Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

CIHR, NSERC & SSHRC

Canada Graduate Scholarships-Michael Smith Foreign Study Supplements Program

Instructions for Completing an Application – CGS-MSFSS Form

General Information

About the Program

Important: The CGS-MSFSS form must be completed using the On-line System, but cannot be submitted electronically.

Read the program description in the Program Guide for Students and Fellows before you complete the application.

Where to Submit your Application

Submit your application to the Faculty of Graduate Studies (or its equivalent) at your institution. For a complete application, include the CGS-MSFSS form, the Outline of Proposed Research While Abroad and two Letters of Support.

Presentation Standards

In each page of the online application, you will find instructions and tips on how to complete your application.

Personal Information

The collection, use and disclosure of personal information provided to NSERC is outlined in the following policy statements:

The information you provide in your application is collected under the authority of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Act. NSERC is subject to the This link will take you to another Web site Access to Information Act and the This link will take you to another Web site Privacy Act. The information you provide is stored in a series of NSERC data banks described in This link will take you to another Web site Info Source Publications.

Help with Program Information

Contact the staff responsible for the program to which you are applying.

Help with the NSERC On-line System

  • Consult the Frequently Asked Questions on how to use the On-line System.
  • Review the instructions available in the application.
  • Contact the On-line Services Helpdesk. Send an email to webapp@nserc-crsng.gc.ca or call 613-995-4273. Include your email address and telephone number.

Completing the Application

Application Profile

Title of proposal

The title will be used for publication purposes. It should describe the subject of the research for which you are seeking support. It should not contain a company or trade name. Spell out scientific symbols and acronyms.

Person Profile

Personal Identification Number (PIN)

All NSERC applicants have received, or will receive, an NSERC PIN. Refer to your PIN each time you apply for an award and in future correspondence with NSERC. If your NSERC PIN is unknown, leave the field blank.

NSERC asks applicants to provide data on their gender and linguistic capability on a purely voluntary basis. This data is not seen or used in NSERC peer review processes. It is used for statistical purposes, and may be used to identify prospective NSERC peer reviewers.

Applicants to some NSERC programs are invited to indicate, on a voluntary basis, whether they are disabled, or belong to a visible minority group. This data is only used by NSERC for statistical purposes.

Applicants to most NSERC scholarship and fellowship programs are invited to indicate, on a voluntary basis, whether they are Aboriginal. Although this data is not seen by NSERC award selection committees, it may be used by NSERC to identify and give awards to Aboriginal applicants whose applications were judged to be meritorious, but which could not be initially recommended because of budget limitations.

Address

If your current mailing address is temporary, indicate the leaving date. If there is no leaving date indicated, this is the address to which NSERC will send all correspondence.

If you move after submitting your application, inform NSERC by sending an email to schol@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Scholarship Information

Active scholarship

Select, from the dropdown list, the active CGS that you currently hold, or that you will take up before the start date of your research study period abroad.

End date of active scholarship

Indicate the end date of your active CGS.

Where you hold the scholarship

Select, from the dropdown list, the name of the Canadian institution and the department where you hold, or have accepted, your CGS.

Start and end dates of the research study period abroad

Complete the appropriate fields for the start and end dates as well as the number of months of support requested for your research study period abroad.

Notes
  • You must start your research study period abroad after the competition deadline date, but within one year of receiving the notice of award for the CGS-MSFSS. These notifications will be sent in August and December for the June and October application deadlines respectively.
  • Your research study period abroad must begin before the end date of your active CGS.

Ethical conduct for research involving humans

Does your proposal involve the use of human beings as research subjects? If Yes and the research differs from the initial proposal approved by the Research Ethics Board of your organization, resubmit the proposal for approval. You must also ensure that an ethics review is conducted in the host country (as per the This link will take you to another Web site Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans).

Location of Research Study Period Abroad

Indicate the location where you plan to undertake your research study period abroad. The location in this section might be different from the host supervisor’s home institution, if for example, the location of study is a field station, observatory etc. Details on the host supervisor’s institution will be requested in the following section.

Supervisors

Provide contact information for both your current and host supervisors. You must indicate the institution where your host supervisor is employed and can be contacted. This may differ from the location abroad indicated but the connection should be explained in your research proposal.

Budget Proposal

The supplement will cover costs associated with travel, living and other expenses (such as accommodation, meals, tuition, travel or study visas, insurance and other necessary costs) during the research study period abroad.

Enter amounts rounded up to the nearest dollar without any spaces or commas. The total estimated costs of the research study period abroad may exceed $6,000; however, the amount requested from NSERC cannot exceed $6,000. The total budget and amount requested from NSERC may also be less than $6,000.

Students should be aware that there is significant variability in costs by location (notably living costs) and are advised to get more information before completing this page.

Outline of Proposed Research While Abroad

The attachment must be a maximum of two pages, not including the CGS research proposal for CGS Master’s (CGS M) and Vanier CGS recipients.

Write in plain language. Your outline should be readable by someone with a background in the discipline but with no specialized knowledge of the particular field of research. Ensure that your proposal includes the following:

  • a detailed description of your proposed research activities during your research study period abroad. Be as specific as possible. State the objectives, methodology and expected outcomes and provide an indication as to how this relates and enhances your graduate research studies supported by your CGS;
  • a description of the potential benefits that you will derive from the proposed research study period abroad in relation to your current research objectives; 
  • timelines regarding your research study period abroad. These should include start and end dates for the tasks involved to bring the research to fruition; and
  • a copy of your most current CGS research proposal (for CGS M and Vanier CGS recipients only).  

Letters of Support

Two letters of support are required and are limited to one page each:

  • a letter (original, scanned or sent by email) from your current research supervisor supporting your research study period abroad; and
  • a letter (original, scanned or sent by email) from your potential host supervisor supporting your research study period abroad and indicating that they will commit the required resources (financial [if any], supervision time, equipment, library access, etc.) to support your planned research activities.

All letters must be signed and written on institution letterhead. Emails should be sent from an institution address (personal email addresses will not be accepted.)

Signatures

For applicants

Before you, as an applicant, can submit your application to NSERC, you must read and agree to the terms and conditions listed on the Terms and Conditions of Applying Form. It is your responsibility to retain a copy of the agreed terms and conditions for your records.

The signatures of the institutional authorities (if applicable) certify that:

  • the institution will abide by the roles and responsibilities as set out in the This link will take you to another Web site Agreement on the Administration of Agency Grants and Awards by Research Institutions with the three federal granting agencies; and
  • the institution agrees to comply with NSERC's data protection requirements and has adequate safeguards in place to protect sensitive information entrusted to it by NSERC for the purpose of administering applications and awards.
People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

CIHR, NSERC & SSHRC

Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada – Suppléments pour études à l’étranger Michael-Smith

Instructions relatives à la présentation des demandes – Formulaire de BESC-SEEMS

Renseignements généraux

Au sujet du programme

Important : Vous devez remplir le formulaire de BESC-SEEMS à l’aide du Système en ligne, mais vous ne pouvez pas le présenter par voie électronique.

Avant de remplir le formulaire de demande, consultez la description du programme dans le Guide des programmes de bourses pour les étudiants et stagiaires.

Où faire parvenir votre demande?

Présentez votre demande à la Faculté des études supérieures (ou son équivalent) de votre établissement. Pour que votre demande soit complète, vous devez y annexer le formulaire de BESC-SEEMS, l’aperçu de recherche proposée pendant un séjour de recherche à l’étranger et deux lettres d’appui.

Normes de présentation des demandes

Dans chaque page de la demande en ligne, vous trouverez des instructions et des conseils sur la façon de remplir le formulaire de demande.

Renseignements personnels

La collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation des renseignements personnels fournis au CRSNG sont décrites dans les énoncés de politiques suivants :

Les renseignements que vous fournissez dans votre demande sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie. Le CRSNG est assujetti à la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Les renseignements que vous fournissez sont conservés dans des banques de données décrites dans les This link will take you to another Web site Publications d’Info Source.

Questions sur le programme

Communiquez avec le personnel responsable du programme auquel vous présentez une demande.

Pour obtenir de l’aide sur le Système en ligne

  • Consultez la Foire aux questions sur la façon d’utiliser le système en ligne.
  • Lisez les instructions relatives à la demande.
  • Communiquez avec le Service de dépannage des services électroniques. Envoyez un courriel à webapp@nserc-crsng.gc.ca ou téléphonez au 613-995-4273. Indiquez dans votre message votre adresse de courriel et votre numéro de téléphone.

Remplir la demande

Profil de la demande

Titre de la proposition

Le titre de la proposition, qui devrait décrire le sujet de la recherche proposée sans faire mention de l’appellation commerciale ou de la raison sociale, sera utilisé aux fins de publication. Écrivez au long la signification des symboles et des acronymes scientifiques.

Profil personnel

Numéro d’identification personnel (NIP)

Tous les candidats aux programmes du CRSNG reçoivent un NIP. Utilisez le numéro qui vous a été assigné chaque fois que vous présentez une demande de bourse et dans toute correspondance avec le CRSNG. Si vous ne connaissez pas votre NIP du CRSNG, laissez l’espace en blanc sur le formulaire.

Le CRSNG demande aux candidats de fournir, à titre volontaire, les données relatives au sexe et aux aptitudes linguistiques. Ces données ne sont pas utilisées dans le cadre de l’évaluation par les pairs du CRSNG. Elles sont utilisées à des fins statistiques, mais elles peuvent aussi servir à désigner des examinateurs potentiels en vue de l’évaluation par les pairs du CRSNG.

Pour certains programmes du CRSNG, les candidats sont invités à indiquer, à titre volontaire, s’ils sont handicapés ou s’ils sont membres d’une minorité visible. Ces données sont utilisées par le CRSNG uniquement à des fins statistiques.

Pour la majorité de ses programmes de bourses, le CRSNG invite les candidats à indiquer, à titre volontaire, s’ils sont autochtones. Ces renseignements ne figurent pas dans les documents examinés par les membres des comités de sélection du CRSNG, mais le CRSNG peut s’en servir pour repérer les candidats autochtones et pour offrir un appui financier à ceux dont la demande a été jugée méritoire, mais dont le financement n’a pu être recommandé initialement en raison de restrictions budgétaires.

Adresse

Si votre adresse postale actuelle est temporaire, indiquez la date de départ. Si vous n’indiquez pas la date de départ, le CRSNG continuera d’envoyer toute la correspondance à cette adresse.

Si vous déménagez après avoir présenté votre demande, avisez le CRSNG en envoyant un courriel à bourses@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Renseignements sur la bourse

Bourse active

Dans la liste déroulante, sélectionnez la BESC active que vous détenez ou que vous détiendrez avant la date de début de votre séjour de recherche à l’étranger.

Date de fin de validité de votre bourse

Inscrivez la date de fin de votre BESC active.

Lieu de validité de la bourse

Dans la liste déroulante, sélectionnez le nom de l’établissement canadien et du département où vous détenez ou avez accepté votre BESC.

Dates de début et de fin du séjour de recherche à l’étranger

Remplissez les champs appropriés pour les dates de début et de fin ainsi que le nombre de mois d’appui demandé pour votre séjour de recherche à l’étranger.

Remarques

  • Vous devez débuter votre séjour de recherche à l’étranger après la date limite du concours et au plus tard un an après avoir reçu l’avis d’octroi pour la BESC-SEEMS. Les avis seront envoyés en août et en décembre pour les concours de juin et d’octobre respectivement.
  • Votre date de départ doit se situer avant la fin de la période de validité de votre BESC.

Éthique pour la recherche avec des êtres humains

Votre proposition comporte-t-elle l’utilisation d’êtres humains comme sujets de recherche? Dans l’affirmative, et si la recherche diffère de la proposition initiale approuvée par le comité d’éthique en recherche de votre organisation, présentez la proposition de nouveau aux fins d’approbation. Vous devez également vous assurer qu’une évaluation éthique est menée dans le pays d’accueil (conformément à l’This link will take you to another Web site Énoncé de politique des trois Conseils : Éthique de la recherche avec des êtres humains).

Lieu du séjour de recherche à l'étranger

Indiquez le lieu où vous prévoyez faire votre séjour de recherche à l’étranger. Le lieu indiqué dans cette section peut être différent de l’établissement du directeur de recherche à l’établissement d’accueil, si, par exemple, le lieu est une station de recherche ou un observatoire. Vous devrez fournir les détails sur l’établissement du directeur de recherche à l’établissement d’accueil dans la section suivante.

Directeurs de recherche

Indiquez les coordonnées de votre directeur de recherche actuel et de votre directeur de recherche à l’établissement d’accueil. Vous devez indiquer les coordonnées de l’établissement où votre directeur de recherche à l’établissement d’accueil travaille. Ces coordonnées peuvent être différentes de celles du lieu de recherche à l’étranger, mais vous devez expliquer le lien qui existe entre ces lieux dans votre proposition de recherche.

Proposition de budget

Le supplément couvre les frais de déplacement, les frais de subsistance et les autres dépenses comme l’hébergement, les repas, les frais de scolarité, les permis de travail, les visas d’étudiant, les assurances et les autres frais nécessaires au cours du séjour de recherche à l’étranger.

Entrez les montants arrondis au dollar près, sans espaces ou virgules. Au total, les coûts estimatifs du séjour de recherche à l’étranger peuvent dépasser 6 000 $. Toutefois, le montant demandé au CRSNG ne peut pas dépasser 6 000 $. Le budget total et le montant demandé au CRSNG peuvent aussi être inférieurs à 6 000 $.

Les étudiants doivent être conscients que les frais, notamment les frais de subsistance, peuvent varier considérablement d’un endroit à l’autre. On les encourage à se renseigner avant de remplir cette page.

Aperçu de recherche proposée pendant un séjour de recherche à l'étranger

La pièce jointe ne doit pas dépasser deux pages, ce qui ne comprend pas les pages de la proposition de recherche appuyée par une BESC que les titulaires d’une BESC au niveau de la maîtrise (BESC M) et d’une BESC Vanier doivent fournir.

Rédigez le résumé en langage courant, pouvant être compris par une personne ayant des connaissances dans la discipline, mais qui n’est pas un expert dans votre domaine de recherche particulier. Assurez-vous que votre proposition comporte les éléments suivants :

  • une description détaillée de vos activités de recherche proposées au cours de votre séjour de recherche à l’étranger. Donnez des renseignements aussi précis que possible. Énoncez les objectifs, la méthodologie et les résultats escomptés et indiquez la manière dont ce séjour se rapporte à votre principal sujet de recherche universitaire appuyé par votre BESC et comment il l’enrichit;
  • une description des avantages que vous pourriez retirer de votre séjour de recherche proposé à l’étranger selon vos objectifs de recherche actuels;
  • le calendrier détaillé de votre séjour de recherche à l’étranger. Il devrait comprendre les dates de début et de fin des tâches pour mener à bien les travaux de recherche;
  • une copie de votre dernière proposition de recherche appuyée par une BESC (pour les titulaires d’une BESC M ou d’une BESC Vanier seulement).

Lettres d’appui

Vous devez présenter deux lettres d’appui d’au plus une page chacune :

  • une lettre (originale, numérisée ou envoyée par courriel) de votre directeur de recherche actuel appuyant votre séjour de recherche à l’étranger;
  • une lettre (originale, numérisée ou envoyée par courriel) de votre directeur de recherche à l’établissement d’accueil potentiel appuyant votre séjour de recherche à l’étranger qui indique que l’établissement affectera les ressources nécessaires (les ressources financières [le cas échéant], le temps de surveillance, l'équipement, l'accès à la bibliothèque, etc.) pour appuyer vos activités de recherche prévues.

Toutes les lettres doivent être présentées sur du papier à en-tête de l’établissement. Les courriels doivent venir d’une adresse de courriel de l’établissement (les courriels provenant d’une adresse personnelle ne sont pas acceptés).

Signatures

Pour les candidats

Avant de pouvoir présenter votre demande au CRSNG à titre de candidat, vous devez lire et accepter les modalités énoncées dans le Formulaire de modalités de présentation des demandes. Il vous incombe de conserver une copie des modalités acceptées pour vos dossiers.

La signature des autorités de l’établissement (le cas échéant) atteste que :

  • l’établissement respectera les rôles et les responsabilités énoncés dans l’This link will take you to another Web site Entente sur l'administration des subventions et des bourses des organismes par les établissements de recherche qui a été établie avec les trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux;
  • l’établissement s’engage à se conformer aux exigences du CRSNG en matière de protection des données et qu’il a prévu des mesures adéquates pour protéger l’information de nature délicate que lui confie le CRSNG afin d’administrer les demandes et les subventions et les bourses.