Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

NSERC Presents 2 Minutes With Stephen Cook
Department of Computer Science,
University of Toronto


Summary

Video Name

2 Minutes with Stephen Cook

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

2:58

Release Date

February 27, 2013

Description

Stephen Cook is among a short list of mathematics researchers whose ideas have spawned new fields of inquiry for current and future generations. A professor of Computer Science and Mathematics at the University of Toronto, Dr. Cook is the 2012 winner of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council's Herzberg Medal.

In addition to celebrated contributions to complexity theory, Dr. Cook has made fundamental contributions to computational theory, algorithm design, programming languages and mathematical logic, and his still-growing body of work is likely to be cited for many decades to come. His work has made an impact on various areas of mathematics and computation, and a contribution to many other fields of research.

Transcript
Stephen Cook

Well, I was interested in computers, but computer science departments didn't really exist. So when I went to grad school at Harvard, I was in the mathematics department. I wrote a thesis on the brand new field called computational complexity, which had to do with looking at the number—the amount of resources, time and memory to solve problems. That was a new idea. So I came here, to the University of Toronto, which was a budding, new –brand new–computer science department recruiting some top people. And that's where I've been ever since, where I had this neat idea of introducing the concepts we now call NP completeness. That idea, that paper, turned out to be the thing that has made me famous.

Now of course there are thousands of known NP-complete problems, and they're important enough that the many different fields of computer science have been influenced by the concept. But one of the classical NP- complete problems is the so-called travelling salesman problem.

You're given N cities –N is a large number, a hundred or something like that –and their locations on the map. In what order should he [the travelling salesman] visit the cities in order to minimize the total distance he travels? Now, if N is a hundred, a hundred factorial is such a large number that no conceivable computer could ever consider all 100 factorial orders before the sun turned into a red star. So the mathematical question here that's open is whether every NP problem, the search problem, can be done and actually has a polynomial time solution.

As the P versus NP question. It's wide open, in fact, it is now one of the seven problems posted by the Clay Mathematics Institute Millennium Prize problems, and they're offering $1 million to anyone who can solve any one of the problems. So it seems to be one of the seven important open problems in mathematics now.

Was this video useful?

Very useful

Somewhat useful

Not useful

No opinion

Comments:

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le CRSNG présente 2 minutes avec
Stephen Cook
Département d'informatique
University of Toronto


Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

2 minutes avec Stephen Cook

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

2:58

Date de diffusion

le 27 février 2013

Description

Stephen Cook est l'un des rares chercheurs en mathématiques dont les idées ont engendré de nouveaux domaines de recherche pour les générations actuelles et futures. Ce professeur d'informatique et de mathématiques à la University of Toronto est le lauréat de la Médaille d'or Gerhard Herzberg en sciences et en génie du Canada de 2012, qui est décernée par le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG).

En plus d'avoir fait des contributions reconnues à la théorie de la complexité, M. Cook a fait des contributions fondamentales à la théorie informatique, à la conception d'algorithmes, aux langages de programmation et à la logique mathématique. Son œuvre toujours grandissante sera probablement citée pendant de nombreuses décennies. Ses travaux ont eu des retombées sur divers domaines des mathématiques et de l'informatique et ont contribué à de nombreux autres domaines de recherche.


Transcription
Stephen Cook

Eh bien, je m'intéressais aux ordinateurs. Mais il n'y avait pas vraiment de départements d'informatique, alors j'ai fait mes études supérieures à Harvard, au Département de mathématiques. Ma thèse portait sur un tout nouveau domaine appelé « complexité des calculs informatiques », c'est-à-dire l'étude des nombres – de la quantité de ressources, de temps et de mémoire pour résoudre des problèmes. C'était donc une idée nouvelle; alors, je suis venu ici, à la University of Toronto, où un tout nouveau Département d'informatique recrutait des spécialistes de haut niveau. Et c'est là que je suis depuis ce temps. C'est là que j'ai eu l'idée ingénieuse d'introduire les concepts que nous appelons maintenant « les problèmes NP-complets ». Cette idée, cet article, c'est ce qui m'a rendu célèbre.

Maintenant, bien entendu, on connaît des milliers de problèmes NP-complets et ils sont assez importants pour influencer les nombreux domaines de l'informatique. Mais l'un des problèmes NP-complets types est celui que l'on appelle communément « le problème du vendeur itinérant ».

On vous donne N villes – N est un grand nombre, une centaine environ, et leur emplacement sur une carte. Dans quel ordre le vendeur devrait-il se rendre dans ces villes pour que son trajet soit le plus court possible? Maintenant, si N représente 100, une factorielle de 100 représente un nombre si grand qu'aucun ordinateur imaginable ne pourrait examiner les 100 séquences factorielles avant que le Soleil ne devienne une étoile rouge. Alors, la question mathématique qui se pose ici, c'est de savoir si l'on peut résoudre chaque problème NP, le problème de recherche, et s'il existe en réalité une solution calculée en temps polynômial.

Quand à la question P ou NP, c'est une question sans réponse. En fait, c'est maintenant l'un des sept problèmes du Prix du millénaire affichés par l'Institut de mathématiques Clay, qui offre un million de dollars à celui qui pourra résoudre n'importe lequel de ces problèmes. Il semble donc que c'est l'un des sept grands problèmes mathématiques non résolus à l'heure actuelle.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.