Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

NSERC Presents 2 Minutes with J. David Miller

Department of Chemistry, Carleton University, in partnership with J.D. Irving, Limited


Summary

Video Name

2 Minutes with J. David Miller

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

2:26

Release Date

February 16, 2016

Description

Annual harvests of coniferous trees are an important contributor to Canada’s economy, but the industry is continually threatened by epidemics of insect pests. J. David Miller and J.D. Irving, Limited, are working together to combat this problem in an environmentally sensitive way. The partnership has led to the production and commercialization of seedlings which, when mature, are more tolerant to insect pests. This partnership earned Dr. Miller one of NSERC's Synergy Awards for Innovation in 2015.

Transcript
J. David Miller

What my partners at J.D. Irving, Limited, and I have been able to do over a long period of time is ask the question, “Can we produce trees that are somewhat more tolerant of the spruce budworm?”

Greg Adams

Spruce budworm is the most damaging insect pest of the conifer forest across Canada. It will outright kill large areas of forest. When Dr. Miller came to us in 1998 with his knowledge of perhaps increasing the tolerance of the trees that we planted, J.D. Irving was quite interested.

J. David Miller

Some plants allow fungi to live inside them without causing damage. Fungi are eaten by insects and arthropods in nature for their protein. Fungi don't like that, so they make toxins to essentially discourage insects from eating. So I wanted to go and do the experiment: could we re-infect seedlings? Which is just basically taking nature and putting it back into nature. Within two years, we're able to say, “Yeah, we can do this.”

Greg Adams

A company typically produces anywhere between 13 and 20 million spruce seedlings in the run of a year. All the spruce seedlings that we grow today have been inoculated with different strains of these fungi. There's been substantial amount of resources that have been invested into the science to get it to where it is today. The laboratory facility that we're filming in today was developed specifically to further promote some aspects of biosciences that are important to the company's business.

J. David Miller

The reason this is a success is that people with the maximum know-how, growing trees of the type that I was interested in in the Acadian forest, participated not just in a passive way but in an active way with their expertise.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le CRSNG présente 2 minutes avec J. David Miller

Département de chimie, Carleton University, en partenariat avec J.D. Irving, Limited


Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

2 minutes avec J. David Miller

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

2:27

Date de diffusion

le 16 février 2016

Description

Les récoltes annuelles de conifères apportent une contribution importante à l’économie canadienne, mais les infestations d’insectes nuisibles menacent continuellement l’industrie. Le professeur J. David Miller et J.D. Irving, Limited, travaillent ensemble pour trouver une solution écologique à ce problème. Leur partenariat a mené à la production et à la commercialisation de semis qui, lorsqu’ils atteignent la maturité, ont une plus grande tolérance aux insectes nuisibles. Ce partenariat a permis à M. Miller de remporter en 2015 l'un des Prix Synergie pour l'innovation décernés par le CRSNG.


Transcription
J. David Miller

Ce que mes partenaires chez J.D. Irving, Limited, et moi avons été capables de faire au fil des ans est de poser la question : « Peut-on produire des arbres plus tolérants à la tordeuse des bourgeons de l’épinette? »

Greg Adams

La tordeuse des bourgeons de l’épinette est l’insecte le plus nuisible de la forêt de conifères du Canada. Elle peut détruire de vastes étendues de forêts. Lorsque M. Miller nous a approchés en 1998 avec l’idée de peut-être accroître la tolérance des arbres que nous plantions, J.D. Irving s’était montrée très intéressée.

J. David Miller

Certaines plantes vivent avec des champignons sans en ressentir d’effets. Les insectes et les arthropodes dans la nature mangent les champignons pour les protéines. Les champignons résistent en produisant des toxines afin de décourager les insectes de les manger. Donc, j’ai voulu faire l’expérience : peut-on réinfecter les semis d’arbre? Il s’agit simplement de prendre la nature et de la remettre dans la nature. Au bout de deux ans, on a pu dire : « Oui, c’est possible. »

Greg Adams

Les entreprises sylvicoles produisent généralement de 13 à 20 millions semis d'épinette au cours d’une année. Tous les semis d'épinette que nous produisons aujourd’hui ont été inoculés avec diverses souches de ces champignons. On a investi des ressources substantielles pour faire avancer la science au point où elle en est aujourd’hui. Le laboratoire dans lequel nous filmons aujourd’hui a été établi précisément pour promouvoir davantage certains aspects des biosciences qui sont importants pour les activités de l’entreprise.

J. David Miller

Cette collaboration est une réussite parce que les gens qui ont le plus de savoir pour faire pousser le type d’arbre qui m’intéressait dans la forêt acadienne ont participé aux travaux de manière active, et non passive, grâce à leur expertise.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.