Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

NSERC Presents 2 Minutes With Dr. Jules Blais
Department of Biology,
University of Ottawa, and
Dr. John P. Smol
Department of Biology,
Queen's University


Summary

Video Name

2 Minutes with Dr. Jules Blais and Dr. John P. Smol

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

2:57

Release Date

February 3, 2014

Description

Dr. John P. Smol and Dr. Jules Blais are the winners of NSERC's 2013 Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering. They have worked together for more than 15 years to understand the legacy of toxic chemicals in the ground, water and air, and how these stressors have influenced living things. These changes not only affect the environment, but also impact the health, security and economy of every country in the world.

Transcript
John Smol

Twenty-four hours a day, 365 days of the year, lakes are slowly accumulating mud or sediments. And in that mud is a remarkably clear record of what happened in the lake, of fossils of organisms that lived in the lake are there. And this is one of the main things I do here at my lab at Queen’s University. This is often blended by the work that Jules Blais does at the University of Ottawa, where he does the chemical side of things.

Jules Blais

We can use radiometric methods like radio carbon dating or lead 210 to determine the age of all of these different sediment intervals. And this gives us like a history book of environmental change. But the other advantage that lake sediments give us is that lakes are common on the landscape, and so we can take sediment cores from lakes that span a geographic range. So this has enabled us, for example, to look at the distribution of PCBs globally and track their movement from southern latitudes towards northern latitudes in a sort of distillation of certain chemicals that tend to be attracted to colder temperatures.

John Smol

Working with Environment Canada colleagues, we’ve worked in the oil sands region to try and reconstruct going back in time. Have the oil sands actually affected lake ecosystems, and are they actually contributing to the pollution of local lake ecosystems? Some issues are at a more local level. Working, for example, with the Ontario Ministry of the Environment, we can look and use our methods to show, for example, how many cottages can you put around a lake before – before you have problems with algal blooms, for example? And you can help use this information to set those types of policies.

Jules Blais

This is a collaboration that began many years ago. John Smol and I are actually maternal half brothers.

John Smol

When we started our careers — Jules is younger than me — we worked independently. We didn’t really work very much together, but over the years, we saw many similarities in our work and started quite slowly, and over the last 10 years or so, we’ve been working quite closely on a number of projects.

Jules Blais

One of the things that we’ve been able to do that we’ve really enjoyed is applying our techniques to new fields of inquiry, and one of those has been to the field of archaeology. There are settlements across Canada’s far North that were settled by the Thule. These were communities that hunted whales, so they were a whaling society. They left behind these archaeological sites, so we have a sense of where they were, but we haven’t had a very strong sense of when they had been there. But because we can take cores from the ponds near where they settled, we can determine the timing of when these settlements occurred.

Was this video useful?

Very useful

Somewhat useful

Not useful

No opinion

Comments:

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le CRSNG présente 2 minutes avec Jules Blais,
Département de biologie,
Université d'Ottawa, et
John P. Smol,
Département de biologie,
Queen's University


Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

2 minutes avec Jules Blais et John P. Smol

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

2:57

Date de diffusion

le 3 fevrier 2014

Description

John P. Smol et Jules Blais sont les récipiendaires du Prix Brockhouse du Canada pour la recherche interdisciplinaire en sciences et en génie, décerné par le CRSNG en 2013. M. Smol et Mme Blais travaillent ensemble depuis plus de 15 ans pour comprendre le legs laissé par les produits chimiques toxiques dans le sol, l'eau et l'air et l'influence de ces agresseurs environnementaux sur les êtres vivants. Ces changements influent non seulement sur l'environnement, mais aussi sur la santé, la sécurité et l'économie dans tous les pays du monde.


Transcription
John Smol

D'heure en heure et de jour en jour, les lacs accumulent lentement la boue, ou sédiments. Et cette boue atteste très nettement les événements qui ont marqué le lac; elle contient les fossiles des organismes qui y ont vécu. C'est l'un de mes principaux champs d'études, ici, dans mon laboratoire de la Queen's University. Mes travaux sont souvent complétés par ceux de Jules Blais, de l'Université d'Ottawa, qui portent sur l'aspect chimique des choses.

Jules Blais

Grâce aux méthodes de datation radiométrique, comme le carbone 14 ou le plomb 210, on peut déterminer l'âge de chaque couche de sédiments. Cela nous donne un historique des changements dans l'environnement. L'autre avantage d'étudier les sédiments lacustres, c'est que les lacs sont communs dans le paysage. On peut donc prélever des carottes de sédiments dans les lacs d'une aire géographique donnée, ce qui nous a permis, par exemple, de déterminer la distribution des BPC dans le monde et de suivre leur mouvement des basses latitudes aux hautes latitudes selon un phénomène de distillation de certains composés chimiques ayant une affinité pour les températures froides.

John Smol

Avec des collègues d'Environnement Canada, dans la région des sables bitumineux, nous tentons de reconstituer l'histoire. L'exploitation des sables bitumineux a-t-elle vraiment des répercussions sur les écosystèmes lacustres? Contribue-t-elle vraiment à la pollution des lacs de cette région? D'autres enjeux se posent à plus petite échelle. Par exemple, pour le ministère de l'Environnement de l'Ontario, nos méthodes permettent notamment de déterminer combien de chalets on peut construire autour d'un lac sans favoriser la prolifération des algues. Cette information peut ensuite servir à adopter des politiques en la matière.

Jules Blais

Nous collaborons depuis plusieurs année. John Smol et moi sommes en fait demi-frères maternels.

John Smol

Au début de notre carrière – Jules est mon cadet – nous travaillions séparément. Nous travaillions très peu ensemble, mais, au fil des ans, nous avons constaté de nombreuses similitudes entre nos travaux. Petit à petit, au cours des 10 dernières années, nous nous sommes mis à collaborer étroitement à certains projets.

Jules Blais

L'une des chosesque nous avons la chance de faire, c'est d'appliquer nos techniques à de nouveaux domaines, dont celui de l'archéologie. Certains sites, dans le Grand Nord canadien, avaient été occupés par les Thuléens. Ce sont des communautés de chasseurs de baleine. Ils ont laissé des sites archéologiques, donc on a une idée de leur distribution géographique, mais on ne connaît pas l'époque exacte de cette occupation. Or, en prélevant des carottes de sédiments dans les étangs situés près des sites, on peut déterminer l'époque de l'occupation.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.