Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Julia Biedermann

Julia Biedermann

Dr. Julia Biedermann, (PhD University of Waterloo; MASc University of Toronto; BASc University of Toronto) is a professional engineer. She is currently Executive Dean, School of Engineering and Information Technology, Trades and Apprenticeship, and the Institute of Food Processing Technology at Conestoga College. Previously, she worked for the University of Guelph, Bell Canada and the Ministry of Transportation of Ontario.

Dr. Biedermann has spent the greater part of her career in post-secondary education. In her current role as Executive Dean, Dr. Biedermann provides senior academic leadership to a full range of programs including apprenticeships, one-year certificates, diplomas, graduate certificates and four-year degrees. Conestoga is the only college in Ontario offering accredited engineering degree programs. Dr. Biedermann also provides leadership for research initiatives and directs the development of proposals to support applied research and innovation. She is actively involved in the establishment and management of the Centre for Smart Manufacturing in the School of Engineering and Information Technology. The Centre for Smart Manufacturing represents a commitment to industry-partnered applied research with the goal of accelerating innovation for small to medium enterprises by supporting the transformation of ideas into marketable and viable commercial products and services.

Dr. Biedermann also serves as a member of the provincial Heads of Technology, the National Council of Deans of Engineering and Applied Science, the National Council of Deans of Technology, and the Council of Deans of Trades and Apprenticeship.

Dr. Biedermann is a member of NSERC’s Executive Committee.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Julia Biedermann

Julia Biedermann

Julia Biedermann (doctorat de la University of Waterloo; maîtrise en sciences de la University of Toronto; baccalauréat en sciences de la University of Toronto) est ingénieure. Elle est à l’heure actuelle doyenne administrative de la School of Engineering and Information Technology, Trades and Apprenticeship, et de l’Institute of Food Processing Technology, au Collège Conestoga. Auparavant, elle avait travaillé pour la University of Guelph, Bell Canada et le ministère des Transports de l’Ontario.

Mme Biedermann a consacré la plus grande partie de sa carrière à l’éducation postsecondaire. Dans son rôle actuel de doyenne administrative, elle assure un leadership de haut niveau au regard d’un éventail de programmes, y compris des programmes d’apprentissage, des programmes menant à l’obtention d’un certificat (programmes d’un an), d’un diplôme et d’un certificat d’études supérieures et des programmes d’études de quatre ans. Le Collège Conestoga est le seul collège en Ontario qui offre des programmes agréés en génie. Mme Biedermann offre également un leadership en ce qui concerne les initiatives de recherche et dirige l’élaboration de propositions pour appuyer la recherche appliquée et l’innovation. Elle participe activement à l’établissement et à la gestion du Centre for Smart Manufacturing, qui est rattaché à la School of Engineering and Information Technology. Le Centre constitue un engagement du Collège Conestoga envers la participation de l’industrie à la recherche appliquée en appuyant la transformation des idées en produits et services commercialisables et viables afin d’accélérer l’innovation chez les petites et moyennes entreprises.

Mme Biedermann est également membre du Provincial Heads of Technology, du Conseil canadien des doyens d’ingénierie et des sciences appliquées, du National Council of Deans of Technology et du Conseil des directeurs des programmes de métiers et d’apprentissage du Canada.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.