Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

A planned outage affecting this website and several other NSERC and SSHRC (including TIPS) websites and granting portals will take place from Friday, June 28, 2024, at 4 p.m., until Tuesday, July 2, 2024, at 8 a.m. (ET). For more details, visit NSERC or SSHRC/TIPS dedicated webpages.

NSERC Prizes 2018: Louis Tessier

Collège Shawinigan and Centre national en électrochimie et technologies environnementales (CNETE)
InnuScience Canada


Summary

Video Name

NSERC Prizes 2018: Louis Tessier

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

1:46

Release Date

May 1, 2018

Description

Louis Tessier has collaborated with InnuScience Canada (ISC) to develop effective, environmentally-friendly biotechnology cleaning products. Tessier worked with ISC to create biosurfactants that have several advantages over conventional surfactants: not only are they biodegradable and non-toxic, but they are also more effective, requiring fewer quantities to be used in the final product. And, thanks to Tessier’s unique fermentation process used to produce the necessary microbes and bacteria, the entire procedure consumes less energy. Today, ISC produces its own greener, safer, cheaper and more effective biosurfactants at its facilities, giving the company a strong advantage over its competitors.

Transcript
Louis Tessier

Canadians expect businesses at the dawn of the 21st century to make a green shift, so, to have greener consumer products, that are still affordable. The project I am currently working on and the projects I have worked on over the past 10 years have been carried out with, among others, InnuScience Canada, which is one of the major long-standing partners. With them, I have worked to develop bioprocesses that involve the use of microorganisms that synthesize biosurfactants, which we use in soaps and detergents. In this case, for InnuScience, it is for green bio detergents.

Ali

The fact that we’re working with Mr. Tessier’s team, allows me to, thanks to their expertise, allows me to be practically certain that we will achieve our objective, and do so in a much shorter timeframe.

Louis Tessier

For me, it was very clear from the beginning that they would be the ideal partner to propel these bioprocesses to a higher level.

Ali

We benefit from their expertise in this area because we do not have expertise in scaling bioprocesses. So, they provide us with that knowledge, that expertise which allows us to speed things up.

Louis Tessier

Without InnuScience Canada, it would have been difficult to reach the technology readiness level for this project or these projects that we achieved with great success.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Prix du CRSNG 2018 : Louis Tessier

Collège Shawinigan et Centre national en électrochimie et technologies environnementales (CNETE)
InnuScience Canada


Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

Prix du CRSNG 2018 : Louis Tessier

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

1:46

Date de diffusion

le 1 mai 2018

Description

Louis Tessier a collaboré avec InnuScience Canada (ISC) pour créer des produits de nettoyage biotechnologiques qui sont efficaces et écologiques. Les partenaires ont créé des biosurfactants qui comportent plusieurs avantages par rapport aux surfactants classiques : en plus d’être biodégradables et non toxiques, ils sont plus efficaces, et peuvent être utilisés en moins grande quantité dans le produit final. Et, grâce au processus de fermentation unique utilisé par M.Tessier pour produire les microbes et les bactéries nécessaires, la consommation d’énergie est réduite. Aujourd’hui, ISC produit des biosurfactants plus écologiques, plus sûrs, plus économiques et plus efficaces dans ses installations, ce qui lui donne un solide avantage sur ses concurrents.


Transcript
Louis Tessier

Les Canadiens s’attendent à ce que les entreprises à l’aube du 21e siècle prennent un virage vert, donc qu’on ait des produits de consommation plus écologiques, toujours à cout rentable. L’actuel projet sur lequel je travaille et les projets sur lesquels j’ai travaillé au cours des 10 dernières années se sont faits avec, entre autres, InnuScience Canada, qui est un des grands partenaires de longue date. Avec eux, j’ai travaillé à développer des bioprocédés qui impliquaient l’utilisation de microorganismes qui synthétisaient des biosurfactants qu’on utilise dans les savons, les détergents, ici, dans ce cas-ci, pour Innu Science, c’est des biodétergents écologiques.

Ali

Le fait qu’on travaille avec l’équipe de M. Tessier, ça me permet, grâce à leur expertise, ça me permet d’être pratiquement sur d’atteindre notre objectif, et dans des délais beaucoup plus courts.

Louis Tessier

Pour moi, c’était très clair dès le départ que ça serait le partenaire idéal pour propulser ces bioprocédés à un niveau supérieur.

Ali

On bénéficie de leur expertise, dans ce domaine parce qu’on n’a pas d’expertise au niveau de la mise à l’échelle des bioprocédés. Donc, c’est eux qui nous apportent ces connaissances, cette expertise qui nous permet d’aller plus vite.

Louis Tessier

Sans InnuScience Canada, ce projet-là ou ces projets-là auraient eu difficilement la capacité d’atteindre le niveau de maturité technologique qu’on a obtenu avec grand succès.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :