Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Current Winner - 2016

Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering

Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering

Faculty of Pharmacy, Faculty of Medicine and
Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering

University of Toronto

Waiting days for the results of a diagnostic test is not only frustrating, it also raises health care costs and compromises patient care. Fortunately, your doctor will soon have access to a new device that can generate those test results on site in less than 20 minutes.

This cost-effective device and platform, called AuRA, is a breakthrough in point-of-care diagnostics and the result of an 11-year partnership that unites Dr. Shana Kelley’s expertise in electrochemistry and biochemistry with Dr. Edward H. Sargent’s experience in engineering physics, electrical engineering and nanomaterials.

Rapid and reliable point-of-care testing will transform the way health care is delivered. More specific and rapid diagnoses will help limit the spread of infectious disease and control antibiotic resistance.

Kelley and Sargent are also developing a disposable device that can be used in the developing world, where testing in remote locations is often difficult because electricity and the expertise of clinical-laboratory technicians may be unavailable.


For additional information or to request photos of NSERC Prize Winners, please contact Media Relations.
People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lauréat actuel - 2016

Prix Brockhouse du Canada pour la recherche interdisciplinaire en sciences et en génie

Prix Brockhouse du Canada pour la recherche interdisciplinaire en sciences et en génie

Faculté de pharmacie, Faculté de médecine et
Faculté de sciences appliquées et de génie

University of Toronto

Devoir attendre des jours pour obtenir les résultats d’un test de diagnostic n’est pas seulement frustrant : cela fait aussi grimper le coût des soins de santé et compromet le traitement du patient. Heureusement, votre médecin disposera bientôt d’un nouvel appareil capable de produire ces résultats sur place en moins de 20 minutes.

Cet appareil rentable appelé AuRA est une percée dans le domaine du diagnostic hors laboratoire et le résultat d’un partenariat de 11 ans réunissant l’expertise de Shana Kelley en électrochimie et en biochimie et l’expérience d’Edward H. Sargent dans le domaine du génie physique, du génie électrique et des nanomatériaux.

Rapides et fiables, les analyses hors laboratoire transformeront la prestation des soins de santé. Les diagnostics précis et rapides contribueront à limiter la transmission des maladies infectieuses et la résistance aux antibiotiques.

Mme Kelley et M. Sargent conçoivent également un appareil jetable qui pourrait être utilisé dans les pays en développement, où il est souvent difficile, en régions éloignées, de faire des analyses en raison du manque d’électricité et de l’absence de techniciens de clinique ou de laboratoire.


Pour obtenir plus de renseignements ou demander des photos des lauréats des prix du CRSNG, veuillez communiquer avec l'équipe des relations avec les médias.
Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.