Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Role of the Vice-President and Chair of Council

Background

Note:  “Council” refers to the group of 18 members while “NSERC” refers to the corporate and operating entity. 

The This link will take you to another Web site Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada Act (Section 6 (1)) describes how the Vice-President of Council is appointed:

The Council may, with the approval of the Governor in Council, elect one of its members to be Vice-President of the Council.

In accordance with the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) By-laws, the Vice-President of Council presides at (chairs) meetings of Council and its Executive Committee, and the President of NSERC, as mandated by the This link will take you to another Web site Act (Sections 3, 10 and 11), is the chief executive officer, has supervision over and direction of the work and staff of NSERC, and is a member of Council and the Executive Committee. The Vice-President and Chair and the President are ex-officio members of the other committees of Council (the Committee on Grants and Scholarships and the Committee on Research Partnerships).

The Vice-President and Chair of Council may be contacted through NSERC’s Secretariat at sectr@nserc-crsng.gc.ca or 613-995-5896.

Role and Duties of the Vice-President and Chair of Council

The Vice-President and Chair is primarily responsible for leading and managing the Council. This is done in close collaboration with the President and with the active support of the Corporate Secretary, especially as it relates to the planning and organizing of Council and Executive Committee meetings and materials. The duties of the Vice-President and Chair primarily concern:

  • Planning the work of the Council;
  • Leading Council meetings;
  • Working and liaising with the President;
  • Managing the performance of the Council, its Committees and members;
  • Planning succession of the Council members; and
  • Representing the Council to outside parties.

The Vice-President and Chair, or his/her delegate, is also a member of the Independent Audit Committee and of the This link will take you to another Web site Canada Excellence Research Chairs Selection Board.

The Vice-President and Chair may also carry out other duties as requested by the President or Council depending on need and circumstances. If the President is temporarily unavailable, then the Vice-President and Chair may act on the President’s behalf, as directed by the President. In accordance with the This link will take you to another Web site Act (Section 6 (2)), in the event of the absence or incapacity of the President, or if the office of President is vacant, the Vice-President has all the powers of the President.

In practice, under these circumstances, the Vice-President and Chair is the Interim President of NSERC but, may be unable to exercise all the responsibilities and powers of the President due to other commitments or the location of his/her home and/or business. He or she may assign responsibilities for the supervision over and direction of the work and staff of NSERC to a Vice-President of NSERC, to act as the Chief Operating Officer.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Rôle du vice-président et chef du Conseil

Information générale

Remarque : Le « Conseil » désigne le groupe de 18 membres, alors que le « CRSNG » désigne l’entité juridique active.

La This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada – article 6 (1) décrit comment le vice-président du Conseil est nommé :

Le Conseil peut, avec l’approbation du gouverneur en conseil, élire un de ses membres en tant que vice-président du Conseil.

Conformément aux règlements du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG), le vice-président du Conseil préside les réunions du Conseil et celles du Bureau du Conseil. Le président du CRSNG, en vertu du mandat qui lui est conféré par la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada This link will take you to another Web site (articles 3, 10 et 11) –, est le premier dirigeant du Conseil; à ce titre, il en assure la direction et contrôle la gestion de son personnel, et est membre du Conseil et du Bureau du Conseil. Le vice-président et chef du Conseil et le président sont membres d’office d’autres comités permanents du Conseil (Comité des subventions et bourses et Comité des partenariats de recherche).

Vous pouvez rejoindre le vice-président et chef du Conseil par l’entremise du Secrétariat du CRSNG au sectr@nserc-crsng.gc.ca ou au 613-995-5896. 

Rôle et fonctions du vice-président et chef du Conseil

Le vice-président et chef du Conseil est principalement responsable de diriger et de gérer le Conseil. Il effectue ces tâches en étroite collaboration avec le président du CRSNG et avec l’appui concret du secrétaire du Conseil, tout particulièrement en ce qui a trait à la planification et à l’organisation des réunions et de la documentation du Conseil et du Bureau du Conseil. Les tâches principales du vice-président et chef du Conseil sont les suivantes :

  • planifier les activités du Conseil;
  • diriger les réunions du Conseil;
  • travailler avec le président du CRSNG et assurer la liaison avec lui;
  • gérer le rendement du Conseil, de ses comités et de ses membres;
  • planifier la relève des membres du Conseil;
  • représenter le Conseil auprès de parties externes.

Le vice-président et chef du Conseil (ou son représentant) est aussi membre du Comité indépendant de vérification et du This link will take you to another Web site Comité de sélection du Programme des chaires d’excellence en recherche du Canada.

Le vice-président et chef du Conseil peut également exécuter d’autres fonctions à la demande du président du CRSNG ou du Conseil selon les besoins et les circonstances. Si le président du CRSNG est temporairement non disponible, le vice-président et chef du Conseil peut alors agir en son nom, selon ses directives. Selon l'This link will take you to another Web site article 6 (2) de la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada, en cas d’absence ou d’empêchement du président ou de vacance de son poste, la présidence est assumée par le vice-président.

Dans un pareil cas, il se peut qu’en pratique le vice-président et chef du Conseil ne soit pas en mesure d’assumer l’ensemble des responsabilités et des pouvoirs du président en raison d’autres engagements ou de l’emplacement de son domicile ou de son travail. Il peut alors assigner des responsabilités de supervision et de direction des activités et du personnel du CRSNG à un vice-président du CRSNG, qui agira à titre de chef des opérations.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.