Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

2010 Innovation Challenge Award

Jamu Alford

Device to improve MRI based molecular imaging

Massachusetts General Hospital and Harvard Medical School, formerly of The University of Western Ontario, Department of Physics and Astronomy


Dr. Jamu Alford has developed a device that dramatically improves MRI molecular imaging, aiding in the detection of diseases such as breast cancer.

While unsurpassed in quality for anatomical imaging, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) has had only limited success when it comes to differentiation of specific tissue types (e.g., diseased vs. healthy).

In order to differentiate a specific type of tissue from all other types, patients may be injected with pharmaceutical agents (contrast agents) that bind to molecules that are specific to the target tissue. For instance, one agent binds to folate protein, which is over expressed in malignant breast cancer tissue. Another binds to fibrin in blood clots. Many other agents are available or under development. Unfortunately, even with these advanced contrast agents, it is still very difficult to differentiate the tissues types.

Alford’s innovation, named the Delta Relaxation Enhanced Magnetic Resonance (dreMR) solves this issue by directly differentiating tissue containing the bound contrast agent from all others. It does this by acquiring several MRI images at different magnetic field strengths—something not possible with conventional MRI systems. These additional images provide enough information to allow one to differentiate the diseased tissues.

Because this approach relies upon fundamental physics, it can be universally applied to improve the effectiveness of all such contrast agents.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Prix Défi innovation de 2010

Jamu Alford

Device to improve MRI based molecular imaging

Massachusetts General Hospital et Harvard Medical School, anciennement du Département de physique et d'astronomie de la University of Western Ontario


Jamu Alford a mis au point un dispositif qui améliore de façon spectaculaire l'imagerie par résonance magnétique moléculaire et qui aide à déceler des maladies comme le cancer du sein.

Bien que la qualité des images anatomiques qu'elle produit soit sans égale, l'imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM) n'a connu qu'un succès limité lorsqu'il s'agit de différencier des types de tissus particuliers (p. ex., des tissus malades par rapport à des tissus sains).

Pour différencier un type de tissu particulier de tous les autres types, il est possible d'injecter aux patients des produits pharmaceutiques (produits de contraste) qui se lient à des molécules spécifiques au tissu ciblé. Par exemple, l'un de ces produits se lie à la protéine de liaison du folate qui est exprimée en surabondance dans les tissus mammaires atteints d'une tumeur maligne. Un autre se lie à la fibrine dans les caillots sanguins. De nombreux autres produits sont disponibles ou en développement. Malheureusement, même à l'aide de ces produits de contraste perfectionnés, il est encore très difficile de différencier les types de tissus.

L'innovation de M. Alford, nommée Delta Relaxation Enhanced Magnetic Resonance (dreMR), résout ce problème en différenciant directement les tissus qui contiennent le produit de contraste lié par rapport à tous les autres tissus. Pour ce faire, ce dispositif acquiert par résonance magnétique plusieurs images du tissu soumis à des champs magnétiques de forces différentes, ce qui n'est pas possible avec les systèmes d'IRM classiques. Ces images supplémentaires fournissent suffisamment d'information pour permettre de différencier les tissus malades.

Parce que cette technologie est fondée sur la physique fondamentale, elle peut être appliquée universellement pour améliorer l'efficacité de tous les produits de contraste de ce genre.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.