Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Past Winner
2012 NSERC Synergy Awards for Innovation

J. Paul Santerre

University of Toronto and Interface Biologics Inc.

Category 1: Small and Medium-Sized Companies

J. Paul Santerre
J. Paul Santerre

Hospitals and other health providers use a lot of polymeric materials (plastics, fibres, adhesives, etc.), applied in products ranging from catheters to drug-delivery and tissue-regeneration systems. But they cannot buy these materials from just any supplier—products must perform exactly as intended, without causing adverse health reactions.

The need for reliable and innovative polymeric materials led to a partnership involving Paul Santerre from the University of Toronto’s Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering as well as the university’s Faculty of Dentistry and Interface Biologics Inc. (IBI). They are producing transformative biomedical polymers to make medical devices safer and more effective.

Their proprietary materials have led to the development of products that range from high-volume devices, such as catheter lines, to highly specialized polymer-coated stents for opening up blocked arteries. Dr. Santerre, winner of an NSERC Synergy Award for Innovation, has worked with IBI to develop new technologies to program biocompatibility directly into the raw plastic resins—before device production—making device manufacturing more cost-effective.

The collaboration has produced three significant technologies:

  • EndexoTM is a unique fluorine-containing surface-modifying molecule that is used during plastic production to yield special medicinal additives that migrate to the surface of the plastic, making it less likely to react with blood.

  • KinesyxTM allows for a combination of drugs to be incorporated right at the surface of the polymer, where they help heal diseased tissue.

  • EpidelTM is a method of drug delivery that is responsive to the body’s inherent immune activity and can pro-actively protect against infections.

Further research is looking at developing drug–polymer compounds to treat infections and cancer. This research is creating commercial opportunity for Canada’s growing medical device industry—while also saving lives and saving costs for universal health care.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Ancien lauréat
Prix Synergie pour l'innovation du CRSNG de 2012

J. Paul Santerre

University of Toronto et Interface Biologics Inc.

Catégorie 1 : Petites et moyennes entreprises

J. Paul Santerre
J. Paul Santerre

Les hôpitaux et d’autres fournisseurs de services de santé utilisent beaucoup de produits qui contiennent des polymères (plastiques, fibres, adhésifs, etc.), notamment des cathéters ainsi que des systèmes de libération de médicaments et de régénération tissulaire. Toutefois, ils ne peuvent pas acheter ces polymères auprès de n’importe quel fournisseur, car les produits doivent donner exactement le résultat attendu sans causer d’effets néfastes sur la santé.

La nécessité de disposer de polymères fiables et innovateurs a mené à l’établissement d’un partenariat entre Paul Santerre de l’Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering de la University of Toronto, la faculté de dentisterie de la University of Toronto et Interface Biologics Inc. (IBI). Ces partenaires produisent des polymères biomédicaux transformateurs pour accroître la sûreté et l’efficacité des dispositifs médicaux.

Les matériaux exclusifs que les chercheurs ont créés ont mené à l’élaboration d’une gamme de produits allant des dispositifs utilisés en grande quantité, comme des cathéters, aux endoprothèses hautement spécialisées revêtues de polymère qui sont utilisées pour débloquer les artères. M. Santerre, lauréat d’un prix Synergie pour l’innovation du CRSNG, a collaboré avec IBI à la création de nouvelles technologies qui permettent de programmer la biocompatibilité directement dans la résine plastique brute avant de fabriquer les dispositifs, afin d’en rentabiliser la production.

Cette collaboration a mené à la création de trois technologies importantes.

  • EndexoMC est une molécule unique qui contient du fluor et qui peut modifier les surfaces utilisée dans la fabrication du plastique pour obtenir des additifs médicinaux qui migrent vers la surface du plastique afin de réduire la probabilité qu’il réagisse avec le sang.

  • KinesyxMC permet d’intégrer à la surface du polymère une combinaison de médicaments qui contribuent à réparer les tissus endommagés.

  • EpidelMC est une méthode d’administration de médicaments qui réagit à l’activité immunitaire inhérente du corps et qui prévient les infections.

D’autres travaux de recherche visent à créer des composés médicament-polymère pour traiter des infections et le cancer. Ils représentent une occasion commerciale pour l’industrie canadienne des dispositifs médicaux en croissance, ainsi qu’une occasion de sauver des vies et de réduire les coûts du système de soins de santé universel.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.