Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Addendum to the guidelines for the eligibility of applications related to health

Overview

The three federal granting agencies—the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), the This link will take you to another Web site Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) and the This link will take you to another Web site Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)—have developed guidelines for This link will take you to another Web site Selecting the Appropriate Federal Granting Agency to help applicants select the appropriate agency when applying for funding. These guidelines describe the eligible and ineligible research subject matter for support from each agency and apply to research, research training, and related activities.

NSERC collaborates closely with the other granting agencies to encourage and promote support to the full range of natural sciences and engineering (NSE) research and research training, including collaboration across disciplines and subject areas.

This is an addendum to the This link will take you to another Web site Selecting the Appropriate Federal Granting Agency guidelines (specifically the This link will take you to another Web site Guidelines for the Eligibility of Applications Related to Health section ) and provides examples of eligible and ineligible research subject matter related to NSERC’s function legislated in the This link will take you to another Web site NSERC Act .

In addition to reading the guidelines on This link will take you to another Web site Selecting the Appropriate Federal Granting Agency and this addendum, applicants are encouraged to contact the research services or student liaison offices at their institution for guidance.

Applicants may also wish to seek advice from the NSERC program officer of the program to which they are considering applying.

Examples

Some research areas overlap the mandates of both NSERC and CIHR. The following examples illustrate the eligibility of applications related to human health for NSERC funding. These lists are not exhaustive. While the examples are grouped by broad themes, applicants should consider all sections due to their interrelatedness.

Fundamental Processes in Humans (for all research disciplines)

Research seeking to further our understanding of fundamental processes in humans is eligible for NSERC support. However, research with disease-related goals—including work on the etiology, diagnosis, treatment or prevention of physical or mental disease, abnormality, or dysfunction in humans—is normally not eligible. Research based on an experimental system that represents a state of disease or dysfunction may be eligible when the primary objective is to understand the functioning of the healthy state.

NSERC Eligible NSERC Ineligible
Using cancer cells to investigate mechanisms of apoptosis (programmed cell death) in normal cells. Identifying or validating a target for therapy, or measuring the response to a therapy.
Studies aiming to understand contraction, fatigue, load, or recovery cycle of muscle in healthy subjects. -
Research involving the fundamental biochemistry of drug delivery mechanisms (for example, liposome microsphere preparation). -
Modifying gene expression or replication processes and studying the impact of different hormonal levels in healthy state stem cells. Studying gene replication or cell death in stem cells that have been transformed into cancer cells to learn about cancer treatment or prevention.
Developing materials or drug delivery systems/mechanisms, and testing their bio-compatibility, molecular compatibility, release of the API, or degradation rates. Testing new materials or drug delivery systems/mechanisms for treatment efficiency or improved drug formulation.
Studying virus growth and replication, and virus-host interactions within a normal state host immune system. Studying virus growth and replication in the diseased state to understand disease progression.
Studying the immune response of a healthy human host to commensal bacteria, or the response to initial contact with invasive bacteria or viruses. Studying human immune response under a state of disease caused by an acute or chronic bacterial infection.
Studying the mechanisms underlying the inflammatory response in a healthy state by using triggers (for example, physical, psychological, biological, chemical) to induce inflammation. Testing treatments or therapies for inflammation in a state of disease or dysfunction.
Investigating ontogeny of a healthy human immune system. Studying immune system development in immunodeficiency disorders.
Constructing new compounds and determining their molecular structure and chemical properties. Testing chemical properties and metabolic roles of possible treatment compounds in a state of disease or dysfunction.
Studies aiming to evaluate the pattern of hormonal changes during healthy pregnancy. Studies aiming to understand pre-eclampsia; studies aiming to treat gestational diabetes.
Studying aging processes to understand the fundamental mechanisms of human function or cellular function. Studying age-related development and mechanisms of osteoarthritis, osteoporosis, Alzheimer’s.
Cell motility:  understanding the role of pili in plant bacteria motility in agriculture. Cell motility: cellular and molecular investigation of cancer metastasis.
Modeling Avian Influenza Virus transmission between wild geese populations and free ranging poultry farms. Modeling Avian Influenza genotypes to predict human vaccine components or human epidemics.
Analyzing joint mechanical performance under stress in healthy subjects. Rehabilitation of gait impairment in patients with concussions.
Studying micro-level bone/tissue failure and self-repair in a healthy state. Studying bone/tissue adaptation in a diseased/injured state or following a surgical procedure.
Studies aiming to understand the mechanisms of injury in a healthy state (for example, impact loading to understand bone fracture). Studies aiming to understand the mechanisms of injury in a diseased state or associated with a surgical procedure.
Using video tracking, computer simulation, and analysis to assess biomechanics of specific movements (such as throwing, running, kicking) in the healthy state. Using computer simulation and analysis to assess rehabilitation treatment effects or responses.
Developing new mathematical or statistical models, theories, methodologies, or analytical tools that may lead to potential future applications in human health (such as diagnosis or treatment). Use of already existing mathematical/statistical models, theories, methodologies, analytical tools for disease treatment or diagnosis.
Developing mathematical models to evaluate uncertainty. Applying decision-based mathematical models to predict risk of error by emergency respondents or to predict disease outbreaks.

Pharmaceuticals, Nutraceuticals and Functional Foods for Human Use

Research related to pharmaceuticals, nutraceuticals or functional foods has significant grounding in the health sciences and cannot be supported by NSERC unless the focus is on advancing the NSE.

Research related to developing novel ways of synthesizing active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs) and analogs or manufacturing vaccines, scaling up production of new APIs or vaccines, and research including bioassays conducted strictly for the purpose of informing the development strategies, may be supported. Research related to food components, nutraceuticals, or functional foods is eligible if it aims to elucidate the mechanism of action of a dietary component purported to affect a specific structure or physiological function; however, research aimed at determining or validating the effects of such ingredients  on health cannot be supported.

NSERC Eligible NSERC Ineligible
Developing novel biological sources rich in a desired nutraceutical or API of a precursor aimed at production. Screening compounds for bioactivity (including high throughput assays), building compound libraries for screening purposes, testing drug candidates, nutraceuticals or vaccines for efficacy or determination of pharmacological parameters.
Developing novel processes leading to products that contain desired nutraceutical ingredients, including the determination of digestibility and availability of the ingredient. Gathering information about APIs, vaccines or nutraceutical ingredients for regulatory or marketing purposes.
Elucidating the mechanism of action of a nutraceutical on a specific physiological function in the healthy state. Determining or validating the direct or suspected effects on health of a candidate nutraceutical ingredient or combination.
Developing new technology allowing the production of vaccines. Developing a vaccine for a specific use.
Limited biological testing to inform the synthesis/manufacturing development strategy. Projects where the main focus is on validation through biological testing (in vivo, ex vivo, in vitro, in silico).
Developing novel non-active and non-disease specific ingredients used to deliver APIs in biological systems. Research aimed at delivering a specific API in the context of the development of the drug.
Developing new food combining nutraceutical ingredients. Testing and validating health properties of new food.
Using known APIs to investigate fundamental mechanisms in the healthy state. -

Medical Devices and Technologies

NSE research whose primary purpose is the development of medical devices—including monitoring and diagnostic technologies—and devices for treating a disease or physical condition is eligible, unless it is at the validation stage (i.e., pre-clinical in vivo testing, reliability testing, comparison studies and clinical trials).

Research aimed at developing medical devices used to treat a disease or physical condition can have a strong engineering component in the early stages of development and require the skills and expertise of non-medical engineers and/or scientists in their development. A combination of diseased-state and healthy-state are used to verify the performance/utility, and to provide feedback in the device’s development stage. This “non diseased”-focused research is part of NSERC’s mandate.

NSERC Eligible NSERC Ineligible
Verifying and evaluating medical devices (in vitro and ex vivo testing, feasibility testing in vivo with a very limited number of subjects). Validating medical devices (animal or human trials for efficacy testing, reliability testing and comparison studies).
Developing methodology for sterilization and fatigue testing of medical devices. Safety assessment of medical devices.
Using biomechanical methods to assess mechanical properties of newly developed biomaterials. Assessing potential damage or injury associated with a medical procedure.
Designing and modeling medical implants on synthetic models (or on a small scale ex vivo) and optimizing placement. Phase I or large-scale animal trials of new implants.
Assessing biocompatibility in the development of new medical devices. Assessing the biocompatibility of commercially available medical devices.
Formulation, conceptualization and/or feasibility of new, or modification of an existing, medical device that clearly demonstrates a research challenge in the NSE. -
Research aiming to develop or optimize a new diagnostic technology based on available data. Assessing the performance of a newly developed diagnostic technology or focussing on collection of new data.
Biomechanical testing of a device on an able bodied person to ensure the components perform as designed. Biomechanical assessment by a clinician performing a procedure with a medical device.
Developing novel imaging methods that may lead to improved diagnosis and treatment of disease. Using existing imaging methods to determine their efficacy in a clinical setting.
Verifying and evaluating the mechanical properties, degradation rates, or biocompatibility of newly developed artificial, bioinspired and/or tissue-engineered biomaterials or scaffolds. Assessing artificial, bioinspired, and/or tissue-engineered biomaterials or scaffolds treatment efficiency or wound healing in injury or disease states.

Decision-making and consultation process to determine the eligibility of applications related to human health

For most programs, decision-making about eligibility is entrusted to NSERC. Potential applicants are encouraged to contact NSERC staff with any questions regarding subject matter eligibility in advance of submitting their application. Staff will endeavour to provide advice to applicants; however, a final decision on eligibility will only be made following the receipt of a full application.

NSERC staff also consults, as required, with outside experts and/or with officials at SSHRC or CIHR for input before reaching a decision. Applicants whose proposals are deemed ineligible are informed in writing.

Please note that NSERC does not accept appeals on the grounds of subject matter eligibility.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Addenda aux Lignes directrices pour déterminer l’admissibilité des demandes liées à la santé

Aperçu

Les trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux, soit le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG), le This link will take you to another Web site Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH) et les This link will take you to another Web site Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) ont élaboré des lignes directrices pour aider les candidats à sélectionner le bon organisme subventionnaire au moment de présenter leur demande. La page intitulée This link will take you to another Web site Choisir le bon organisme subventionnaire fédéral décrit les sujets de recherche admissibles et inadmissibles à l’appui de chaque organisme.

Le CRSNG collabore étroitement avec les autres organismes subventionnaires pour promouvoir le financement de la gamme complète des travaux réalisés en sciences naturelles et en génie (SNG) et de la formation en recherche, notamment ceux qui englobent de nombreux sujets et disciplines.

L’addenda This link will take you to another Web site Lignes directrices pour déterminer l’admissibilité des demandes liées à la santé contient des exemples de sujets de recherche admissibles et non admissibles selon leur lien avec la mission du CRSNG prévue dans la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie.

Il vise à aider les candidats à présenter leurs propositions à l’organisme subventionnaire le plus approprié. Les présentes lignes directrices s’appliquent à la recherche, à la formation en recherche et aux activités connexes.

En plus de lire les lignes directrices intitulées This link will take you to another Web site Choisir le bon organisme subventionnaire fédéral et le présent addenda, les candidats sont invités à communiquer avec les services de recherche ou les bureaux de liaison avec les étudiants de leur établissement pour avoir des conseils.

Les candidats peuvent aussi demander l’avis de l’administrateur de programme du CRSNG qui est chargé du programme auquel ils souhaitent présenter une demande.

Exemples

Certains domaines de recherche sont visés tant par le mandat du CRSNG que celui des IRSC. Les exemples suivants illustrent l’admissibilité des demandes liées à la santé humaine au financement du CRSNG. Ces listes ne sont pas exhaustives. Même si les exemples sont regroupés selon des thèmes généraux, les candidats devraient lire toutes les sections, car celles-ci sont reliées.

Processus fondamentaux chez les humains (pour les travaux de recherche dans toutes les disciplines)

Les travaux de recherche visant à accroître notre compréhension des processus fondamentaux chez les humains sont admissibles à un appui du CRSNG. Cependant, les travaux dont les objectifs sont liés aux maladies, notamment ceux sur l’étiologie, le diagnostic, le traitement ou la prévention des maladies physiques ou mentales, des anomalies ou des dysfonctionnements chez les humains ne sont habituellement pas appuyés. Les travaux portant sur un système expérimental qui représente une maladie ou un dysfonctionnement peuvent être admissibles à un appui s’ils visent principalement à comprendre le fonctionnement de l’organisme en santé.

Admissible au financement du CRSNG Non admissible au financement du CRSNG
Études où l’on utilise des cellules cancéreuses pour étudier les mécanismes de l’apoptose (mort cellulaire programmée) des cellules normales  
Études visant à comprendre la contraction, la fatigue, la charge ou le cycle de récupération des muscles chez des sujets sains  
Recherche visant à développer une nouvelle technologie de diagnostic basée sur des biomarqueurs connus Mise à l’essai ou optimisation d’une nouvelle technologie de diagnostic
Recherche liée à la biochimie fondamentale des mécanismes d’administration de médicaments (p. ex. préparation de microsphères liposomales) Mise à l’essai ou optimisation de nouveaux mécanismes d’administration de médicaments
Modification des processus d’expression ou de réplication génétique et étude de l’impact des différents taux hormonaux dans des cellules souches saines Études sur la réplication génétique ou sur la mort cellulaire dans des cellules souches qui ont été transformées en cellules cancéreuses pour acquérir des connaissances sur le traitement ou la prévention du cancer
Élaboration de nanomatériaux, vérification de la biocompatibilité, de la compatibilité moléculaire et de la libération des matériaux Mise à l’essai de nouveaux matériaux pour améliorer l’efficacité du traitement ou la formulation de médicaments; valider de nouveaux mécanismes d’administration de médicaments (in vivo, ex vivo, in vitro)
Études sur la croissance et la réplication des virus et des interactions virus‑hôte dans un système immunitaire normal de l’hôte Études sur la croissance et la réplication des virus dans un état de maladie pour comprendre la progression de la maladie
Élaboration de nouveaux composés et détermination de leur structure moléculaire et de leurs propriétés chimiques Mise à l’essai des propriétés chimiques et des rôles métaboliques d’éventuels composés de traitement dans un état de maladie ou de dysfonctionnement
Études visant à évaluer le modèle des changements hormonaux pendant une grossesse en santé Études visant à comprendre la pré‑éclampsie ou à traiter le diabète gestationnel
Études des processus de vieillissement pour comprendre les mécanismes fondamentaux de la fonction humaine ou de la fonction cellulaire Études sur le développement lié à l’âge et les mécanismes de l’arthrose, de l’ostéoporose, de la maladie d’Alzheimer
Motilité cellulaire : comprendre le rôle des pili dans la motilité des bactéries végétales en agriculture Motilité cellulaire : étude cellulaire et moléculaire des métastases cancéreuses
Modélisation de la transmission du virus de l’influenza aviaire entre les populations d’oies sauvages et les volailles d’élevage en liberté Modélisation des génotypes de l’influenza aviaire pour prédire les composés de vaccins humains ou les épidémies humaines
Étude du système immunitaire à l’état stable Détermination des interactions entre l’agent pathogène et le système immunitaire chez un hôte malade
Analyse du rendement mécanique des articulations en situation de stress chez des sujets en santé Réadaptation de patients ayant des troubles de la démarche suite à une commotion cérébrale
Vérification biomécanique d’un appareil chez une personne physiquement apte afin d’assurer le fonctionnement des composants comme prévu Évaluation biomécanique par un clinicien qui effectue une procédure à l’aide d’un appareil médical
Utilisation de la poursuite vidéo, de la simulation informatique et de l’analyse pour évaluer la biomécanique de mouvements spécifiques (p. ex. lancer, courir, donner un coup de pied) chez une personne en santé Utilisation de la simulation informatique et de l’analyse pour évaluer les effets d’un traitement de réadaptation ou les réactions à ce traitement
Création de modèles, de théories, de méthodes ou d’outils d’analyse mathématiques ou statistiques qui pourraient mener à de futures applications en santé humaine, par exemple pour le diagnostic ou le traitement Utilisation de modèles, de théories, de méthodes ou d’outils d’analyse mathématiques ou statistiques existants pour traiter ou diagnostiquer des maladies
Élaboration de nouvelles méthodes d’imagerie qui pourraient améliorer le diagnostic et le traitement d’une maladie Utilisation de méthodes d’imagerie existantes pour déterminer leur efficacité en milieu clinique
Étude des mécanismes fondamentaux des interactions moléculaires Détermination ou validation d’une cible thérapeutique ou mesure de la réaction à une thérapie
Élaboration de modèles mathématiques pour évaluer l’incertitude Utilisation de modèles mathématiques fondés sur les décisions pour prédire le risque d’erreur chez les intervenants d’urgence ou les épidémies

Produits pharmaceutiques, nutraceutiques et aliments fonctionnels pour usage humain

La recherche liée aux produits pharmaceutiques, aux nutraceutiques et aux aliments fonctionnels a de solides bases en sciences de la santé et ne peut être financée par le CRSNG, à moins que l’objectif soit de faire progresser les SNG.

Les travaux de recherche visant à trouver de nouvelles façons de synthétiser des ingrédients pharmaceutiques actifs (IPA) et des analogues et à augmenter la production de nouveaux IPA, ainsi que ceux comportant des essais biologiques qui serviront uniquement à valider les stratégies de développement, peuvent potentiellement être admissibles à un appui. Les études concernant les composants alimentaires, les nutraceutiques, et les aliments fonctionnels sont aussi admissibles si elles ont pour but d’élucider le mécanisme d’action des composants censés influer sur des structures ou des fonctions physiologiques spécifiques.

Admissible au financement du CRSNG Non admissible au financement du CRSNG
Élaboration de nouvelles sources biologiques qui contiennent de nombreux ingrédients nutraceutiques ou pharmaceutiques souhaités ou d’un précurseur destiné à la production Détection de composés par leur bioactivité,  notamment les essais à haut débit, la construction de banques de composés à des fins de sélection, la vérification de l’efficacité de médicaments candidats ou la détermination de paramètres pharmacologiques
Élaboration de nouveaux ingrédients nutraceutiques ou de processus visant à obtenir des produits qui contiennent les ingrédients nutraceutiques souhaités, notamment la détermination du caractère digestible et de la disponibilité de l’ingrédient Collecte d’information sur les ingrédients pharmaceutiques actifs (IPA) ou les ingrédients nutraceutiques à des fins de réglementation ou de marketing
Élucidation du mécanisme d’action d’un nutraceutique sur une fonction physiologique spécifique Détermination ou validation des effets directs ou soupçonnés sur la santé d’un ingrédient nutraceutique candidat ou d’une combinaison d’ingrédients
Élaboration d’une nouvelle technologie qui permet de produire des vaccins Élaboration d’un vaccin à des fins d’utilisation spécifique ou de nouvelles méthodes d’administration des vaccins
Essai biologique pour évaluer les nouvelles méthodes de synthèse ou de production à grande échelle Projets dont le principal objectif est la validation à l’aide d’essais biologiques (in vivo, ex vivo, in vitro)
Élaboration de nouveaux ingrédients spécifiques non actifs et non liés à une maladie qui serviront à intégrer les IPA dans des systèmes biologiques Recherche visant à intégrer un IPA spécifique dans un système biologique dans le cadre de l’élaboration d’un médicament
Élaboration de nouveaux aliments qui contiennent des ingrédients nutraceutiques Mise à l’essai et validation des propriétés de nouveaux aliments intéressantes pour la santé
Utilisation d’IPA connus pour étudier des mécanismes fondamentaux  

Technologies et dispositifs médicaux

Les travaux de recherche en SNG visant principalement à mettre au point des dispositifs médicaux, y compris des technologies de surveillance et de diagnostic et des dispositifs pour traiter une maladie ou une affection physique, sont admissibles à un appui, sauf s’ils en sont à l’étape de la validation (essais in vivo précliniques, essais de fiabilité, études comparatives et essais cliniques).

La recherche visant à élaborer des dispositifs médicaux qui seront utilisés pour traiter une maladie ou une affection physique peut comporter une forte composante de génie dans les premières étapes du développement et nécessiter les compétences et l’expertise d’un ingénieur et de scientifiques qui n’appartiennent pas au domaine médical. Une combinaison d’essais sur des sujets en santé et malades sont utilisés pour vérifier et valider le rendement et l’utilité des dispositifs et pour formuler des commentaires à l’étape de l’élaboration. Ces travaux non axés sur une maladie s’inscrivent dans le mandat du CRSNG.

Admissible au financement du CRSNG Non admissible au financement du CRSNG
Vérification et évaluation de dispositifs médicaux (essais in vitro et ex vitro, essais de faisabilité in vivo sur un très petit nombre d’animaux) Validation des dispositifs médicaux (essais sur des animaux pour vérifier l’efficacité et la fiabilité et réaliser des études comparatives)
Élaboration d’une méthode pour la stérilisation du dispositif médical et la vérification de sa résistance Évaluation de la sécurité du dispositif médical
Utilisation de méthodes biomécaniques pour évaluer les propriétés mécaniques de nouveaux biomatériaux Utilisation de méthodes biomécaniques pour évaluer les éventuels dommages ou blessures associés à une procédure médicale
Conception et modélisation d’implants médicaux sur des modèles synthétiques et optimisation de leur placement Réalisation d’essais en phase 1 ou  à grande échelle sur les animaux pour évaluer de nouveaux implants
Évaluation de la biocompatibilité dans le cadre de l’élaboration d’un nouveau dispositif Analyse de la réponse immunitaire postopératoire liée à un dispositif médical offert sur le marché
Élaboration, conception et vérification de la faisabilité d’un dispositif médical nouveau ou modifié qui comporte clairement un défi de recherche en SNG Modification d’un dispositif médical existant pour en améliorer l’efficacité

 

Processus de consultation et de prise de décision pour déterminer l’admissibilité des demandes liées à la santé humaine

Pour la plupart des programmes, c’est le CRSNG qui prend la décision au sujet de l’admissibilité. Les candidats sont invités à communiquer avec le personnel du CRSNG s’ils se posent des questions sur l’admissibilité du sujet de leurs travaux de recherche avant de présenter leur demande. Le personnel tentera de leur donner un avis; cependant, la décision finale au sujet de l’admissibilité n’est prise qu’après la réception de la demande.

En outre, le personnel du CRSNG consulte au besoin des experts externes ou des représentants du CRSH ou des IRSC pour avoir leur opinion avant de prendre une décision. Les candidats dont les propositions sont considérées comme non admissibles sont informés par écrit.

Veuillez noter que le CRSNG n’accepte pas les appels fondés sur l’admissibilité du sujet de recherche.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.