Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Declaration for NSERC Council Members

Ethics and Conflict of Interest

I understand that, as a Council member of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC Council member), I am a Public Office Holder subject to the This link will take you to another Web site Conflict of Interest Act, and the This link will take you to another Web site Ethical and Political Activity Guidelines for Public Office Holders.

I have read and understood and agree to abide by the roles, duties and responsibilities of members set out in the This link will take you to another Web site Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Act, the Code of Ethics and Business Conduct for NSERC Council Members, By-Laws I and II, and the Guidelines on Conflict of Interest for NSERC Council Members

I agree that in carrying out my roles, duties and responsibilities I will always act and behave in a manner that will avoid any real, perceived or potential conflict(s) of interest.

I declare that, at present:

  • I do not have a real, perceived or potential conflict of interest with respect to my roles, duties and responsibilities as a member;

Or

  • by reason of one or more of my personal, family, financial, professional, employment or other relationships, affiliations, associations or activities, I have a real, perceived or potential conflict of interest, as follows (attach separate sheet if necessary):





 

I declare that I have resolved and will continue to resolve any conflict of interest as disclosed above in favour of the public interest including, where necessary, recusing myself from NSERC Council meetings, activities, discussions and/or decisions about the matter with which I have a real, perceived or potential conflict of interest.

Should a real, perceived or potential conflict of interest arise with respect to my role, duties or responsibilities as a member, I will immediately disclose such conflict to the Corporate Secretary in writing, who will advise the Council Chair and the NSERC President, and where necessary I will recuse myself from NSERC Council meetings, activities, discussions and decisions about the matter with which I have a conflict.

Confidentiality and Non-Disclosure

I understand that documentation provided by NSERC to members may contain personal information and confidential technical information and that such information may be subject to the Access to Information Act, the Privacy Act and the This link will take you to another Web site Policy on Government Security.

I understand that documents, communications and information that I provide to anyone in my official capacity as a Council member may be considered records under the control of NSERC and may be subject to the Access to Information Act, the Privacy Act and the This link will take you to another Web site Policy on Government Security

I understand that I must treat such documentation confidentially, and I will ensure that NSERC documents in my possession are stored in a secure manner to prevent unauthorized access.

I understand that when these documents are no longer required I must destroy them in a secure manner by deleting their electronic data files, shredding their paper copies or arranging for their return to NSERC in a secure manner.

I understand that Council deliberations are confidential. Comments made by individual members during meetings must never be discussed or disclosed outside of Council meetings. It is the role of NSERC staff to communicate Council decisions.

I understand that on occasion, as a member, I may be asked by NSERC for advice on a grant application or to be a member of an advisory committee or special committee with respect to the awarding of prizes or grants. I understand that peer review documentation provided to members must be used only for the purpose for which it was originally collected, i.e., assessing NSERC applications and making funding decisions, and that it must not be used for any other purpose or discussed with or disclosed to non-committee members.

I understand that breaches of confidentiality and privacy are a serious matter. I agree to take personal responsibility for complying with these requirements.

I will review and update the information provided pursuant to this Declaration on an annual basis.

I understand that the information provided herein will be retained in the files of the Council’s Corporate Secretariat, with access limited to the Corporate Secretary, the Chair (Vice-President) of the Council, the Executive Vice-President and the President.

Name Signature
   
  Date

It is mandatory that you return this form upon appointment to:

Administrative Assistant to the Corporate Secretary
NSERC
350 Albert Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 1H5

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Déclaration des membres du Conseil du CRSNG

Éthique et conflits d’intérêts

Je reconnais, à titre de membre du Conseil du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (membre du Conseil du CRSNG), que je suis un titulaire de charge publique soumis à la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur les conflits d’intérêts et aux This link will take you to another Web site Lignes directrices en matière d’éthique et d’activités politiques à l’intention des titulaires de charge publique.

J’ai lu et compris les rôles, fonctions et responsabilités des membres énoncés dans la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie, le Code d’éthique professionnelle régissant la conduite des membres du Conseil du CRSNG, les règlements nos I et II et les Lignes directrices sur les conflits d’intérêts destinées aux membres du Conseil du CRSNG et je m’engage à les respecter.

Je conviens qu’en remplissant mes rôles, fonctions et responsabilités, j’agirai et me comporterai toujours de manière à éviter tout conflit d’intérêts réel, potentiel ou apparent.

Je déclare qu’au moment présent :

  • Je ne suis pas en situation de conflit d’intérêts réel, potentiel ou apparent avec mon rôle, mes fonctions et mes responsabilités à titre de membre.  

ou

  • en raison de mes relations, affiliations, associations ou activités personnelles, familiales, financières, professionnelles ou liées à l’emploi ou en raison d’autres relations, je suis en situation de conflit d’intérêts réel, potentiel ou apparent à l’égard de ce qui suit (joindre des feuilles supplémentaires au besoin) :





 

Je déclare avoir résolu et continuer de résoudre tout conflit d’intérêts divulgué ci‑dessus en faveur de l’intérêt public, y compris, m’être abstenu, au besoin, de participer aux réunions, aux activités, aux discussions ou aux décisions du Conseil du CRSNG concernant la question à propos de laquelle je suis en conflit réel, potentiel ou apparent.

Si un tel conflit d’intérêts se présente à l’égard de mon rôle, de mes fonctions ou de mes responsabilités en tant que membre, je divulguerai immédiatement par écrit l’existence de ce conflit au secrétaire du Conseil, qui en avisera le chef du Conseil et le président du CRSNG, si nécessaire, et je m’abstiendrai de participer aux réunions, aux activités, aux discussions ou aux décisions du Conseil du CRSNG qui concernent la question à l’égard de laquelle je suis en conflit.

Confidentialité et non-divulgation

Je reconnais que la documentation fournie par le CRSNG à ses membres peut contenir des renseignements personnels et de l’information technique confidentielle et que cette information peut être soumise à l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels ainsi qu’à la This link will take you to another Web site Politique sur la sécurité du gouvernement.

Je reconnais que les documents, les communications et les renseignements que je fournis à quiconque dans le cadre de mes fonctions officielles à titre de membre du Conseil peuvent constituer des documents qui sont détenus par le CRSNG et peuvent donc être soumis à l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels ainsi qu’à la This link will take you to another Web site Politique sur la sécurité du gouvernement.

Je reconnais que je dois traiter cette documentation de façon confidentielle et je veillerai à ce que les documents du CRSNG que j’ai en ma possession soient stockés de façon sécuritaire afin d’empêcher qu’on y ait accès sans autorisation.

Je reconnais que lorsque ces documents ne seront plus requis, je devrai les détruire de façon sécuritaire en supprimant les fichiers de données électroniques, en déchiquetant les documents ou encore en faisant en sorte qu’ils soient retournés au CRSNG de manière sécuritaire.

Je reconnais que les délibérations du Conseil sont confidentielles. Il ne faut jamais discuter des commentaires formulés par les membres d’un comité particulier durant les réunions, ni les divulguer à l’extérieur des réunions du Conseil. Il incombe au personnel du CRSNG de communiquer les décisions du Conseil.

Je reconnais qu’à l’occasion, à titre de membre, le CRSNG peut me demander conseil au sujet d’une demande de subvention ou de faire partie d’un comité consultatif ou d’un comité spécial chargé d’attribuer des prix ou des subventions. Je reconnais en outre que les documents d’évaluation remis aux membres doivent uniquement servir aux seules fins pour lesquelles ils ont été initialement recueillis (c.-à-d. pour évaluer les demandes présentées au CRSNG et prendre des décisions sur leur financement). On ne doit les utiliser à aucune autre fin, ni en discuter ou les divulguer à des personnes qui ne font pas partie d’un comité.

Je comprends que la divulgation de renseignements confidentiels et de renseignements personnels constitue un acte grave. J’accepte d’assumer personnellement la responsabilité de me conformer à ces exigences.

J’examinerai et mettrai à jour chaque année l’information fournie relativement à la présente déclaration.

Je comprends que les renseignements fournis dans la présente seront conservés dans les dossiers du Secrétariat du Conseil et que leur accès sera limité au secrétaire du Conseil, au chef (vice-président) du Conseil ainsi qu’au vice-président directeur et au président du CRSNG.

Nom Signature
   
  Date


Il est obligatoire, au moment de votre nomination, de retourner ce formulaire à :

Adjoint administratif à la secrétaire du Conseil
CRSNG
350, rue Albert
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 1H5

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.