Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Past Winner
2012 NSERC E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowships

Mark MacLachlan

Chemistry

The University of British Columbia

Mark MacLachlan
Mark MacLachlan

The frenetic pace of the global economy and demand for innovative technology has heightened the demand for materials that are stronger, lighter and more flexible or have unique properties. Few working in the field are more imaginative or innovative than the University of British Columbia’s Mark MacLachlan, whose research breakthroughs have produced truly novel materials.

Dr. MacLachlan explores the potential for invention through supramolecular chemistry—a discipline that takes advantage of the fact that molecules with specific shapes and properties will self-assemble to form new materials. His achievements have earned him a 2012 E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship from NSERC.

One of his most notable discoveries was the development of a new iridescent film from the same silica material used to make glass, with a special spiral pore structure that mimics the structure and properties of beetle shells. He then devised a way of tuning the wavelength of light reflected by the film so it would filter or reflect infrared, ultraviolet or coloured light. These materials could be used as coatings on windows or eyeglasses to protect against harmful ultraviolet or infrared light, or to reduce heating and air conditioning requirements in buildings and cars. Dr. MacLachlan has also transferred the structure of this silica material to carbon and semiconductors in an effort to develop a new kind of display.

Dr. MacLachlan’s other discoveries have generated materials that show promise as electrodes for supercapacitors—new high-energy storage devices that may replace car batteries—and as alternative ways to safely store hydrogen for possible use in hydrogen-powered vehicles.

The Steacie Fellowship will enable Dr. MacLachlan to advance this ongoing work and to develop the next generation of materials engineered to offer special optical properties.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Ancien lauréat
Bourses commémoratives E.W.R. Steacie du CRSNG de 2012

Mark MacLachlan

Chimie

The University of British Columbia

Mark MacLachlan
Mark MacLachlan

Le rythme frénétique de l’économie mondiale et la demande de technologies innovatrices ont fait croître la demande de matériaux plus solides, plus légers et plus souples ou de matériaux qui ont des propriétés uniques. Peu de chercheurs qui travaillent dans ce domaine ont un esprit plus imaginatif et innovateur que Mark MacLachlan de la University of British Columbia, dont les percées en recherche ont mené à la production de matériaux véritablement originaux.

M. MacLachlan explore les possibilités d’invention dans le domaine de la chimie supramoléculaire, une discipline basée sur le fait que des molécules ayant des formes et des propriétés spécifiques vont s’auto-assembler pour former de nouveaux matériaux. Ses réalisations lui ont valu une Bourse commémorative E.W.R. Steacie de 2012 du CRSNG.

L’une des découvertes les plus remarquables de M. MacLachlan est la création d’un film iridescent à l’aide de la silice qui est utilisée pour fabriquer le verre, auquel il a intégré une structure poreuse spiralée spéciale qui imite la structure et les propriétés de la carapace des coléoptères. Le chercheur a ensuite imaginé un moyen de régler la longueur d’onde de la lumière réfléchie par le film pour qu’elle filtre ou réfléchisse la lumière infrarouge, ultraviolette ou colorée. Ce matériau pourrait être utilisé pour recouvrir les fenêtres ou les lunettes afin de refléter les rayons ultraviolets ou infrarouges nuisibles ou réduire les besoins en chauffage et en climatisation dans les bâtiments et les voitures. En outre, M. MacLachlan a intégré cette structure à du carbone et à des semiconducteurs dans le but d’élaborer un nouveau genre d’écran.

Les autres découvertes de M. MacLachlan ont mené à la création de matériaux prometteurs, comme des électrodes pour les supercondensateurs – de nouveaux dispositifs de stockage à haute énergie qui pourraient remplacer la batterie de voiture – et des dispositifs sûrs pour stocker l’hydrogène qui pourraient être utilisés dans les véhicules alimentés à l’hydrogène.

La Bourse Steacie permettra à M. MacLachlan de poursuivre ses travaux en cours et de créer la prochaine génération de matériaux qui auront des propriétés optiques spéciales.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.