Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Independent Audit Committee

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Independent Audit Committee (IAC) was established as per the Government of Canada’s This link will take you to another Web site Policy on Internal Audit. Its fundamental role is to provide objective advice and recommendations to the President regarding the efficiency and effectiveness of NSERC’s risk management, control and governance frameworks, and processes. In order to give this support to the President, the IAC exercises oversight of core areas of NSERC management, control and accountability, including reporting. This is done in an integrated, risk-focused and systematic way.

The composition of the IAC includes:

  • three external independent members who are not part of the federal public service;
  • the President of NSERC; and
  • the Vice-President/Chair of Council (or his/her delegate).

The Chief Financial Officer and the Chief Audit Executive are expected to attend all meetings of the IAC. NSERC’s Executive Vice-President is a permanent guest of the committee. The Chair of the Independent Audit Committee may invite or request the attendance of other NSERC management members.

The Independent Audit Committee will hold four meetings annually in order to carry out its mandate.

The key areas of responsibility that fall within the scope of concern of Departmental Audit Committees are outlined in the Government of Canada’s This link will take you to another Web site Directive on Internal Auditing in the Government of Canada.

Independent Audit Committee Members

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Comité de l'audit externe

Le Comité de l'audit externe (CAE) du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) a été créé en vertu de la This link will take you to another Web site Politique sur la vérification interne du gouvernement du Canada. Son rôle fondamental est de donner au président du CRSNG des avis objectifs et des recommandations au sujet de l’efficacité et de l’efficience des cadres et des processus mis en place par le CRSNG pour la gestion du risque, le contrôle et la gouvernance. Pour fournir cette aide au président, le CAE assure la surveillance des activités essentielles de gestion, de contrôle et de reddition de comptes du CRSNG, notamment la production de rapports. Il adopte pour ce faire une méthode intégrée et systématique axée sur les risques.

Le CAE est formé notamment des membres suivants :

  • trois membres externes indépendants qui ne font pas partie de la fonction publique fédérale;
  • le président du CRSNG;
  • le vice-président/chef du Conseil du CRSNG (ou son remplaçant).

Le directeur financier et le dirigeant principal de l'audit doivent assister à toutes les réunions du CAE. Le vice-président directeur du CRSNG est un membre invité permanent du CAE. Le président du Comité de l'audit externe peut suggérer ou demander la participation d’autres membres de l’équipe de gestion du CRSNG.

Le CAE tiendra quatre réunions par année pour s’acquitter de son mandat.

Les principaux secteurs de responsabilité qui relèvent du mandat des comités ministériels d'audit sont énoncés dans la This link will take you to another Web site Directive sur la vérification interne au gouvernement du Canada.

Membres du Comité de l'audit externe

B. Mario Pinto
B. Mario Pinto
Président
Paul K. Bates
Paul K. Bates
Président du Comité d’audit indépendant
Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.