Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Past Winner
2013 NSERC André Hamer Postgraduate Prize

Afnan Azizi

Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine

University of Ottawa

Afnan Azizi
Afnan Azizi

Stopping Drug Resistance

Drug resistance is a growing problem that is leading to setbacks in the fight against serious diseases. It is the main reason too many cancer therapies fail. But researchers at the Ottawa Institute of Systems Biology are discovering that resistance isn’t always permanent.

Assisting them in this effort is a young biochemist whose résumé would rival many with a Ph.D. Afnan Azizi has set out to show that sometimes this resistance is temporary—at least in the beginning—which could open new doors for treating cancer and eradicating superbugs.

Azizi’s bachelor’s thesis on a fast, affordable and accurate method for measuring virus concentrations was published in the highly cited journal Analytical Chemistry. He won the 2013 Julie Payette-NSERC Research Scholarship, has received the prestigious NSERC Undergraduate Student Research Award three times, and was instrumental in helping his team win gold two years in a row at the International Genetically Engineered Machines (iGEM) competition.

Now, as the winner of a master’s level NSERC 2013 André Hamer Postgraduate Prize, Azizi is investigating how random fluctuations in the expression of genes can cause cells to become temporarily drug-resistant without mutations. The results will advance efforts to develop therapeutics that prevent this resistance from becoming permanent.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Ancien lauréat
Prix d'études supérieures André-Hamer du CRSNG de 2013

Afnan Azizi

Département de médecine cellulaire et moléculaire

Université d’Ottawa

Afnan Azizi
Afnan Azizi

Mettre fin à la pharmacorésistance

La pharmacorésistance est un problème grandissant qui nuit à la lutte contre les maladies graves. C’est la principale raison pour laquelle de trop nombreuses thérapies de cancer échouent. Mais des chercheurs de l’Institut de la biologie des systèmes d’Ottawa sont en train de découvrir que la résistance n’est pas toujours permanente.

Un jeune biochimiste – dont le curriculum vitæ pourrait rivaliser avec celui de nombreux titulaires de doctorat – aide ces chercheurs. En effet, Afnan Azizi a entrepris de montrer que, parfois, cette résistance est temporaire — du moins au début —, ce qui pourrait mener à de nouveaux traitements du cancer et à l’éradication des superbactéries.

Le mémoire de baccalauréat d’Afnan Azizi, qui présente une méthode rapide, abordable et exacte pour mesurer les concentrations de virus, a été publié dans la revue très souvent citée Analytical Chemistry. M. Azizi a obtenu la Bourse de recherche Julie-Payette du CRSNG en 2013, reçu trois fois la prestigieuse Bourse de recherche de 1er cycle du CRSNG et aidé son équipe à remporter l’or deux fois de suite à l’International Genetically Engineered Machines Competition.

À titre de lauréat du Prix d’études supérieures André-Hamer du CRSNG de 2013 au niveau de la maîtrise, M. Azizi étudie maintenant comment les fluctuations aléatoires de l’expression des gènes peuvent amener les cellules à devenir temporairement pharmacorésistantes sans qu’il y ait de mutations. Les résultats de ces travaux feront progresser l’élaboration d’un médicament qui empêchera cette résistance de devenir permanente.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.