Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

NSERC Presents 2 Minutes with Viet Hung Vu
Mechanical Engineering, École de technologie supérieure


Summary

Video Name

2 Minutes with Viet Hung Vu

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

2:54

Release Date

May 7, 2012

Description

One of the challenges for Canadian companies operating machinery in extreme conditions is that it's hard to know when potential problems could be developing.

Viet Hung Vu, of the École de technologie supérieure, developed MODALAR-STAR, a program that allows for identifying and monitoring vibrational properties in large industrial machinery and structures during operation. 

2 Minutes with Viet Hung Vu

Transcript
Viet Hung Vu

My research is focusing on the - on the development of the technique to do the identification and monitoring of the vibration parameter of the structures during the normal working condition. That's mean we don't need to stop or to shut down the machine or the structure. To give you an example, like the bridge, under the normal traffic, we can measure the vibration of the structures, and using my program, to find and to check the change of the parameters. It works its way through the time and that can help us to diagnose any damage or prevent any maintenance or reparation necessary.

We have already a contract with Hydro-Québec. When I had developed the software. So at Hydro-Québec, they have very big projects on the - increasing the power of the existing hydro-electric generators after being refurbished. So the conventional technique used on analysing of the vibration cannot be used because of the dimension of the machine is very big. So my technique and my research have been applies at their project, and this year we have various result that they're can help the researchers at Hydro-Québec to increase and to estimate the appropriate  power of the generators up to 25 to 40 percent. So it's very significant.

I am a newcomer to Canada. I came to Canada as - five years ago. And I can tell you that I love the country. And I have to thank the Canada, I have to thank the people here. I think that Canada is not only the country for the destination. It's also the country for the opportunity and for the challenge. The country is very open to talent people, and I think that I have - when I came here, I decided to stay here. And I think myself that I have a lot of thing to do. I have a lot of opportunities. And this is the land I can realize my dreams. Thank you.

Was this video useful?

Very useful

Somewhat useful

Not useful

No opinion

Comments:

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le CRSNG présente 2 minutes avec Viet Hung Vu
Département de génie mécanique, École de technologie supérieure

Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

2 minutes avec Viet Hung Vu

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

2:54

Date de diffusion

le 7 mai 2012

Description

L'un des défis auxquels font face les entreprises canadiennes qui exploitent des machines dans des conditions extrêmes réside dans la difficulté de savoir quand des problèmes potentiels pourraient survenir.

Viet Hung Vu, de l'École de technologie supérieure, a élaboré MODALAR-STAR, un programme qui permet de cerner et de surveiller les vibrations et leurs propriétés dans la machinerie et les structures industrielles de grande taille en cours de fonctionnement.

2 minutes avec Viet Hung Vu


Transcription
Viet Hung Vu

Ma recherche est axée sur le développement de la technique qui permet de déterminer et de surveiller les paramètres de vibration des structures pendant des conditions de travail normales. Ainsi, nous n'avons pas besoin d'arrêter la machine ou la structure. Prenez par exemple un pont pendant une période de circulation habituelle. On peut mesurer la vibration des structures, puis à l'aide de mon programme, on peut trouver et vérifier le changement de paramètres au fil du temps, ce qui nous aide à diagnostiquer les dommages ou prévenir toute maintenance ou réparation nécessaire.

Nous avions déjà un contrat avec Hydro-Québec lorsque j'ai mis au point le logiciel. Hydro-Québec mène de très grands projets sur l'augmentation de la puissance des générateurs hydroélectriques remis à neuf. Ainsi, les techniques conventionnelles pour analyser la vibration ne peuvent pas être utilisées étant donné la grande taille de la machine. Ma technique et mes recherches ont été appliquées à ces projets. Et, cette année, nous avons obtenu divers résultats qui aideront les chercheurs d'Hydro-Québec à accroître et à estimer la puissance appropriée des générateurs de 25 à 40 p. 100. C'est donc très important.

Je suis un nouvel arrivant au Canada. Je suis arrivé il y a cinq ans. Et je peux vous dire que j'aime ce pays. Et je dois remercier le Canada et remercier les gens d'ici. Je crois que le Canada n'est pas seulement une destination. C'est un pays qui offre des occasions et des défis. C'est un pays très ouvert aux gens de talent. J'ai d'abord décidé de venir ici, mais j'ai ensuite décidé d'y rester. Et je crois que j'ai beaucoup à faire. J'ai beaucoup d'occasions. Et c'est le pays où mes rêves peuvent se réaliser. Merci.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.