Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Past Winner
2013 NSERC E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowships

Paul W. Ayers

Chemistry

McMaster University

Paul W. Ayers
Paul W. Ayers

One of the major challenges of designing new substances is being able to predict the outcomes of chemical reactions. Predicting chemical phenomena could allow new medical therapies, as well as other technologies, to be developed much faster than is possible with traditional experimental chemistry approaches.

Paul Ayers is a leader in theoretical chemistry, and leads a research group that is developing computational and conceptual methods for understanding, predicting, interpreting and quantifying chemical phenomena. His research draws from expertise in chemistry, mathematics and computer programming. His wide-ranging contributions to the field have included purely mathematical concepts, unique algorithms and leading-edge computer programming.

This research focus is contributing to progress in developing new machine-learning methods for predicting the properties of molecules and materials, deciphering complex chemical reactions and designing new drugs.

Dr. Ayers, a 2013 recipient of an NSERC Steacie Fellowship, is now pursuing a new area of chemistry, strongly correlated systems, which includes molecular magnets and superconductors. He has developed computational techniques that would be applicable to this significant technological challenge. Future research will include converting such techniques into a computer program that puts these transformational ideas into practice.

His work in the field is significant as a fundamental theoretical interest, while also holding potential for application. For example, determining how a single molecule could behave like a tiny magnet could lead to advances in quantum computing, information storage, and refrigeration and air conditioning that is more environmentally friendly than current technologies.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Ancien lauréat
Bourses commémoratives E.W.R. Steacie du CRSNG de 2013

Paul W. Ayers

Chimie

McMaster University

Paul W. Ayers
Paul W. Ayers

L’un des plus grands obstacles à la conception de nouvelles substances est la capacité de prédire les résultats des réactions chimiques. Cette capacité pourrait permettre d’élaborer des traitements médicaux et d’autres technologies beaucoup plus rapidement qu’il n’est possible de le faire avec les méthodes expérimentales traditionnellement utilisées en chimie.

Paul Ayers est un chef de file de la chimie théorique. Il dirige un groupe de chercheurs qui élabore des méthodes informatiques et conceptuelles pour comprendre, prédire, interpréter et quantifier les phénomènes chimiques. Ses travaux sont basés sur une expertise en chimie, en mathématiques et en programmation informatique. Il a fait de vastes contributions au domaine, notamment des concepts purement mathématiques, des algorithmes uniques et des programmes informatiques de pointe. 

L’objectif de ces travaux est de faire progresser l’élaboration de nouvelles méthodes d’apprentissage automatique pour prédire les propriétés des molécules et des matériaux, déchiffrer les réactions chimiques complexes et concevoir de nouveaux médicaments.

M. Ayers, l’un des lauréats de 2013 d’une Bourse commémorative E.W.R. Steacie du CRSNG, s’attaque maintenant à un nouveau domaine de la chimie – les systèmes fortement reliés, qui englobent les aimants moléculaires et les supraconducteurs. Il a élaboré des techniques computationnelles qui pourraient servir à surmonter cet important défi technologique. Ses futurs travaux consisteront notamment à convertir ces techniques en un programme informatique qui met ces idées transformatrices en pratique.

Les travaux réalisés par M. Ayers dans ce domaine sont importants sur le plan de la théorie fondamentale, mais ils pourraient aussi avoir des applications concrètes. Ainsi, le fait de savoir comment une seule molécule peut se comporter comme un aimant pourrait faire progresser les domaines de l’informatique quantique et du stockage de l’information et écologiser les technologies de réfrigération et de climatisation.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.