Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Past Winner
2010 E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship

Guy Moore

Physics

McGill University


Guy Moore
Guy Moore

The universe is home to many mysteries, but some of its largest unanswered questions are found in its smallest components. Guy Moore, a theorist with McGill University’s Department of Physics, is exploring quantum chromodynamics (QCD), a component of theoretical physics that explains the interactions of quarks and gluons, the fundamental elements that make up matter.

Quarks and gluons bind together to form protons and neutrons. QCD provides a basis for understanding how these elements form nuclei, which is the main question of nuclear physics and one of the mysteries being pursued at the Large Hadron Collider in Switzerland.

Despite QCD being well established as a theory, it is not thoroughly understood. In particular, it is unclear what occurs when many quarks and gluons interact together simultaneously, a process known as “many-body QCD.” For instance, what happens when large nuclei collide with each other at rates near the speed of light? Understanding the nature of these interactions will provide a greater understanding about the early formation of the universe and aid in the general advancement of knowledge in physics.

Dr. Moore and his colleagues have devised a mathematical description that accounts for most aspects of many-body QCD, and are now seeking to complete and expand their formalism to tackle a larger set of physics questions. Currently, Dr. Moore’s process can only predict probabilities for one particle, but not those of correlated particles. He will use a similar methodology to explore questions about the origins of the universe, such as how the universe heated up at the end of inflation.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Ancien lauréat
Bourse commémorative E.W.R. Steacie de 2010

Guy Moore

Physique

Université McGill


Guy Moore
Guy Moore

L'univers renferme de nombreux mystères, mais certaines des plus grandes questions encore sans réponse se trouvent dans ses plus petites composantes. Un théoricien du Département de physique de l'Université McGill, Guy Moore, explore la théorie de la chromodynamique quantique (CDQ), un volet de la physique théorique qui explique les interactions des quarks et des gluons – les éléments fondamentaux de la matière.

Les quarks et les gluons se lient pour former des protons et des neutrons. La CDQ constitue une base pour comprendre comment ces éléments forment les noyaux. Cette question, qui est au cœur de la physique nucléaire, est l'un des mystères que l'on cherche à élucider au Grand collisionneur hadronique de la Suisse.

Même si la théorie de la CDQ est bien établie, elle n'est pas entièrement comprise. On ignore en particulier ce qui se passe lorsque de nombreux quarks et gluons interagissent simultanément, un processus que l'on appelle « la CDQ de nombreux corps ». Ainsi, que se passe-t-il lorsque de gros noyaux entrent en collision à une vitesse qui s'approche de celle de la vitesse de la lumière? Si l'on arrive à comprendre la nature de ces interactions, on pourra mieux comprendre les débuts de l'univers, ce qui contribuera à l'avancement général des connaissances en physique.

M. Moore et ses collègues ont conçu une description mathématique qui représente la plupart des aspects de la CDQ de nombreux corps. Ils tentent maintenant de compléter et d'élargir leur formalisme pour s'attaquer à un ensemble plus grand de questions de physique. Actuellement, la méthode de M. Moore ne permet de prédire des probabilités que pour une particule, mais non pour des particules corrélées. Il se servira d'une méthode similaire pour explorer les questions qui portent sur les origines de l'univers, par exemple pour découvrir comment l'univers s'est réchauffé à la fin de l'inflation.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.