Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Past Winner
2010 NSERC NSERC Howard Alper Postdoctoral Prize

Victoria M. Kaspi

Astrophysics

McGill University

Victoria M. Kaspi
Victoria M. Kaspi

As electronics and telecommunications devices continually get smaller and faster, components such as transistors and lasers are fast approaching size limits imposed by the basic laws of physics. Quantum information processing—a way of storing and processing information by exploiting the laws of quantum mechanics that apply to materials at the atomic level—has emerged over the past decade as a technology that will allow even smaller and faster devices. It could revolutionize 21st‑century technologies the same way transistors and lasers changed 20th‑century electronics and communications. However, using current quantum technologies for mass production poses challenges because the existing devices are still too bulky.

Alex Hayat, winner of NSERC’s 2011 Howard Alper Postdoctoral Prize, is combining recent advances in optics and condensed matter physics to develop an entirely new, unconventional approach to quantum technologies. He uses the interaction of quantum light with materials whose particles are in a “collective” state. Similar to the behaviour of photons in a laser beam, collective states of matter feature a large number of particles acting in unison in a single quantum state (or “condensate”) instead of individual particles moving randomly. Superconductors, widely used in magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) machines, are one example of a condensate.

If all goes according to plan, the research project will develop compact, highly-efficient quantum devices based on unique combinations of semiconductor quantum photonics with matter condensates such as high-temperature superconductors.

Dr. Hayat’s unconventional approach may pave the way to the widespread use of quantum technologies. Besides information technology applications, the research could positively impact fields such as biomedical devices and energy harvesting. Such a breakthrough would position Canada as a global leader in the development and exploitation of quantum technologies.

Alex Hayat
Alex Hayat
Alex Hayat
Alex Hayat
Alex Hayat
Alex Hayat

Copyright acknowledgement

To distribute or publish photos or B-roll clips that appear in the NSERC Top Researchers section of the Media Room:

  • For photos, please provide an acknowledgment to "NSERC" or the "Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada";
  • For video acknowledgement, please contact Media Relations.

Note: Broadcast quality .MOV available upon request


Copyright acknowledgement

To distribute or publish photos or B-roll clips that appear in the NSERC Top Researchers section of the Media Room:

  • For photos, please provide an acknowledgment to "NSERC" or the "Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada;"
  • For video acknowledgement, please contact Media Relations.

No videos at this time. Came back soon.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Ancien lauréat
Prix postdoctoral Howard-Alper du CRSNG du CRSNG de 2011

Alex Hayat

Physique et génie électrique

University of Toronto

Alex Hayat
Alex Hayat

Même si l’on fabrique des appareils d’électronique et de télécommunications de plus en plus petits et rapides, on s’approche rapidement des limites de taille imposées par les lois fondamentales de la physique aux composants tels que les transistors et les lasers. Le traitement de l’information quantique – une méthode de stockage et de traitement de l’information qui a recours aux lois de la mécanique quantique qui s’appliquent aux matériaux à l’échelle atomique – s’est révélé au cours des dix dernières années comme la technologie qui permettra d’obtenir des dispositifs encore plus petits et plus rapides. Cette méthode pourrait révolutionner les technologies du 21e siècle tout comme les transistors et les lasers ont transformé l’électronique et les communications au 20e siècle. Toutefois, l’utilisation des technologies quantiques actuelles pour la production de masse comporte des difficultés, les appareils existants étant encore trop volumineux.

Alex Hayat, lauréat du Prix postdoctoral Howard-Alper de 2011 du CRSNG, combine les progrès réalisés récemment dans les domaines de l’optique et de la physique de la matière condensée pour élaborer une approche entièrement nouvelle et révolutionnaire des technologies quantiques. Il utilise l’interaction entre la lumière quantique et les matériaux dont les particules se trouvent dans un état « collectif ». Tout comme le comportement des photons dans un rayon laser, l’état collectif de la matière compte un grand nombre de particules qui agissent à l’unisson dans un seul état quantique (ou « condensé »), plutôt que des particules individuelles qui se déplacent au hasard. Les supraconducteurs, qui sont beaucoup utilisés dans les appareils d’imagerie par résonance magnétique, sont un exemple de matière condensée.

Si le projet de recherche se déroule comme prévu, le chercheur élaborera des appareils quantiques compacts à haut rendement issus de la combinaison unique de la photonique quantique des semiconducteurs et de matières condensées, comme des supraconducteurs à haute température.

La méthode originale de M. Hayat pourrait bien mener à l’utilisation généralisée des technologies quantiques. En plus d’avoir des applications en technologie de l’information, les résultats pourraient être utiles dans des domaines tels que les appareils biomédicaux et la récolte d’énergie. Une telle percée ferait du Canada un chef de file mondial de l’élaboration et de l’exploitation des technologies quantiques.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.