Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Executive Team

*Designated Public Office Holders for the purposes of the Lobbying Act

B. Mario Pinto
NSERC President

Dr. Pinto received his B.Sc. and Ph.D. in Chemistry from Queen’s University. He served as Professor, Chair of Chemistry and Vice-President Research at Simon Fraser University (SFU), President of the Canadian Society for Chemistry and Vice-Chair of the Chemical Institute of Canada. Dr. Pinto has received numerous awards recognizing the quality and impact of his research, including Fellowship in the Royal Society of Canada. He has also established a track record for developing exciting new models of innovation. Successes include: VentureLabs®; Venture Connection®; Zone Start-Ups India, a joint venture between Ryerson University, SFU and the Bombay Stock Exchange Institute; and a partnership between SFU and the Indian Oil Corporation Ltd. in hydrogen fuel cell technology.

Dr. Pinto joined the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) as its President in November 2014. At NSERC, he augmented the agency’s dual expertise as an investor in discovery-based research and a broker of successful R&D partnerships with technology-driven enterprises to de-risk promising research. A seamless discovery-innovation bidirectional continuum has resulted. He led efforts to develop a new strategic plan, NSERC 2020. He launched an extensive consultation process for the plan to engage Canada’s diverse research ecosystem and to manage change both within NSERC and the external community. In doing so, Dr. Pinto has taken steps to ensure that NSERC is working effectively as a convenor of stakeholder interests in the natural sciences and engineering. 

Dr. Pinto champions global connectivity to increase the power of the line of sight by embracing diverse perspectives. Dr. Pinto is also a champion of gender equity and inclusion of the two-spirit community in research and innovation. He was elected Chair of the Global Research Council in May 2017.

Dr. Pierre Charest
Vice-President, Research Grants and Scholarships Directorate

Pierre Charest joined NSERC in August 2011 and currently serves as Vice-President, Research Grants and Scholarships Directorate. He previously held the position of Associate Vice-President of Corporate Planning and Policy at NSERC.

Prior to his time at NSERC, Pierre worked at Health Canada, where he was Director General of the Science Policy Directorate. Pierre also held the positions of Associate Vice-President of the Science Branch of the Canadian Food Inspection Agency and Director General of Health Canada’s Biologics and Genetic Therapies Directorate and Office of Biotechnology and Science.

Pierre started his career in the public service in 1989 as a research scientist at the Canadian Forest Service of Natural Resources Canada, where he occupied a number of positions with increasing responsibility. He also had appointments as adjunct professor at the University of Victoria and as honorary research associate at the University of New Brunswick.

Before joining NSERC, Pierre served as chair and member of several peer review committees for NSERC, the Canadian Institute of Health Research, the Canada Foundation for Innovation and Genome Canada. He has had a productive research career as author or co-author of 77 scientific publications and presenter of 80 scientific communications and over 25 invited lectures.

Pierre holds a B.Sc.A. and an M.Sc. in Agronomy from Université Laval, graduate certificates in Health System Leadership and Executive Coaching from Royal Roads University, and a Ph. D. in Molecular Biology from Carleton University.

Kevin Fitzgibbons
Executive Director, Corporate Planning and Policy Division

Kevin Fitzgibbons joined NSERC in October 2013. He works to support NSERC’s role in federal science, technology and innovation policy, to drive strategic and integrated planning, and to oversee corporate planning and policy management throughout the organization.

Kevin has over 25 years of experience in the public sector and was previously the Director of Innovation Science and Technology at the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development where he oversaw international science, technology and innovation cooperation projects and investments. He has also worked as the Executive Director of the Office of the National Science Advisor, and as a strategic planning and policy advisor with the National Research Council Canada (NRC).

For his significant efforts and contributions in the public service Kevin was awarded the Queen’s Jubilee Medal for Public Service in 2002. In addition, while he was with the National Research Council, he was awarded the NRC Corporate Services Award for Excellence in 2002, 1999, and 1997, as well as the NRC Excellence Award for Administration in 2000.

Kevin has a Masters of Political Science from Université de Montréal.

Dr. Marc Fortin
Vice-President, Research Partnerships Directorate

As Vice-President of NSERC’s Research Partnerships Directorate, Dr. Fortin is responsible for a range of programs designed to stimulate research partnerships across a broad range of organizations and to maximize the benefits that university and college research provides to Canada.

Prior to joining NSERC, Marc held a variety of positions leading research organizations in both academia and government. For 16 years he held senior leadership positions at McGill University including Department Chair and Associate Dean (Research). For the past 11 years he led the science and technology branches as Assistant Deputy Minister at the Department of National Defence and previously at Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada.

Marc was trained as a molecular geneticist, with a B.Sc. in Plant Science and M.Sc. in Plant Virology from Université Laval and a PhD in Plant Molecular Biology from McGill University. He also underwent Post-doctoral training in Molecular Genetics at the University of California and University of Chicago.

Alfred LeBlanc
Vice-President, Communications, Corporate and International Affairs Directorate

Alfred LeBlanc took on the role of Vice-President of the Communications, Corporate and International Affairs Directorate in January 2016.

Before joining NSERC, Alfred served as Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet, Federal-Provincial-Territorial Relations at the Privy Council Office (PCO). Prior to his position at PCO, he played a crucial role within the Department of Finance as the Director of the Federal Provincial Relations Division. He also spent two years as the Director General of Strategic Policy at Industry Canada (now known as Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada).

Alfred also served as the Deputy Editorial Page Editor of The Financial Post and then editor of the Institute for Research on Public Policy’s Policy Options.

He grew up in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, and completed his undergraduate degree in political science at St. Francis Xavier University. He holds a Master’s degree in economics from Queen’s University as well as a graduate degree in politics and economics from Oxford University, which he attended on a Rhodes Scholarship.

He is married to Jean Scott. Together, they have two daughters – Sophie and Leah.

Jean Saint-Vil
Associate Vice-President, NCE

As Associate Vice-President, NCE, Jean plays a vital role in managing and refreshing the NCE suite of programs by working closely with all three agencies: NSERC, CIHR and SSHRC. Jean brings his knowledge of the Canadian and international science and technology environment, his hands-on experience with Canadian government operations, priorities and strategies, his strong networking skills and ability to structure and manage complex partnerships involving a wide range of players; as well as his strong analytical, writing, and communication skills to bear. He has over 23 years of experience working with the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC). Since September 2010, in his capacity as Director of Policy and International Relations, he worked closely with the President and Senior Management at NSERC, providing strategic leadership and advice on policy development and international outreach. Prior to this, over a span of 11 years, he worked in the Networks of Centres of Excellence Secretariat in various positions. In his capacity as Deputy Director he was in charge of launching the Centres of Excellence for Commercialization and Research.

Patricia Sauvé-McCuan
Chief Financial Officer and Vice-President
Common Administrative Services Directorate (CASD)

Patricia Sauvé-McCuan joined NSERC in March 2016 as the Chief Financial Officer and Vice-President of the Common Administrative Services Directorate (CASD). She works to support both NSERC and SSHRC in the delivery of human resources, finance and awards administration, and information and innovation solutions. As the lead CASD executive, Patricia supports the accountabilities of the presidents by ensuring CASD’s effectiveness as a strategic partner, business enabler and service provider. 

Prior to joining NSERC and SSHRC, Patricia was the Assistant Comptroller General with the Financial Management Transformation Sector of the Government of Canada where she was appointed to lead the Financial Management Transformation Project on behalf of the Office of the Comptroller General of Canada. In other previous appointments, she was responsible for the future direction of Financial Management and Grants and Contributions in the Chief Information Officer Branch at the Treasury Board Secretariat, and was the Chief Information Officer at the Department of National Defence.   

Patricia holds a Master’s degree in Public Administration from Queen’s University and a Bachelor’s degree in Commerce from the University of Ottawa.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Équipe de direction

*Titulaires d'une charge publique désignée aux fins de la Loi sur le lobbying

B. Mario Pinto

Président du CRSNG

M. Pinto a obtenu un baccalauréat en sciences et un doctorat en chimie de la Queen’s University. Il a été professeur, directeur du Département de chimie et vice-recteur à la recherche à la Simon Fraser University (SFU), ainsi que vice-président de l’Institut de chimie du Canada. ll a reçu de nombreux prix en reconnaissance de la qualité et des retombées de ses travaux de recherche. Il a entre autres été nommé membre de la Société royale du Canada. Il a aussi des antécédents bien établis dans l’élaboration de nouveaux modèles d’innovation intéressants. Mentionnons au nombre de ses réussites VentureLabs®, Venture Connection®, Zone Start-Ups India, une entreprise conjointe de la Ryerson University, de la SFU et du Bombay Stock Exchange Institute, et un partenariat entre la SFU et l’Indian Oil Corporation Ltd. pour la technologie de la pile à hydrogène.

En novembre 2014, M. Pinto est devenu président du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG). Il a élargi la double expertise du CRSNG à titre d’investisseur dans la recherche axée sur la découverte et d’agent d’établissement de partenariats de R et D fructueux avec des entreprises de technologie en vue de réduire le risque associé aux travaux de recherche prometteurs. Un continuum bidirectionnel intégré entre la découverte et l’innovation en a résulté. Il a mené les efforts visant à élaborer le nouveau plan stratégique de l’organisme, à savoir le Plan stratégique de 2020 du CRSNG. Il a lancé une vaste consultation pour mobiliser l’écosystème diversifié de la recherche au Canada et gérer le changement au sein du CRSNG et de la collectivité externe. Ce faisant, il a pris des mesures pour s’assurer que le CRSNG fait un travail efficace à titre de responsable des intérêts des intervenants du milieu des sciences naturelles et du génie.

M. Pinto fait la promotion de la connectivité mondiale afin d’élargir notre perspective grâce à l’intégration de divers points de vue. Il milite également en faveur de l’égalité entre les genres et de l’intégration de la communauté bispirituelle dans la recherche et l’innovation. En mai 2017, il a été élu président du Global Research Council.

Pierre Charest
Vice-président, Direction des subventions de recherche et bourses

Pierre Charest s’est joint au CRSNG en août 2011. D’abord vice-président associé, Division de la planification et des politiques organisationnelles, il occupe actuellement le poste de vice-président, Direction des subventions de recherche et bourses.

Avant d’entrer au CRSNG, M. Charest a été directeur général de la Direction des politiques scientifiques à Santé Canada. Il a aussi occupé les postes de vice-président délégué de la Direction générale des sciences à l’Agence canadienne d’inspection des aliments, puis de directeur général de la Direction des produits biologiques et des thérapies génétiques et de directeur général du Bureau de la biotechnologie et de la science, également à Santé Canada.

En 1989, M. Charest a amorcé sa carrière dans la fonction publique comme chercheur scientifique au Service canadien des forêts de Ressources naturelles Canada, où il a occupé divers postes avec des responsabilités accrues. Il a également été professeur auxiliaire à la University of Victoria et attaché de recherche honoraire à l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Avant de se joindre au CRSNG, M. Charest a aussi été président et membre de plusieurs comités d’évaluation par les pairs du CRSNG, des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, de la Fondation canadienne pour l’innovation et de Génome Canada. Dans le cadre de sa prolifique carrière en recherche, il a publié et copublié 77 articles scientifiques, donné 80 communications scientifiques et plus de 25 exposés à titre de conférencier.

M. Charest est titulaire d’un baccalauréat (B.Sc.A.) et d’une maîtrise (M.Sc.) en agronomie de l’Université Laval, de certificats d’études supérieures en direction efficace du système de santé (Health System Leadership) et en accompagnement professionnel pour les cadres (Executive Coaching) de la Royal Roads University, de même que d’un doctorat en biologie moléculaire de la Carleton University.

Kevin Fitzgibbons
Directeur exécutif, Division de la planification et des politiques organisationnelles

Kevin Fitzgibbons s’est joint au CRSNG en octobre 2013. À ce titre, il appuie le rôle du CRSNG en ce qui a trait aux politiques fédérales en matière de sciences, de technologie et d’innovation. En outre, il dirige l’exercice de planification intégrée et stratégique et supervise la planification organisationnelle et la gestion des politiques dans l’ensemble de l’organisme.

M. Fitzgibbons possède plus de 25 ans d’expérience dans le secteur public. Il a auparavant été directeur de la Direction de l’innovation, de la science et de la technologie au ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement. En cette qualité, il supervisait les projets de coopération et les investissements internationaux en sciences, en technologie et en innovation. Il a également été directeur administratif du Bureau du conseiller national des sciences, et conseiller en politiques et en planification stratégique au Conseil national de recherches Canada (CNRC).  

Il a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de la reine Elizabeth II en 2002 pour sa contribution et son dévouement exceptionnels au sein de la fonction publique. De plus, au cours de sa période d’emploi au CNRC, il s’est vu décerner le Prix d’excellence en services généraux du CNRC en 1997, en 1999 et en 2002, ainsi que le Prix d’excellence en administration du CNRC en 2000.

M. Fitzgibbons est titulaire d’une maîtrise en sciences politiques de l’Université de Montréal.

Alfred LeBlanc
Vice-président, Direction des communications et des affaires générales et internationales

Alfred LeBlanc occupe le poste de vice-président de la Direction des communications et des affaires générales et internationales depuis janvier 2016.

Avant de se joindre au CRSNG, M. LeBlanc travaillait au Bureau du Conseil privé (BCP) à titre de secrétaire adjoint du Cabinet, Relations fédérales, provinciales et territoriales. Avant de travailler au BCP, il a occupé le poste clé de directeur de la Division des relations fédérales-provinciales au sein du ministère des Finances Canada. Il a également travaillé à Industrie Canada à titre de directeur général de la Politique stratégique (ministère désormais connu sous le nom Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada).

En outre, M. LeBlanc a travaillé comme éditorialiste en chef adjoint du quotidien The Financial Post et, par la suite, comme rédacteur en chef de la revue Options politiques de l’Institut de recherche en politiques publiques.

M. LeBlanc a grandi au Cap Breton, en Nouvelle-Écosse, où il a obtenu un baccalauréat en sciences politiques de la St. Francis Xavier University. Plus tard, il a obtenu une maîtrise en économie de la Queen’s University et un diplôme d’études supérieures en politique et en économie de la Oxford University, qu’il a fréquentée à titre de boursier de la fondation Rhodes.

Il est marié à Jean Scott, et le couple a deux filles, Sophie et Leah.

Jean Saint-Vil
Vice-président associé des RCE

À titre de vice-président associé des RCE, Jean joue un rôle crucial dans la gestion et le rajeunissement de la série de programmes des RCE en travaillant en étroite collaboration avec les trois organismes subventionnaires (le CRSNG, les IRSC et le CRSH). Il met à profit sa connaissance du milieu scientifique et technologique canadien et international, son expérience pratique des activités, des priorités et des stratégies du gouvernement du Canada, ses solides compétences en réseautage, sa capacité de structurer et de gérer des partenariats complexes qui comportent divers acteurs, ainsi que ses solides compétences en analyse, en écriture et en communication. Il possède plus de 23 ans d’expérience au Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG). À titre de directeur, Politiques et relations internationales (depuis septembre 2010), il a travaillé étroitement avec le président et la haute direction du CRSNG; il a exercé un leadership stratégique et fourni des avis sur l’élaboration des politiques et le rayonnement international. Auparavant, il a occupé divers postes au Secrétariat des RCE sur une période de 11 ans. En tant que directeur adjoint des RCE, il était responsable du lancement du Programme des centres d’excellence en commercialisation et en recherche.

Patricia Sauvé-McCuan
Dirigeante principale des finances et vice-présidente
Direction des services administratifs communs (DSAC)

Patricia Sauvé-McCuan s’est jointe au CRSNG en mars 2016 à titre de dirigeante principale des finances et vice-présidente de la Direction des services administratifs communs (DSAC). Son travail consiste à appuyer le CRSNG et le CRSH dans la recherche de solutions en matière de ressources humaines, de finances et d’administration des subventions et des bourses, et d’information et d’innovation. En qualité de cadre supérieure de la DSAC, Mme Sauvé-McCuan appuie l’obligation redditionnelle des présidents en assurant l’efficacité de la DSAC en tant que partenaire stratégique, facilitateur opérationnel et fournisseur de services.  

Avant de se joindre au CRSNG et au CRSH, Mme Sauvé-McCuan occupait le poste de contrôleure générale adjointe au sein du Secteur de la transformation de la gestion financière du gouvernement du Canada où elle a dirigé le projet de transformation de la gestion financière au nom du Bureau du contrôleur général.

Dans le cadre de ses nominations précédentes, elle a été chargée de définir l’orientation des secteurs de la gestion des finances et des subventions et des contributions au sein de la Direction du dirigeant principal de l’information du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada. Elle a aussi occupé le poste de dirigeante principale de l’information au ministère de la Défense nationale.

Mme Sauvé-McCuan est titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration publique de la Queen’s University et d’un baccalauréat en commerce de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Bert van den Berg
Vice-président par intérim
Direction des partenariats de recherche

En tant que vice-président par intérim de la Direction des partenariats de recherche du CRSNG, Bert van den Berg est responsable d’une gamme de programmes conçus pour stimuler la collaboration et le transfert de technologie entre les secteurs public et privé et maximiser les avantages que la recherche menée dans les universités et les collèges apporte au Canada.

M. van den Berg est directeur de la Division des collèges, de la commercialisation et de la planification du portefeuille, au sein de la Direction des programmes de partenariats de recherche au CRSNG, depuis 2008. En plus de diriger la prestation et la croissance du Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté, il a été le fer de lance de l’élaboration de la Stratégie en matière de partenariats et d’innovation du CRSNG. Employé du CRSNG depuis 2002, il possède une vaste expérience en matière de prestation des programmes, particulièrement ceux axés sur les partenariats.

M. van den Berg a été à la tête d’un groupe de recherche en fabrication intégrée au Conseil national de recherches Canada pendant plus de dix ans, et il a assumé divers rôles au sein d’une petite entreprise de technologie pendant plus de six ans. Titulaire d’une maîtrise en administration des affaires avec concentration en innovation, il possède les connaissances essentielles sur l’environnement de recherche et développement au Canada qui lui permettent d’appuyer la recherche et l’innovation en milieu postsecondaire au moyen des programmes de financement du CRSNG.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.