Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Eye in the Sky - Unpiloted aircraft in a future near you - Alan F. Lynch


Summary

Video Name

Eye in the Sky - Unpiloted aircraft in a future near you - Alan F. Lynch

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

2:26

Release Date

May 3, 2012

Description

The field of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV) is garnering a great deal of interest from Canadian industries seeking new ways to monitor and maintain infrastructure in remote areas. Alan Lynch is developing autonomous control systems for use in UAVís to enable partners such as B.C. Hydro to fly a camera along stretches of power lines to search for sections in need of repair.

Eye in the Sky - Unpiloted aircraft in a future near you - Alan F. Lynch

Transcript
Alan F. Lynch

What I do is a mix of algorithm development and practical work. Although some of the work we do is theory, we also like to put a big emphasis on specific test stands (ph) that are of industrial relevance. The recent research has focussed on autonomous helicopter.

So this is our outdoor helicopter. And we've basically modified this RC helicopter in a number of ways. So the avionics system provides an embedded computer and a bunch of sensors, including gyros, accelerometers, GPS, magnetometer. And these sensors are key for the system to be able to sense its configuration.

So what we have now is we have it in manual mode, and the sticks directly influence the swashplate, which then controls the orientation of the helicopter. And so if I flick a switch here, then it'll turn it into computer-controlled mode. And now you can see that, when I orient the helicopter, the swashplate reacts on its own without having the pilot having to do anything. So it if moves to the right, then the swashplate will orient in an appropriate direction to provide the torque to restore the hover configuration.

what we're seeing are trajectories of the so-called roll and pitch angles. So you can see the trajectories being logged here on the screen. So this is going to sit on the ground and there's a radio link including wi-fi linked to the base station we`ve got set up right now.and being able to - interact with the helicopter, provide it reference signals and so on and keep track of the pilot controls.

These are all key components to the autopilot system.

Was this video useful?

Very useful

Somewhat useful

Not useful

No opinion

Comments:

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Les yeux du ciel : Des véhicules aériens sans pilote dans un avenir tout près de chez vous - Alan F. Lynch

Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

Les yeux du ciel : Des véhicules aériens sans pilote dans un avenir tout près de chez vous - Alan F. Lynch

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

2:26

Date de diffusion

le 3 mai 2012

Description

Le domaine des véhicules aériens sans pilote suscite beaucoup d’intérêt au sein des industries canadiennes qui cherchent de nouvelles façons de surveiller et de maintenir des infrastructures dans des régions éloignées. Alan Lynch met au point des systèmes de contrôle autonomes pour les véhicules aériens sans pilote en vue de permettre à des partenaires comme B.C. Hydro de faire voler une caméra le long des lignes de transport d’électricité et ainsi repérer celles qui ont besoin d’être réparées.


Transcription
Alan F. Lynch :

Je combine le développement d'algorithmes au travail pratique. Même si une partie de notre travail est théorique, nous aimons aussi mettre l'accent en grande partie sur certains bancs d'essai pertinents pour l'industrie. Les dernières recherches ont porté sur l'hélicoptère autonome.

Voici notre hélicoptère d'extérieur. Nous avons modifié cet hélicoptère radiocommandé de plusieurs façons. Ainsi, le système avionique comprend un ordinateur de bord et plusieurs capteurs, dont des gyroscopes, des accéléromètres, des GPS et des magnétomètres. Ce sont ces capteurs qui permettent au système de détecter sa configuration.

Là, il fonctionne en mode manuel et les manches influent directement sur le plateau oscillant qui dirige ensuite l'orientation de l'hélicoptère. Donc, si j'actionne un interrupteur ici, je le met en mode commandé par ordinateur. Vous voyez que lorsque j'oriente l'hélicoptère, le plateau oscillant réagit seul sans que le pilote n'est à intervenir. Donc, s'il bouge vers la droite, le plateau oscillant s'orientera vers une direction appropriée pour fournir le couple nécessaire afin de rétablir la configuration de vol stationnaire.

Nous voyons les trajectoires des angles d'inclinaison et de tangage. Vous pouvez voir ici, à l'écran, les trajectoires enregistrées. Donc ceci reste sur Terre, et il y a une liaison hertzienne et  une connexion Wi-Fi avec la station de base que nous avons mise en place. Être capable d'interagir avec l'hélicoptère, de lui fournir des signaux de référence, de suivre les commandes du pilote.

Ce sont là des éléments essentiels du pilote automatique.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :