Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Past Winner
2013 NSERC Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering

Dr. W. Ford Doolittle

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Dalhousie University

Dr. W. Ford Doolittle
Dr. W. Ford Doolittle

Unravelling the Mystery of Evolution, One Cell at a Time

It was summer jobs washing dishes and growing E. coli for noted American biologist Sol Spiegelman that inspired a teenage W. Ford Doolittle with the passion and curiosity to understand life in its simplest forms.

Now a Professor Emeritus, Dr. Doolittle has been at the forefront of fundamental research in evolutionary biology for over four decades. He is one of the world’s top molecular geneticists, having spent his career exploring the earliest stages of cell evolution and the forces and mechanisms determining the structure of genomes.

The Dalhousie University molecular biologist initially faced heavy criticism for his 1999 study arguing that, because of a process called lateral gene transfer (LGT), Darwin’s evolutionary tree is an inadequate model for understanding two-thirds of life’s history on Earth. LGT—gene-swapping prevalent among miniscule life forms like bacteria—is now accepted as one of the major forces driving microbial genome evolution, including the spread of antibiotic resistance and the origin of new pathogens.

Dr. Doolittle is currently the senior member of one of seven Canadian teams participating in the international human microbiome project—described by some scientists as the second Human Genome Project—to characterize the bacteria in and on our bodies and assess their role in health and disease.

He has published more than 270 articles in the world’s leading journals and supervised 31 postdoctoral fellows and 35 graduate and undergraduate students. A remarkable 80 per cent of his Ph.D. and postdoctoral trainees are now university faculty or senior researchers in industry or government.

Dr. Doolittle has received numerous awards and honours for his research, including the Award of Excellence from the Genetics Society of Canada and, as of 2014, the NSERC Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and a member of the US National Academy of Sciences.

Featured Video

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Ancien lauréat
Médaille d'or Gerhard-Herzberg en sciences et en génie du Canada du CRSNG de 2013

W. Ford Doolittle

Département de biochimie et de biologie moléculaire

Dalhousie University

W. Ford Doolittle
W. Ford Doolittle

Percer le mystère de l’évolution une cellule à la fois

C’est en occupant des emplois d’été où il lavait la vaisselle et cultivait la bactérie E. coli pour le célèbre biologiste américain Sol Spiegelman que l’adolescent W. Ford Doolittle a senti naître en lui la passion et la curiosité de comprendre la vie dans ses formes les plus simples.

Devenu professeur émérite, M. Doolittle est au premier plan de la recherche fondamentale en biologie de l’évolution depuis plus de quatre décennies. Il se classe parmi les meilleurs généticiens moléculaires du monde, ayant consacré sa carrière à l’exploration des premières étapes de l’évolution cellulaire et des forces et des mécanismes qui déterminent la structure des génomes.

Ce biologiste moléculaire de la Dalhousie University a d’abord été fortement critiqué pour l’étude qu’il a réalisée en 1999, dans laquelle il prétendait qu’en raison d’un processus appelé transfert horizontal de gènes, l’arbre de l’évolution conçu par Darwin ne rend pas adéquatement compte des deux tiers de l’histoire de la vie sur la Terre. Ce processus de permutation de gènes – courant entre des formes de vie minuscules telles que les bactéries – est maintenant considéré comme l’un des grands facteurs de l’évolution des génomes microbiens, notamment de la progression de la résistance aux antibiotiques et de l’origine de nouveaux pathogènes.

M. Doolittle est actuellement le doyen de l’une des sept équipes canadiennes qui participent au projet international du microbiome humain – considéré par certains scientifiques comme le deuxième projet du génome humain – qui vise à caractériser les bactéries qui se trouvent dans et sur notre corps et à évaluer le rôle qu’elles jouent sur le plan de la santé et de la maladie.

M. Doolittle a publié plus de 270 articles dans les principales revues du monde et supervisé 31 stagiaires postdoctoraux et 35 étudiants de premier cycle et de cycle supérieur. Une remarquable proportion de 80 p. 100 de ses doctorants et stagiaires postdoctoraux sont devenus professeurs d’université ou chercheurs principaux dans l’industrie ou au gouvernement.

M. Doolittle a reçu de nombreux prix et distinctions pour ses travaux, notamment le Prix d’excellence de la Société de génétique du Canada et la Médaille d’or Gerhard-Herzberg en sciences et en génie du Canada que lui a décernée le CRSNG en 2014. Il est membre de la Société royale du Canada et de la National Academy of Sciences des États-Unis.

Vidéo en vedette

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.