Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

NSERC Presents 2 Minutes With Paul Schaffer (TRIUMF), François Bénard (The University of British Columbia), and Thomas J. Ruth (TRIUMF)


Summary

Video Name

2 Minutes with Paul Schaffer

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

2:33

Release Date

February 17, 2015

Description

Canada’s hospitals are on the verge of having a local supply of isotopes for medical imaging thanks to a new development by an innovative team of researchers focused on preventing future isotope shortages. The medical radioisotope technetium 99m (99mTC) is the world standard for medical imaging to diagnose cancer and heart disease. Their solution allows existing cyclotrons to produce enough 99mTC in just one night to meet the daily needs of most hospitals. Dr. Schaffer, Dr. Bénard and Dr. Ruth won NSERC's 2015 Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering.

Transcript
Paul Schaffer

Currently, Canada produces a large portion of the world's supply of this very important medical isotope, technetium-99m. The isotope is used to save lives, essentially. It's used to image patients that are suffering from cardiac ailments, cancer, and other diseases that require the imaging of technetium.

When Chalk River shuts down, a very significant portion of that global supply will go with it. The technology we're working on today is using cyclotrons already installed in hospitals throughout the country to produce a radioactive product, the Isotope 1. It would do it in the hospital where the isotope would be used, in the region where it could be shipped locally. We don't produce long-lived radioactive waste that nuclear reactors would, nor do we use enriched uranium to produce this isotope. So in that sense, it's a greener technology as well. It is simply an innovation and an extension of what the health care system is currently working on and working toward, which is a regional supply of medical isotopes.

It's been a fantastic team, working together, four institutions in total.

François Bénard

There were a lot of sceptics. People said it couldn't be done. And I think what really was the successful outcome of this project was a team coming together and looking at this with an open mind and tackling one of the challenges after another.

Thomas J. Ruth

We've produced well over a dozen publications, we've trained over 179 students at various levels of their training, we have involved various other companies in our approaches. So I think there are clear metrics for the success of it.

Paul Schaffer

This project is a wonderful example of how funding for fundamental research can lead to tangible benefits for society. We see that as a very important investment of taxpayer money, and we take that investment very seriously. And when we have an opportunity like this present itself, a problem present itself, we're happy to say we have the expertise and the infrastructure in place to address that unmet need.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le CRSNG présente 2 minutes avec Paul Schaffer (TRIUMF), François Bénard (The University of British Columbia), et Thomas J. Ruth (TRIUMF)


Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

2 minutes avec Paul Schaffer

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

2:33

Date de diffusion

le 17 février 2015

Description

Grâce aux avancées d’une équipe innovatrice de chercheurs dont les travaux portent sur la prévention de futures pénuries d’isotopes, les hôpitaux canadiens sont sur le point de recevoir un approvisionnement local en isotopes pour l’imagerie médicale. Le technétium 99m (99mTC) est le radio-isotope normalement utilisé en imagerie médicale dans le monde entier pour diagnostiquer les cancers et les maladies du cœur. Cette solution permet aux cyclotrons existants de produire suffisamment de 99mTC en une seule nuit pour répondre aux besoins quotidiens de la plupart des hôpitaux. M. Schaffer, M. Bénard et M. Ruth sont les récipiendaires du Prix Brockhouse du Canada pour la recherche interdisciplinaire en sciences et en génie, décerné par le CRSNG en 2015.


Transcription
Paul Schaffer

Actuellement, le Canada produitune grande partie du volume mondial de cet isotope très important utilisé à des fins médicales, le technétium 99m. Cet isotope sert essentiellement à sauver des vies. Il est utilisé en imagerie pour des patients qui souffrent de troubles cardiaques, d’un cancer, et d’autres maladies qui nécessitent la prise d’images avec le technétium.

Lorsque Chalk River fermera, une grande partie de cette offre mondiale disparaîtra. La technologie à laquelle nous travaillons aujourd’hui est basée sur l’utilisation des cyclotrons déjà installés dans les hôpitaux du pays pour produire un produit radioactif, l’isotope 1. Celui ci serait produit dans l’hôpital où il serait utilisé, dans la région où il serait expédié localement. La technologie ne crée aucuns déchets radioactifs à longue vie, contrairement aux réacteurs nucléaires, et ne nécessite pas d’uranium enrichi pour produire cet isotope. Elle est donc également plus écologique. C’est simplement une innovation et un prolongement de ce que le système de soins de santé tente actuellement de réaliser : assurer un approvisionnement régional en isotopes à des fins médicales.

Cette équipe fantastique a travaillé avec quatre établissements.

François Bénard

Il y avait beaucoup de sceptiques. Les gens disaient que c’était impossible. Et je crois que la véritable réussite de ce projet est l’équipe qui a été formée et qui s’est penchée sur la question avec un esprit ouvert et sur chacun des défis, l’un après l’autre.

Thomas J. Ruth

Nous avons produit plus d’une douzaine de publications, nous avons formé plus de 179 étudiants de divers niveaux, nous avons convaincu d’autres entreprises de participer à notre démarche. Je pense que ce sont des indicateurs clairs de la réussite du projet.

Paul Schaffer

Ce projet est un exemple merveilleux des avantages concrets que le financement de la recherche fondamentale peut apporter à la société. Nous pensons que c’est un investissement très important des fonds publics, et nous prenons cet investissement très au sérieux. Et lorsqu’une telle occasion se présente, qu’un problème survient, nous sommes heureux de dire que nous avons l’expertise et l’infrastructure requises pour répondre à ce besoin non comblé.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.