Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Past Winners

Edna Dach

Edna DachTo Dream, to dare, to do. If you ask Edna Dach, these are exemplary words to live by. As a former teacher, Dach has always had a keen interest in sharing her passion for science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM). She continues to volunteer for science outreach, and her actions have had a tremendous impact across Alberta.

Over the years, she has shared her love and passion of science with future generations of potential scientists and highlighted the need for more women in STEM. Through her ongoing volunteer work, she continues to inspire young Canadians to consider the sciences as more than just an obligation in school, but as a fascinating world to be explored.

In the early 1990s she launched the Young Scientists Conference for students in the Edmonton area. Still going on today, these conferences provide junior high school students with a day filled with excitement as they explore STEM topics. Thanks to enthusiastic keynote speakers, hands-on experiments, and other activities, students get to see STEM in a new light.

Once a Girl Guide herself, Dach has also continued to volunteer in the Guiding movement throughout her career, taking on many roles centred on science outreach. The Guides provide her with an opportunity to promote STEM career paths as options for girls and young women. Her articles in the Canadian Guider magazine have addressed topics like “Computer Literacy – It’s a Girl Thing” and “Science Matters.” She has also organized training sessions and camps with STEM as the core theme.

Her advocacy for women in science has also extended outside of the Guiding Movement. Working with Women in Scholarship, Engineering, Science, and Technology, Dach has helped with their annual Choices Conferences, which bring hundreds of Grade 6 girls to the University of Alberta for a day of STEM activities. She has also been involved with the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology through their Women in Technology and Trades initiative, which encourages the recruitment of women to the Institute.

Jean-Marie De Koninck

Jean-Marie De KoninckMathematics is too often seen as a daunting field that is beyond the reach of average people. Dr. Jean-Marie De Koninck, a retired mathematics professor from the Université Laval, has been working hard for decades to demystify mathematics and show its importance.

His work took off in 2000 through the TV show C’est mathématique! Conceptualized and hosted by De Koninck, the show provided him with an ideal vehicle to popularize mathematics, and his new-found audience allowed him to continue to promote math and science through both the media and invitations to a multitude of conferences.

In 2005, De Koninck created a second initiative, Sciences et mathématiques en action. Through this, he was able to put in place many innovative projects to promote math and science to youth, such as theatre pieces that were entertaining and fun while focused on scientific and mathematical concepts. Another project created through this initiative was Math en jeu, an open source multimedia game.

De Koninck has also written several books to make mathematics fun and accessible. Through all his promotion of mathematics, he has worked to show there is a human part to the equation: math has been created by humans, is taught by humans and is used by humans.

RiverWatch Institute of Alberta

RiverWatch Institute of AlbertaIn 1994, with a newly added “Environmental Issues” module to the Alberta Grade 9 high school science curriculum, a team of educators saw how this module could be made much more exciting by getting outside of the classroom. One day that November, dressed to brace the snow, these science educators trekked to the Bow River to put their idea to the test: a real-world river study where students would raft down Alberta rivers with lab equipment to perform science experiments. From this adventure came the RiverWatch Institute of Alberta and their field study program.

Over the years the initial group of 90 students has grown to over 10,000 per year. “This isn’t just a demonstration or lecture, students go on a day-long outing to actively participate in real science” said Cal Kullman, executive director and a founding member of RiverWatch. With trained river guides, the students embark on a 10-kilometre journey equipped with large inflatable rafts and one guiding question: how healthy is our river?

During hundreds of these field studies each year, the river guides lead discussions on various topics such as water quality, shoreline ecology, and human impact. Each trip involves two test sites where the students conduct biology and water chemistry tests. Where possible, the day-long expedition is broken with a lunchtime tour of a local wastewater treatment plant. Back at school after their expedition, students use the scientific methods they have been taught to analyze their data and assess the health of the river.

The positive responses received from students, teachers and parents have led to another project, CreekWatch. Unlike the river trips, this program is a community-based environmental monitoring program where adult volunteers test the water quality and stormwater impact on local urban creeks. The data collected are used in a yearly report published on World Water Day.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Anciens lauréats

Edna Dach

Edna DachRêver, oser, réaliser. Voici des mots exemplaires qui inspirent Edna Dach, cette ancienne enseignante qui a toujours voulu partager sa passion pour la science, la technologie, l’ingénierie et les mathématiques (STIM). Mme Dach continue de faire du bénévolat pour accroitre la sensibilisation aux sciences et ses interventions ont une incidence considérable partout en Alberta.

Au fil des ans, Mme Dach a partagé son amour et sa passion pour les sciences avec les scientifiques éventuels des prochaines générations en soulignant la nécessité d’attirer davantage de femmes dans les disciplines des STIM. Son travail bénévole continue d’inciter les jeunes Canadiens à considérer les sciences, non pas comme une simple matière scolaire obligatoire, mais comme un monde fascinant à explorer.

Au début des années 1990, Mme Dach a lancé la Young Scientists Conference pour les élèves de la région d’Edmonton. Ces conférences, toujours offertes aujourd’hui, proposent aux élèves du premier cycle du secondaire de participer à une journée passionnante où ils peuvent explorer les disciplines des STIM et les découvrir sous un nouveau jour grâce à des conférenciers enthousiastes, à des expériences pratiques et à d’autres activités.

Ayant déjà été guide, Mme Dach a aussi fait du bénévolat dans le mouvement des Guides tout au long de sa carrière en jouant de nombreux rôles axés sur la sensibilisation aux sciences. Ce mouvement lui a donné l’occasion de promouvoir les carrières en STIM auprès des filles et des jeunes femmes. Elle a publié des articles, comme « Computer Literacy – It’s a Girl Thing » et « Science Matters », dans la revue Canadian Guider. Elle a aussi organisé des séances de formation et des camps dont le thème central était les STIM.

Mme Dach a aussi encouragé la présence des femmes en sciences à l’extérieur du mouvement des Guides. Elle a travaillé avec l’organisme Women in Scholarship, Engineering, Science, and Technology, l’aidant à organiser les conférences annuelles Choices, qui réunissent des centaines de filles de 6e année à la University of Alberta pour participer à une journée d’activités liées aux STIM. Elle a aussi collaboré avec le Northern Alberta Institute of Technology dans le cadre de l’initiative Women in Technology and Trades, dont le but est de recruter des femmes à l’Institut.

Jean-Marie De Koninck

Jean-Marie De KoninckLes mathématiques sont trop souvent considérées comme un domaine intimidant qui n’est pas à la portée du commun des mortels. Jean-Marie De Koninck, professeur de mathématiques à la retraite de l’Université Laval, a travaillé fort pendant des décennies pour démystifier les mathématiques et montrer leur importance.

Ses efforts ont commencé en 2000 avec l’émission de télévision C’est mathématique! Conçue et animée par M. De Koninck, cette émission était pour lui un moyen idéal de vulgariser les mathématiques. Son nouvel auditoire lui a permis de continuer de promouvoir les mathématiques et les sciences dans les médias et d’être invité à donner une multitude de conférences.

En 2005, M. De Koninck a créé une deuxième initiative, Sciences et mathématiques en action, qui lui a permis de mettre en place de nombreux projets novateurs pour faire la promotion des mathématiques et des sciences auprès des jeunes, notamment des pièces de théâtre ludiques et humoristiques traitant de concepts scientifiques et mathématiques. Il a aussi créé, dans le cadre de cette initiative, le projet du jeu multimédia en accès libre Math en jeu.

M. De Koninck a aussi écrit plusieurs livres pour montrer que les mathématiques peuvent être amusantes et qu’elles sont accessibles. Dans toutes ses activités de promotion des mathématiques, il s’est employé à montrer la dimension humaine de l’équation : les mathématiques ont été créées par les humains, sont enseignées par les humains et sont utilisées par les humains.

RiverWatch Institute of Alberta

RiverWatch Institute of AlbertaEn 1994, un nouveau module sur les questions environnementales a été ajouté au programme de la 9e année en Alberta. Des enseignants en sciences ont alors pensé que ce module serait beaucoup plus intéressant si les élèves sortaient de l’école. Un beau jour de novembre, vêtus pour affronter la neige, ils ont fait une randonnée jusqu’à la rivière Bow pour mettre leur idée à l’épreuve : demander aux élèves de participer à l’étude des rivières de l’Alberta en les descendant dans un canot pneumatique qui transporte du matériel de laboratoire pour réaliser des expériences scientifiques. Le RiverWatch Institute of Alberta et son programme d’études sur le terrain sont nés de cette aventure.

Au fil des ans, le groupe initial de 90 élèves a grossi; il y a maintenant plus de 10 000 élèves qui participent chaque année. « Il ne s’agit pas simplement d’assister à une démonstration ou à une conférence; les élèves sortent pendant toute une journée pour participer activement à de véritables expériences scientifiques », explique le directeur administratif et membre fondateur du RiverWatch Institute Cal Kullman. Accompagnés de guides de rivière expérimentés, les élèves parcourent 10 kilomètre dans de grands canots pneumatiques et tentent de répondre à une question essentielle : quel est l’état de santé de notre rivière?

Pendant les centaines d’excursions qui ont lieu chaque année, les guides de rivière animent des discussions sur divers sujets tels que la qualité de l’eau, l’écologie du littoral et les répercussions des activités humaines. À chaque excursion, les élèves s’arrêtent à deux sites où ils réalisent des analyses de biologie et de chimie de l’eau. Quand c’est possible, ils visitent une usine locale de traitement des eaux usées pendant l’heure du repas. De retour à l’école, ils utilisent les méthodes scientifiques qu’ils ont apprises pour analyser leurs données et évaluer la santé de la rivière.

La réaction enthousiaste des élèves, des enseignants et des parents a mené à l’élaboration d’un autre projet appelé CreekWatch. Il ne s’agit pas ici d’excursions en rivière, mais d’un programme communautaire de surveillance de l’environnement où des adultes bénévoles testent la qualité de l’eau et l’effet des eaux pluviales sur les ruisseaux urbains locaux. Les données recueillies servent à rédiger un rapport annuel publié la Journée mondiale de l’eau.