Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

NSERC Presents 2 Minutes with Ruth Signorell
Chemistry, The University of British Columbia


Summary

Video Name

2 Minutes with Ruth Signorell

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

1:48

Release Date

August 18, 2011

Description

Given their pervasiveness and impacts on human life, understanding the formation and behaviour of molecular aerosols is vitally important in fields as diverse as climate research and medicine. Pioneering research by Ruth Signorell, of The University of British Columbia, is helping unlock these mysteries.

2 Minutes with Ruth Signorell

Transcript
Ruth Signorell

So my research group studies a special form of matter which is called an aerosol. Aerosol particles are tiny objects. These are particles or droplets that are suspended in air. They are so small that you can't really see them with your eyes. To give you an example, an aerosol particle is million times smaller than a grain of salt. In my research group, we study the properties of these aerosol particles. These particles can have different shapes, different sizes and different compositions. And we use laser light to unravel their properties. These aerosol properties they are important in our atmosphere. They form dust in our atmosphere. They form our clouds or in other words they influence our climate. And we can also use these aerosol particles for medical applications. We can form very tiny drugs with these aerosols which help us for more targeted drug delivery.

So the major problem in this field is the detection of the tiniest of these aerosol particles. We simply can't say how many of them we have in our atmosphere and our major goal is to provide our society with methods and instruments to detect this particle and to study their properties.

Was this video useful?

Very useful

Somewhat useful

Not useful

No opinion

Comments:

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le CRSNG présente 2 minutes avec
Ruth Signorell
Chimie, The University of British Columbia

Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

2 minutes avec Ruth Signorell

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

1:48

Date de diffusion

le 18 août 2011

Description

Compte tenu de l'omniprésence des aérosols moléculaires et de leurs effets sur la vie humaine, il est essentiel de comprendre comment ils se forment et se comportent pour effectuer de la recherche dans des domaines aussi diversifiés que le climat et la médecine. Les travaux de recherche novateurs réalisés par Ruth Signorell de la University of British Columbia contribuent à élucider ces mystères.

2 minutes avec Ruth Signorell


Transcription
Ruth Signorell :

Mon équipe étudie un type de matière spécial : les aérosols, qui sont de minuscules particules ou gouttelettes suspendues dans l'air. Ils sont si petits qu'il est impossible de les voir à l'œil nu. Ainsi, une particule d'aérosol est des millions de fois plus petite qu'un grain de sel. Nous étudions les propriétés des aérosols, qui peuvent avoir différentes formes, tailles et compositions. Nous utilisons la lumière laser pour découvrir ces propriétés, car les aérosols jouent un rôle important dans l'atmosphère, y formant de la poussière et des nuages. En d'autres mots, ils influent sur le climat. Ils peuvent aussi avoir des applications médicales, car ils permettent de créer de minuscules médicaments qui peuvent être administrés de façon plus ciblée.

Dans ce domaine, la principale difficulté est de détecter la plus petite de ces particules. Il est simplement impossible de dire combien il y en a dans l'atmosphère. Notre principal but est de proposer à la société des méthodes et des instruments pour les détecter et étudier leurs propriétés.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.