Operating context and key risks

Operating context

The Government of Canada and NSERC recognize that Canada’s future prosperity will be determined by the ability of Canadians to harness the results of investments in natural sciences and engineering research and development. New innovations in emerging and disruptive technologies in areas such as clean technologies, big data analytics and artificial intelligence are driving the need for new skills, ideas and innovations.

NSERC’s main stakeholders are Canada’s postsecondary institutions, their faculty, their students, and Canadian business enterprises that conduct and fund R&D. Canadian universities, colleges and polytechnics are challenged by increasing enrolments, an ageing faculty, the lack of diversity of faculty and students in science and engineering, restricted growth of operating budgets, and the pressure to equip their graduates with market ready skills that employers are demanding. Canadian businesses are struggling to invest in R&D and become more innovative. Most NSERC programs are demand-driven and are impacted by the challenges facing our primary stakeholders. For example, an aging university faculty slows the hiring of younger researchers and female faculty. NSERC’s Research Partnership program’s potential growth is affected by stagnant business R&D investment.

As a small agency, NSERC may be limited in its ability to reallocate/utilize resources effectively to meet operational needs, stakeholder expectations, and respond to government priorities. Governance and decision-making underpin NSERC’s ability to manage change.

Key risks

NSERC’s risk management framework provides a comprehensive view of corporate risks, and assigns responsibility for their management. Risk management has been fully integrated into the Agency’s annual integrated planning cycle. Management has ascertained that the overall level of risk to the organization is low in terms of continuity of government operations, the maintenance of services, the protection of Canadian public interests, and the safety and security of Canadians.

In 2018-19, NSERC’s main risks fall under two main categories:

1. Ability to Manage Technological Change and Resource Pressures: Information Infrastructure and Grants Management

NSERC offers funding opportunities that provide support to Canadian researchers and students through grants, scholarships and fellowships. On an annual basis, NSERC processes over 18,000 applications, relying on over 10,000 voluntary peer reviewers, to assess funding for researchers, students, and fellows. To ensure the most efficient delivery of its programs, NSERC requires a robust, efficient and adaptable grants management solution that facilitates the process throughout the grant application and award management lifecycle.

To address challenges associated with outdated technologies and inefficiencies resulting from using a number of different IT systems to deliver its funding, NSERC and SSHRC are developing a new grants management solution that will offer greater functionality and ease of use for the research community. Until this new system is available, NSERC will continue to rely on existing systems and may not be able to adapt to changes in research priorities, reporting requirements and technology. In light of the critical importance of information infrastructure in delivering programs and tracking results, NSERC and SSHRC have developed joint governance structures to oversee project governance and investment planning and to ensure business continuity. It will also work in close collaboration with the Canadian Institutes for Health Research (CIHR) to ensure a more harmonized approach to grants management across the three agencies.

2. Ability to Manage Policy and Program Change: Responding to Changing Priorities

During the period of transition of its information and grants management infrastructure, NSERC will also need to act on new initiatives arising from the government’ response to This link will take you to another Web site Canada’s Fundamental Science Review and the direction provided in This link will take you to another Web site Canada’s Innovation and Skills Plan. As part of this response, NSERC will work in collaboration with SSHRC, CIHR and the Canada Foundation for Innovation to address the priorities articulated by newly formed This link will take you to another Web site Canada Research Coordinating Committee. In the context of limited financial and human resource capacity, NSERC may find itself stretched with respect to its ability to respond in a timely manner to potential program, structural changes while also continuing to deliver results on its existing commitments.

General information
Risks Risk response strategy Link to the department’s core responsibilities Link to mandate letter commitments or to government wide and departmental priorities

Ability to manage technological change and resource pressures: NSERC may not be able to effectively allocate its limited resources to support internal and external pressures while developing a common grants management system which may impact the cost, complexity and timeliness of NSERC program delivery.

NSERC will work together with SSHRC and CIHR to replace their respective ageing and disparate grants management systems with a shared solution.

NSERC will develop a multi-year resource management plan to improve overall organizational effectiveness.

NSERC will strengthen the fundamental tools of governance, systems, and processes, including the link between resource management and corporate planning.

Funding Natural Sciences and Engineering Research and Training

 

Ability to Manage Policy and Program Change: NSERC, as a small agency, may be limited in its ability to respond to government priorities such as the government’s response to the Fundamental Science Review and new initiatives resulting from the Innovation and Skills Plan.

NSERC will work within its existing governance, planning, and priority setting mechanisms to adapt to changing priorities in delivering on the agency’s core mandate and government directives.

Funding Natural Sciences and Engineering Research and Training

This link will take you to another Web site Minister of Science Mandate Letter i :

Examine options to strengthen recognition of, and support for, fundamental research to support new discoveries.

This link will take you to another Web site Innovation and Skills Planii

Support leading-edge research for innovative and job-creating businesses.

i Mandate Letter: This link will take you to another Web site http://pm.gc.ca/eng/minister-science-mandate-letter

ii Innovation Agenda: https://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/062.nsf/eng/home

Contact Newsletter

Get highlights of things happening at NSERC delivered to your email inbox. View all Newsletters

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram

Contexte opérationnel et principaux risques

Contexte opérationnel

Le gouvernement du Canada et le CRSNG reconnaissent que la prospérité économique future du Canada dépendra de la capacité des Canadiens d’exploiter les résultats des investissements dans la recherche et développement (R et D) en sciences naturelles et en génie. Les innovations dans les technologies émergentes et perturbatrices dans les domaines tels que les technologies propres, l’analytique des données massives et l’intelligence artificielle créent le besoin de nouvelles compétences, idées et innovations.

Les principales parties prenantes du CRSNG sont les établissements postsecondaires du Canada, leurs professeurs, leurs étudiants et les entreprises canadiennes qui mènent et financent la R et D. Les universités, les polytechniques et les collèges canadiens font face au défi que posent le nombre croissant d’inscriptions, le vieillissement du corps professoral, le manque de diversité parmi les membres du corps professoral et les étudiants en sciences et en génie et la croissance limitée des budgets de fonctionnement. En outre, ils doivent doter leurs étudiants diplômés des compétences recherchées par les employeurs. Les entreprises canadiennes s’efforcent d’investir dans la R et D et de devenir plus innovatrices. La plupart des programmes du CRSNG sont axés sur la demande et sont touchés par les défis auxquels sont confrontées nos principales parties prenantes. Par exemple, le vieillissement du corps professoral ralentit l’embauche des plus jeunes chercheurs et des membres féminins du corps professoral. La croissance potentielle des programmes de partenariats de recherche du CRSNG est ralentie par un investissement stagnant des entreprises dans la R et D.

Le CRSNG, en tant que petit organisme, pourrait avoir une capacité restreinte de réaffecter ou d'utiliser les ressources efficacement afin de répondre aux besoins opérationnels, aux attentes des parties prenantes et aux priorités du gouvernement. La gouvernance et la prise de décisions permettent au CRSNG de gérer le changement.

Principaux risques

Le cadre de gestion des risques du CRSNG donne une vision complète des risques organisationnels et indique qui est responsable de les gérer. La gestion des risques fait partie intégrante du cycle annuel de planification intégrée de l'organisme. La direction du CRSNG a déterminé que le niveau global des risques organisationnels est faible en ce qui a trait à la continuité des activités gouvernementales, au maintien des services et à la protection des intérêts et de la sécurité des Canadiens.

En 2018-2019, les principaux risques du CRSNG s’inscrivent dans deux catégories principales :

1. Capacité de gérer le changement technologique et les pressions sur les ressources : Infrastructure d’information et gestion des subventions

Le CRSNG offre des possibilités de financement aux chercheurs et aux étudiants canadiens sous forme de subventions et de bourses. Chaque année, il traite plus de 18 000 demandes avec l’aide de plus de 10 000 pairs évaluateurs bénévoles afin d’accorder des fonds aux chercheurs, aux étudiants et aux stagiaires postdoctoraux. Pour assurer l’exécution efficace de ses programmes, il a besoin d’une solution de gestion des subventions solide, efficace et souple qui facilite le processus complet de demande de subvention et de gestion des subventions et bourses.

Pour régler les problèmes associés aux technologies désuètes et à l’inefficacité qui découle de l’utilisation de divers systèmes de technologies de l’information pour accorder leurs fonds, le CRSH et le CRSNG développent une nouvelle solution de gestion des subventions qui offrira une plus grande fonctionnalité et que le milieu de la recherche pourra utiliser plus facilement. En attendant que ce nouveau système soit prêt, le CRSNG continuera d’avoir recours aux systèmes actuels, mais il pourrait ne pas être en mesure de s’adapter aux changements des priorités en recherche, des exigences en matière de rapports et des technologies. Compte tenu de l’importance cruciale de l’infrastructure de l’information pour l’exécution des programmes et le suivi des résultats, le CRSNG et le CRSH ont mis en place des structures conjointes pour surveiller la gouvernance des projets et la planification des investissements et assurer la continuité des activités. Le CRSNG travaillera aussi en étroite collaboration avec les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) afin d’assurer un approche plus harmonisée de la gestion des subventions entre les trois organismes.

2. Capacité de gérer les changements dans les politiques et les programmes : Réagir aux priorités changeantes

Pendant la période de transition vers la nouvelle infrastructure de l’information et de gestion des subventions, le CRSNG devra aussi donner suite à de nouvelles initiatives découlant de la réponse du gouvernement à l’Le lien suivant vous amne  un autre site Web Examen du soutien fédéral aux sciences ainsi qu’aux directives fournies dans le Le lien suivant vous amne  un autre site Web Plan pour l’innovation et les compétences du Canada. À ces fins, le CRSNG travaillera en collaboration avec le CRSH, les IRSC et la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation afin de réaliser les priorités définies par le Le lien suivant vous amne  un autre site Web Comité de coordination de la recherche au Canada récemment créé. Compte tenu de ses ressources financières et humaines restreintes, la capacité du CRSNG de réagir rapidement aux changements potentiels dans ses programmes et structures tout en continuant de respecter ses engagements existants pourrait être mise à rude épreuve.

Principaux risques pour 2018-2019
Risques Stratégie de réponse au risque Lien aux responsabilités essentielles du Ministère Lien aux engagements de la lettre de mandat ou aux priorités pangouvernementales et ministérielles

Capacité de gérer le changement technologique et les pressions sur les ressources : Le CRSNG pourrait ne pas être en mesure d’affecter efficacement ses ressources restreintes pour soutenir les pressions internes et externes tout en élaborant un système commun de gestion des subventions, ce qui pourrait influer sur le cout, la complexité et l’exécution des programmes du CRSNG en temps opportun.

Le CRSNG, le CRSH et les IRSC travailleront ensemble pour remplacer leurs systèmes désuets et disparates de gestion des subventions par une solution commune.

Le CRSNG élaborera un plan de gestion des ressources pluriannuel afin d’améliorer l’efficacité organisationnelle générale.

Le CRSNG renforcera les outils de gouvernance, les systèmes et les processus de base, y compris le lien entre la gestion des ressources et la planification organisationnelle.

Financement de la recherche et de la formation en sciences naturelles et en génie

 

Capacité de gérer les changements dans les politiques et les programmes : Le CRSNG, en tant que petit organisme, pourrait avoir une capacité restreinte de donner suite aux priorités du gouvernement telles que la réponse du gouvernement à l’Examen du soutien fédéral aux sciences et les nouvelles initiatives découlant du Plan pour l’innovation et les compétences.

Le CRSNG aura recours à ses mécanismes existants de gouvernance, de planification et d’établissement des priorités pour s’adapter aux priorités changeantes liées à l’exécution de son mandat de base et aux directives du gouvernement.

Financement de la recherche et de la formation en sciences naturelles et en génie

Le lien suivant vous amne  un autre site Web Lettre de mandat de la ministre des Sciencesi :

Examiner les possibilités de renforcer la reconnaissance et le soutien de la recherche fondamentale pour appuyer les découvertes.

Le lien suivant vous amne  un autre site Web Plan pour l’innovation et les compétencesii

Appuyer la recherche de pointe au profit d’entreprises novatrices qui créent des emplois.

i Le lien suivant vous amne  un autre site Web Lettre de mandat : http://pm.gc.ca/eng/minister-science-mandate-letter

ii Le lien suivant vous amne  un autre site Web Innovation Agenda : https://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/062.nsf/eng/home

Bulletin Contact

Recevez par courriel des mises à jour sur les activités du CRSNG. Consultez tous les numéros.

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram