Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Past Winner
2013 NSERC E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowships

Yu Sun

Mechanical and Industrial Engineering

University of Toronto

Yu Sun
Yu Sun

Microtechnologies are robotic systems and automated micro devices that operate at the cellular level and have the potential to revolutionize medical care and improve human health. 

Yu Sun is an international leader in developing robotics and automation technologies for manipulating biomaterials, such as precision instrumentation capable of injecting molecules into biological cells. His published work has laid the foundation and sparked worldwide interest in robotic cell manipulation. His research into automated processes for biological cell manipulation is revolutionizing how genetic studies, cancer research and clinical cell surgery and diagnostics are conducted.

Dr. Sun, a 2013 recipient of an NSERC Steacie Fellowship, studies both fundamental and applied aspects of robotics and device technologies at the micrometre and nanometre scales.

He leads the University of Toronto’s Advanced Micro and Nanosystems Laboratory, which develops technologies for use in biomedical, clinical and precision industry environments.  Over the past several years, his lab has developed a series of automated cell manipulation systems and devices that proved effective in biology labs and are now moving to clinical trials. His new generation of nanorobotic manipulation systems is being integrated into the electron microscopes by Hitachi High-Technologies Canada, Inc.

Dr. Sun’s NSERC Steacie Fellowship research will focus on the quality assessment of stored red blood cells. His work aims to improve tests conducted prior to patient transfusion, with project partners including Mount Sinai Hospital and Canadian Blood Services. In particular, his new technologies in cell biophysics will allow for rapid measurements of banked red blood cells and lead to enhanced patient safety in transfusion medicine.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Ancien lauréat
Bourses commémoratives E.W.R. Steacie du CRSNG de 2013

Yu Sun

Génie mécanique et industriel

University of Toronto

Yu Sun
Yu Sun

Les microtechnologies sont des systèmes robotiques et des microdispositifs automatisés qui fonctionnent à l’échelle cellulaire et qui pourraient révolutionner les soins médicaux et améliorer la santé humaine.

Yu Sun est un chef de file international de l’élaboration de technologies de robotique et d’automatisation qui permettent de manipuler des biomatériaux, par exemple un instrument de précision qui pourrait injecter des molécules dans les cellules biologiques. Ses publications ont jeté les fondements de la manipulation robotique des cellules et suscité un intérêt mondial pour ces technologies. Ses travaux sur l’automatisation des processus de manipulation des cellules biologiques révolutionnent la façon de réaliser les études de génétique, les travaux de recherche sur le cancer ainsi que les chirurgies et les diagnostics cellulaires cliniques.

M. Sun, l'un des lauréats de 2013 d’une Bourse commémorative E.W.R. Steacie du CRSNG, étudie les aspects fondamentaux et appliqués des technologies de robotique et des dispositifs à l’échelle micrométrique et à l’échelle nanométrique.

Il dirige le Advanced Micro and Nanosystems Laboratory de la University of Toronto où l’on crée des technologies qui peuvent être utilisées en biomédecine, dans les milieux cliniques et dans l’industrie de précision. Au cours des dernières années, son équipe de laboratoire a mis au point une série de systèmes et de dispositifs automatisés pour la manipulation des cellules qui se sont révélés efficaces dans des laboratoires de biologie et qui feront maintenant l’objet d’essais cliniques. Hitachi High-Technologies Canada, Inc. est en train d’intégrer aux microscopes électroniques ces systèmes de manipulation nanorobotiques de la prochaine génération.

Les travaux de recherche que réalisera M. Sun à l’aide de sa Bourse Steacie porteront sur l’évaluation de la qualité des globules rouges entreposés. Ils visent à améliorer les tests réalisés avant les transfusions sanguines. Mentionnons au nombre de ses partenaires le Mount Sinaï Hospital et la Société canadienne du sang. Les nouvelles technologies de biophysique cellulaire qu’il a créées permettront en particulier d’évaluer rapidement les globules rouges entreposés et d’améliorer la sûreté de la médecine transfusionnelle.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.