Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Guidelines Governing Membership of Selection Committees1

The following criteria and guidelines govern the appointment of members of NSERC selection committees.

Composition

Expertise

In order for selection committees to perform their tasks efficiently and equitably, the composition of each committee should represent diversified expertise in the areas of research it covers. As a whole, the committee should possess good judgment and have a broad knowledge of the areas, including new and emerging ones that are often at the frontier between disciplines, and have an ability to assess the potential contribution of the proposals against the objectives of the funding opportunity.

Committees must be able to assess applications in Canada’s two official languages.

Diversity

Diverse committees result in higher-quality peer review.

“Diversity increases our power of sight by providing multiple points of view. Diversity lets participants challenge each other to produce the best course of action. Diversity increases our ability to successfully navigate cultural differences that can often create roadblocks to progress.”

– Goal 03 Build a diversified and competitive research base, NSERC 2020 Strategic Plan

To enhance the diversity of NSERC’s selection committees:

  • Membership must include women and men.
  • Membership should include individuals from academic institutions of varying size.
  • Membership should include individuals at different stages of their careers.
  • The different regions of Canada must be adequately represented.
  • Membership should be drawn from Canadian universities and colleges, foreign institutions, and industry and/or government laboratories.
  • Engineers and natural scientists are to participate in broad-based multi-disciplinary committees.

Members need not be NSERC grantees. Scholarship and fellowship selection committees can include postdoctoral fellows. Recently retired individuals who remain active in research are also potential members.

Members from outside the Canadian academic sector provide valuable contributions, help bring fresh ideas to the process, and strengthen the review depth, particularly in areas where the Canadian expertise is concentrated in only a few institutions. These members bring a perspective from their experience with other peer review systems and research communities.

The participation of members from the private and public sectors in the review process enhances awareness and appreciation of the value of applied research and the potential for application of basic concepts to knowledge and technology transfer or, where appropriate, commercialization. Members from these sectors can offer an understanding of the potential exploitation of research results in commercial operations.

Although each committee should be inclusive of the community within its purview, individual members are not considered to be representing their institution, company, government department, gender, academic discipline, etc.

Membership Dynamics

To maintain stability in membership, while providing a mechanism for membership renewal, NSERC has established a rotation pattern of a committee’s core membership based on three-year terms. These terms represent an appropriate balance between allowing members the time needed to become familiar with policies and procedures, on the one hand, and preventing peer-review fatigue, on the other. They also address the benefits of renewing the membership so that new perspectives are continually incorporated into the review process.

The committee Chairs are appointed by NSERC and are generally drawn from the continuing members of the committee.

Roles and Responsibilities

Selection committee and panel members are appointed by the Director of the relevant funding opportunity, based on the recommendations of program staff. Directors make decisions concerning the size of a committee and any deviations from these guidelines. Directors also make decisions about terminating membership, should the need arise.

In developing recommendations, program staff, in consultation with others, may:

  • review any nominations NSERC has received, including those submitted through Form 250, or from any postsecondary institution, professional and learned societies, and the committees or panels themselves;
  • consult the selection committees and panels (including the Chair and NSERC staff) on their perceived expertise needs for the short and medium term; and
  • consult advisors, including the Group Chair, Chair of the appropriate standing committees, and others (including NSERC staff), to seek references on the suitability of those being considered for membership.

Selection committee composition

It is essential that committees plan for their expertise requirements for at least the next three years, noting particular pressures, or changes in direction of research. It is important to recommend the appointment of new members to cover new or priority areas, and one-for-one replacement is not always appropriate.

The following guidelines should be taken into account in approving a slate of members for a selection committee:

  • Individuals appointed to a committee should be well-regarded by the research community, possess good judgment, and be able to work well with others in a group setting.
  • Committees should have the expertise required to complete, at the highest level of quality, the review process for the applications that they will be assigned.
  • Each committee must be able to review applications in Canada’s two official languages. Committees should have as many bilingual members as needed to ensure appropriate review of the number of French applications received. A minimum of 20% of members should be Francophone.2 In order to enhance the vitality of the English and French linguistic minority communities in Canada and supporting and assisting their development, members from those communities will be included on selection committees, when appropriate.
  • NSERC believes that selection committees benefit from women’s participation and perspective and will strive for equity in this area. NSERC has currently set a committee composition target inspired by This link will take you to another Web site The Report by the Government of Canada's Advisory Council for Promoting Women on Boards (2014). Committees should have a minimum of 20% women, starting in 2016, with the objective of reaching 30% by 2020.
  • Individuals are normally appointed to a committee for three years, with approximately one third of the core membership being replaced each year.
  • Individuals who have previously served on a selection committee may be re-appointed to that same committee if necessary and appropriate. However, four years should elapse from the end of their first appointment before re-appointment.
  • Continuous representation by individuals from a given institution, and particularly from the same department, should be avoided.3
  • The simultaneous membership of two persons from the same institution, and particularly from the same department, should be avoided.3
  • Individuals whose duties include fundraising for research and coordination of research contracts or the selection of Scholarship applications submitted to NSERC cannot be considered for membership on a selection committee that would put them in the position of a real or perceived conflict of interest. This includes Research Grants Officers, Directors of Research Offices and Vice-Presidents (Research) for grants selection committees, and Scholarships Liaison Officers and Deans of Graduate Studies for scholarships and fellowships committees. Such individuals may be considered for appointment to NSERC standing committees.
  • Canadian members should be drawn from the various regions of the country.
  • Committees should have members from institutions of varying size.
  • Committees should have at least 10% of members from institutions outside of academia. The ratio of academic, private and public sector members varies from committee to committee and reflects the nature and culture of disciplines covered by each committee. Some committees will require a larger representation from outside the academic sector than others.
  • Committees should have at least 10% of members from institutions outside Canada. Such members are considered international members. Expatriate Canadians working and living abroad on a permanent basis can be valuable participants in the NSERC peer review system, and are also considered international members.
  • Broad-based multidisciplinary committees should have a minimum of 25% of members representing engineering disciplines and a minimum of 25% of members representing natural sciences disciplines.
  • Individuals who are currently responding to formal allegations of breaches of the This link will take you to another Web site Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research cannot be considered for membership.

Deviations from these guidelines

Deviations from to these guidelines can be made to ensure the committee’s requirements are met. Deviations must be justified and used selectively, and will be assessed on a case-by-case basis. Deviations must be approved by the Director of the funding opportunity, documented and kept on the committee file.

Next policy review date: June 2019

1Committees include evaluation groups and panels.
2A Francophone is defined as either someone whose first language is French or who works in a French environment.
3However, this may be unavoidable if there is a concentration of excellent researchers in a few large departments or if other guidelines and the committee's requirements for expertise cannot otherwise be satisfied. Exceptions can also be made in unusual circumstances (e.g., when a member moves to another institution or if areas of research are rearranged between committees). Flexibility is needed for larger committees.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lignes directrices sur la composition des comités de sélection1

Les lignes directrices et les critères suivants régissent la nomination des membres aux comités de sélection du CRSNG.

Composition

Expertise

Pour s’acquitter de sa tâche de manière satisfaisante et équitable, chaque comité de sélection doit être composé de membres qui représentent une compétence diversifiée dans les domaines de recherche qu’il couvre. Dans l’ensemble, il doit avoir un bon jugement et une connaissance générale de ces domaines, y compris les nouveaux domaines et les domaines en émergence qui sont souvent à la frontière entre les disciplines. Il doit pouvoir évaluer les contributions possibles des propositions en fonction des objectifs de la possibilité de financement.

Les membres des comités doivent être en mesure d’évaluer les demandes dans les deux langues officielles du Canada.

Diversité

La diversité des comités hausse la qualité de l’évaluation par les pairs.

« La diversité élargit notre perspective en nous offrant plusieurs points de vue. Elle favorise la confrontation d’idées nécessaire pour en arriver aux meilleures solutions possible. Enfin, elle renforce notre aptitude à évoluer avec aisance entre les différences culturelles qui posent souvent des obstacles au progrès. »

– Objectif 3 : Bâtir une base de recherche diversifiée et concurrentielle, Plan stratégique de 2020 du CRSNG

Voici des critères à respecter pour accroître la diversité des comités de sélection du CRSNG :

  • les comités doivent compter des femmes et des hommes;
  • les comités doivent compter des membres qui proviennent d’universités de différentes tailles;
  • les comités doivent compter des membres qui sont à différentes étapes de leur carrière;
  • les différentes régions du Canada doivent être adéquatement représentées;
  • les membres doivent provenir d’universités et de collèges canadiens, d’établissements étrangers et de laboratoires de l’industrie ou du gouvernement;
  • des ingénieurs et des spécialistes des sciences naturelles doivent participer aux grands comités multidisciplinaires.

Il n’est pas nécessaire que les membres soient titulaires d’une subvention du CRSNG. Les comités de sélection des bourses peuvent compter des stagiaires postdoctoraux.

Les personnes qui ont pris leur retraite et qui continuent de participer activement à des travaux de recherche constituent également une bonne source de membres potentiels.

Les membres de l’extérieur du milieu postsecondaire canadien apportent des contributions précieuses et des idées nouvelles au processus et assurent une plus grande profondeur de l’évaluation, particulièrement dans les domaines où l’expertise canadienne se concentre dans un petit nombre d’établissements. Leur perspective est basée sur leur expérience d’autres systèmes d’évaluation par les pairs et d’autres communautés de recherche.

La participation de membres œuvrant au sein des secteurs public et privé contribue à sensibiliser davantage le comité à la recherche appliquée et à l’éventuelle application des concepts fondamentaux au transfert des connaissances et de la technologie ou encore, s’il y a lieu, à la commercialisation. Ces membres apportent une compréhension du potentiel d’exploitation des résultats de la recherche dans le cadre d’activités commerciales.

Même si chaque comité doit compter des représentants de la communauté qu’il sert, les membres ne sont pas considérés comme des représentants de leur établissement, entreprise, ministère, sexe, discipline, etc.

Roulement

Dans le but de maintenir une certaine stabilité parmi les membres et de permettre leur renouvellement, le CRSNG a établi un système de roulement fondé sur des mandats de trois ans. La durée de ces mandats représente un juste équilibre qui permet aux membres de se familiariser avec les politiques et les procédures et d’éviter la lassitude à l’égard du processus d’évaluation par les pairs. Elle permet aussi de tirer parti des avantages associés au renouvellement des membres, puisque de nouvelles perspectives sont constamment intégrées au processus d’évaluation.

Les présidents des comités sont nommés par le CRSNG et sont habituellement choisis parmi les membres qui restent en fonction.

Rôles et responsabilités

Le directeur responsable de la possibilité de financement pertinente nomme les membres des comités de sélection en se basant sur les recommandations formulées par le personnel de programme. Il prend les décisions qui concernent la taille d’un comité et les écarts par rapport aux présentes lignes directrices. Il décide également de mettre fin au mandat d’un membre s’il le faut.

Pour élaborer les recommandations, le personnel de programme peut, de concert avec d’autres personnes, prendre les mesures suivantes :

  • examiner les candidatures qu’a reçues le CRSNG, notamment celles qui ont été présentées à l’aide du formulaire 250 ou celles qui proviennent d’établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire, de sociétés professionnelles et savantes et de comités de sélection;
  • consulter les comités de sélection (y compris le président et le personnel du CRSNG) pour savoir quels sont, selon eux, les besoins à court et à moyen terme en matière d’expertise;
  • consulter des conseillers, notamment le président du groupe, le président des comités permanents appropriés et d’autres personnes (notamment le personnel du CRSNG) pour leur demander des références au sujet des personnes pressenties.

Composition des comités de sélection

Il est essentiel que les comités prévoient l’expertise dont ils auront besoin pour au moins les trois prochaines années en tenant compte des pressions particulières ou des changements survenus dans l’orientation de la recherche; il est important de recommander la nomination de nouveaux membres qui connaissent les domaines nouveaux ou prioritaires. Il n’est pas toujours approprié de remplacer un membre par un autre.

Il faut prendre en compte les lignes directrices suivantes pour approuver la liste des membres d’un comité de sélection.

  • Les personnes nommées à un comité doivent avoir une bonne réputation au sein du milieu de la recherche, un bon jugement et la capacité de bien travailler en groupe.
  • Les comités doivent avoir l’expertise requise pour réaliser un processus d’évaluation de la plus haute qualité possible pour les demandes qui leur ont été attribuées.
  • Chaque comité doit être en mesure d’évaluer les demandes dans les deux langues officielles du Canada. Il doit comprendre suffisamment de membres bilingues pour assurer l’évaluation appropriée des demandes rédigées en français qui ont été reçues. Au moins 20 % des membres doivent être francophones. Pour favoriser la vitalité et le développement des communautés linguistiques minoritaires anglophones et francophones du Canada, des membres de ces communautés doivent siéger aux comités de sélection lorsque cela est approprié.
  • Le CRSNG croit que la participation et la perspective des femmes sont importantes pour les comités de sélection; il s’efforcera donc d’atteindre l’équité à cet égard. Il a établi une cible pour la composition des comités qui est basée sur le document intitulé This link will take you to another Web site Rapport du Conseil consultatif du gouvernement du Canada pour la présence des femmes aux conseils d’administration (2014). À partir de 2016, les femmes doivent constituer au moins 20 % des membres, et l’objectif est d’atteindre 30 % d’ici 2020.
  • Les membres sont habituellement nommés à un comité pour une période de trois ans, et environ un tiers des membres sont remplacés chaque année.
  • Les personnes qui ont déjà fait partie d’un comité de sélection peuvent être de nouveau nommées à ce comité, si cela est nécessaire et approprié. Cependant, il doit s’écouler quatre ans entre la fin de leur première nomination et leur nouvelle nomination.
  • Il faut éviter que des membres représentent toujours le même établissement et particulièrement le même département3.
  • Il faut éviter que deux personnes provenant du même établissement et particulièrement du même département soient membres en même temps3.
  • Les personnes dont les tâches consistent notamment à faire des collectes de fonds pour la recherche et à coordonner les contrats de recherche ou la sélection des demandes de bourse présentées au CRSNG ne peuvent être membres d’un comité de sélection, car cette fonction les placerait en situation de conflit d’intérêts réel ou perçu. Il s’agit notamment des responsables des subventions de recherche, des directeurs des bureaux de recherche et des vice‑recteurs à la recherche pour les comités de sélection des subventions et des agents de liaison des bourses et des doyens des études supérieures pour les comités de sélection des bourses. Ces personnes peuvent être nommées aux comités permanents du CRSNG.
  • Les membres canadiens doivent provenir des diverses régions du pays.
  • Les comités doivent compter des membres provenant d’établissements de différentes tailles.
  • Au moins 10 % des membres des comités doivent provenir d’un établissement qui ne fait pas partie du milieu postsecondaire. Le ratio des membres provenant du milieu postsecondaire, du secteur privé et du secteur public varie d’un comité à l’autre et témoigne de la nature et de la culture des disciplines traitées par chaque comité. Les représentants provenant de l’extérieur du milieu postsecondaire doivent être plus nombreux dans certains comités.
  • Au moins 10 % des membres des comités doivent provenir d’un établissement situé à l’extérieur du Canada. Ce sont des membres étrangers. Les Canadiens expatriés qui travaillent et vivent en permanence à l’étranger peuvent être de bons candidats pour le processus d’évaluation par les pairs du CRSNG et sont aussi considérés comme des membres étrangers.
  • Au moins 25 % des membres des grands comités multidisciplinaires doivent représenter les disciplines du génie et au moins 25 %, les disciplines des sciences naturelles.
  • Les personnes qui font l’objet d’allégations officielles de violation du This link will take you to another Web site Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche ne peuvent pas être membres des comités de sélection.

Écarts par rapport aux présentes lignes directrices

Il est possible de s’écarter des lignes directrices pour satisfaire aux exigences d’un comité. Les écarts doivent être justifiés et exceptionnels; ils seront évalués au cas par cas. Ils sont approuvés par le directeur responsable de la possibilité de financement. Ils doivent être documentés, et cette documentation doit être conservée dans le dossier du comité.

Date de la prochaine révision : juin 2019

1Les comités englobent les groupes d’évaluation.
2Un francophone est soit une personne dont la langue maternelle est le français, soit une personne qui travaille dans un milieu francophone.
3Cela peut être inévitable s’il y a une concentration d’excellents chercheurs dans quelques grands départements ou s’il est impossible se conformer à d’autres lignes directrices et de répondre aux besoins du comité en matière d’expertise. Il peut aussi y avoir des exceptions dans des situations inhabituelles (p. ex., si un membre change d’établissement ou s’il y a une nouvelle répartition des domaines de recherche entre les comités). Il faut faire preuve de souplesse pour les grands comités.