Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Past Winner
2016 NSERC E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowships

E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship

E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship

Departments of Chemistry and Chemical and Biological Engineering

The University of British Columbia

Sunlight provides one of humanityís best hopes for meeting long-term energy needs, but the business case remains elusive. Thatís about to change. Dr. Curtis P. Berlinguette is working at the nanoscale to design new materials for next-generation solar cells that turn sunlight into electricity efficiently and cost-effectively.

His team is also finding better ways to store this energy. Inspired by a plantís ability to capture sunlight through photosynthesis and store the energy in chemical bonds, they are developing catalysts to convert sunlight directly into high-density fuels such as hydrogen.

Building on his long track record of industry collaboration spanning electronics, chemical, glass manufacturing, cleantech and energy, Berlinguette is now commercializing some of these catalysts through a spin-off company that he launched.

Curtis P. Berlinguette
For additional information or to request photos of NSERC Prize Winners, please contact Media Relations.
People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Ancien lauréat
Bourses commémoratives E.W.R. Steacie du CRSNG de 2016

Bourse commémorative E.W.R. Steacie

Bourse commémorative E.W.R. Steacie

Département de chimie et au Département de génie chimique et biologique

The University of British Columbia

Si la lumière du soleil représente un des plus grands espoirs de l’humanité pour ce qui est de répondre aux besoins en énergie à long terme, sa rentabilité n’est toutefois pas encore établie. Mais cela est sur le point de changer. Curtis P. Berlinguette travaille à l’échelle nanométrique pour concevoir les nouveaux matériaux qui seront utilisés dans les piles solaires de la prochaine génération, qui transformeront de façon efficace et rentable la lumière du soleil en électricité.

En outre, l’équipe de M. Berlinguette cherche de nouvelles façons d’emmagasiner cette énergie. En s’inspirant de la capacité des plantes à capter la lumière du soleil et à emmagasiner l’énergie dans des liaisons chimiques au moyen de la photosynthèse, les chercheurs conçoivent des catalyseurs qui transforment directement cette lumière en carburants à haute densité tels que l’hydrogène.

Fort de sa longue expérience de collaboration avec des entreprises des secteurs de l’électronique, des produits chimiques, de la fabrication du verre, des technologies propres et de l’énergie, M. Berlinguette commercialise certains de ces catalyseurs par l’entremise de l’entreprise dérivée qu’il a démarrée.

Curtis P. Berlinguette
Pour obtenir plus de renseignements ou demander des photos des lauréats des prix du CRSNG, veuillez communiquer avec l'équipe des relations avec les médias.
Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.