Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Sarah Shortreed

Sarah Shortreed

Ms. Sarah Shortreed (BESc – Mechanical Engineering, University of Western Ontario) is the Chief Information Officer at Bruce Power. She is responsible for the corporate Innovation mandate, Cyber Security, IT operations and projects, as well as performing command functions, and other executive participation as part of nuclear operations. She was previously Vice-President, Enterprise Portfolio Management at BlackBerry, responsible for product lifecycle management process and strategic planning.

Ms. Shortreed is a technology executive who delivers significant growth in the mobile and digital environments through alignment of new business models and forward thinking. She specializes in combining strategy and operations to drive business growth using technology, and has global experience in many industries and executive roles. Ms. Shortreed is also a sought-after public speaker in the areas of mobility in the enterprise, future of mobile computing, digital media and mentoring.

Ms. Shortreed is a member of Digital Media and Technology Committee for Canadian Women in Communications and the Risk and Audit Committee for Microskills. She is also a Board Member of Canadian Coalition for ICT careers (CCICT), now “ITAC Talent”. She has won several awards, including the Launchland Engineering Medal in 2009 and the Women of Waterloo Tech Award in 2010.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Sarah Shortreed

Sarah Shortreed

Mme Sarah Shortreed (baccalauréat en génie mécanique, University of Western Ontario) est la dirigeante principale de l’information à la centrale Bruce Power. Son mandat englobe les responsabilités suivantes : innovation organisationnelle, cybersécurité, opérations et projets de TI, fonctions de commandement et participation, à titre de cadre, à des opérations nucléaires. Elle était auparavant vice‑présidente, Gestion du portefeuille d’entreprise chez BlackBerry, où elle était responsable du processus de gestion du cycle de vie des produits et de la planification stratégique.

Mme Shortreed est une cadre supérieure qui a une expérience de la technologie et qui favorise la croissance des environnements mobiles et numériques en alignant les nouveaux modèles d’affaires et en adoptant une approche avant‑gardiste. Elle se spécialise dans la combinaison de stratégies et d’activités pour favoriser la croissance des entreprises grâce à la technologie. Elle a acquis à l’échelle mondiale une expérience de nombreux secteurs et postes de cadre. Elle est également une conférencière très recherchée dans les domaines de la mobilité dans l’entreprise, de l’avenir de l’informatique mobile, des médias numériques et de l’encadrement.

Mme Shortreed est membre du Comité des médias numériques et de la technologie pour les femmes canadiennes en communications et du Comité du risque et de l’audit de Microskills. Elle fait également partie du conseil d’administration de la Coalition canadienne pour une relève en technologies de l’information et des communications (CCRTIC), qui s’appelle maintenant « ACTI Talent ». Elle a gagné plusieurs prix, notamment la Launchland Engineering Alumni Medal en 2009 et le Women of Waterloo Tech Award en 2010.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.