Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

CIHR, NSERC and SSHRC

ARCHIVED – Addressing Allegations of Non-Compliance with Tri-Agency Policies

ARCHIVED

This information has been archived. Visit the Responsible Conduct of Research page for current information.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the This link will take you to another Web site Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.


Frequently Asked Questions

The following set of Frequently Asked Questions serves as a companion document to the Tri-Agency Process for Addressing Allegations of Non-Compliance with Tri-Agency Policies and related Tri-Agency policy documents.

1) How do I submit an allegation of non-compliance with Tri-Agency policies?
Allegation(s) of non-compliance with Tri-Agency policies must be made directly to the institution employing the individual suspected of non-compliance, with an exact copy of the allegation(s) sent to the relevant Agency. Once the Agency is in receipt of the allegation, the Agency will ensure that the request falls within its mandate, inform the relevant institution that it is aware of the allegation and request that the institution follow up on the concerns raised and report back its finding(s) to the Agency.

Questions on how to submit allegations of non-compliance with research policies should be directed to the relevant Agency, through its designated Agency representative. The contact information for each Agency can be found at the bottom of this page.

Questions on how to submit allegations of non-compliance to institutions should be directed to Office of the VP Research at the relevant institution.

2) Do I have to provide the Agencies with my name when making an allegation or can it be anonymous?
Anonymous allegations sent directly to the Agency will be forwarded to the appropriate institution for follow-up, to the extent possible. It is important to note that anonymous allegations can be difficult to address. Facts that are not publicly available or otherwise independently verifiable may limit an institution’s ability to carry out a thorough and fair investigation.

3) Am I protected if I come forward with an allegation?
Complainants who make allegations in good faith are protected from reprisals according to their institution’s policies and, in some cases, to the extent of applicable laws.

An allegation made in bad faith (i.e. maliciously or in the knowledge that the allegation is without foundation) may itself be a breach and subject to an institutional investigation, depending on the institution’s policy.

4) What happens if the allegations are related to possible criminal misconduct?
Any evidence of possible fraud or criminal activity is reported to the appropriate legal authority. In these situations, the Agencies will carry out the process outlined below, in parallel with the legal authority's activities and agreement.

5) Who investigates allegations of non-compliance with Tri-Agency policies?
In instances where an investigation is warranted, the institution employing the individual suspected of non-compliance is responsible for conducting the investigation, in accordance with its own institutional policies and Tri-Agency requirements, and for communicating its findings to the Agency.

The Agencies do not investigate allegations of non-compliance with Tri-Agency policies, as the Agencies do not have the legislative mandates to do so. When an Agency becomes aware of an alleged breach of Tri-Agency policy, such as a breach of ethics, plagiarism, or misuse of grant funds, it follows the process outlined in the Tri-Agency Process for Addressing Allegations of Non-Compliance with Tri-Agency Policies, to address the allegation and, if necessary, to take appropriate action.

6) If I am under investigation, can I still apply to the Agencies for funding?
Respondents under investigation by an institution can still apply for funding if they continue to meet all eligibility and program requirements. The same applies to funding already approved; however, the Agency may make any grant, award or installment conditional on a finding of no misconduct.

7) How long does it take to resolve an allegation?
As noted in question 5, the institution is responsible for conducting the investigation. That process may be subject to timelines established in the institutional policy but in general, can take anywhere from 30 days to two years or more, depending on the complexity of the issues raised. In cases where the Agency was notified of an allegation, it will follow up with the institution on a regular basis to obtain updates on the status of the investigation and to monitor adherence to the timelines stated in its institutional policy.

For details on Agency timelines, please see the Tri-Agency Decision Tree.

For questions related to specific institutional policies and their timelines, please contact the institution’s Research Office.

8) If the institution's investigation confirms a finding of misconduct, what will happen?
Each institution funded by CIHR, NSERC, or SSHRC has an institutional research integrity policy that must be followed when conducting investigations into allegations of non-compliance. Please consult the institution’s integrity policy for details on the process and possible actions at its disposal.

From an Agency perspective, following receipt of the institution's report, if there is a finding of misconduct, the matter is brought to the Agency’s Integrity Committee for consideration. The Committee may recommend that the Agency take the following types of actions:

  • letter of reprimand;
  • declaring a researcher / grantee ineligible from applying for future funding for a defined time period or indefinitely;
  • terminating remaining installments of the grant or award;
  • seeking a refund of all or part of the funds already paid as a grant or award for the research or scholarship involved within a defined time frame;
  • ineligibility to serve on agency committees (e.g. peer review, advisory boards).

The respondent will be provided with an opportunity to respond to the Agency’s recommended action(s). It is important to note that the Agencies are not an avenue of appeal regarding findings, decisions or actions taken by the institution. Should a respondent disagree with an institution’s conclusion or finding, they are encouraged to consider the appeal process outlined in their institution’s integrity policy.

The file, including the institution's report, the Agency integrity committee’s recommendation(s) and the respondent’s response will be presented to the Agency’s Senior Management for final decision. If no response from the respondent is received, the matter proceeds to the Agency’s Senior Management for final decision. The decision is communicated to the researcher, his/her institution and is implemented by the Agency.

9) What if I do not agree with the institution’s process and/or its findings?
Should a respondent disagree with the institution’s process and/or findings, the matter should be addressed with the institution during the investigation process or at the time of appeal. The Agencies are not an avenue of appeal regarding institutional findings, decisions or actions taken.

10) What if I do not agree with the actions being considered by the funding Agency?
As noted in question 8, the Agencies’ process includes an opportunity to respond to a notice of actions being considered.

While Senior Management will carefully consider any concerns raised by the respondent about the proposed actions, its subsequent decision is final.

It is important to note that the Agencies are not an avenue of appeal regarding findings, decisions or actions taken by the institution. Should a respondent disagree with an institution’s conclusion or finding, they are encouraged to consider the appeal process outlined in their institution’s integrity policy.

11) Where can I obtain the results of an investigation?
Investigations are administrative matters between researchers and the research institutions that employ them; thus, any queries related to investigations should be directed to the relevant research institution.

The Agencies are prohibited by the Privacy Act from disclosing personal information about identifiable individuals, including information related to investigations. The Agencies do, however, post global statistics (This link will take you to another Web site CIHR, NSERC, This link will take you to another Web site SSHRC) and depersonalized case summaries related to allegations of non-compliance.

12) What happens if my institution is not following its own integrity policy?
Concerns related to an institution not following its own integrity policy can be forwarded to the relevant Agency for review. The Agency will work with the institution to try to resolve the matter as per the terms of Schedule 8 of the MOU. Depending on the degree of severity of the issue, actions such as the following may be taken:

  • temporary suspension of funding to specific programs or projects until corrective measures, which the Agency finds satisfactory, are in place;
  • in the event that the breach cannot be satisfactorily remedied, the Agency may consider the Institution or all or any portion of its faculty to be ineligible to continue receiving funds from the Agency.

13) How many allegations of non-compliance do the Agencies receive every year?
Global statistics on the number of allegations received by each Agency are available on their respective web sites at: This link will take you to another Web site CIHR, NSERC, This link will take you to another Web site SSHRC.

14) Who do I contact if I have any other questions?
For any questions not answered by the above FAQs, please contact the designated Agency at the coordinates below:

Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)
160 Elgin Street, 9th Floor
Address Locator 4809A
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0W9
Phone: 613-954-1383
Fax: 613-946-0885
Email: research.integrity@cihr-irsc.gc.ca

Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC)
350 Albert Street
Ottawa, ON
K1A 1H5
Phone: 613-992-0842
Fax: 613-943-1222
E-mail: sectr@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC)
350 Albert Street
P.O. Box 1610
Ottawa, ON
K1P 6G4
Phone: 613-992-1058
Fax: 613-996-4824
E-mail: secretariat@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

IRSC, CRSNG et CRSH

ARCHIVÉE – Examen des allégations de non-conformité avec les politiques des trois organismes

ARCHIVÉE

Cette page Web est archivée. Pour obtenir de l’information courante, consultez la page La conduite responsable de la recherche.

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée dans le site Web sert à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la This link will take you to another Web site Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.


Foire aux questions

Les questions et réponses qui suivent complètent le document Processus des trois organismes pour l’examen des allégations de non-conformité avec les politiques des trois organismes et les documents stratégiques connexes des trois organismes.

1) Comment est-ce que je présente une allégation de non conformité aux politiques des trois organismes?
Les allégations de non conformité aux politiques des trois organismes doivent être présentées directement à l’établissement qui emploie la personne soupçonnée d’inconduite, avec copie conforme à l’organisme compétent. Après qu’il a été saisi de l’allégation, l’organisme s’assurera que la demande relève de son mandat, informera l’établissement concerné et demandera que l’établissement donne suite aux préoccupations soulevées et lui fasse part de ses conclusions.

Les questions sur la façon de présenter des allégations de non conformité par rapport aux politiques des trois organismes doivent être adressées à l’organisme compétent, par l’entremise de son représentant désigné. Les coordonnées pour chaque organisme se trouvent au bas de la page.

Les questions sur la façon de présenter des allégations de non-conformité aux établissements doivent être adressées au bureau du V.-P. à la recherche de l’établissement compétent.

2) Est ce que je dois m’identifier quand je présente une allégation à un organisme ou est ce que je peux rester anonyme?
Les allégations anonymes adressées directement à l’organisme seront réacheminées vers l’établissement concerné pour qu’il y donne suite, dans la mesure du possible. Il est important de savoir qu’il peut être difficile d’examiner des allégations anonymes. Des faits qui ne sont pas de notoriété publique ou qui ne peuvent d’autre façon être vérifiés indépendamment peuvent limiter la capacité d’un établissement de mener une enquête approfondie et juste.

3) Est ce que je suis protégé si je présente une allégation?
Les plaignants qui font des allégations de bonne foi sont protégés contre les représailles conformément aux politiques de l’établissement et, dans certains cas, dans les limites des lois applicables.

Une allégation faite de mauvaise foi (c.-à-d. malicieusement ou en sachant qu’elle est sans fondement) peut elle-même constituer un manquement, et donc donner lieu à une enquête de la part de l’établissement, selon la politique de ce dernier.

4) Qu’arrive t il s’il s’agit d’allégations d’inconduite de nature potentiellement criminelle?
Toute preuve de fraude ou d’activité criminelle possible est portée à l’attention des autorités judiciaires compétentes. En pareil cas, les organismes suivront le processus exposé ci-dessus, en parallèle et en accord avec les activités des autorités judiciaires.

5) Qui enquête sur les allégations de non-conformité aux politiques des trois organismes?
Dans les cas où une enquête est justifiée, l’établissement qui emploie la personne soupçonnée d’inconduite a la responsabilité de faire enquête, conformément à ses propres politiques et aux exigences des trois organismes, et de communiquer ses conclusions à l’organisme compétent.

Les organismes n’enquêtent pas au sujet des allégations de non conformité à leurs propres politiques, n’ayant pas le mandant législatif de le faire. Quand un organisme est mis au courant d’une supposée inconduite aux politiques des trois organismes, comme un manquement à l’éthique, un cas de plagiat, ou une utilisation non autorisée des fonds d’une subvention, il enclenche le processus exposé dans le document Processus des trois organismes pour l’examen des allégations de non conformité avec les politiques des trois organismes pour que l’allégation soit examinée et que des mesures soient prises, au besoin.

6) Si je fais l’objet d’une enquête, est ce que je peux quand même demander des fonds des organismes?
Les répondants qui font l’objet d’une enquête par un établissement peuvent quand même demander des fonds s’ils continuent de répondre à toutes les conditions d’admissibilité du programme. Cela est valable également pour le financement déjà approuvé; toutefois, l’organisme peut exiger qu’aucune inconduite n’ait été constatée au terme de l’enquête avant d’octroyer toute subvention ou bourse.

7) Combien de temps faut-il pour résoudre une allégation?
Comme il est indiqué à la question 5, l’établissement est responsable de l’enquête. Ce processus peut être assujetti aux calendriers établis dans la politique de l’établissement et peut prendre de 30 jours à deux ans ou plus, en fonction de la complexité de l’affaire. Dans les cas où l’organisme est saisi de l’allégation, il assurera un suivi régulier auprès de l’établissement pour savoir où en est l’enquête et surveillera le respect par ce dernier des délais prévus dans sa propre politique.

Pour plus de détails au sujet des délais de l’organisme, voir l’Arbre décisionnel des trois organismes.

Pour toutes questions relatives aux politiques de l’établissement et aux délais qui s’appliquent, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau de la recherche de l’établissement.

8) Si l’enquête de l’établissement confirme qu’il y a eu inconduite, que se passe t il ensuite?
Chaque établissement financé par les IRSC, le CRSNG ou le CRSH a une politique sur l’intégrité de la recherche qu’il doit suivre lorsqu’il enquête sur des allégations de non conformité. Veuillez consulter la politique en matière d’intégrité de l’établissement pour connaître les détails de son processus et les moyens d’action possibles à sa disposition.

Quand l’organisme a reçu le rapport de l’établissement et que la conclusion est qu’il y a eu inconduite, la question est portée à l’attention du comité d’intégrité de l’organisme. Le comité peut recommander que l’organisme prenne les mesures suivantes :

  • une lettre de réprimande;
  • une déclaration indiquant qu’un chercheur/titulaire d’une subvention est inadmissible à présenter une demande de financement pour une période déterminée ou indéterminée;
  • la cessation des versements à venir de la subvention ou de la bourse;
  • une demande de remboursement, en tout ou en partie, des fonds déjà versés pour appuyer les travaux de recherche ou d’érudition, selon un échéancier établi;
  • l’inadmissibilité à siéger aux comités des organismes (p. ex., comités d’évaluation par les pairs, comités consultatifs).

Le répondant aura la possibilité de réagir aux mesures recommandées de l’organisme. Il importe de noter que les organismes ne sont pas des organes d’appel des conclusions, des décisions ou des mesures prises par un établissement. Si un répondant n’est pas d’accord avec les conclusions d’un établissement, il est encouragé à se prévaloir du mécanisme d’appel prévu dans la politique en matière d’intégrité de son établissement.

Le dossier, incluant le rapport de l’établissement, les recommandations du comité d’intégrité de l’organisme et la réponse du répondant, sera présenté à la haute direction de l’organisme, qui prendra la décision finale. Si aucune réponse du répondant n’est reçue, la question sera portée à l’attention de la haute direction de l’organisme, qui prendra la décision finale. La décision est communiquée au chercheur et à son établissement, et elle est appliquée par l’organisme.

9) Et si je ne suis pas d’accord avec le processus de l’établissement et/ou ses conclusions?
Si un répondant n’est pas d’accord avec le processus et/ou les conclusions de l’établissement, il faut en faire part à l’établissement pendant l’enquête ou au moment de l’appel. Les organismes ne sont pas des organes d’appel des conclusions, des décisions ou des mesures prises par un établissement.

10) Et si je ne suis pas d’accord avec les mesures envisagées par l’organisme de financement?
Comme il est indiqué en réponse à la question 8, le processus des organismes prévoit la possibilité de réagir à un avis faisant état des mesures envisagées.

La haute direction de l’organisme étudiera sérieusement les préoccupations soulevées par le répondant au sujet des mesures proposées, cependant la décision qu’elle prendra sera finale.

Il importe de noter que les organismes ne sont pas des organes d’appel des conclusions, des décisions ou des mesures prises par un établissement. Si un répondant n’est pas d’accord avec les conclusions d’un établissement, il est encouragé à se prévaloir du mécanisme d’appel prévu dans la politique en matière d’intégrité de son établissement.

11) Où est ce que je peux obtenir les résultats d’une enquête?
Les enquêtes constituent des questions administratives entre les chercheurs et les établissements de recherche qui les emploient. Par conséquent, toute question liée à une enquête doit être adressée à l’établissement de recherche compétent.

La This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels empêche les organismes de communiquer de l’information personnelle qui révélerait l’identité des parties, y compris de l’information liée à l’enquête. Toutefois, les organismes publient des statistiques globales (This link will take you to another Web site IRSC, CRSNG, This link will take you to another Web site CRSH) et des résumés de cas rendus anonymes concernant les allégations de non conformité reçues par chacun d’eux.

12) Qu’est ce qui arrive si mon établissement ne suit pas sa propre politique en matière d’intégrité?
Les doutes au sujet de la conformité d’un établissement à sa propre politique d’intégrité peuvent être portés à l’attention de l’organisme compétent. L’organisme cherchera avec l’établissement à résoudre le problème selon les modalités de l’Annexe 8 du PE. En fonction de l’importance de la question, les mesures suivantes, par exemple, pourront être prises :

  • suspendre temporairement le financement versé à des programmes ou à des projets particuliers jusqu’à ce que les mesures correctives nécessaires, jugées acceptables par l’organisme, soient appliqués;
  • advenant qu’un cas d’inobservation ne puisse être résolu de façon satisfaisante, l’organisme peut juger que l’établissement ou son corps professoral, en totalité ou en partie, n’est plus admissible au financement de l’organisme.

13) Combien d’allégations de non conformité les organismes reçoivent ils chaque année?
Des statistiques globales sur le nombre d’allégations reçues par chaque organisme peuvent être trouvées sur le site Web de chacun : This link will take you to another Web site IRSC, CRSNG, This link will take you to another Web site CRSH.

14) qui est ce que je peux m’adresser si j’ai d’autres questions?
Si vous ne trouvez pas réponse à vos questions ici, veuillez communiquer avec l’organisme concerné, dont vous trouverez les coordonnées ci après :

Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH)
350, rue Albert
C.P. 1610
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1P 6G4
Tél. : 613-954-1383
Téléc. : 613-946-0885
Courriel : secretariat@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG)
350, rue Albert
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 1H5
Tél. : 613-992-0842
Téléc. : 613-943-1222
Courriel : sectr@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC)
160, rue Elgin, 9e étage
Indice de l’adresse 4809A
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0W9
Tél. : 613-992-1058
Téléc. : 613-996-4824
Courriel : integrite.en.recherche@irsc-cihr.gc.ca

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.