Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

NSERC Presents 2 Minutes with Emil M. Petriu

Faculty of Engineering, University of Ottawa, in partnership with Larus Technologies Corp.


Summary

Video Name

2 Minutes with Emil M. Petriu

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

2:13

Release Date

February 16, 2016

Description

Emil M. Petriu and Larus Technologies Corp. jointly developed the Larus Technologies predictive risk-aware decision support system,Total::Insight™. This system analyzes data and produces accurate predictions and information to help decision-makers manage a large amount of sensor data. The technology has been applied to defence, security, health care and infrastructure protection, with local and international recognition and application. This partnership earned Dr. Petriu one of NSERC's Synergy Awards for Innovation in 2015.

Transcript
Emil M. Petriu

The most important infrastructures today in Canada, for instance, are health care—they are energy, transportation and security itself. So Larus Technologies had to develop something that is providing today a decision support system which is able to handle the big amount, the big amount of data, to make sense of all that information and provide support in real time for decision makers.

Rami Abielmona

The Total::Insight is what we call the DSS: decision support system. The goal was, how do we bring all this data together and try to fuse it or correlate it in some way so that we can present it to the user in a more refined manner?

Emil M. Petriu

Definitely, Larus Technologies have the firsthand knowledge of the real-life applications, which are not common for a university professor.

Rami Abielmona

Let's say you've got a building that you're trying to protect, and of course there's sensors that are monitoring that particular critical infrastructure.

Emil M. Petriu

So that all type of data—sensory data—which are specific to different applications. But in general there are video sensors, audio sensors, GPS sensors, sensors from satellites, sensors from under water.

Rami Abielmona

So Total::Insight will basically take all these different data sources, extract the relevant features, then we fuse those features using proprietary algorithms that we've designed here at Larus.

And then once you've fused it, you have it in a state where you can make decisions; you can make classification type decisions, predictions; you could make associations; you can start recommending some responses.

We are applying this at Larus Technologies within the defence and security realm, but we have also applied it, as I mentioned, in environmental perception, in health applications, and in financial applications.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le CRSNG présente 2 minutes avec Emil M. Petriu

Faculté de génie, Université d'Ottawa, en partenariat avec Larus Technologies Corp.


Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

2 minutes avec Emil M. Petriu

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

2:13

Date de diffusion

le 16 février 2016

Description

Emil M. Petriu et Larus Technologies Corp. ont conjointement développé le système d’aide à la décision basé sur la connaissance et la prévision du risque Total::InsightMC. Ce système permet d’analyser des données et de produire des prévisions et des renseignements exacts et aide les décideurs à gérer de grandes quantités de données de capteurs. La technologie est utilisée dans le domaine de la défense, de la sécurité, des soins de santé et de la protection des infrastructures. Elle est reconnue et utilisée à l’échelle locale et internationale. Ce partenariat a permis à M. Petriu de remporter l'un des Prix Synergie pour l'innovation décernés par le CRSNG en 2015.


Transcription
Emil M. Petriu

Les infrastructures les plus importantes aujourd’hui au Canada sont, entres autres, celles relatives aux soins de santé, à l’énergie, au transport et à la sécurité. Larus Technologies a mis au point quelque chose qui permet d’obtenir aujourd’hui un système d’aide à la prise de décision qui peut traiter un grand volume de données afin de donner un sens à toute cette information et de fournir un appui en temps réel aux décideurs.

Rami Abielmona

Total::Insight est ce que nous appelons le SAPD, le système d'aide à la prise de décision. On cherchait à voir comment on pourrait rassembler toutes ces données et les fusionner ou les mettre en corrélation afin de les présenter aux utilisateurs de manière plus soignée.

Emil M. Petriu

Larus Technologies a certainement une connaissance pratique des applications concrètes, ce qui n’est pas courant chez un professeur d’université.

Rami Abielmona

Prenons par exemple un immeuble que vous souhaitez protéger et, bien sûr, il y a des capteurs qui surveillent cette infrastructure en particulier.

Emil M. Petriu

Donc, tous les types de données, comme les données sensorielles, qui sont propres à diverses applications, mais en général, il s’agit de capteurs vidéo, de capteurs audio, de capteurs GPS, de capteurs satellitaires, et de capteurs sous-marins.

Rami Abielmona

Donc, essentiellement, Total::Insight prendra ces différentes sources de données, en extraira les caractéristiques pertinentes, puis fusionnera ces caractéristiques au moyen d’algorithmes brevetés que nous avons conçus ici chez Larus.

Une fois que les données sont fusionnées, elles sont présentées de manière à pouvoir prendre des décisions; on peut prendre des décisions en matière de classification, on peut faire des prédictions ou encore des associations, on peut formuler des recommandations en ce qui concerne les mesures à prendre.

Nous appliquons ces principes chez Larus Technologies dans les domaines de la défense et de la sécurité, mais nous les avons aussi appliqués, comme je le disais, dans les domaines de la perception de l’environnement, de la santé, et des finances.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.