Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Past Winner
2012 NSERC E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowships

Robert Seiringer

Mathematics and Statistics

McGill University

Robert Seiringer
Robert Seiringer

One of the most difficult challenges faced by physicists and mathematicians involves understanding how molecules and atoms, in their various forms, behave collectively. Deceptively simple questions related to this area of study, such as how and why ice forms, still lack complete explanations. The situation becomes even more complicated when quantum mechanics—the laws that apply to materials at the atomic level—are added to the mix.

Robert Seiringer of McGill University, considered one of the leading mathematical physicists in the world under the age of 40, is exploring some of the mathematical problems surrounding these collective behaviours. His work has earned him a 2012 E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship from NSERC.

Dr. Seiringer currently focusses on mathematical models that describe various phenomena occurring in quantum gases, for instance the structure of their “excitation spectrum” or the characteristics of “rapidly rotating Bose gases” and “Bose/Fermi mixtures.” The existence of these interacting states of matter and energy was originally theorized mathematically by such illustrious 20th century scientists as Albert Einstein. Dr. Seiringer seeks to further extend their work by developing new mathematical and statistical models that will enable scientists to better understand and predict the behaviour of so-called “quantum many-body systems”—nanoscale constellations of large numbers of interacting particles.

Ultimately, progress in this area (as in the case of earlier studies) will shed light on how the laws of physics operate at the universe’s smallest scale and how interactions there relate to the larger scale properties of matter and energy that we are more familiar with. While applications may be some years away, the insights gained will almost certainly help us expand our understanding of physical properties such as magnetism, and exotic phenomena such as superconductivity and superfluidity.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Ancien lauréat
Bourses commémoratives E.W.R. Steacie du CRSNG de 2012

Robert Seiringer

Mathématiques et statistique

McGill University

Robert Seiringer
Robert Seiringer

Comprendre le comportement collectif des divers types de molécules et d’atomes représente l’un des plus grands défis auxquels sont confrontés les physiciens et les mathématiciens. Il n’existe pas encore d’explication complète pour certaines questions liées à ce domaine d’étude qui peuvent paraître d’une grande simplicité, par exemple comment et pourquoi la glace se forme. La situation se complexifie lorsque la mécanique quantique – les lois qui s’appliquent aux matériaux à l’échelle atomique – entre en jeu.

Robert Seiringer de l’Université McGill, qui est considéré comme l’un des grands physiciens mathématiciens du monde âgés de moins de 40 ans, explore certains problèmes mathématiques associés à ces comportements collectifs. Ses travaux lui ont valu une Bourse commémorative E.W.R. Steacie de 2012 du CRSNG.

Actuellement, M. Seiringer se concentre sur des modèles mathématiques qui décrivent divers phénomènes associés aux gaz quantiques, comme la structure de leur « spectre d’excitation » ou les caractéristiques des « gaz de Bose en rotation rapide » et des « mélanges Bose-Fermi ». L’existence de ces états de la matière et de l’énergie en interaction a d’ailleurs été prédite par d’éminents scientifiques du 20e siècle, comme Albert Einstein, grâce à des théories mathématiques. M. Seiringer cherche à élargir leurs travaux en élaborant de nouveaux modèles statistiques et mathématiques qui permettront aux scientifiques de mieux comprendre et prédire le comportement des « systèmes multicorporels quantiques » – des constellations nanoscopiques qui comptent un grand nombre de particules en interaction.

Tout comme les études antérieures l’ont fait, les avancées dans ce domaine jetteront de la lumière sur la manière dont les lois de la physique gouvernent l’univers à l’infiniment petit et sur la manière dont ces interactions se rapportent aux propriétés de la matière et de l’énergie à une échelle plus grande et qui nous est plus familière. Même si les résultats de ces travaux de recherche ne seront pas appliqués avant plusieurs années, les connaissances qui en découlent nous aideront presque certainement à mieux comprendre les propriétés physiques du magnétisme et de phénomènes inusités comme la supraconductivité et la superfluidité.