Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Past Winner
2013 NSERC Synergy Awards for Innovation

Dr. Trevor Pitcher, Dr. Nicholas Bernier, Dr. Brian Dixon, Dr. Daniel Heath, Dr. Dennis M. Higgs, Dr. Bryan Neff, Dr. Mark Shrimpton

University of Windsor, University of Guelph, University of Waterloo, University of Windsor, University of Windsor, Western University, University of Northern British Columbia, Yellow Island Aquaculture Ltd.

Category 1: Small and Medium-Sized Companies

Dr. Trevor Pitcher
Dr. Trevor Pitcher

Discovery research enhances the profitability and sustainability of aquaculture

Tapping into the discovery and applied research expertise of Canadian universities has proven to Yellow Island Aquaculture Ltd. (YIAL) many times over that farming organic native salmon is highly lucrative.

Based in Heriot Bay, British Columbia, YIAL has been involved in aquaculture research since its inception in 1985, but it needed the fundamental scientific expertise and infrastructure of universities to solve some of the problems they faced. More specifically, these entrepreneurs wanted to farm salmon without using antibiotics.

A 20-year university collaboration with university researchers resulted in improved rearing techniques and genetic brood (breeding) stock, enabling YIAL to become the first commercial salmon farm in Canada to convert to 100% organic production of a native species, the Chinook salmon. Led by Dr. Trevor Pitcher, an expert in fish reproduction and genetics at the University of Windsor, YIAL shares a 2013 NSERC Synergy Award with seven Canadian researchers.

Featured Video

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Ancien lauréat
Prix Synergie pour l'innovation du CRSNG de 2013

Trevor Pitcher, Nicholas Bernier, Brian Dixon, Daniel Heath, Dennis M. Higgs, Bryan Neff, Mark Shrimpton

University of Windsor, University of Guelph, University of Waterloo, University of Windsor, University of Windsor, Western University, University of Northern British Columbia, Yellow Island Aquaculture Ltd.

Catégorie 1 : Petites et moyennes entreprises

Trevor Pitcher
Trevor Pitcher

La recherche axée sur la découverte favorise la rentabilité et la durabilité de l’aquaculture

Grâce à l’expertise en recherche axée sur la découverte et en recherche appliquée des universités canadiennes, Yellow Island Aquaculture Ltd. (YIAL) a constaté à maintes reprises que l’élevage du saumon indigène biologique est hautement rentable.

Installée à Heriot Bay (Colombie‑Britannique), YIAL participe à la recherche en aquaculture depuis ses débuts en 1985, mais elle avait besoin de l’expertise scientifique fondamentale et de l’infrastructure des universités pour régler certains des problèmes auxquels elle était confrontée. Elle cherchait notamment à élever le saumon sans avoir recours aux antibiotiques.

Cette collaboration de 20 ans avec des chercheurs universitaires a contribué à améliorer les techniques d’élevage et les stocks de géniteurs (reproduction), ce qui a permis à YIAL de devenir la première ferme salmonicole commerciale du Canada à se convertir à la production entièrement biologique d’une espèce indigène, le saumon quinnat. YIAL partage un Prix Synergie pour l’innovation du CRSNG de 2013 avec une équipe de sept chercheurs canadiens dirigée par Trevor Pitcher, expert de la reproduction et de la génétique des poissons de la University of Windsor.

Vidéo en vedette

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.