Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Sophie LaRochelle

Sophie LaRochelle

Dr. Sophie LaRochelle (Ph.D. Optics, the University of Arizona; M.Sc. Physics, Université Laval) is a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Université Laval, and the Holder of the Canada Research Chair (Tier 1) in Advanced Photonics Technologies for Communications. Previously, she was a Defense Scientist at RDDC-Valcartier.

Dr. LaRochelle has more than 20 years of experience in fiber optics propagation and components, fiber optics communications, fiber Bragg gratings and their applications, and other related fields. 150 of her papers have been published in peer-reviewed journals and more than 200 papers in highly selective conferences, such as the Optical Fiber Communications Conference.

Presently, she is a senior member of IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers); a member of OIQ (Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec); and a fellow member of the Optical Society of America. She was a member of the advisory committee to Quebec’s Minister of Développement économique, Innovation et Exportation, for the revision of the 2010-2013 Quebec investment policy in research and innovation. She was also on the Board of Directors for CMC Microsystems. Dr. LaRochelle has also been the member of various technical committees and award selection committees, and the recipient of numerous research grants and contracts. She has collaborations with many international and Canadian laboratories. In her career, she has directed or co-directed the work of 50 graduate students, M.Sc. and Ph.D., and 20 post-doctoral fellows. 

Dr. LaRochelle is a member of NSERC’s Committee on Research Partnerships.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Sophie LaRochelle

Sophie LaRochelle

Sophie LaRochelle est titulaire d’une maitrise en physique de l’Université Laval et d’un doctorat en optique de la University of Arizona. Elle est professeure au Département de génie électrique et de génie informatique de l’Université Laval et titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada (niveau 1) en technologies photoniques d’avant‐garde pour les communications. Elle travaillait auparavant comme scientifique de la défense à Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada (RDDC) – Valcartier.

Mme LaRochelle compte plus de 20 années d’expérience dans les domaines de la propagation et des composants des fibres optiques, des communications par fibre optique, des réseaux de Bragg sur fibre et de leurs applications ainsi que dans d’autres domaines connexes. Elle a publié 150 articles dans des revues à comité de lecture et en a présenté plus de 200 dans le cadre de conférences prestigieuses, comme l’Optical Fiber Communications Conference.

Sophie LaRochelle est actuellement membre sénior de l’Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), membre de l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec (OIQ) et membre de l’Optical Society of America. Elle a fait partie du comité consultatif du ministre du Développement économique, de l’Innovation et de l’Exportation du Québec pour la révision de la politique d’investissement provinciale dans la recherche et l’innovation 2010-2013. Mme LaRochelle a également siégé au conseil d’administration de CMC Microsystèmes. Elle a aussi été membre de divers comités techniques et comités de sélection de prix et obtenu bon nombre de contrats et de subventions de recherche. Sophie LaRochelle a par ailleurs établi des collaborations avec de nombreux laboratoires au Canada et à l’étranger. Au cours de sa carrière, elle a dirigé, seule ou avec un codirecteur, les travaux de 50 étudiants à la maitrise ou au doctorat et de 20 stagiaires postdoctoraux.

Mme LaRochelle est membre du Comité des partenariats de recherche du CRSNG.