Made-in-Canada Athena SWAN consultation

The consultation period has been completed. A complete summary report will be made available soon. Thank you to everyone who provided input.

Invitation for comments

As committed to in Budget 2018, NSERC will be implementing an Athena SWAN initiative, adapted to the Canadian context and reflecting post-secondary institutions in Canada. You are encouraged to share your views and ideas about the draft Athena SWAN Charter, using our guiding questions to frame your feedback.

Your responses will be used to enhance the Athena SWAN Charter and improve program design. In order to add to the transparency of the consultation process, NSERC may post on its website a brief, high-level summary of the feedback received. This would be done without attribution to and without identifying individuals.

Written comments should be sent as attachments to: consultations@nserc-crsng.gc.ca. Please indicate in your email if you are responding as an individual or on behalf of an institution/organization.

If you are responding as an individual, we recommend that you not include text in your comments that could identify you or other individuals. If the response is from an institution or organization, it should represent the views of the institution or organization and not those of specific individuals only. We recommend that the response not include text about specific individuals or that could identify the individual author(s) of the responses. Responses from institutions/organizations are not normally considered to be personal information.

Please note that information received throughout this submission process is subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. Your information will also be managed in accordance with Treasury Board Secretariat policies, directives and guidelines on information management and protection of personal information , and with NSERC’s retention and disposition schedules. Please also refer to the Personal Information Bank PSU 938 - Outreach Activities.


Context

Canada's greatest potential can only be realized when all people are welcomed into the lab, the classroom and the field. That is why the Government of Canada is taking action to improve equity, diversity and inclusion in the research community.

Recently the Government of Canada announced it would move forward with implementing a made in Canada Athena SWAN initiative.

The Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science and Sport, is currently consulting with post-secondary education institutions to discuss their views on how to adapt the Athena SWAN (Scientific Women's Academic Network) initiative for a Made-in-Canada approach.

"Our intent is to adapt Athena SWAN so that we have a truly made-in-Canada approach that reflects Canada's unique reality. Everyone deserves to have their voice heard and to be valued equally in scientific research. The Athena SWAN initiative is key to making this happen," Minister Duncan said.


Background

The UK Athena SWAN (Scientific Women's Academic Network) is an internationally recognized initiative that celebrates higher education institutions that have implemented practices to advance EDI in the sciences. Since its launch in 2005, the Athena SWAN initiative has been widely implemented in the UK higher education sector, where it is run by Advance Higher Education (AdvanceHE).

Athena SWAN was established to increase EDI and help drive deeper cultural change within the research ecosystem. Sound EDI-informed policies and practices increase access to the largest pool of qualified potential participants, enhance the integrity of a program's application and selection processes, strengthen research outputs and the overall excellence of research.

An independent research study carried out by Loughborough University in the UK reported on a number of benefits of the program, including advancing careers of women and creating a positive impact on changing attitude and culture.

As a certification-focused awards program, it follows a well-established model of using promising practices, shared standards, evaluation and benchmarking to raise performance and increase quality. At present, in the UK, 731 research institutions and departments hold an award, of which there are three levels: Gold, Silver and Bronze. Institutions who participate in the Athena SWAN program must sign and endorse the Athena SWAN Equality Charter.

The Athena SWAN Equality Charter encourages and recognizes commitment by post-secondary education institutions to advancing the careers of women in science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) employment in higher education and research.


Awards process

Research institutions apply for Athena SWAN awards, which are valid for multiple years. Applications are peer reviewed, however, unlike traditional peer review, applications are not ranked against others as in a normal competition. Applications focus on how institutions a) identify best practices as well as barriers to gender equity, b) construct an action plan to address the problems identified, c) implement these actions and d) evaluate outcomes.


Athena SWAN outside of the UK

The Athena SWAN model has been implemented in other countries outside of the UK with variations in focus and scope: Ireland, Australia and the US. In Australia (Science in Australia Gender Equity- SAGE) and the United States (STEM Equity Achievement - SEA Change), the program is still in the pilot stage. Australia focuses on STEM fields. The US version has increased the scope of underrepresented groups to include persons with disabilities and racialized populations, and will focus on all areas of the research ecosystem. The adoption of the Athena SWAN model in the US was the subject of a Nature article in September 2017.

Contact Newsletter

Get highlights of things happening at NSERC delivered to your email inbox. View all Newsletters

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram

Consultation sur la version canadienne de l'initiative Athena SWAN

La période de consultations est maintenant terminée. Un compte rendu complet sera bientôt publié. Nous remercions toutes les personnes qui ont formulé des commentaires.

Appel de commentaires

Tel qu’il est indiqué dans le budget de 2018, le CRSNG mettra en œuvre l’initiative Athena SWAN, en l’adaptant au contexte canadien et en tenant compte des établissements postsecondaires du pays. Nous vous invitons à nous faire part de votre point de vue et de vos idées au sujet de la version provisoire de la charte Athena SWAN en vous servant des questions posées pour formuler vos commentaires.

Vos réponses serviront à améliorer la charte Athena SWAN et la conception du programme. Afin d’accroitre la transparence du processus de consultation, le CRSNG pourrait afficher dans son site Web un résumé succinct des commentaires reçus. Les commentaires seraient affichés sans les attribuer à leur auteur.

Prière de faire parvenir vos commentaires par écrit à consultations@nserc-crsng.gc.ca. Dans votre courriel, indiquez si vous formulez des commentaires à titre personnel ou au nom d’un établissement ou d’une organisation.

Si vous formulez des commentaires à titre personnel, nous vous recommandons de ne pas inclure dans vos commentaires du texte qui pourrait vous identifier ou identifier d’autres personnes. Si vous formulez des commentaires au nom d’un établissement ou d’une organisation, vos commentaires devraient représenter son opinion et non celle de certaines personnes seulement. Nous vous recommandons de ne pas inclure dans votre réponse du texte qui concerne certaines personnes ou qui pourrait identifier l’auteur ou les auteurs de la réponse. Les commentaires formulés au nom d’un établissement ou d’une organisation ne sont généralement pas considérés comme étant des renseignements personnels.

Veuillez noter que l’information reçue dans le cadre de la consultation est assujettie à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. De plus, ces renseignements seront gérés conformément aux politiques, directives et lignes directrices du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor concernant la gestion de l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels et aux calendriers de conservation et d’élimination du CRSNG. Vous pouvez également consulter le fichier de renseignements personnels POU 938 – Activités de sensibilisation.


Contexte

Pour réaliser son plein potentiel, le Canada doit s'assurer que les laboratoires, les salles de classe et le travail sur le terrain sont accessibles à tous. Pour ce faire, le gouvernement du Canada prend des mesures visant à améliorer l'équité, la diversité et l'inclusion dans le milieu de la recherche.

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé récemment qu'il mettrait en place une version canadienne de l'initiative Athena SWAN.

L'honorable Kirsty Duncan, ministre des Sciences et des Sports, consulte actuellement les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire afin de connaitre leur point de vue sur la façon d'adapter l'initiative Athena SWAN (Scientific Women's Academic Network) de manière à créer un programme proprement canadien.

« Nous cherchons à adapter l'initiative Athena SWAN pour en faire un programme canadien qui soit parfaitement adapté à la réalité du Canada. Chacun a le droit de faire entendre sa voix et d'être traité sur un pied d'égalité dans le milieu de la recherche. Et ce programme est un pas dans la bonne direction », affirme la ministre Duncan.


Renseignements généraux

Reconnue à l'échelle internationale, l'initiative Athena SWAN (Scientific Women's Academic Network) du Royaume-Uni accorde une mention aux établissements d'enseignement supérieur ayant adopté des pratiques qui favorisent l'équité, la diversité et l'inclusion (EDI) en sciences. Depuis son lancement en 2005, l'initiative a été mise en œuvre à grande échelle dans le secteur de l'enseignement supérieur au Royaume-Uni, où elle est dirigée par Advance Higher Education (AdvanceHE).

Athena SWAN a été créé afin d'améliorer l'EDI et d'aider à engendrer un changement profond de culture au sein de l'écosystème de la recherche. De solides politiques et pratiques fondées sur l'EDI donnent accès à un bassin très vaste de personnes qualifiées, rehaussent l'intégrité des processus de demande et de sélection d'un programme et améliorent les résultats et l'excellence globale de la recherche.

Une étude indépendante (en anglais) menée par la Loughborough University au Royaume-Uni a permis de relever plusieurs retombées positives de l'initiative, dont l'avancement professionnel des femmes et l'effet positif sur le changement d'attitude et de culture.

Ce programme de mentions axé sur un processus de certification suit un modèle bien établi qui mise sur des pratiques prometteuses, des normes communes, l'évaluation et l'analyse comparative pour améliorer les résultats et rehausser la qualité. Actuellement, au Royaume-Uni, 731 établissements et départements de recherche ont reçu la mention Or, Argent ou Bronze. Les établissements qui participent à l'initiative Athena SWAN doivent signer et adopter la charte sur l'égalité Athena SWAN.

La charte sur l'égalité Athena SWAN incite les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire à s'engager à favoriser l'avancement des femmes qui font carrière dans le milieu de l'enseignement supérieur et de la recherche en sciences, en technologie, en ingénierie et en mathématiques (STIM) et permet de reconnaitre les efforts qu'ils font en ce sens.


Processus d'attribution des mentions

Les établissements de recherche présentent leur dossier de candidature pour obtenir l'une des mentions Athena SWAN, qui sont valides plusieurs années. Les dossiers sont évalués par les pairs. Toutefois, contrairement à l’évaluation par les pairs que l'on connait, les candidatures ne sont pas classées les unes par rapport aux autres comme c'est le cas dans le cadre d'un concours. Les dossiers de candidature portent principalement sur la façon dont les établissements a) déterminent les pratiques exemplaires et les obstacles à l'équité entre les sexes; b) élaborent un plan d'action pour résoudre les problèmes cernés; c) mettent en œuvre les mesures découlant du plan d'action et d) évaluent les résultats.


Athena SWAN en dehors du Royaume-Uni

Le modèle Athena SWAN a été mis en œuvre dans d'autres pays, soit en Irlande, en Australie et aux États-Unis, avec quelques différences en ce qui concerne le but et la portée. En Australie (Science in Australia Gender Equity [SAGE]) et aux États-Unis (STEM Equity Achievement [SEA Change]), le programme en est encore à l'étape pilote. L'Australie met l'accent sur les disciplines des STIM, tandis que la version américaine comporte une définition élargie de groupes sous-représentés qui inclut les personnes handicapées et les populations racialisées et vise tous les domaines de l'écosystème de la recherche. L'adoption du modèle Athena SWAN aux États-Unis a fait l'objet d'un article dans la revue Nature en septembre 2017.

Bulletin Contact

Recevez par courriel des mises à jour sur les activités du CRSNG. Consultez tous les numéros.

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram