CRSNG au plus tard le 31 octobre 2011.

Une demande détaillée doit comporter les documents suivants :

  • le formulaire 101, Demande de subvention du CRSNG; dans le formulaire 101, la subvention demandée au CRSNG doit correspondre au budget de l’ensemble du projet;
  • le formulaire 100, Formulaire de renseignements personnels, dûment rempli par le candidat et chaque membre du groupe;
  • une lettre d’EACL indiquant clairement la forme que prendra l’appui non financier qu’il fournira dans le cadre du projet;
  • des lettres d’appui des autres groupes des secteurs privé ou public participant au projet indiquant clairement la nature de leur engagement;
  • une lettre de recommandation du Comité du portefeuille du Programme national des technologies de quatrième génération;
  • une entente sur la propriété intellectuelle respectant à la fois les dispositions prévues dans l’entente de projet pertinente du GIF ainsi que la Politique sur la propriété intellectuelle du CRSNG.

Pour plus de précisions, veuillez consulter les instructions pour présenter une demande de subvention de recherche et développement coopérative (RDC) .

Les candidats qui souhaitent obtenir une aide financière au titre de l’appareillage nécessaire pour mener la recherche proposée doivent en faire la demande dans la proposition et justifier le besoin. Les demandes d’appareillage ne seront prises en considération que dans des circonstances exceptionnelles.

Examen des demandes

Demande détaillée

  • Après que le Comité du portefeuille du Programme national des technologies de quatrième génération aura formulé une recommandation favorable quant à la demande préliminaire, le CRSNG recevra la demande détaillée correspondante, puis l’acheminera à au moins trois examinateurs de l’extérieur, aux fins de commentaires.
  • Le CRSNG évaluera la demande détaillée et les commentaires des examinateurs de l’extérieur, puis décidera si une subvention sera accordée ou non.
  • Le CRSNG avisera le candidat, RNCan et EACL de sa décision et, dans le cas de l’octroi d’une subvention, de la date d’entrée en vigueur de la subvention.

L’ensemble du processus d’examen se déroule sur une période de trois à quatre mois. Les subventions devraient être accordées en mars 2012.

Critères de sélection

Les demandes sont évaluées conformément aux critères suivants, une pondération égale étant attribuée à chacun des critères.

  • Mérite scientifique :Le projet doit être rigoureusement scientifique et techniquement réalisable. Il doit viser à produire de nouvelles connaissances ou à appliquer des connaissances existantes d’une manière novatrice. Il doit également s’inscrire dans l’un des domaines prioritaires de recherche précisés.
  • Compétence en matière de recherche :Le candidat et l’équipe de recherche doivent, collectivement, avoir toutes les compétences nécessaires pour travailler de façon compétente à l’atteinte des objectifs définis et pour mener à bien l’ensemble du projet. Les compétences postsecondaires peuvent être complétées par le savoir-faire des organismes partenaires.
  • Contribution à la formation de personnel hautement qualifié :La proposition doit indiquer comment les connaissances et l’expérience acquises par les étudiants, les stagiaires postdoctoraux, les adjoints à la recherche et les autres participants au projet, y compris par le personnel d’EACL, contribueront à l’avancement des connaissances dans le domaine, à l’élaboration d’applications pratiques de connaissances ou au renforcement de la capacité de base de la recherche industrielle. Le nombre d’étudiants de premier cycle et des cycles supérieurs qui seront formés dans le cadre du projet devrait être proportionnel à l’envergure du projet.
  • Pertinence sur le plan industriel :La proposition doit préciser de quelle façon les résultats des travaux profiteront à l’industrie nucléaire.
  • Appui du secteur privé :EACL doit investir dans le projet une partie appropriée de ses propres ressources, compte tenu des risques qu’elle encourt et des avantages qu’elle en tirera. EACL doit également être à même d’exploiter les résultats qui découleront de la recherche.
  • Avantages pour le Canada :La proposition devrait également préciser de quelle façon les résultats de la recherche s’intégreront au Programme national des technologies de quatrième génération et correspondront aux engagements internationaux du Canada.

Rapports

Les projets de RDC sont suivis de près. On exige en général des rapports d’étape annuels du titulaire de la subvention. On exige habituellement du titulaire de la subvention un rapport d’étape annuel. Le Comité du portefeuille du Programme national des technologies de quatrième génération et EACL seront appelés à fournir des commentaires sur l’état d’avancement du projet. Il faut présenter un rapport final pour tous les projets.

Selon les résultats qu’ils ont obtenus ou les problèmes auxquels ils ont dû faire face, les titulaires d’une subvention peuvent proposer que des modifications soient apportées aux objectifs et aux étapes-jalons du projet ou à son budget. Le montant accordé pour le deuxième versement et les versements subséquents dépendra du besoin manifeste des fonds de la subvention. Les titulaires doivent également fournir un compte rendu annuel des dépenses réelles engagées et des coûts futurs prévus. Les versements ultérieurs ne seront effectués que dans la mesure où les exigences en matière de reddition de comptes auront été satisfaites.

Personne-ressource

Claire McAneney
CRSNG
Tél. : 613-992-1372
Courriel : claire.mcaneney@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.