Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Runner-Up
2009 Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering

Stephen Withers

Chemistry and Biochemistry

The University of British Columbia


Stephen Withers
Stephen Withers

The quest to understand the inner workings of some of nature’s most common molecules — carbohydrates — has led Stephen Withers to breakthroughs that have opened new doors for treating various diseases and introduced wide-ranging new research techniques. The University of British Columbia bio-organic chemist is one of the world’s top experts in how carbohydrates, also known simply as sugars, perform a host of biological functions that include regulating metabolism, storing energy and providing structural support for cell walls. His achievements have made him one of the finalists for the 2009 Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering.

Many of those functions rely on enzymes — specialised protein catalysts that are typically structured to either form or break down one type of carbohydrate. Dr. Withers’ most prominent discoveries have centred on revealing how those enzymes work, in some cases overturning decades of thinking and rewriting portions of textbooks.

He has also pioneered faster and greener techniques and research tools to create new types of carbohydrates and new enzymes. Those techniques include patented technology for enzymes that are engineered to efficiently synthesize certain sugars, as well as high-throughput screens that can analyze the potential usefulness of up to a million different synthetic enzymes per hour.

By shedding light on biological processes, Dr. Withers has made it easier to design new drugs that can react or inhibit reactions, with the specific complex sugar that makes up a cell wall. Among his achievements is an inhibitor that shows great promise in preventing the influenza virus from using its own enzymes to spread through the body. Improved treatments for diabetes and other diseases are also possible.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Finaliste
Médaille d'or Gerhard-Herzberg en sciences et en génie du Canada de 2009

Stephen Withers

Chimie et biochimie

The University of British Columbia


Stephen Withers
Stephen Withers

L'étude du fonctionnement interne des glucides, l'une des molécules les plus courantes dans la nature, a amené Stephen Withers à faire des percées qui ont ouvert de nouvelles portes dans le traitement de diverses maladies et offert une vaste gamme de nouvelles méthodes de recherche. Le chimiste bio-organique de la University of British Columbia est l'un des plus grands experts mondiaux des multiples fonctions biologiques effectuées par les glucides, aussi connus simplement comme des sucres. Ces fonctions comprennent notamment la régulation du métabolisme, le stockage de l'énergie et le soutien structurel des parois cellulaires. Grâce à ses réalisations, il a été l'un des finalistes à la Médaille d'or Gerhard-Herzberg en sciences et en génie du Canada de 2009.

Un grand nombre des fonctions des glucides dépendent des enzymes, catalyseurs protéiques spécialisés habituellement structurés pour former ou pour décomposer un type de glucide. Les plus importantes découvertes de M. Withers ont révélé le fonctionnement de ces enzymes, renversant ainsi certaines théories qui prévalaient depuis des décennies et récrivant des parties complètes de livres.

En outre, M. Withers a été le premier à utiliser des méthodes et des outils de recherche plus rapides et moins polluants pour créer de nouveaux types de glucides et de nouvelles enzymes. Mentionnons au nombre de ces méthodes une technologie brevetée pour fabriquer des enzymes qui peuvent synthétiser efficacement certains sucres, ainsi que des écrans de grande capacité qui peuvent analyser l'éventuelle utilité d'un million d'enzymes synthétiques différentes en une heure.

En faisant la lumière sur ces processus biologiques, M. Withers a favorisé la conception de nouveaux médicaments qui peuvent réagir avec le sucre complexe particulier d'une paroi cellulaire ou inhiber cette réaction. Il a notamment conçu un inhibiteur qui pourrait empêcher le virus de l'influenza d'utiliser ses propres enzymes pour se répandre dans le corps. Enfin, il aura peut-être contribué à améliorer le traitement du diabète et d'autres maladies.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.