Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

CIHR, NSERC and SSHRC

ARCHIVED - Tri-Agency Research Integrity Advisory Group (RIAG) Membership

ARCHIVED

This information has been archived. Visit the Responsible Conduct of Research page for current information.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the This link will take you to another Web site Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.


Role Name Organization
Chair Deborah Poff Brandon University
Member    Denise Alcock Retired
  Norman Frohlich University of Manitoba and Université de Montréal
  Feridun Hamdullahpur University of Waterloo
  Warren (Ted) Hewitt University of Western Ontario
  Raymond Leblanc Retired
  Nicholas H. Steneck Michigan Institute for Clinical and Health Research, and University of Michigan

Deborah Poff (BA [Hon], Queen’s University; BA [Hon], University of Guelph; MA, Carleton University; PhD, University of Guelph): Dr. Poff holds the position of President and Vice-Chancellor at Brandon University in Manitoba. Dr. Poff is the founder and editor of the Journal of Business Ethics, Teaching Business Ethics and the Journal of Academic Ethics. She is the editor of Business Ethics in Canada and is currently working on a book on ethical leadership and the future of university governance. She serves and has served on numerous national and international boards and councils, and is currently the President of the National Council on Ethics in Human Research.

Denise Alcock (BScN, University of Toronto; MA (Ed) and PhD, University of Ottawa): Over her 40-year career she has worked as a clinician, educator, administrator and researcher. She has worked either in acute care or community settings in the United States, England and Canada. She was the founding director of two departments at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO) (Child Life, and Nursing Staff Development and Research) and a founding member of the CHEO Research Institute. She was Director of the University of Ottawa School of Nursing, and Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences. Dr. Alcock has served on the Medical Research Council, the Governing Council of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the University of Ottawa Board of Governors, three hospital boards, and boards and committees at the international, national, provincial and regional levels. She currently serves on the University of Ottawa Heart Institute Board, has chaired the Quality Committee, and serves on the Audit and Finance Committee; is a board member of the Champlain Community Care Access Centre, chairs its Client Services and Quality Committee, and Co-Chairs the Canadian Institute of Child Health’s National Advisory Group for the development of the 4th Profile on the Health Status of Canada’s Children and Youth, and is a Treasury Board appointee to the CIHR Audit Committee.

Norman Frohlich (BSc [Hon]; MS; PhD): Dr. Frohlich is a Professor Emeritus in the I.H. Asper School of Business at the University of  Manitoba and Adjunct Professor in the Department of Social And Preventive Medicine at the University of Montreal. He is the outgoing Chair of the Panel on Research Ethics and has many years of experience on the panel. In addition to his three jointly authored books, his research has been published in some of the leading journals in political science, economics, business and public health. One particularly germane research area led to the co-authoring of a book that pioneered in the field of experimental ethics. He served, for a number of years, as the Chair of the Faculty of Management’s Research and Publications Committee, and of the sub-committee dealing with experiments involving human participants.

Feridun Hamdullahpur (BEng, MEng, Technical University of Istanbul, Turkey; PhD, Technical University of Nova Scotia): Dr. Hamdullahpur joined the University of Waterloo as Provost and Vice-President (Academic) in September 2009 and was appointed interim President, effective October 1, 2010. Dr. Hamdullahpur has been an active researcher and supervisor. His research areas include energy conversion, thermo-fluids, and bio-mass gasification and combustion. He has published over 130 scientific and technical articles, and supervised over 40 graduate students.

Warren (Ted) Hewitt (attended the University of São Paulo, Brazil, as a special student; PhD, McMaster University): Dr. Hewitt has served as Vice-President (Research and International Relations) at The University of Western Ontario since February 2005. First appointed Western’s Associate Vice-President (Research) in May 2001, Hewitt spearheaded efforts to develop the university’s Strategic Research Plan and its Strategic Plan for Internationalization. He currently sits on the Boards of the Canadian Light Source, the Canadian Language and Literacy Research Network, and the London TechAlliance, and recently completed a two-year term on the Board of the London Economic Development Corporation. He is past-Chair of the Shared Hierarchical Academic Research Computing Network, and the Ontario High Performance Computing Council, and was elected to serve as the Chair of the Ontario Council on University Research for 2008-2009. He has published extensively on issues related to social movements and population health, local government, and international cooperation for urban development in Latin America, and is a leading Canadian authority on Brazil.

Raymond Leblanc (retired) (BSc, Université de Montréal; MSc, Université de Montréal; PhD, Université de Montréal; PhD, McGill University): For the past 15 years, Dr. Leblanc has taken an interest in research integrity. In the early 1990s, at Fonds de la recherche en santé, he contributed to the development of a more formal framework to guide the approach to, and discussion of, ethics in research. As Vice-President of Research at Université Laval, Dr. Leblanc’s responsibilities included ensuring compliance with the integrity standards for research and handling the cases submitted to him. Dr. Leblanc also sat on the provincial ethics committee (a committee that handles projects being conducted in hospitals that do not necessarily have a recognized university affiliation), and he currently sits on a research ethics committee at Centre hospitalier universitaire de Québec.

Nick Steneck (PhD): Dr. Steneck is Director of the Research Ethics and Integrity Program of the Michigan Institute for Clinical and Health Research, and Professor Emeritus of History at the University of Michigan. He has also worked as a consultant to the Federal Office of Research Integrity, Health and Human Services. He helped establish, and recently directed, the Office of Research Integrity (ORI)/National Institutes of Health (NIH) Research on Research Integrity Program. He has co-chaired and organized the program for four ORI Research on Research Integrity Conferences (2000, 2002, 2004, 2006) and the European Science Foundation-ORI World Conference on Research Integrity in Lisbon, Portugal, September 2007. He has published articles on the history of research misconduct policy, responsible conduct of research instruction, the use of animals in research, classified research and academic freedom, the role of values in university research, and research on research integrity. Most recently, he authored the ORI Introduction to the Responsible Conduct of Research (2004, 2007; translated into Japanese, Chinese and Korean). He co-organized and co-chaired the inaugural World Conference on Research Integrity (Portugal 2007) and the 2nd World Conference on Research Integrity (Singapore, 2010).  Beginning fall 2010, he will be the lead advisory on a new Epigeum international on-line research integrity training program.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

IRSC, CRSNG et CRSH

ARCHIVÉE - Composition du Groupe consultatif sur l’intégrité de la recherche (GCIR) des trois organismes

ARCHIVÉE

Cette page Web est archivée. Pour obtenir de l’information courante, consultez la page La conduite responsable de la recherche.

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée dans le site Web sert à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la This link will take you to another Web site Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.


Rôle Nom Organisation
Président Deborah Poff Brandon University
Membres    Denise Alcock Retraité
  Norman Frohlich University of Manitoba et Université de Montréal
  Feridun Hamdullahpur University of Waterloo
  Warren (Ted) Hewitt University of Western Ontario
  Raymond Leblanc Retraité
  Nicholas H. Steneck Michigan Institute for Clinical and Health Research, and University of Michigan

Deborah Poff (BA [spéc.], Queen’s University; BA [spéc.], University of Guelph; MA, Carleton University; PhD, University of Guelph). Mme Poff est rectrice et vice-chancelière de la Brandon University, au Manitoba. Fondatrice et rédactrice en chef du Journal of Business Ethics, de Teaching Business Ethics et du Journal of Academic Ethics, elle est également rédactrice en chef de Business Ethics in Canada et travaille actuellement à un ouvrage sur le leadership éthique et l’avenir de la gouvernance des universités. En plus de siéger ou d’avoir siégé au sein de nombreux conseils d’administration nationaux et internationaux, elle préside le Conseil national d’éthique en recherche chez l’humain.

Denise Alcock (BScN, University of Toronto; MA (Éd.); PhD, Université d’Ottawa). Pendant sa carrière de 40 ans, Mme Alcock a travaillé comme clinicienne, enseignante, administratrice et chercheuse. Elle a œuvré dans le secteur des soins actifs ou communautaires aux États-Unis, en Angleterre et au Canada. Mme Alcock a été directrice fondatrice de deux départements au Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l’est de l’Ontario (département du milieu de l’enfant et département de recherche et de perfectionnement du personnel infirmier) et membre fondatrice de l’Institut de recherche de cet établissement. Elle a aussi été directrice de l’École des sciences infirmières et doyenne de la Faculté des sciences de la santé à l’Université d’Ottawa. Denise Alcock a en outre siégé au sein des conseils d’administration du Conseil de recherches médicales, des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada et de trois hôpitaux, du Bureau des gouverneurs de l’Université d’Ottawa ainsi que de conseils et de comités à l’échelle internationale, nationale, provinciale ou régionale. Elle siège actuellement au conseil d’administration de l’Institut de cardiologie de l’Université d’Ottawa, où elle a présidé le comité de la qualité et elle fait partie du comité de la vérification et des finances. De plus, Mme Alcock est membre du conseil d’administration du Centre d’accès aux soins communautaires Champlain et présidente de son comité des services aux clients et de la qualité. Elle est également coprésidente du groupe consultatif national de l’Institut canadien de la santé infantile pour l’élaboration de la quatrième édition du profil de l’état de santé des enfants et des jeunes du Canada et membre du Comité de vérification des IRSC nommée par le Conseil du Trésor.

Norman Frohlich (BSc [spéc.]; MS; PhD). M.  Frohlich est professeur émérite à la I.H. Asper School of Business de l’Université du Manitoba et professeur auxiliaire au Département de médecine sociale et préventive de l’Université de Montréal. Il est président sortant du Groupe consultatif interagences en éthique de la recherche, au sein duquel il a siégé pendant de nombreuses années. Outre trois ouvrages publiés en collaboration avec d’autres auteurs, ses travaux ont fait l’objet d’articles dans certaines revues prestigieuses spécialisées en sciences politiques, en économie, en gestion et en santé publique. Il est notamment coauteur d‘un ouvrage d’avant-garde sur un sujet des plus pertinents, soit l’utilisation de techniques expérimentales en éthique. M. Frohlich a présidé pendant plusieurs années le comité de la recherche et des publications de la Faculté de gestion ainsi que le sous-comité chargé des expériences sur des sujets humains.

Feridun Hamdullahpur (BEng, MEng, Université technique d’Istanbul, Turquie; PhD, Technical University of Nova Scotia). M. Hamdullahpur, qui était entré à la University of Waterloo à titre de vice-recteur à l’enseignement et à la recherche et de vice-recteur aux études en septembre 2009, a été nommé recteur par intérim le 1er octobre 2010. En plus de son rôle de superviseur, il a été actif en recherche, menant notamment des travaux sur la conversion d’énergie, les thermofluides ainsi que la gazéification et la combustion de la biomasse. M. Hamdullahpur a publié plus de 130 articles scientifiques et techniques et supervisé plus de 40 étudiants des cycles supérieurs.

Warren (Ted) Hewitt (a fréquenté l’Université de São Paulo, au Brésil, en qualité d’étudiant spécial; PhD, McMaster University). M. Hewitt est vice-recteur à la recherche et aux relations internationales à la University of Western Ontario depuis février 2005. Nommé vice-recteur associé à la recherche de cet établissement en mai 2001, M. Hewitt a été le fer de lance de l’université concernant l’élaboration de son plan stratégique de recherche et de son plan stratégique d’internationalisation. Il siège actuellement aux conseils d’administration du Centre canadien de rayonnement synchrotron, du Réseau canadien de recherche sur le langage et l’alphabétisation ainsi que de TechAlliance. M. Hewitt a récemment terminé un mandat de deux ans au sein du conseil d’administration de la corporation de développement économique de London. Il est président sortant du Réseau de recherche informatique universitaire hiérarchique partagée ainsi que du High Performance Computing Council de l’Ontario. Il a été élu président du Council on University Research de l’Ontario pour 2008-2009. Il a publié de nombreux articles sur des sujets tels que les mouvements sociaux et la santé des populations, les gouvernements locaux, ou encore la coopération internationale en faveur du développement urbain en Amérique latine et fait autorité au Canada en ce qui concerne le Brésil.

Raymond Leblanc (retraité). (BSc, Université de Montréal; MSc, Université de Montréal; PhD, Université de Montréal; PhD, McGill University). Depuis une quinzaine d’années, M. Leblanc s’est intéressé à l’intégrité de la recherche. Au début des années 1990, au FRSQ, il a participé à la mise en place d’une structure plus formelle pour orienter la démarche et la réflexion sur l’éthique en recherche. À l’Université Laval, en tant que vice-recteur à la recherche, M. Leblanc avait, entre autres, la responsabilité de voir au respect des règles d’intégrité en recherche et devait traiter les cas qui lui étaient soumis. M. Leblanc a également siégé au comité provincial en éthique (comité qui traite des projets qui se déroulent dans des établissements hospitaliers qui n’ont pas nécessairement une affiliation universitaire reconnue) et il siège actuellement sur un comité en éthique de la recherche au CHUQ (HSA).

Nick Steneck (PhD). M. Steneck est le directeur du programme d’éthique et d’intégrité dans la recherche au Michigan Institute for Clinical and Health Research et professeur émérite d’histoire à la University of Michigan. Il travaille aussi comme consultant auprès du Federal Office of Research Integrity, au département de la santé et des services sociaux des États-Unis. Il a aidé à établir le programme de recherche sur l’intégrité en recherche de l’Office of Research Integrity et des National Institutes of Health des États-Unis, dont il a récemment assuré la direction. M. Steneck a également coprésidé quatre éditions de la Conférence sur la recherche sur l’intégrité en recherche organisées par l’Office of Research Integrity des États-Unis (2000, 2002, 2004 et 2006), en plus d’en organiser le programme, ainsi que la Conférence mondiale sur l’intégrité de la recherche tenue à Lisbonne, au Portugal, en septembre 2007, sous l’égide du Office of Research Integrity et de la Fondation européenne pour la science. Il a publié des articles sur l’évolution de la politique sur l’inconduite en recherche, la formation sur la conduite responsable en recherche, l’utilisation d’animaux en recherche, la recherche à caractère secret et la liberté universitaire, le rôle des valeurs dans la recherche universitaire ainsi que la recherche sur l’intégrité en recherche. Il a récemment publié ORI Introduction to the Responsible Conduct of Research (2004, 2007; traduit en japonais, en chinois et en coréen). Il a aussi été coorganisateur et coprésident de la Première Conférence mondiale sur l’intégrité de la recherche (tenue au Portugal en 2007) et de la Deuxième Conférence mondiale sur l’intégrité de la recherche (tenue à Singapour en 2010). Dès l’automne 2010, il sera conseiller principal pour le nouveau programme international de formation en ligne sur l’intégrité de la recherche offert par la société Epigeum.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.