Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Past Winner
2012 NSERC Synergy Awards for Innovation

Yusuf Altintas

The University of British Columbia and Pratt & Whitney Canada

Category 2: Large Companies

Yusuf Altintas
Yusuf Altintas

In an industry as competitive as aircraft manufacturing—where the business context is challenging and precision is a must—Pratt & Whitney Canada deeply values its longstanding research partnership with The University of British Columbia’s Yusuf Altintas, winner of an NSERC Synergy Award for Innovation.

The professor of mechanical engineering has worked with the company over the past several decades to develop mathematical models that simulate parts machining, which remove much of the financial risk and minimizes the environmental impact of physical development trials and subsequent part production.

In the past, Pratt & Whitney Canada, like other companies, was challenged by several process limitations, including vibrations that could damage both the cutting tool and the part under development. For example, an impeller is a rotor that regulates pressure and flow of a fluid. It’s a critical performance part in the heart of an aircraft engine. Machining an impeller is a challenging process involving expensive materials and costly manufacturing equipment—with no margin for error. If the machining process fails, you risk scrapping the entire part.

In 1986, the company approached Dr. Altintas, a former employee, to help provide more certainty in the machining of parts. He proposed a modest research investment that could improve process robustness and realize 10-15 percent savings. However, by 1992, exceeding all expectations, Dr. Altintas’ research had achieved up to 85 percent cost savings on some parts.

Today, Dr. Altintas’s laboratory is among the best-equipped in North America, producing a steady stream of highly qualified graduates and innovative ideas for Pratt & Whitney Canada and other companies.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Ancien lauréat
Prix Synergie pour l'innovation du CRSNG de 2012

Yusuf Altintas

The University of British Columbia et Pratt & Whitney Canada

Catégorie 2 : Grandes entreprises

Yusuf Altintas
Yusuf Altintas

Dans une industrie aussi concurrentielle que celle de la fabrication d’aéronefs – où le contexte opérationnel est un défi et la précision est essentielle – Pratt & Whitney Canada accorde une grande importance au partenariat de recherche établi de longue date avec Yusuf Altintas de la University of British Columbia, qui est lauréat d’un prix Synergie pour l’innovation du CRSNG.

Ce professeur de génie mécanique travaille avec l’entreprise depuis plusieurs décennies pour élaborer des modèles mathématiques qui simulent l’usinage des pièces afin de supprimer une grande partie du risque financier et de réduire au minimum les effets environnementaux de la mise au point des essais matériels et de la production subséquente de pièces.

Auparavant, Pratt & Whitney Canada, tout comme d’autres entreprises, était aux prises avec plusieurs limitations de processus, y compris des vibrations qui pouvaient endommager l’outil de coupe et la pièce en fabrication. Prenons par exemple le rouet, un rotor qui règle la pression et l’écoulement d’un fluide. Il s’agit d’une pièce essentielle de fonctionnement au cœur du moteur d’un aéronef. L’usinage d’un rouet est un processus difficile qui exige des matériaux et de l’équipement de fabrication coûteux, et ne laisse aucune marge d’erreur. Si le processus d’usinage échoue, on risque de devoir mettre au rebut toute la pièce.

En 1986, l’entreprise a demandé à M. Altintas, un ancien employé, de l’aider à réduire le risque associé à l’usinage des pièces. Le chercheur a proposé un modeste investissement en recherche qui pourraient améliorer la robustesse du processus et de réaliser des économies de 10 à 15 p. 100. Cependant, en 1992, contre toute attente, les travaux de recherche de M. Altintas ont permis à l’entreprise de réaliser des économies pouvant atteindre 85 p. 100 sur certains pièces.

Aujourd’hui, le laboratoire de M. Altintas compte parmi les mieux équipés de l’Amérique du Nord, produisant en continu des diplômés hautement qualifiés et des idées innovatrices pour Pratt & Whitney Canada et d’autres entreprises.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.